An Introduction to the Sociology of Work and Occupations by
The Sociology of Work and Occupations, Second Edition connects work and occupations to the key subjects of sociological inquiry: social and technological change, race, ethnicity, gender, social class, education, social networks, and modes of organization. In 15 chapters, Rudi Volti succinctly but comprehensively covers the changes in the world of work, encompassing everything from gathering and hunting to working in today's Information Age. This book introduces students to a highly relevant analysis of society today. In this new and updated edition, globalization and technology are each given their own chapter and discussed in great depth.
The Sociology of Work by
This leading, authoritative textbook has been carefully and substantially revised to provide the indispensable foundational resource for the sociology of work. The fourth edition has been transformed to combine unrivalled explanations of classic theories with the most cutting-edge research, data and debates. Keith Grint and Darren Nixon examine different sociological approaches to work, emphasizing the links between social processes, institutions of employment and their social and domestic contexts. The fourth edition includes: a new chapter on work and identity, exploring issues such as the rise of consumption and the cultural economy, work-life balance, the social meaning of work and unemployment; a fully rewritten chapter that comprehensively reviews trends in the contemporary service economy, particularly the rise of emotional and aesthetic forms of labour and the polarization of employment in the knowledge or informational economy; a new concluding chapter that examines the structure of the global economy, taking in debates around globalization, precarious labour and public sector reforms and unemployment in the wake of the financial crisis and austerity; updated bibliographic references and data throughout, with particularly significant revisions to the sections on gender and work, ethnicity and work, and work technologies. The book has been designed to support readers' understanding of, and to develop their critical approach to, the field of 'work', with a range of empirical evidence and examples helping to reveal the complex picture of work-society relations. Written in a lively and accessible style, the book also provides suggestions for further reading and seminar discussion questions. This fourth edition will continue to be essential reading for students of the sociology of work, industrial sociology, organizational behaviour and industrial relations. Students studying business and management courses with a sociological component will also find the book invaluable.
Changing Contours of Work by
In the Third Edition of Changing Contours of Work: Jobs and Opportunities in the New Economy, Sweet and Meiksins once again provide a rich analysis of the American workplace in the larger context of an integrated global economy. Through engaging vignettes and rich data, this text frames the development of jobs and employment opportunities in an international comparative perspective, revealing the historical transformations of work (the "old economy" and the "new economy") and identifying the profound effects that these changes have had on lives, jobs, and life chances. The text examines the many complexities of race, class, and gender inequalities in the modern-day workplace, and details the consequences of job insecurity and work schedules mismatched to family needs. Throughout the text, strategic recommendations are offered to improve the new economy.
Reclaiming Work by
Over the last twenty-five years, Western societies have been reversing into the future.
Critical Social Theory and the End of Work by 
Mental Illness in the Workplace by
The extent of mental illness concerns in the workforce is becoming increasingly apparent. Stress, depression, anxiety, workplace bullying and other issues are costing businesses billions every year in lost productivity, poor treatments and employee retention. Unless appropriately addressed, issues related to mental illness difficulties will result in stiff financial, organizational, and human costs for organizations. Drawing on empirical evidence from North America, the United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand, the book provides a practical guide to identifying, understanding, treating and preventing individual and organizational mental health issues. The authors illustrate how organizations can save money and improve the health and wellbeing of their employees by using a psychological disability management approach in the treatment and accommodation of mental illness issues. This book will meet the needs of human resources professionals, administrators of employee assistance programs, industrial and organizational psychologists, mental health practitioners, those teaching or studying psychology and disability management, and more generally will serve to enlighten students of business management and practicing managers regarding a major workforce risk factor.
The Causes of Structural Unemployment by
There is a specter haunting advanced industrial countries:structural unemployment. Recent years have seen growing concernover declining jobs, and though corporate profits have picked upafter the Great Recession of 2008, jobs have not. It is possiblethat ?jobless recoveries? could become a permanentfeature of Western economies. This illuminating book focuses on the employment futures ofadvanced industrial countries, providing readers with thesociological imagination to appreciate the bigger picture of whereworkers fit in the new international division of labor. The authorspiece together a puzzle that reveals deep structural forcesunderlying unemployment: skills mismatches caused by a shift frommanufacturing to service jobs; increased offshoring in search oflower wages; the rise of advanced communication and automatedtechnologies; and the growing financialization of the globaleconomy that aggravates all of these factors. Weaving togethervaried literatures and data, the authors also consider what actionsand policy initiatives societies might take to alleviate thesethreats. Addressing a problem that should be front and center for politicaleconomists and policymakers, this book will be illuminating readingfor students of the sociology of work, labor studies, inequality,and economic sociology.
Unlocking Employment Law by
For those approaching employment law for the first time, either in the course of an undergraduate or postgraduate elective within a law degree, or as students of business, HRM and allied professions, Unlocking Employment Law will ensure that you grasp the main concepts with ease, providing you with an indispensible foundation in the subject. Including all the latest developments in law, such as the developments relating to the Equality Act 2010, the book explains in detailed, yet straightforward terms: The origins of modern employment law The effect of EU membership on UK employment law Institutions and procedure Employment status The contract of employment Restraint of trade Implied terms Statutory employment protections Protection from discrimination Health and safety law Grievances and discipline TUPE transfers Termination of employment Contractual duties of ex-employees Trade Union membership and collective bargaining. The companion website www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides supporting resources such as multiple choice questions and updates in law. The Unlocking the Law series is designed specifically to make the law accessible. Each chapter contains: aims and objectives activities such as self-test questions key facts charts diagrams chapter summaries definitions of legal terminology essay questions with answer plans. The series covers all the core subjects required by the Bar Council and the Law Society for entry onto professional qualification courses as well popular option units.