Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Flip the System UK by How did we let teacher burn-out happen, and what can we do about it ¿ before it's too late? This brave and disruptive book accurately defines the problems of low teacher morale and offers systemic, future-proof and realistic solutions to bringing hope, energy and joy back to the profession. The simple answer is staring us in the face: increase teacher agency. Our rallying cry: our profession needs a return to values of humanity, pride, and professionalism. From research literacy to a collective voice, better CPD to smarter accountability, contributors to this book demonstrate the huge scope for increased teacher influence at every level of the education sector. Education voices including Sam Twiselton, Alison Peacock, David Weston and Andy Hargreaves, supported by a broad range of academics and policy makers, vouch for increased teacher agency and stronger, more powerful networks as a means of improving practice, combatting teacher disillusionment, and radically improving UK education. This text offers an exciting and hopeful perspective on education; urging teachers to work together to ¿flip the system¿ and challenging policy makers to help¿ or get out of the way. Chapters have been contributed by Tom Bennett, Peter Ford, Jonathan Firth, David Weston, David Williams, Zeba Clarke, Julie Smith, Dr Robert Loe, Jeremy Pattle, Debra Kidd, Steven Watson, Ross Morrison McGill, George Gilchrist, Howard Stevenson, Professor Dame Alison Peacock, d¿Reen Struthers, Phil Wood, Rae Snape, Simon Gibbs, Ross Hall, Jackie Ward, Simon Knight, David Frost, Sheila Ball, Sarah Lightfoot, Andy Hargreaves, Darren Macey, Gary Farrell, Julian Critchley, Tony Gallagher, Gareth Alcott, Sam Twiselton, Jelmer Evers, Alma Harris, Michelle Jones, Natalie Scott, Deborah M. Netolicky, Jon Andrews, Cameron Paterson, Per Kornhall, Joe Hallgarten, Tom Beresford and Sara Hjelm.
Call Number: 371.1
Publication Date: 2017-11-22
Ideology and Curriculum by To celebrate the 25th anniversary of its publication, Michael W. Apple has thoroughly updated his influential text, and written a new preface. The new edition also includes an extended interview circa 2001, in which Apple relates the critical agenda outlined in Ideology and Curriculum to the more contemporary conservative climate. Finally, a new chapter titled "Pedagogy, Patriotism and Democracy: Ideology and Education After 9/11" is also included.
Call Number: 375
Publication Date: 2004-02-19
Teaching and Training in Lifelong Learning 4th edn. (ebook) by "Like good teacher education itself, this book is a carefully crafted mix of theory and practice. It is vital for all those entering this complex sector to understand its history, some of the key philosophies and concepts that have driven research, policy and practice in this area and to be introduced to the ideas of a range of current and past thinkers. At the same time, trainee teachers need to feel they are being given the tools to approach the classroom with confidence. This book provides both. One of its major strengths is the regular opportunities it offers the reader to pause and reflect - surely one of the most important activities for teachers at whatever stage of their career. 'Teaching and Training in Lifelong Learning' has been brought fully up to date and will provide an invaluable resource for those wanting to work in the lifelong learning sector." Professor Ann Hodgson, Co-Director, Centre for Post-14 Research and Innovation, Institute of Education, University of London "In the fourth edition of this respected text Armitage et al have once again provided the sector with a resource which combines academic analysis, theoretical critique and sound practical advice on matters to do with education and teaching. Completely up to date with the rapidly changing components of education, the book contains chapters advising on the use of new technologies and on the design of learning resources. Elements of sound practical advice are successfully combined with an extensive critique of the new market economies impacting on the structural organisation of the education system today. The resultant book is both useful and thought provoking." Dr Liz Keeley-Browne, Oxford Brookes University The fourth edition of this bestselling book examines the breadth of lifelong learning from Adult and Further Education through to training in private and public industry and commerce. Revised and updated throughout to include recent initiatives and developments in the field, it is the definitive textbook on learning, teaching, resources, course planning and assessment in all areas of post-compulsory education and training. The authors examine key areas in lifelong learning through topical discussion, practical exercises, theory, reading, analysis, information, and examples of student work. Popular features of the previous edition such as the chronology of post-compulsory education have been retained and fully updated. New features include: Coverage of the new framework for teacher training, including the new Lifelong Learning UK professional standards, CPD provision, mentoring and subject coaching A re-evaluation of 14-19 developments including the creation of an English Baccalaureate (EBac) Developments in information and learning technology, particularly electronic teaching and learning resources Added coverage of personalization An expanded section on planning for equality and diversity Further information on embedding of language and literacy This text is essential reading for teachers and students training to teach in post-compulsory education.
Call Number: 374.1102
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Education, Policy and Social Justice by James Avis develops an important argument in this wide-ranging book, in which questions of social justice play a central role. He explores the socio-economic and policy context of education in advanced capitalist societies, and indicates the manner in which the rhetoric of policy-makers distorts the way in which skill is marshalled in the economy. The result is that oppressive and exploitative features of paid labour are underplayed in this rhetoric. He examines the lived experiences of teachers and students in post-compulsory education and explores their contradictory positions. If questions of social justice are to be addressed, an economically driven model of education should be rejected in favour of one that is politically engaged and utilises an expansive model of practice, extending into the wider society.
Call Number: 379.41
Publication Date: 2009-08-22
The Power of Critical Theory for Adult Learning and Teaching by Using quotes from the theorists' works, this book shows how critical theory illuminates the everyday practices of adult educators and helps them make sense of the dilemmas, contradictions and frustrations they experience in their work. It also reviews adult educational practices and looks at what it means to teach critically.
Call Number: 374
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Professionalism and Ethics in Teaching by Professionalism and Ethics in Teachingpresents a thought-provoking and stimulating study of the moral dimensions of the teaching professions. After discussing the moral implications of professionalism, Carr explores the relationship of education theory to teaching practice and the impact of this relationship on professional expertise. He then identifies and examines some central ethical and moral issues in education and teaching. Finally David Carr gives a detailed analysis of a range of issues concerning the role of the teacher and the managements of educational issues. Professionalism and Ethics in Teachingpresents a thought-provoking and stimulating study of the moral dimensions of the teaching professions.
Call Number: 174.937
Publication Date: 1999-12-02
Teaching in Further Education by Jonathan Tummons has sensitively updated Curzon's long-established Teaching in Further Education, ensuring that not only does this new edition provide the academically rigorous approach of previous editions but it also offers an up to date guide to current practice and research. Topics covered include:- Theories of learning- The teaching-learning process- Instructional techniques- Assessment and evaluation- Intelligence and abilityThis is the complete guide for those training to work in the Further Education sector.
Call Number: 374.1102
Publication Date: 2014-01-02
Experience and Education by Traditional Chinese edition of Experience and Education, the great education theorist John Dewey's ideas about the needs, the problems and the possibilities of education. In Traditional Chinese. Annotation copyright Tsai Fong Books, Inc. Distributed by Tsai Fong Books, Inc.
Publication Date: 2015-07-17
Democracy and Education by Democracy and Education is a statement of the ideas implied in a democratic society and the application of these ideas to the problem of the enterprise of education. Professor Dewey's discussion includes an indication of the construction, aims and methods of public education as seen from this point of view and a critical estimate of the theories of knowing and moral development which were formulated in earlier social conditions, but which still operate, in societies nominally democratic, to hamper the adequate realization of the democratic ideal. This 100th anniversary edition of Democracy and Education contains a new introduction, an afterword exploring Professor Dewey's impact on education, and a chapter-by-chapter list of study questions for use in the classroom. "An abundant book which will light the future for everyone who lives with it. It is rich in that wisdom which democracies need, the common wisdom which must lie beneath the diverse activities of all professions. It is a great book because it expresses more deeply and more comprehensively than any other that could be named the best hope of liberal men." - New Republic
Call Number: 370.1
Publication Date: 2016-11-29
Designing and Assessing Courses and Curricula (ebook) by Designing and Assessing Courses and Curricula reflects the most current knowledge and practice in course and curriculum design and connects this knowledge with the critical task of assessing learning outcomes at both course and curricular levels. This thoroughly revised and expanded third edition of the best-selling book positions course design as a tool for educational change and contains a wealth of new material including new chapters, case examples, and resources.
Call Number: 378.190973
Publication Date: 2009-11-24
Globalization and Reform in Higher Education by As the ability of each higher education system to produce the highly-skilled citizens required in the twenty first century becomes crucial, governments are recognizing and responding to global, as well as local, economic and cultural changes. Moreover, as the effects of globalization spread, their impact upon individual governments and their higher education institutions are becoming steadily more apparent. This book charts the key issues that are involved in reforming higher education to meet new global challenges. It draws on a team of distinguished international researchers from North America, Africa, Australia and Europe who consider particular topics: the reform of governance and finance, the funding of higher education, managerialism, accreditation and quality assurance, the use of performance indicators, faculty roles and rewards, and the cultural, social and ethical dimensions of change. The concluding section consists of two case studies: the first is a detailed discussion of the Australian government's introduction of higher education reform; the second assesses the transformation of higher education in South Africa in the face of contemporary global and local change. Globalization and Reform in Higher Education enables readers to develop a firm grasp of the current state of play in higher education institutions worldwide, issues to be dealt with, and difficulties that have to be transcended. The book is essential reading for academics, senior managers, parliamentarians and civil servants involved in higher education policy-making. Contributors Rosemary Deem, Heather Eggins, Elaine El-Khawas, D. Bruce Johnstone, Mary-Louise Kearney, Adrianna Kezar, Elisabeth Lillie, Simon Marginson, Ann I. Morey, Preeti Shroff-Mehta, Barbara Sporn, George Subotzky and William Taylor.
Call Number: 378
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Fifty Modern Thinkers on Education by Fifty Modern Thinkers on Education looks at fifty of the twentieth century's most significant contributors to the debate on education. Among those included are: * Pierre Bourdieu * Elliot Eisner * Hans J. Eysenck * Michel Focault * Henry Giroux * Jurgen Habermas * Susan Isaacs * A.S. Neill * Herbert Read * Simone Weill. Together with Fifty Major Thinkers on Education this book provides a unique history of educational thinking. Each essay gives key biographical information, an outline of the individual's principal achievements and activities, an assessment of his or her impact and influence and a list of their major writings and suggested further reading.
Call Number: 370.922
Publication Date: 2001-11-09
What Is Curriculum Theory? by This primer for teachers (prospective and practicing) asks readers to question the historical present and their relation to it, and in so doing, to construct their own understandings of what it means to teach, to study, to become "educated" in the present moment. Curriculum theory is the scholarly effort #65533; inspired by theory in the humanities, arts and interpretive social sciences #65533; to understand the curriculum, defined here as "complicated conversation." Rather than the formulation of objectives to be evaluated by (especially standardized) tests, curriculum is communication informed by academic knowledge, and it is characterized by educational experience. Pinar recasts school reform as school deform in which educational institutions devolve into cram schools preparing for standardized exams, and traces the history of this catastrophe starting in 1950s. Changes in the Second Edition: Introduces Pinar#65533;s formulation of allegories-of-the-present #65533; a concept in which subjectivity, history, and society become articulated through the teacher#65533;s participation in the complicated conversation that is the curriculum; features a new chapter on Weimar Germany (as an allegory of the present); includes new chapters on the future, and on the promises and risks of technology.
Call Number: 375
Publication Date: 2011-08-03
Teacher Professionalism in Further and Higher Education by Teachers from further and higher education are rarely considered together. This book explores the differences and similarities that exist between these groups. It provides an up-to-date account of developments and brings together arguments and debates about both groups of teachers to challenge some strongly held beliefs. Focusing on aspects of teachers' professionalism, Jocelyn Robson considers what 'professionalism' may mean and ways in which 'professionalism' has been studied. She goes on to consider: professional standards, training and qualifications professional identities and communities opportunities and strategies for professional development and renewal key debates in the literature and the most significant policy developments the main challenges currently facing the teaching profession in further and higher education.
Call Number: 378.12
Publication Date: 2006-02-09
Teaching Adults by This bestselling book will help anyone who is engaged in teaching adults. Whether you are working with groups or individuals, in a formal or informal setting, face-to-face or via distance learning channels, it will help you to develop a relationship with your student learners while increasing your understanding of yourself as a teacher. The authors examine different aspects of teaching including: What is meant by adult learning and what are the main characteristics of adult learners? What is the nature of learning and how does theory relate to practice? How do teachers plan learning, set goals and objectives and most importantly how does a teacher know when learning has taken place? Each chapter contains a series of activities to help you relate what you are reading to your own experiences. Key features of the new edition include: New research on unconscious and conscious learning Adult learning in formal and non-formal education programmes Fully updated and extended activities Opportunity for teachers to pause and reflect on their role as teachers This popular book is valuable reading for experienced teachers who wish to reflect on and improve their practice. It is also useful reading for those who are new to teaching and workplace trainers.
Call Number: 374.005
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector by This popular introductory textbook is ideal for anyone working or training to work in the lifelong learning sector. The new edition has been comprehensively revised to reflect recent developments in the sector and current research in learning and teaching. The book covers key topics such as reflective teaching, communication, learning theories, and assessment for learning. In addition there are new chapters on: Behaviour for learning; A curriculum for inclusive learning; The lifelong learning sector and Functional skills. This edition also includes more student journal extracts, case studies and developmental activities. Common elements of good practice in teaching and learning spanning the lifelong learning, further education and skills sector and are fully explored so that you will: Gain a thorough understanding of learners and their needs Understand the importance of effective communication Appreciate the role of reflective practice and continuing professional development Achieve a good grasp of theory and practice including methods of active learning and assessment for learning Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector is essential reading for those teaching or training to teach in further and higher education, adult and community learning, and work-based learning. With contributions from Kelly Briddon and Lynn Senior. "The new edition contains some really useful additional material. It signposts to key policies and is brought up to date in identifying current influences and debates within the HE and FE sector. There is reference to views on the curriculum. More attention is given to Functional Skills. I liked the positive emphasis placed on classroom management as Behaviour for Learning. New developments and inclusions are well judged. It remains an accessible and sufficiently detailed book for all those who are on teacher education programmes." Victoria Wright, Senior Lecturer in Post Compulsory Education, University of Wolverhampton, UK "This is a valuable resource that can be used by both trainee and recently qualified teachers, who are considering a career in the Further Education sector. It contains a mixture of both theory and practical activities which have been mapped to the LLUK standards. The contents key at the beginning of each chapter means it can be used for reference purposes. The text is easily readable and, therefore accessible to all." Cheryl Hine, Lecturer on Teacher Training, Leeds City College, UK "This accessible second edition offers comprehensive, contemporary and stimulating insights into the theories of teaching and learning, whilst also providing a firm framework of meaningful and innovative strategies for trainee and qualified teachers to expand their knowledge and drive their practice forward to outstanding. I can see students dipping into the book again and again." Dr Vicky Duckworth, Edge Hill University, UK
Call Number: 374.1102
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
The Curriculum by Mary Myatt argues that the solutions to overcoming achievement barriers lie in understanding the curriculum and in what children are meant to know.
Call Number: 375 MYA
Publication Date: 2019-09-03
Curriculum Studies in the Lifelong Learning Sector by Curriculum is a key issue for teachers and trainers in the learning and skills sector. It shapes the programmes that are taught, and dictates which students can have access to courses and which cannot. This book provides an accessible overview of the key issues surrounding the curriculum within the learning and skills sector. Written for all those working towards QTLS, it provides examples and case studies that show these issues within working FE colleges, adult education centres and work-based learning contexts, as well as offering succinct summaries of key theories and debates relating to the curriculum.
Call Number: 374.01
Publication Date: 2009-05-27
Miseducation: inequality, education and the working classes by In this book Diane Reay, herself working-class-turned-Cambridge-professor, presents a 21st-century view of education and the working classes. Drawing on over 500 interviews, the book includes vivid stories from working-class children and young people. It looks at class identity, and the effects of wider economic and social class relationships on working-class educational experiences. The book reveals how we have ended up with an educational system that still educates the different social classes in fundamentally different ways and, vitally, what we can do to achieve a fairer system. Book jacket.
Call Number: 379.41
Publication Date: 2018-01-15
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library