Therapy with Children by
Therapy with Children is a vital resource for any practitioner navigating the legal minefield of working with children and young people. Prioritizing the needs of the child as the client, the authors explore the legal and professional dimensions of working therapeutically with children. This long-awaited Second Edition responds to significant shifts in policy and the revised text additionally addresses:- the importance of confidentiality in establishing a working alliance and maintaining a secure environment for therapy with children- the conflicting pressures faced by therapists concerning issues of parental involvement and children at risk- changes in light of the Children Act 2004, Mental Health Act 2007, and the Axon case- changes in the organization of child protection - increased provision of therapeutic services for children, particularly in school settings, and the growing numbers of counselors working with children - the relevance of psychoanalysis in development of child-focused therapy, as well as reference to other therapeutic approaches to child therapy- the urgent case for developing 'confidential spaces' within therapeutic services for children and young people.Illustrated with vivid case examples, Therapy with Children provides stimulating reading and is an excellent source of reference for all psychotherapists and counselors working with children. The issues here will also be of direct relevance to youth workers, teachers, social workers and health professionals.
Therapy with Children and Young People by
Counselling with Children and Young People provides a distinctive focus on child therapy in school settings, addressing in a unique level of detail. The authors adopt a broad ecosystematic, integrative approach that takes into account the factors of family, school and wider community, placing emphasis on significant development and attachment issues. As well as providing your students with a solid ground in developmental theory, the authors explore the contextual and professional issues of working in a school setting. A wide range of activities and exercises (including using the creative arts to engage with young people through play, story, metaphor and imagery) allow students to apply theory to practice in a new way. Challenging ethical dilemmas, such as sharing sensitive information and communicating with parents and teachers, are explored with the support of lively case studies. Covering working with children from infancy to secondary school, this book is an essential resource for both trainees and practising therapists who wish to work in schools.
An Introduction to Helping Skills by
Readers will be introduced to the three core approaches of counselling, coaching and mentoring, and shown how they work across a variety of settings, including therapy, teaching, social work and nursing.Part 1 takes readers through the theory, approaches and skills needed for helping work, and includes chapters on: The differences and similarities of counselling, coaching and mentoring Foundational and advanced skills for effective helping Supervision and reflective practice Ethical helping and working with diversity Part 2 shows how helping skills look in practice, in a variety of different helping professions. 10 specially-written case studies show you the intricacies of different settings and client groups, including work in schools, hospitals, telephone helplines and probation programs.
Care in Everyday Life by
The essential idea of care in health and social policy has recently been swept aside as governments increasingly focus on freedom of choice in health and social services. In this wide-ranging book, Marian Barnes attempts to restore care as a fundamental value in private lives and public policy. Applying feminist ethics to topics such as well-being, social justice, and the ways we relate to one another and the places in which we live, she examines the public debate on care in social policy. Both accessible and broad,Care in Everyday Lifereintroduces a much-needed humanitarian perspective on the policies and practices that affect so many people.
Ethics, Values and Social Work Practice by 
Ethical Practice in Social Work by
'Ethical Practice in Social Work' provides social work students and practitioners with the tools to develop ethical decision-making and problem-solving skills for the changing world of welfare practice. Through case studies in each chapter, the authors demonstrate how social work principles and values can be used to transform practice into an active, effective, inclusive and empowering process for both professionals and their clients. Exercises and discussion questions assist students in developing their ethical understanding.
Ethical and Philosophical Aspects of Nursing Children and Young People by
Nurses and healthcare professionals are constantly faced withethical and philosophical dilemmas when working with children ineveryday practice. Ethical and Philosophical Aspects of NursingChildren and Young People is a comprehensive text on the ethicsand philosophy behind paediatric nursing that reflects thecontemporary issues encountered while working with children andyoung people. The title provides a philosophical and historical analysisof the subject, looking at a review of sociological and politicaltheories concerning the nature of childhood, and providing acritical analysis of contemporary notions about childhood. It thengoes on to look at moral theories and their application topaediatric nursing practice, ethical issues when caring forchildren of all ages, from infancy to adolescence. It considersissues of disabled children, confidentiality, mental health issues,children's rights, and pain management. With case studies andactivities throughout, this book will enable students and newlyqualified nurses both to understand philosophical concepts andissues but also to articulate their own reflections andobservations on these subjects. Written by children's nurses for children's nurses With contributions from internationally recognised experts inthe field Reflective scenarios, further reading, extensive referencing,case studies, guided questions, and resources throughout Includes appendices on the RCPCH Guidelines onWithdrawal of Treatment, the ICN Ethical Code, the Summary of theUNCRC, and the RCPCH Guidelines for the Conduct of EthicalResearch
A Student′s Guide to Therapeutic Counselling by
Co-published with the CPCAB, this highly practical book is a comprehensive training guide based around 7 core processes of practitioner development. This will appeal to learners on diploma courses at Level 4 and above. It offers a firm foundation of knowledge and skills, looks at practice issues, helps with study, and also answers the most common questions students have when training.
Effective Communication Skills for Health Professionals - Second Edition by
Providing practical ways of enhancing communication between health professionals, their clients and their colleagues, this book deals with four distinct areas of work in which good communication skills are essential, covering educational, therapeutic, organizational and personal interactions. Within each area, strategies are discussed for teaching, presentation, computing, listening, management and interviewing skills.
Communication Skills Training for Health Professionals by
Providing a review and update of descriptive and theoretical work, this volume includes chapters on skill generalization; interactional strategies, to include negotiating and working with groups; the incorporation of marketing and selling; and the role of communication audit in relation to communication dysfunctions.
Group Counseling by
GROUP COUNSELING: STRATEGIES AND SKILLS, Eighth Edition, provides an in-depth look at group counseling with an emphasis on practical knowledge and techniques for effective group leadership. The authors discuss the many facets of group counseling and provide examples of how each skill can be applied in a wide range of group settings to produce effective and efficient group sessions. The book's active approach focuses on the skills necessary for starting and ending a session, as well as on how to make the middle phase productive and meaningful. Through its integration of traditional theories and concepts of group process with thoughtful strategies and specific skills, this reader-friendly book meets the needs of practicing or future counselors, social workers, psychologists, and others who are leading or preparing to lead groups in a variety of settings.
The Handbook of Counselling Children and Young People by 
Communication Skills in Health and Social Care by
Our ability to communicate is a key part of everyday life and is an essential skill, particularly when communicating with vulnerable people in a health and social care setting. Presented in a unique and easy-to-use dictionary format, this practical guide will help students and practitioners understand and apply the principles of effective communication. From the "how to" practicalities through to challenges and honing existing skills, this book will ensure they have the confidence and knowledge to communicate skilfully and successfully in many different contexts and settings. Communication Skills in Health and Social Care is essential reading for anyone working in the helping professions for whom good communication skills are an essential part of their role.
Introduction to good clinical practice (GCP) : A practical guide to ethical and scientific quality standards in clinical research by 
Therapeutic Approaches in Work with Traumatised Children and Young People by
This book gives extensive coverage to work by staff at the Cotswold Community, a therapeutic community of working with the psychodynamic principle, from 1994 to 2000. It Covers every aspect of the therapeutic way of working in great detail and gives good examples of practice and theory. It also lays out the principles that underpin way of working within a therapeutic environment.' - Children Now 'Trauma for many, is a fact of life. But is the right kind of human environment, so too is recovery.' - Attributed to Paul van Heeswyck from the foreword 'The text draw on the author's experience and wealth of material from staff discussions. The therapeutic framework is applied to this client group and integrated into all aspects of their care. The additional material on child-adult, staff-dynamics, supervision and management, will be of great interest to a wide range of residential staff, social workers, foster carers, therapists and educationalists caring for or working with emotionally needy children and young people.' - Community Care Based on work carried out by staff at the Cotswold Community over a number of years, Therapeutic Approaches in Work with Traumatized Children and Young People provides a clear and comprehensive link between theory and practice. The author shows how practice in residential child care, fostering and other areas of work with children can be developed in a way that is thoughtful and underpinned by a sound theoretical base. Meeting weekly to discuss and review their therapeutic practice in the light of relevant theoretical approaches, the staff at the Cotswold Community produced an invaluable record of working with emotionally traumatized children. The result, brought together here by Patrick Tomlinson, is an in-depth account of a "thinking culture" which provides continual opportunities to respond to children's needs in innovative ways - these include useful suggestions on a range of key issues including education and play, primary provision, sexuality and aggression.
Handbook of Professional and Ethical Practice for Psychologists, Counsellors and Psychotherapists by
Closer regulation of psychological counselling means that an awareness of the professional, legal and ethical considerations is vital. The second edition of Handbook of Professional and Ethical Practice offers a clear, stimulating, and structured introduction to a number of contemporary issues of professional and ethical practice. Rachel Tribe and Jean Morrissey have brought together updated, re-written and new contributions from professionals in the interrelated fields of psychology, psychotherapy and counselling, which illustrate the professional and ethical dilemmas involved in mental health practice. Academic and clinical experiences are skilfully combined with personal reflection to produce a comprehensive resource that addresses challenges that therapeutic practitioners are faced with on a daily basis. Each chapter places particular emphasis on the current codes of practice and ethical principles underpinning safe ethical practice and the implications for practitioners. Comprehensive coverage of the legal, clinical and ethical considerations involved in research and training is provided and the reflective questions at the end of every chapter serve to prompt further discussion of the issues. Chapters are enhanced by clinical vignettes that illustrate the particular issues at hand, as well as detailed bibliographies that point the reader towards the latest literature on the subject. The book is divided into 5 sections: Professional practice and ethical considerations Legal considerations and responsibilities Clinical considerations and responsibilities Working with diversity ¿ professional practice and ethical considerations Research Supervision and Training This new, updated edition reflects the changes in the environment in which therapists and psychologists work. Covering a wide range of perspectives, clinical settings and client populations, Handbook of Professional and Ethical Practice 2nd edition will be an invaluable source of both information and inspiration to psychologists, counsellors, psychotherapists and practitioners of diverse orientations and stages of professional development and to those interested in a contemporary, multi-disciplinary approach to best practice in mental health. ¿