Social Research Methods 5th edn. by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology by
The seventh edition of Research Methods and Statistics in Psychologyprovides students with the most readable and comprehensive survey of research methods, statistical concepts and procedures in psychology today. Assuming no prior knowledge, this bestselling text takes you through every stage of your research project giving advice on planning and conducting studies, analysing data and writing up reports. The book provides clear coverage of experimental, interviewing and observational methods, psychological testing, qualitative methods and analysis and statistical procedures which include nominal level tests, multi-factorial ANOVA designs, multiple regression, log linear analysis, and factor analysis.　It features detailed and illustrated SPSS instructions for all these and other procedures, eliminating the need for an extra SPSS textbook. New features to this edition include: Additional coverage of factor analysis and online and modern research methods Expanded coverage of report writing guidelines References updated throughout Presentation updated throughout, to include more figures, tables and full colour to help break up the text Companion website signposted throughout the book to improve student usability Improved and extended web links and further reading associated with every chapter. Each chapter contains a glossary, key terms and newly integrated exercises, ensuring that key concepts are understood. A fully updated companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/coolican) provides additional exercises, testbanks for each chapter, revision flash cards, links to further reading and data for use with SPSS.
The Study Skills Handbook 5th edn. by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
Hear about student feedback on the character features that make this book special...With an exciting new look, new characters to meet, and its unique combination of humour and step-by-step instruction, this award-winning book is the statistics lifesaver for everyone. From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. What's brand new: A radical new design with original illustrations and even more colour A maths diagnostic tool to help students establish what areas they need to revise and improve on. A revamped online resource that uses video, case studies, datasets, testbanks and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills New sections on replication, open science and Bayesian thinking Now fully up to date with latest versions of IBM SPSS Statistics©. All the online resources above (video, case studies, datasets, testbanks) can be easily integrated into your institution′s virtual learning environment or learning management system. This allows you to customize and curate content for use in module preparation, delivery and assessment. For instructions on how to upload the resources you want, please visit the Instructors′ page or alternatively, contact your local SAGE sales representative.Please note that ISBN: 9781526445780 comprises the paperback edition of the Fifth Edition and the student version of IBM SPSS Statistics. More information on this version of the software′s features can be found here.
No specific journals have been recommended for this module.
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
Hear about student feedback on the character features that make this book special...With an exciting new look, new characters to meet, and its unique combination of humour and step-by-step instruction, this award-winning book is the statistics lifesaver for everyone. From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. What's brand new: A radical new design with original illustrations and even more colour A maths diagnostic tool to help students establish what areas they need to revise and improve on. A revamped online resource that uses video, case studies, datasets, testbanks and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills New sections on replication, open science and Bayesian thinking Now fully up to date with latest versions of IBM SPSS Statistics©. All the online resources above (video, case studies, datasets, testbanks) can be easily integrated into your institution′s virtual learning environment or learning management system. This allows you to customize and curate content for use in module preparation, delivery and assessment. For instructions on how to upload the resources you want, please visit the Instructors′ page or alternatively, contact your local SAGE sales representative.Please note that ISBN: 9781526445780 comprises the paperback edition of the Fifth Edition and the student version of IBM SPSS Statistics. More information on this version of the software′s features can be found here.
Doing Psychological Research by
"This is a book that should definitely be considered for many introductory psychology courses that need a factual and accessible exposition of psychological research principles and methods." Times Higher Education Supplement ". . . covers a wider spectrum than many introductory texts on methods in psychology and has a stronger emphasis on qualitative methods than others. . . it will be particularly attractive to students seeking a lifeline into methods at first year undergraduate level. Nicky Hayes' reputation will strengthen the demand for it, particularly among undergraduates who have already used her texts at 'A' level." Professor Nigel Lemon, University of Huddersfield ". . . there are other research methods textbooks for 'A' level students currently on the market. . . Nicky Hayes has written a book which renders most of these obsolete. The new 'A' level specifications allow students to venture into areas of research that require different forms of qualitative analysis. These are hardly addressed in competing texts and are given thorough treatment by Nicky Hayes. I admire her ability to offer depth of treatment to complex issues without losing her audience. This is an interactive textbook, and I am pleased to see that every chapter contains worked examples, definitions and activities. . . I can highly recommend this book." Mike Stanley, Gordano School, North Somerset, UK Research methodology is one of the most important and also one of the most difficult aspects of psychology for many students to grasp. This new textbook, written by one of the most experienced and respected writers of psychology textbooks in the UK, provides a comprehensive account of both qualitative and quantitative methods. It does so in the friendly, lucid style which has made Nicky Hayes' other textbooks so popular with students and teachers. Doing Psychological Research has been carefully written and designed to help students grasp complex concepts and to provide them with a sound methodological 'toolkit' for carrying out their own projects. The book is divided into data-gathering and analytical sections, and covers the main methods used in psychology for each of these purposes. Exercises and activities, worked examples of statistical tests, and self-assessment questions all help to deepen understanding and illustrate the relevance of the material. A full bibliography and index and a useful glossary of terms complete the package. This is the accessible but comprehensive introductory text which many students and teachers of research methods in psychology have been looking for. It is likely to become essential reading for introductory courses.
Statistics Explained 3rd edn. by
Statistics Explained is an accessible introduction to statistical concepts and ideas. It makes few assumptions about the reader's statistical knowledge, carefully explaining each step of the analysis and the logic behind it. The book: provides a clear explanation of statistical analysis and the key statistical tests employed in analysing research data gives accessible explanations of how and why statistical tests are used includes a wide range of practical, easy-to-understand worked examples. Building on the international success of earlier editions, this fully updated revision includes developments in statistical analysis, with new sections explaining concepts such as bootstrapping and structural equation modelling. A new chapter - 'Samples and Statistical Inference' - explains how data can be analysed in detail to examine its suitability for certain statistical tests. The friendly and straightforward style of the text makes it accessible to all those new to statistics, as well as more experienced students requiring a concise guide. It is suitable for students and new researchers in disciplines including Psychology, Education, Sociology, Sports Science, Nursing, Communication, and Media and Business Studies. Presented in full colour and with an updated, reader-friendly layout, this new edition also comes with a companion website featuring supplementary resources for students. Unobtrusive cross-referencing makes it the ideal companion to Perry R. Hinton's SPSS Explained, also published by Routledge. Perry R. Hinton has many years of experience in teaching statistics to students from a wide range of disciplines and his understanding of the problems students face forms the basis of this book.
The good study guide by
Developing your learning skills is one of the best investments you can make. We all need to be lifelong learners now. Whether you are an experienced student or just starting out this book will stimulate, guide and support you. It will make you think about yourself and how your mind learns. And it will change forever the way that you study.Topics include:- motivating yourself and managing your time- taking full advantage of your computer- reading with concentration and understanding- developing flexible note-taking strategies- getting the most from seminars and workshops- making presentations- researching online- handling numbers and charts with confidence- writing clear, well argued assignments- doing yourself justice in exams.For more information, go to www.goodstudyguide.co.uk
Real World Research by
Real world research is a common responsibility of professionals and practitioners in a wide range of both public and private settings. These include teachers, social workers and health service professionals, managers and specialists in business, architects, designers, criminologists and accountants among many others. Real World Research provides a clear route-map of the various steps needed to carry out a piece of applied research to a high professional standard. It is accessible to those without a social science background while providing rigorous and fully up-to-date coverage of contemporary issues and debates. It brings together materials and approaches from different social science disciplines, seeing value in both quantitative and qualitative approaches, as well as their combination in mixed-method designs. Colin Robson's bestselling textbook is essential reading for many higher education courses, at both undergraduate, taught postgraduate and doctoral level, as well as practitioners and others carrying out research as part of their job. A very extensive website, which is closely keyed in to the text, provides additional resources including copious examples of research and further discussion of research issues, links to other useful resources and selected journal articles, annotated lists of further reading and an extensive set of PowerPoint slides.
Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics by
The bestselling Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics is now in its Fifth Edition and now also available in an interactive eBook edition! Lecturers - contact your local SAGE representative to discuss your course needs or to request an inspection copy.Continuing its hallmark use of humour, this text helps students develop an understanding of an often intimidating and difficult subject with an approach that is informative, personable, and clear. Author Neil J. Salkind takes students through various statistical procedures, beginning with descriptive statistics, correlation, and graphical representation of data, and ending with inferential techniques and analysis of variance. In addition, the book covers SPSS and includes reviews of more advanced techniques, such as reliability, validity, and introductory non-parametric statistics. The new Fifth Edition offers more examples than ever before, and a new Real World Stats feature at the end of each chapter. Interactive eBook Edition available!The interactive eBook edition features animations of figures in the book, step-by-step videos that demonstrate how to carry out various procedures, data sets that are clickable right from the book pages, quick quizzes, video clips of the author talking about statistics in everyday life, and much more to help students boost their confidence with statistics. The interactive eBook is available for FREE when purchased as a bundle using ISBN 9781483344201 and provides 180 day access.Click here to see a video walk-through of the rich Interactive eBook features.Click here to view a sample chapter from the Interactive eBook.
Social Research by
From question development and research design to data collection and statistical analysis, this text guides the reader through every aspect of social research. Encouraging a critical approach in each chapter, this 4th edition includes enhanced coverage of internet sampling, mixed methods, conversation analysis and feminist research.
Doing Qualitative Research, 5th ed. by
In the fourth edition of his best-selling textbook, David Silverman provides a step-by-step guide to planning and conducting qualitative research. Using real examples from real postgraduate students, the book makes it easy to link theory to methods and shows how to move from understanding the principles of qualitative research to doing it yourself. The new edition has been fully updated and now includes: - a brand new chapter on formulating a research question appropriate for qualitative research - an expanded discussion of the role of theory in research - extended discussion of case study research and the number of cases needed for effective qualitative research - further coverage of focus groups and analysing internet data - new student examples from around the world - a new section on the common pitfalls encountered in qualitative research - an expanded companion website with more student examples and videos. Filled with exercises to test your understanding and develop your skills, as well as David's own tips for research success based on years of experience, this book is essential reading for anyone doing qualitative research. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Critical Thinking Skills by
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
The Exam Skills Handbook by
Provides an easy-to-follow set of strategies and techniques that build to a plan for achieving your best possible exam performance. It gives practical step-by-step guidance in long-term planning for optimal performance through to last minute revision strategies. This fully updated, two-colour edition includes two brand new chapters.
Skills for Success by
Whatever stage your students are at, it's never too soon for them to be thinking about their future. Competition for jobs is fierce, and having a degree is no longer enough. This indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and develop the skills and capabilities required by today's employers. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job. Internationally acclaimed study skills author Stella Cottrell provides students with the ingredients they need to create their own recipe for success. This versatile resource is ideal for students on personal development modules from foundation through to postgraduate level. It can also be used independently by students from all disciplines.
Dissertations and Project Reports by
Faced with your dissertation or major project and need some help getting started? Thinking about how your final project will affect your overall grades? Then read on. Tapping into her tried and tested formula for learning, bestselling author of The Study Skills Handbook, Stella Cottrell, takes you step-by-step through the key stages of planning, developing, researching and writing up your dissertation or project report. Whether you are an undergraduate or a postgraduate, this guide: - Offers comprehensive coverage of the major components essential to producing strong dissertations and project reports - Gives unique emphasis to the importance of project management skills - Gets you involved through interactive activities, checklists and engaging student examples Most importantly, it offers the support you need at every stage and will help ensure that the creation of your academic masterpiece is an enjoyable and rewarding experience.
