Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Clinical Exercise Physiology reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
There are no essential texts for this module. Instead, students may choose one or more texts from the “Recommended Reading” selection, based on their personal preferences for textbook style and presentation. Students may also use relevant peer reviewed journals to supplement the resources listed below. Academic staff will assist with selection and interpretation of peer reviewed research journal papers
Your module leader and contributor(s) can advise on the relevance of peer reviewed research publications. They will be used extensively in the third year. It is vital you show evidence in your work that you have read, understood and applied research evidence
ACSM's Exercise Management for Persons with Chronic Diseases and Disabilities by The fourth edition of ACSM's Exercise Management for Persons With Chronic Diseases and Disabilities reveals common ground between medical and exercise professionals, creating a more collaborative approach to patient care. Developed by the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) with contributions from a specialized team of experts, this text presents a framework for optimizing patients' and clients' functionality by keeping them physically active. Featuring new content on common comorbid conditions, this edition is streamlined and updated to better suit chronic populations. This fourth edition of ACSM's Exercise Management for Persons With Chronic Diseases and Disabilities outlines why exercise is significant in the treatment and prevention of disease, advises medical and exercise professionals in considering proper exercise prescription protocols, and provides evidence-informed guidance on devising individualized exercise programs. Major advancements and features of the fourth edition include the following: - Current evidence on exercise management for persons with multiple conditions, providing guidance on working with these common yet complex populations - A refocused goal of using physical activity to optimize patients' and clients' functionality and participation in life activities rather than only to treat and prevent disease - Specific content to help physicians prescribe physical activity and exercise to patients for promotion of health, well-being, and longevity - Reorganization of case studies into one streamlined chapter along with commentary from the senior editor to encourage critical thinking and recognize the unique needs of each patient The case studies in the text are real-life scenarios that help professionals and clinicians combine scientific knowledge with experience to find appropriate solutions for each individual. Commentary on the case studies from the senior editor illustrates when improvisation may be appropriate and where further research is needed. Tables are highlighted throughout the text to help readers quickly reference important clinical information. Evidence-informed guidelines, suggested websites, and additional readings further encourage practical use of information and identify further learning opportunities. For instructors, an ancillary PowerPoint presentation package aids in classroom discussion. The critical element that distinguishes the fourth edition of ACSM's Exercise Management for Persons With Chronic Diseases and Disabilities is its unifying mission to incorporate physical activity and exercise in both disease treatment and prevention. Its emphasis on assisting people with multiple conditions, which is ever present in health care today, moves beyond primary and secondary prevention to focus on how patients and clients can be kept physically active and functionally fit.
Call Number: 615.82 DUR
Publication Date: 2016
Clinical Exercise Science by Clinical Exercise Science is an introduction to core principles and best practice in exercise science for students and practitioners working with clinical populations. Combining the latest scientific research with evidence-based, practitioner-led analysis, the book offers integrated coverage of the full clinical exercise curriculum, including: Pathophysiology of exercise and disease Exercise as a clinical intervention Exercise, nutrition, and lifestyle Health behaviour change Clinical skills in exercise science The book covers a wide range of conditions, including cardiovascular disease, pulmonary disease, metabolic disease and mental health problems, and includes an array of useful features to guide student learning, such as case studies, study tasks, definitions of key terms and suggestions for further reading. With contributions from leading researchers and health practitioners, this is an invaluable foundation text for any clinical exercise science course, and useful reading for any student or practitioner working in exercise science, exercise rehabilitation, health science or physical therapy.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
ACSM's Clinical Exercise Physiology by ACSM's Clinical Exercise Physiology adapts and expands upon the disease-related content from ACSM's Resource Manual for Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription, 7th Edition, to create a true classroom textbook. This new resource offers research-based coverage of more than 35 conditions commonly seen in practice--from a host of cardiovascular disorders to immunological/hematological disorders. Condition chapters are organized by disease types and then divided into sections that cover specific conditions from a pathological and etiological perspective. To provide a complete view of clinical exercise physiology, the book also covers important considerations and foundational elements, such as screening, pharmacology, and electrocardiography. As an American College of Sports Medicine publication, the text offers the unsurpassed quality and excellence that has become synonymous with titles by the leading exercise science organization in the world. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. Complete alignment with the latest ACSM's Guidelines ensures focused coverage of all essential topics. Evidenced-based coverage of over 35 conditions provides the most extensive coverage of diseases available for the course. A standard format in the conditions chapters (introduction, condition, pathology, clinical applications, case study, summary, and comorbidities case studies) makes specific information easy to find. A chapter on exercise genomics provides an overview of this new field and its potential clinical applications, while a separate chapter on electrocardiography provides a solid foundation for those who need to read and interpret EKGs. Special considerations beyond the conditions, such as comorbidities, the exercise environment, legal considerations, lifespan considerations, pharmacology, etc.) ensure complete coverage of clinical exercise physiology. In-text learning aids, including chapter-opening summaries and learning objectives, end-of-chapter review questions and case studies with questions for classroom discussion, help students prepare for practice.
Call Number: 617.1027 THO
Publication Date: 2019