How Learning Happens by
How Learning Happensintroduces 28 giants of educational research and their findings on how we learn and what we need to learn effectively, efficiently, and enjoyably. Many of these works have inspired researchers and teachers all around the world and have left a mark on how we teach today. Exploring 28 key works on learning and teaching, chosen from the fields of educational psychology and cognitive psychology, the book offers a roadmap of the most important discoveries in how learning happens. Each chapter examines a different work and explains its significance before describing the research, its implications for practice, how it can be used in the classroom and the key takeaways for teachers. Clearly divided into six sections, the book covers: How the brain works and what this means for learning and teaching Prerequisites for learning How learning can be supported Teacher activities Learning in context Cautionary tales and the ten deadly sins of education. Written by two leading experts and illustrated by Oliver Caviglioli, this is essential reading for teachers wanting to fully engage with and understand educational research as well as undergraduate students in the fields of education, educational psychology and the learning sciences.
Learning Theories Simplified by
Are you struggling to get your head around John Dewey's educational pragmatism? What exactly is Jean Piaget saying about cognitive development? Maybe you're running out of time and patience making sense of Carol Dweck's mindsets? Have you reached breaking point reading Daniel T. Willingham on educational neuroscience? Written for busy teachers, trainers, managers and students, this ′dip-in, dip-out′ guide makes theories of learning accessible and practical. It explores 130 classic and contemporary learning theorists in an easy-to-use, bite-sized format with clear relevant illustrations on how each theory will benefit teaching and learning. Each model or theory is explained in less than 350 words, followed by a ′how to use it′ section. What′s new to this edition: A new early childhood theorists section A new communication theories section Additional 'on trend' theorists throughout New 'critical view' features added to each entry.
A Complete Guide to the Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training by
The new edition of this essential text is for all those working towards the Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training. Tailored to meet the demands of the new qualification and latest ETF Standards, it incorporates key information on reflective practice, study and research skills, and provides full coverage of all the mandatory units. Accessible language is combined with a critical approach that clearly relates practical examples to the required underpinning theory, and a range of useful learning features, including: key definitions, extended case studies, critical questions, and chapter reflections. This second edition has been fully updated throughout to include additional material on critical thinking and a new chapter on technology enhanced teaching and learning. (Series: Further Education) [Subject: UK?Education]Ã?Ã?
Achieving Your Diploma in Education and Training by
This book supports the Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training for anyone training to teach in the further education and skills sector. Full of informed practical guidance and supported by meaningful links to theory and educational research.
The Award in Education and Training by
The Award in Education and Training is the threshold qualification for anyone wanting to teach in a wide range of contexts including the further education and skills sector, workplace learning, offender learning and adult and community settings. This user-friendly text is your guide to all the units of the Award and is a key text for the course. Structured around the teaching, learning and assessment cycle, it includes full coverage of all units as well as information relevant to the Learning and Development units. Examples, activities and checklists help link theory to practice. The text is written for all learners and all awarding organisations. This revised edition is updated for the new qualification requirements and the Professional Standards for Teachers and Trainers. * A key text for the new Award in Education and Training. * Contents specifically follow the teaching, learning and assessment cycle, and match the qualification requirements. * Readable, relevant and easy to understand. * Provides valuable support for prospective teachers and trainers with little or no previous experience. * An excellent foundation for those considering or progressing to further teaching qualifications.
What Is Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector? by
This is a handbook for anyone considering a career in teaching in the lifelong learning sector. It offers an essential introduction to what it is like to teach in the sector. It considers the diversity of contexts, settings and students, covering all you need to know. It reviews the role of the teacher and offers advice on choosing what to teach and how to become qualified. Whether you are a skilled tradesperson, have specialist knowledge in a particular subject or simply enthusiastic about working with adults in an education role, this is your essential guide. -an easy-to-read and accessible guide to teaching in the Lifelong Lerning Sector -considers a diverse range of contexts, settings and students -written for anyone considering, approaching or beginning teaching in the lifelong learning sector This text is a companion title to the bestselling Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector a core text providing an essential introduction to all the key aspects of the PTLLS Award, helping candidates with all aspects of their study and practice.
Equality and Diversity in the Lifelong Learning Sector by
Written for students of the Certificate and Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector (CTLLS and DTLLS), this title is a comprehensive course book for the popular optional unit Equality and Diversity in the Lifelong Learning Sector. It is relevant for all students, whatever their awarding organization and whether they are taking the unit at Level 3 or Level 4. All chapters are linked to the QTLS standards and provide comprehensive coverage, closely following the content of the unit, while examples and activities are included to ehnache learning. This Second Edition now includes 'extension activities' specifically for Level 4 students and has been updated following the Equality Act 2010. This title will help anyone teaching in a variety of lifelong learning settings and can also be used when providing in-service CPD training for staff.
Teaching today : a practical guide 5th edn. by 
Practical teaching; a guide to teaching in the lifelong learning sector (ebook) by Practical teaching : a guide to teaching in the education and training sector (Printed Book) by 
Teaching and Training Vocational Learners by
If you are teaching or training to teach vocational learners across the further education and skills sector or in the workplace, this is your essential guide.Teaching and Training Vocational Learnersis a focused text written to support those who are working with vocational learners, taking into account the specific needs of this group. It provides practical advice and guidance to help you to shape your approach to teaching, learning and assessment. It has comprehensive coverage of the learning you need to prepare you to teach. Throughout, the authors offer a range of exciting and practical examples to help you to expand your ′vocational teaching toolkit′. Included are lesson plans, assessment grids, assignment briefs, ideas to engage employers, help on marking vocational evidence, planning trips and visits and much more.
Managing Behaviour in Further and Adult Education by
This practical guide to managing behaviour in Further and Adult Education is for all those training to teach in the sector. The third edition includes new chapters on 14-19 learners and behaviour theory and continues to offer practical ideas on how to manage and motivate students. It takes account of the variety of contexts in the sector and makes reference to important research findings and studies of learner behaviour. Based firmly on what teachers and students have to say about their experiences, it uses case studies, dialogue and journal extracts to explore key issues, and help teachers develop their practice.
Equality and Diversity in the Lifelong Learning Sector by
Written for students of the Certificate and Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector (CTLLS and DTLLS), this title is a comprehensive course book for the popular optional unit Equality and Diversity in the Lifelong Learning Sector. It is relevant for all students, whatever their awarding organization and whether they are taking the unit at Level 3 or Level 4. All chapters are linked to the QTLS standards and provide comprehensive coverage, closely following the content of the unit, while examples and activities are included to ehnache learning. This Second Edition now includes ′extension activities′ specifically for Level 4 students and has been updated following the Equality Act 2010. This title will help anyone teaching in a variety of lifelong learning settings and can also be used when providing in-service CPD training for staff. ?Ann Gravells is leading a CPD Day on 22nd June in London. The event will focus on Raising quality and improving practice in the FE and Skills sector and is a rare opportunity to learn from leading experts. There will only be a limited number of seats available, so book your place here to avoid disappointment.
Further Education and the Twelve Dancing Princesses by
'Cinderella' is the dominant metaphor used to describe further education, but the book challenges this deficit metaphor and replaces it with another of the Brothers Grimm's tales, the 'Twelve Dancing Princesses'. The twelve princesses escape from the room they are locked in to dance all through each night. As a metaphor for teaching in FE, this tale suggests the possibility of subversion, of autonomy in teaching and learning, and a collective rather than individualist notion of professionalism, even within repressive contexts. Twelve chapters from twelve experienced practitioners suggest professional development that will culminate in a collective, celebratory alternative. They explore the professional aspirations and commitment to social justice of prospective teacher education students in spite of the current ideological context of FE. They argue for inspiration from critical pedagogy so FE can maintain transformative professional space. They explore the impact of technology on learning, and the physical spaces in which teaching and learning are situated. They challenge the prevailing managerialist use of lesson observation and the resistance and collusion of FE managers. And they propose a notion of professionalism that focuses on educational values rather than market forces. This engaging, accessible and thought-provoking book is essential reading for teacher training courses, postgraduate students, sector researchers, and members of professional bodies and trade unions. If the sector is to be Grimm, asserts this inspirational collection, it should be so on our own terms: powerful, democratic and professional.
Principles and Practices of Teaching and Training by
Written by bestselling author Ann Gravells, this is the complete go-to guide for anyone wanting to be (or working as) a teacher or trainer in the further education and skills sector, in the UK and beyond. It has all the information you need to work towards a qualification such as the Award, Certificate or Diploma in Education and Training. It is also relevant to anyone taking a Train the Trainer course, or an international teaching qualification.The book takes you through all the information you need to know, opening up the topic for learning in an easily accessible way. Interactive activities are included throughout, along with real examples of teaching and training in practice. The book also includes examples of completed teaching documents.This is a comprehensive text, covering: The role of a teacher/trainer Factors contributing to learning Planning and facilitating learning for groups and individuals Using technology and resources to support learning Assessing learning Quality assurance Evaluation, reflection, and continuing professional development (CPD) Preparing for a micro-teach session and teaching/observed practice Ann Gravells is leading a CPD Day on 22nd June in London. The event will focus on Raising quality and improving practice in the FE and Skills sector and is a rare opportunity to learn from leading experts. There will only be a limited number of seats available, so book your place here to avoid disappointment.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Flip the System UK by
How did we let teacher burn-out happen, and what can we do about it ¿ before it's too late? This brave and disruptive book accurately defines the problems of low teacher morale and offers systemic, future-proof and realistic solutions to bringing hope, energy and joy back to the profession. The simple answer is staring us in the face: increase teacher agency. Our rallying cry: our profession needs a return to values of humanity, pride, and professionalism. From research literacy to a collective voice, better CPD to smarter accountability, contributors to this book demonstrate the huge scope for increased teacher influence at every level of the education sector. Education voices including Sam Twiselton, Alison Peacock, David Weston and Andy Hargreaves, supported by a broad range of academics and policy makers, vouch for increased teacher agency and stronger, more powerful networks as a means of improving practice, combatting teacher disillusionment, and radically improving UK education. This text offers an exciting and hopeful perspective on education; urging teachers to work together to ¿flip the system¿ and challenging policy makers to help¿ or get out of the way. Chapters have been contributed by Tom Bennett, Peter Ford, Jonathan Firth, David Weston, David Williams, Zeba Clarke, Julie Smith, Dr Robert Loe, Jeremy Pattle, Debra Kidd, Steven Watson, Ross Morrison McGill, George Gilchrist, Howard Stevenson, Professor Dame Alison Peacock, d¿Reen Struthers, Phil Wood, Rae Snape, Simon Gibbs, Ross Hall, Jackie Ward, Simon Knight, David Frost, Sheila Ball, Sarah Lightfoot, Andy Hargreaves, Darren Macey, Gary Farrell, Julian Critchley, Tony Gallagher, Gareth Alcott, Sam Twiselton, Jelmer Evers, Alma Harris, Michelle Jones, Natalie Scott, Deborah M. Netolicky, Jon Andrews, Cameron Paterson, Per Kornhall, Joe Hallgarten, Tom Beresford and Sara Hjelm.
Understanding and Using Educational Theories by
This textbook gives readers a clear overview of a selection of the most influential thinkers on education in the last hundred year, including established names (Vygotsky, Bruner, Dewey), more recent thinkers (Freire, hooks, Claxton) and other key names whose writing has helped shaped our views on teaching and learning. This second edition includes new chapters on Albert Bandura, Dylan Wiliam and Carol Dweck.Each chapter includes: Practical examples showing how theories can be used to inform classroom teaching Critiques of each theorist exploring opposing viewpoints and the strengths and weaknesses of different ideas Reflective tasks inviting you to apply what you′ve read to your own educational experiences. This book is not available as a print inspection copy. To download an e-version click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.
How To Explain Absolutely Anything to Absolutely Anyone: The art and science of teacher explanation by 
Getting the Buggers to Behave 5th edn. by
THE MUST-HAVE BEHAVIOUR MANAGEMENT BIBLE "Show the students the can of dog food, open it up and then eat from it. Offer it round the class to see if anyone else will have a taste..."* This is just one of Sue Cowley's infamous ways of captivating your students, seizing control and getting those buggers to behave! *(WARNING: Make sure you read the crucial perparation advice before putting this idea into practice!) Now in its fifth edition, Getting the Buggers to Behave remains a firm favourite with trainees, newly qualified teachers and experienced staff alike. The advice ranges from the basics of behaviour management to 'how to deal with the class from hell' and is applicable whether you are working in the early years, primary, secondary or further education with level specific examples in every chapter. The boo covers preparing for your first meeting with a new group of students, developing your individual teaching style, creating a positive learning environment and working in really challenging schools. Sue is famed for the practical, honest and realistic nature of her advice, and all her ideas include case studies and anecdotes based on her years of experience working as a teacher and the stories and problems she has advised on 'agony aunt' style, for teachers of all levels. In this brand new edition, Sue takes a detailed look at the use of incentives for managing behaviour, how to implement a restorative justice approach in order to change children's behaviour and also identifies the ten most common forms of misbehaviour and how to deal with them. So, if your 2 year olds are ignoring you, your Year 11s are unmanageable, your tutor group is running riot or that unmentionable 9 year old is driving you round the bend then this is the book for you!
Getting the Buggers to Behave 4th edn. (ebook) by
'It's been over a decade since I sat down in a small back bedroom in Somerset and wrote this book. Since then, I've been fortunate enough to work with literally thousands of people in the world of education. Through all these experiences, I've picked up loads more great ideas about how to manage behaviour. I've also gained an insight into what works in different settings, with different young people, and for different kinds of staff. The basic tenets of this book remain faithful to the original. What I've done though is adapt and develop the ideas so that they apply to more practitioners, in more diverse situations: to those working in early years and further education, as well as primary and secondary schools. And for those of you working in the most challenging schools or colleges, I've included a new section on coping in really difficult circumstances. I've also taken advantage of new developments in the world of technology. So, there's a companion website offering you extra material, links and ideas.' Sue Cowley
What Does This Look Like in the Classroom by 
The Seven T's of Practical Differentiation by
In this short guide, Sue Cowley offers practical advice for improving differentiation in the classroom. She explains a variety of techniques and strategies that teachers can use straight away, to help all their students learn more effectively. In this short book Sue offers advice on using targets and timing, tips on creating groups for differentiated learning, thoughts on developing higher order thinking for all your students, and much much more. This 'at a glance' guide will help you gain a fresh insight into a complex topic. You will learn how to differentiate more effectively, without spending lots of extra time on planning and preparation.Mini guide: approx. 70 pages (15,000 words)
Dyslexia-Friendly Further and Higher Education by
Written by authors with extensive experience of working with students with dyslexia, this book provides clear guidance and practical strategies for dyslexia-friendly practice for those working with young people aged 14 to 19 and adults in education or work-based training. Looking at how dyslexia impacts on learning, the authors suggest ways to improve the learning environment and explain how to help students develop the basic skills that will help them to make the transition from study to employment. Building on the latest research and understanding of dyslexia, they also consider overlapping characteristics, emotional and social issues and funding. The book includes: - visual chapter summaries - case studies drawn from practice - ideas for dyslexia-friendly written work, and lab and bench work - international perspectives - a selection of resources - model lesson plans and useful checklists This is essential reading not only for those studying dyslexia-focused programmes at Master's level, but also for mainstream practitioners wishing to improve their dyslexia knowledge and practice, and an ideal resource for professionals working in a school, college, university or adult setting, or delivering training and consultancy in this field. Barbara Pavey is a Senior Lecturer in Education at York St John University. Margaret Meehan is the Dyslexia Coordinator at Swansea University. Alan Waugh is Programme Area Manager for Additional Support at City College, Coventry.
Digital Literacy Skills for FE Teachers by
Effective digital skills are essential for all teachers and tutors in the Further Education (FE) and Skills Sector. This text brings together important theory and research around digital literacy and outlines what this means for teaching in the sector. It is a practical guide that: introduces different types of web-based technologies and explores how they can be used in teaching provides guidance on the digital skills teachers and tutors need and how they can be developed examines issues of digital safety, security and responsibility and how online learning communities can be accessed applies critical thinking, creativity and responsibility to the processes of using digital technologies inside and outside of the classroom Providing a comprehensive framework, underpinned by the standards through which to develop digital literacy skills, this is an essential resource for those teaching or training to teach in the FE and Skills sector.
Understanding How We Learn by
Educational practice does not, for the most part, rely on research findings. Instead, there¿s a preference for relying on our intuitions about what¿s best for learning. But relying on intuition may be a bad idea for teachers and learners alike. This accessible guide helps teachers to integrate effective, research-backed strategies for learning into their classroom practice. The book explores exactly what constitutes good evidence for effective learning and teaching strategies, how to make evidence-based judgments instead of relying on intuition, and how to apply findings from cognitive psychology directly to the classroom. Including real-life examples and case studies, FAQs, and a wealth of engaging illustrations to explain complex concepts and emphasize key points, the book is divided into four parts: Evidence-based education and the science of learning Basics of human cognitive processes Strategies for effective learning Tips for students, teachers, and parents. Written by "The Learning Scientists" and fully illustrated by Oliver Caviglioli, Understanding How We Learn is a rejuvenating and fresh examination of cognitive psychology's application to education. This is an essential read for all teachers and educational practitioners, designed to convey the concepts of research to the reality of a teacher's classroom.
Beyond Bulimic Learning by
Students are bingeing on large amounts of information and then, in government induced bouts of vomiting otherwise known as national tests, they spew it all out. This is how Frank Coffield introduces the term Bulimia Academica, which he treats every bit as seriously as its medical counterpart. Students resort to bulimic learning to cope with a testing regime that ministers in England would have you believe is robust and rigorous, but is in fact purgative and emetic. This book presents not only a powerful critique of current government policies, but also a considered response to that all-important question from classroom teachers: Within the tight parameters set by government policy, what could I do more effectively in class next Monday? This book argues that, although there is no such thing as 'best practice' to identify and copy, there are a number of far more effective approaches, such as harnessing the potential power of feedback. Three co-authors also make important contributions that extend the scope of the book. John Webber introduces the notion of 'studentship' - the skills, behaviors, and beliefs that students need to become better at learning and thinking. Cristina Costa shows how students' creativity can be released by using new technologies. And Walter Müller points to the damaging effects on German schools of politicians treating them as economic instruments in the global race, subjected to market discipline. Written in a clear, engaging, and thought-provoking style with a compelling evidence base, Beyond Bulimic Learning is much more than a 'how to' book to improve teaching in the adult and further education sector. It also explores in detail the central question: Can we transform classrooms and colleges without first transforming the role of the state?
