Doing your research project : a guide for first-time researchers 6th ed. by 
How to Do Your Research Project by
How to Do Your Research Project continues to lead the way as an essential guide for anyone undertaking a research project in the applied social sciences. The new Third Edition of this best-selling title now includes further advice on concluding, writing, and presenting research, using social media and digital methods, and understanding how to effectively work with supervisors. Setting out a clear and detailed road map, author Gary Thomas guides the reader through the different stages of a research project, explaining key steps, and processes at each level in refreshingly jargon-free terms. Readers will learn: How to choose your research question Project management and study skills Effective literature reviews Methodology, theory, and research design frames Ethics and access Data collection tools Effective data analysis Discussing findings, concluding, and writing up Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Research Methods in Education by
This thoroughly updated eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research, and has been translated into several languages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references, and it raises key issues and questions for researchers planning, conducting, reporting and evaluating research. The eighth edition contains new chapters on: Mixed methods research The role of theory in educational research Ethics in Internet research Research questions and hypotheses Internet surveys Virtual worlds, social network software and netography in educational research Using secondary data in educational research Statistical significance, effect size and statistical power Beyond mixed methods: using Qualitative Comparative Analysis (QCA) to integrate cross-case and within-case analyses. Research Methods in Education, eighth edition, is essential reading for both the professional researcher and anyone involved in educational and social research. The book is supported by a wealth of online materials, including PowerPoint slides, useful weblinks, practice data sets, downloadable tables and figures from the book, and a virtual, interactive, self-paced training programme in research methods. These resources can be found at: www.routledge.com/cw/cohen.
A Teacher's Guide to Classroom Research by
How do we conduct classroom research? Why is classroom research valuable to teachers and schools? How does classroom research contribute to teaching, learning and school transformation? The fourth edition of this bestselling book is a practical guide for teachers that wish to conduct research in their classrooms and for schools that wish to improve their practice. Classroom research, as described in this book, will enable teachers to enhance their own or their colleagues' teaching, to test the assumptions of educational theory in practice and to implement and evaluate whole school developments. Comprehensively revised and updated, changes to the new edition include: A major re-working of the last four chapters Comprehensive description of how to conduct classroom research Two new chapters on analyzing and reporting research Updated case study examples and cameos The contribution of teacher research in enhancing personalized learning and school transformation The book also explores models of teaching and learning; methods for collecting, analyzing and reporting data; and the ways in which classroom research can be published and linked to the curriculum, teaching and staff development.
Evidence-Based Teaching (ebook) by
Completely revised, this edition with its fresh new design, teaching strategies, ideas and advice provide general principles for teaching. A coherent, evidence based view of teaching and learning, presenting some radical new methods known to greatly improve student achievement.
Action Research by
This practical text supports readers on their journey to becoming self-reflective practitioner-researchers. It provides the ideas and frameworks necessary to understand action research and expertly guides readers through the practicalities and complexities of doing research in their own context. Inside you will find: An action plan to help you embark on your project Guidance and advice on learning to ask the right questions as you progress A full resource on writing up and communicating your results Inspiration to explain the significance of what you have achieved, so that other people can learn with and from you Accessible and insightful, this is the complete start to finish guide to doing influential action research. It is the ideal companion for students and researcher-practitioners in any research setting, from education and health to business. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
This link will take you to your subject guide
Fundamentals of educational research (ebook) by Case study research in educational settings (ebook) by 
Doing Research/Reading Research by
This bestselling text enables beginning researchers to organise and evaluate the research they read, and to plan and implement small scale research projects of their own. It gives structured, practical guidance on: the development of a research question techniques of data collection qualitative and quantitative forms of analysis the writing and dissemination of research. The authors present research as a principled activity that begins with the establishing and structuring of theoretical and empirical fields and research findings as serving to ask questions of educational practice rather than directing it. This revised and updated second edition includes a new chapter dealing with the complex issue of research ethics. It also includes consideration of digital technologies and new media, both as settings of research and research tools, the chapters on qualitative and quantitative analysis have been expanded and the annotated bibliography updated. The authors have been active researchers in educational studies for more than twenty years. They have also supervised numerous doctoral and masters dissertations and taught research methods programmes in various higher education institutions around the world as well as in the Institute of Education, University of London.
