Welcome to your Childhood Therapies reading list. Here you will find the essential and recommended books as well as any additional resources for this module.
Doing a Systematic Review by
Written in a friendly, accessible style by an expert team of authors with years of experience in both conducting and supervising systematic reviews, this is the perfect guide to using systematic review methodology in a research project. It provides clear answers to all review-related questions, including: How do I formulate an appropriate review question? What's the best way to manage my review? How do I develop my search strategy? How do I get started with data extraction? How do I assess the quality of a study? How can I analyse and synthesize my data? How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis?
Atypical Child Development in Context by
Have you ever considered what atypical development looks like in practice? Or how it occurs? Would you like to know which children are most at risk and why? In this new and fully updated edition, Janet M. Empson explores what is 'normal' and what is 'atypical' or 'unusual' in children's development. Combining key research with insightful case studies and examples, she examines the processes, circumstances, and conditions associated with developing atypically. This is invaluable reading for both students and professionals involved in child development.
Evidence-Based Practice Across the Health Professions by
Evidence-based Practice across the Health Professions is a contemporary guide to modern evidence-based practice. Fully revised and updated, it continues to keep the focus on the knowledge and skills that clinicians and students really need to make evidence-based informed decisions. It provides a foundation to help you to better ponder what clinical questions to ask, know ways to efficiently find research that answers those questions, know how to decide whether the results of research are believable, important and applicable and use good evidence with patients to provide healthcare as responsibly, effectively and collaboratively as possible. Featuring a multi-disciplinary approach with contributions from international and national leaders in evidence-based practice, this new edition now includes 15 health disciplines, including: - Clinical exercise physiology - Optometry - Complementary and alternative medicine - Paramedicine - Human movement (exercise science) - Pharmacy - Medical imaging - Physiotherapy - Medicine - Podiatry - Nursing - Radiation Therapy - Nutrition and dietetics - Speech pathology - Medicine - Occupational Therapy Visit evolve.elsevier.com for your additional resources Instructor resources: Image collection PowerPoint slides Short answer and tutorial questions Clinical Scenarios Test bank Student and instructor resources: Interactive quiz Worksheets Updated and additional content on shared decision making Additional case studies on community pharmacy and optometry Expanded and updated content on evidence implementation New content on diagnostic clinical prediction rules Revised and expanded evolve assets to support teaching and learning
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals by
InEvidence-based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare, the authors usecase studies, examples, and theoretical overviews to guide readers through the concept of evidence-based practice and provides practical guidance on its utilisation in clinical practice. The new 4th edition has been fully updated to reflect contemporary practice, and includes a new chapter on the 'History and Development of Clinical Academics,'which looks at clinical academic careers and the impact and benefits this has for nurses and healthcare professionals on their clinical practice. Written to support nurses at pre and post-registration, the book includes an interdisciplinary focus covering health and social care curricula.
Child Development by
Child Development: Theories and Critical Perspectives provides an engaging and perceptive overview of both well-established and recent theories in child and adolescent psychology. This unique summary of traditional scientific perspectives alongside critical post-modern thinking will provide readers with a sense of the historical development of different schools of thought. The authors also place theories of child development in philosophical and cultural contexts, explore links between them, and consider the implications of theory for practice in the light of the latest thinking and developments in implementation and translational science. Early chapters cover mainstream theories such as those of Piaget, Skinner, Freud, Maccoby and Vygotsky, whilst later chapters present interesting lesser-known theorists such as Sergei Rubinstein, and more recent influential theorists such as Esther Thelen. The book also addresses lifespan perspectives and systems theory, and describes the latest thinking in areas ranging from evolutionary theory and epigenetics, to feminism, the voice of the child and Indigenous theories. The new edition of Child Development has been extensively revised to include considerable recent advances in the field. As with the previous edition, the book has been written with the student in mind, and includes a number of useful pedagogical features including further reading, discussion questions, activities, and websites of interest. Child Development: Theories and Critical Perspectives will be essential reading for students on advanced courses in developmental psychology, education, social work and social policy, and the lucid style will also make it accessible to readers with little or no background in psychology.
Developing Multiprofessional Teamwork for Integrated Children's Services by
This book is an important practical resource for all professionals engaged with planning, implementing and evaluating multi-professional teamwork and practice in children's services. The first book to combine theoretical perspectives, research evidence from the 'real world' of children's services, and reflections on policy and practice in inter-agency services in England, this fully updated new edition retains its popular approach, while reflecting the numerous changes to policy, practice, and research. The book: Exemplifies what multi-professional work looks like in practice Examines real dilemmas faced by professionals trying to make it work, and shows how these dilemmas can be resolved Considers lessons to be learnt, implications for practice and recommendations for making multi-professional practice effective Featuring useful guidance, theoretical frameworks and evidence-based insights into practice, this book is a key resource for students on courses studying early childhood and families, as well as social workers, teachers, support workers in children's centres, family support workers, health workers, and managers of a range of children and youth services.
Children, Families and Communities by
"I would highly recommend this book ... There is a depth of insight here rarely accessible in parallel literature. It provides an honest, critical and authentic challenge to the emergent literature in areas of inter-professional working, integrated children's services and family support." Children and Society This book draws on the work of Sheffield Children's Centre, a well-known community cooperative which is recognized worldwide for its cutting edge approach and models of good practice that have emerged from community participation. Gaining an insight into the work of the Centre contributes to a better understanding of the challenges, issues, difficulties and opportunities which confront integrated services for children and families. The authors illustrate how, through working closely with the local community and through hearing the voices of children and adults, service provision for children and families can meet needs and change lives. The book: Looks at the alternative approach of Sheffield Children's Centre, where multi-professional working has grown through common principles and aspirations rather than through policy imperative and legislation Details innovative practices and approaches to holistic work with children and families Explores the challenges and celebrations of working with a wide range of children, families and communities both in the UK and internationally It has particular resonance with the multi-professional agendas now required by Every Child Matters and the Children Act (2004) and is groundbreaking in terms of re-thinking support for communities perceived to be 'in difficulty', in fostering community cohesion and promoting active participation in community regeneration from a childcare perspective, working from grassroots upwards. Children, Families and Communities is ideal for researchers, policy makers, practitioners and students training to work with children and families from a range of disciplines such as education, health and social services, including those pursuing the NPQICL (National Professional Qualification for Integrated Centre Leadership) qualification and the EYPs (Early Years Professional Status).
Integrated Children's Services by
Working together with fellow professionals across different sectors of children's services is central to good practice for all those who work with children and young people. This book looks at how children's services can work together more effectively; by taking an approach that is grounded in research, the book engages critically with both the benefits and the pitfalls of integrated working. The importance of relationships, roles, responsibilities and strategic planning is discussed, and chapters cover:What integrated working looks like in practiceHow early years services workEthnicityChild and Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS)Disability and integrated workingThe book encourages the reader to reflect on their own background and how this influences their view of specific children, families and fellow professionals, as well as their own practice. Suitable for all those working with children and young people from Birth to 19 in any aspect of children's services, this book will ensure professionals work together successfully to the benefit of all.
Counselling Children by
'This book is a must have for anyone training to work with children. It combines theory, research-based strategies and direct experience to create a practical, accessible and thoughtful guide. New counsellors will no doubt continue to refer to the book's suggested strategies and media for years to come.' Dr Samantha Bursnall, Clinical Psychologist, Department of Child and Family, Tavistock Centre, London This fourth edition of bestselling Counselling Children is a highly practical guide to the skills and strategies which can be used in working with children who are experiencing emotional problems. The authors cover: -The goals for counselling children and the counsellor-child relationship -Practice frameworks for working effectively with children -Play therapy and using different media and activities -Building self esteem and social skills using worksheets. This fully revised fourth edition includes a new chapter on Ethical Considerations; a new chapter covering Historical Background and Contemporary Ideas, helping you understand and demonstrate the evidence base for your practice; and lots more case studies to help you develop appropriate techniques across different settings and at different stages of your practice. The book is invaluable in the practical skills training of counsellors, psychologists, social workers, occupational therapists, nurses, teachers, and other professionals who work with children. Dr Kathryn Geldard is adjunct senior lecturer at the University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia. David Geldard has an international reputation as a psychologist and trainer of counsellors. He is noted for his work in counselling children and their families. Rebecca Yin Foo is an educational and developmental psychologist who specializes in working with children and families in her private practice.
Play Therapy by
Written for use in play therapy and child counseling courses, this extraordinarily practical text provides a detailed examination of basic and advanced play therapy concepts and skills and guidance on when and how to use them. Kottman's multitheoretical approach and wealth of explicit techniques are also helpful for clinicians who want to gain greater insight into children's minds and enhance therapeutic communication through the power of play. After a discussion of the basic concepts and logistical aspects of play therapy, Kottman illustrates commonly used play therapy skills and more advanced skills. Introduced in this edition is a new chapter on working with parents and teachers to increase the effectiveness of play therapy. Practice exercises and "Questions to Ponder" throughout the text facilitate the skill-building and self-examination process.
Creative Family Therapy Techniques by
Bringing together an array of highly creative contributors, this comprehensive resource presents a unique collection of assessment and treatment techniques. Contributors illustrate how play, art, drama, and other approaches can effectively engage families and help them resolve complex problems. Practitioners from divergent theoretical orientations, work settings, or client specializations will find a plethora of stimulating and useable clinical interventions in this book.
Families and Family Therapy by
This special edition of the classic text includes a new introduction from Professor Arlene Vetere exploring its continuing influence on contemporary practice. One of family therapy's foundational texts, Families and Family Therapy is as relevant today as it has ever been. Examining the therapist's role, Dr. Minuchin presents the views and strategies of a master clinician in a clear and practical form. Transcripts of actual family sessions--both with families meeting their problems fairly successfully and those seeking help--are accompanied by a running interpretation of what is taking place. The book constructs a model of an effectively functioning family and defining the boundaries around its different subsystems, whether parental, spouse, or sibling. It then explores the ways in which families adapt to stress from within and without, as they seek to survive and grow. Combining vivid clinical examples, specific details of technique, and mature perspectives on both effectively functioning families and those seeking therapy, this is an important text for all those interesting in the theory and practice of family therapy. This book can be used on courses such as Family Therapy, Family Interventions, Systemic Practice, and Systemic Counselling within departments of Psychology, Mental Health, and Counselling; and by undergraduate students on Social Work qualifying courses.
Evidence-Based Practice in Infant and Early Childhood Psychology by
An authoritative guide to evidence-based treatment of infants and young children Evidence-Based Practice in Infant and Early Childhood Psychology is the first handbook of its kind to consider the complete psychological needs of infants and young children, from birth to early childhood. With a focus on evidence-based practice, the book provides a balanced perspective of diverse and ethical practice with research and educational recommendations interwoven throughout. Comprehensive in scope, Evidence-Based Practice in Infant and Early Childhood Psychology is divided into four sections: Foundations provides the framework for considering psychological and educational service provisions for young children and their families Assessment and Intervention includes chapters on assessing infants, toddlers, preschoolers, parents and families, and bilingual and multicultural children Evidence-Based Practice addresses evidence-based treatmentsfor particular issues such as autism, ADHD, health impairments, and more Contemporary Issues examines current perspectives on issues such as childcare, neuropsychology, Response to Intervention (RTI) and violence prevention
Health and Education in Early Childhood by
Health and Education in Early Childhood presents conceptual issues, research findings, and program and policy implications in promoting well-being in health and education in the first five years of life. Leading researchers in the multidisciplinary fields of early learning and human capital formation explore the themes of the integration of health and education in promoting young children's well-being; the timing of influences on child development; and the focus on multiple levels of strategies to promote healthy early development. Through this, a unique framework is provided to better understand how early childhood health and education predictors and interventions contribute to well-being at individual, family, community and societal levels, and to policy development. Key topics addressed in the chapters include nutritional status, parenting, cognitive development and school readiness, conduct problems and antisocial behavior, obesity, and well-being in later childhood and adulthood.
Autism Spectrum Disorder in Children and Adolescents by
School professionals and clinicians share the challenge of identifying and providing interventions for the increasing number of children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). This book is an authoritative resource that presents up-to-date research and evidence-based tools for accurate assessment and intervention. It includes procedures to help identify children using the new DSM-5 symptom criteria and offers essential guidance for assessing a variety of emotional, behavioural, and academic problems. The book provides practitioners with an evidence-based assessment battery, which includes tests of cognitive, academic, neuropsychological, and adaptive functioning. The pragmatic, social-communicative functions of language are considered together with assessments to identify language deficits. Readers will learn to identify co-occurring emotional and behaviour problems of children with ASD and will also learn techniques and strategies to enhance home-school partnership and engage parents as active partners in the decision-making process. Each chapter is based on the principles of evidence-based practice. Many chapters also use case vignettes to illustrate best practice in the school setting. The volume concludes with a primer on ASD-related litigation issues and discusses relationships between special education law, provision of services, and placement decisions.