An Introduction to Assessment by
An Introduction to Assessment is for all who work in education, including those on Education Studies programmes, those in initial teacher training, and practising teachers keen to update their knowledge. This book covers: definitions of educational assessment and the part it plays in relation to individuals, institutions and society historical and sociological perspectives the impact of educational assessment internationally and how this needs to change in the light of globalisation and changing employment needs the advent of assessment as a policy tool with league tables and targets underpinning the overwhelming impact of accountability requirements teacher appraisal and institutional self-evaluation, as well as international indicators assessment for learning new ideas concerning how assessment could be developed in the light of the advent of novel information technologies. In addressing these things, the author shows that assessment truly is a defining feature of contemporary education, and takes her overview to the cutting edge of thinking in this field with coverage of the scope of e-assessment, and assessment for learning as critically important ways forward. Written in an accessible and engaging style, An Introduction for Assessment is for all those who are seeking a non-technical introduction, yet one that is delivered by a leading academic in the field and offers a fresh look at educational assessment today.
Principles and Practice of Assessment in the Lifelong Learning Sector by
This is a core text aimed at the mandatory CTLLS unit for Levels Three and Four which all trainees working towards ATLS need to successfully complete. Structured around the content of the unit, all chapters are linked to the QTLS professional standards. This Second Edition has been fully revised and updated in line with changes to the TAQA Assessor Awards and includes a new 'extension activity' for those taking the unit at Level Four. With helpful activities and case studies throughout, this is an accessible guide enabling trainees to understand how to use assessment effectively in their learning and teaching.
Evidence-Based Teaching 2nd edn. by
Completely revised, this edition with its fresh new design, teaching strategies, ideas and advice provide general principles for teaching. A coherent, evidence based view of teaching and learning, presenting some radical new methods known to greatly improve student achievement.
Evidence based teaching; a practical approach 2nd edn (ebook) by 
Assessing Learning in the Lifelong Learning Sector by
Assessment theory and practice forms an integral part of the knowledge and understanding required to achieve QTLS. This book is a practical guide and comprehensive introduction to this broad and complex subject area. The text includes chapters on the different types of assessment, feedback, recording, evaluation and inclusive practice and covers e-assessment. Interactive activities are included throughout to help trainees reflect on and develop their own views. This third edition includes coverage of new units of assessment for workplace assessors (TAQA).
Practical teaching : a guide to teaching in the education and training sector (Printed Book) by Practical teaching; a guide to teaching in the lifelong learning sector (ebook) by This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Teaching and Training in Lifelong Learning by
"Like good teacher education itself, this book is a carefully crafted mix of theory and practice. It is vital for all those entering this complex sector to understand its history, some of the key philosophies and concepts that have driven research, policy and practice in this area and to be introduced to the ideas of a range of current and past thinkers. At the same time, trainee teachers need to feel they are being given the tools to approach the classroom with confidence. This book provides both. One of its major strengths is the regular opportunities it offers the reader to pause and reflect - surely one of the most important activities for teachers at whatever stage of their career. 'Teaching and Training in Lifelong Learning' has been brought fully up to date and will provide an invaluable resource for those wanting to work in the lifelong learning sector." Professor Ann Hodgson, Co-Director, Centre for Post-14 Research and Innovation, Institute of Education, University of London "In the fourth edition of this respected text Armitage et al have once again provided the sector with a resource which combines academic analysis, theoretical critique and sound practical advice on matters to do with education and teaching. Completely up to date with the rapidly changing components of education, the book contains chapters advising on the use of new technologies and on the design of learning resources. Elements of sound practical advice are successfully combined with an extensive critique of the new market economies impacting on the structural organisation of the education system today. The resultant book is both useful and thought provoking." Dr Liz Keeley-Browne, Oxford Brookes University The fourth edition of this bestselling book examines the breadth of lifelong learning from Adult and Further Education through to training in private and public industry and commerce. Revised and updated throughout to include recent initiatives and developments in the field, it is the definitive textbook on learning, teaching, resources, course planning and assessment in all areas of post-compulsory education and training. The authors examine key areas in lifelong learning through topical discussion, practical exercises, theory, reading, analysis, information, and examples of student work. Popular features of the previous edition such as the chronology of post-compulsory education have been retained and fully updated. New features include: Coverage of the new framework for teacher training, including the new Lifelong Learning UK professional standards, CPD provision, mentoring and subject coaching A re-evaluation of 14-19 developments including the creation of an English Baccalaureate (EBac) Developments in information and learning technology, particularly electronic teaching and learning resources Added coverage of personalization An expanded section on planning for equality and diversity Further information on embedding of language and literacy This text is essential reading for teachers and students training to teach in post-compulsory education.
Teaching and Training in Lifelong Learning 4th edn. (ebook) by
"Like good teacher education itself, this book is a carefully crafted mix of theory and practice. It is vital for all those entering this complex sector to understand its history, some of the key philosophies and concepts that have driven research, policy and practice in this area and to be introduced to the ideas of a range of current and past thinkers. At the same time, trainee teachers need to feel they are being given the tools to approach the classroom with confidence. This book provides both. One of its major strengths is the regular opportunities it offers the reader to pause and reflect - surely one of the most important activities for teachers at whatever stage of their career. 'Teaching and Training in Lifelong Learning' has been brought fully up to date and will provide an invaluable resource for those wanting to work in the lifelong learning sector." Professor Ann Hodgson, Co-Director, Centre for Post-14 Research and Innovation, Institute of Education, University of London "In the fourth edition of this respected text Armitage et al have once again provided the sector with a resource which combines academic analysis, theoretical critique and sound practical advice on matters to do with education and teaching. Completely up to date with the rapidly changing components of education, the book contains chapters advising on the use of new technologies and on the design of learning resources. Elements of sound practical advice are successfully combined with an extensive critique of the new market economies impacting on the structural organisation of the education system today. The resultant book is both useful and thought provoking." Dr Liz Keeley-Browne, Oxford Brookes University The fourth edition of this bestselling book examines the breadth of lifelong learning from Adult and Further Education through to training in private and public industry and commerce. Revised and updated throughout to include recent initiatives and developments in the field, it is the definitive textbook on learning, teaching, resources, course planning and assessment in all areas of post-compulsory education and training. The authors examine key areas in lifelong learning through topical discussion, practical exercises, theory, reading, analysis, information, and examples of student work. Popular features of the previous edition such as the chronology of post-compulsory education have been retained and fully updated. New features include: Coverage of the new framework for teacher training, including the new Lifelong Learning UK professional standards, CPD provision, mentoring and subject coaching A re-evaluation of 14-19 developments including the creation of an English Baccalaureate (EBac) Developments in information and learning technology, particularly electronic teaching and learning resources Added coverage of personalization An expanded section on planning for equality and diversity Further information on embedding of language and literacy This text is essential reading for teachers and students training to teach in post-compulsory education.
Teaching in post-14 education & training 5th edn. by 
Psychology and the Teacher 8th edn. by
Now in its eighth edition, this text has been a landmark in its field for thirty years. It provides a totally up-to-date introduction to psychology for all teachers. Thoroughly revised, this edition includes new coverage of gender and cultural diversity, behavioural problems, social development and the learning environment, and is more user-friendly than ever before with a new text design, including chapter outlines for easy dipping in and out, and with more emphasis on the concerns of the teacher and practical applications of theory. Professor Child covers all areas of education, from child development to motivation, human difference, special needs education, assessment and classroom management. Psychology and the Teacher is specifically designed to meet the requirements of student teachers, as well as those of experienced teachers and educationalists who need to renew their aquaintance with psychology.
Teaching in Further Education 7th edn. by
Jonathan Tummons has sensitively updated Curzon's long-established Teaching in Further Education, ensuring that not only does this new edition provide the academically rigorous approach of previous editions but it also offers an up to date guide to current practice and research. Topics covered include:- Theories of learning- The teaching-learning process- Instructional techniques- Assessment and evaluation- Intelligence and abilityThis is the complete guide for those training to work in the Further Education sector.
Adult learning, adult teaching 4th edn. by 
Training to Teach in Further and Adult Education 2nd edn by
Fully revised, this text is an invaluable handbook for in-service training, pre-service PGCE and all other FE teacher training courses. Accommodating the range and diversity of post-16 education throughout. Including a sequence of activities and case studies to encourage the reader to take an active and independent approach to learning.
Training to Teach in the Learning and Skills Sector by
First published in 2006. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Teaching Skills in Further and Adult Education 3rd edn. by
This best-selling text has been fully revised and updated for the new City & Guilds 7302 award and stages one and two of the 7407 award. As well as being endorsed by City & Guilds and written in line with the new awards, the book benefits from David Minton's experience in teaching FE and Adult Education teachers. He is able to provide insight into practical aspects of how to manager a classroom and get the job done in sometimes difficult circumstances.
Curriculum Studies in Post Compulsory and Adult Education by
This Practical guide to curriculum studies will help to form a better understanding of curriculum planning and development. Written in line with FENTO and ILT guidelines for experienced and student teachers, this text encourages the user to learn through doing.
Guide to Teaching 14-19 by
"This practically-focused, evidence-informed, perceptive book by James Ogunleye will be essential reading for teachers of 14 - 19 year olds in FE for a long time to come, and I thoroughly commend it to you." Dr Jill Jameson, Series Editor This is a delightfully practical guide for lecturers on how to teach students aged 14 to 19 effectively. James Ogunleye's fascinating book provides readers with: - a summary of the full range of academic and vocational qualifications available to 14 to 19 year olds - an overview of the current and recent national agenda for 14 - 19 education and training - illuminating insights into 14 - 19 year olds' views about teaching and learning - a full range of practical teaching techniques for lecturers which have been tried and tested at the chalk-face - an extensive list of useful publications and resources. This book should prove invaluable reading for all those working in 14 - 19 education.
Teaching today : a practical guide 5th edn. by 
Making Learning Happen 3rd edn. by
'Refreshing, original and full of pragmatic, evidence-based advice... In my opinion this is the best book on learning and teaching available to teachers in H.E. and F.E. today. The environment has changed so quickly over recent years and Phil Race has not only kept abreast of the changes; he is way ahead.' - Professor Ruth Pickford, Director of the Centre for Learning and Teaching, Leeds Metropolitan University In the age of digital communication, online learning and MOOCS, Higher Education Institutions need to be able to offer even more to their students. Centred around Phil Race's well-known 'ripples on a pond' model, this accessible discussion of post-compulsory education identifies the fundamental factors underpinning successful learning and clearly shows you how to help students learn effectively. Updates to this third edition include: practical 'tips for students' to help you engage your group discussion of four literacies students need comparative discussion of different forms of assessment increased coverage of peer observation and evidence-based practice advice on making lectures unmissable online resources including printable checklists for use in class link to a video interview with the author This book is a valuable tool for lecturers and tutors in universities and colleges, post-16 teachers in secondary education, and educational managers. It also provides a useful resource for postgraduate students on higher and further education courses and staff development courses. Phil Race gives keynotes on assessment, feedback, learning and teaching, and runs interactive training workshops for staff and students in universities, colleges and other organizations throughout the UK and abroad. The author's websites can be found at: http://phil-race.co.uk Accompanying videos are also available: Phil Race talks about Making Learning Happen A Q&A with Phil Race, author of Making Learning Happen Phil Race's 5 top tips for Making Learning Happen
Making Teaching Work (ebook) by
`This concise book is strongly recommended as an invaluable source both for new teachers and for their mentors who may be well experienced, but nevertheless glad of new ideas for coping with the demanding and fundamental shifts in how teaching is undertaken and assessed' - ESCaslate Making Teaching Work provides a down-to-earth, jargon-free book for teaching staff in universities and colleges and includes reference to some of the best modern literature on assessment, teaching and feedback. By focusing on the learner in a variety of situations and contexts, the book explores how teachers can help learners to make learning happen. The authors emphasize 'teaching smarter' - helping busy, hard-pressed teachers to increase the efficiency as well as effectiveness of their work. Written with both full-time and part-time staff in mind, the book allows teaching staff to balance the various tasks which make up their workload, including the increasing paperwork and administration they encounter whilst carrying out assessment, teaching and providing feedback to students. The book addresses a wide range of aspects of assessment, learning and teaching in post-compulsory education including: - how to provide a supportive learning environment - including online learning - how to design and manage formative assessment and feedback - how to support diverse students - including addressing and achieving student satisfaction. - developing teaching - including lecturing, small-group teaching, supporting individual learning and dealing with disruptive students - how to use research to improve teaching - creatively designing curriculum - promoting student employability - broadening horizons - including widening and deepening participation - addressing and achieving student satisfaction. It is a self-sufficient and thought-provoking resource about teaching and learning for all practitioners in post-compulsory education.
Teaching, training and learning: a practical guide 6th edn. by 
Teaching, Tutoring and Training in the Lifelong Learning Sector 4th edn. by
This core text provides comprehensive support for pre-service and in-service trainee teachers in the Lifelong Learning Sector covering all they need to know to achieve QTLS status. Supporting trainees through all stages of their professional development, the text takes the reader through the theoretical background underpinning teaching and learning and offers practical guidance on day-to-day challenges. This fourth edition has been fully revised and updated and includes a new chapter on teaching practice with notes on observation and lesson planning. New information on behaviour management has been added to support trainees in an aspect of teaching that many find challenging.
Opening Doors by
Focusing on learning support provision as a positive force in higher education, this is a examination of the continuum of inclusive education from school to further and higher education. The authors assert that, with appropriate support, students whose learning disabilities would have denied them access to higher education, can now participate in it and achieve success. They give examples of creating university, faculty and departmental policy for learning support, and provide national and international perspectives. The implications for staff expertise and training, and resource requirements, are discussed, and the question of whether there will be a group of special needs universities, is examined.
