Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Social Theory reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Contemporary Sociological Theory by This comprehensive collection of contemporary sociological theory is the definitive guide to current perspectives and approaches in the field, examining key topics and debates in the field. Collects the most representative material available on topics such as symbolic interactionism, phenomenology, structuralism, network theory, critical theory, feminist theory, and the debates over modernity and postmodernity Includes examinations of the work of Foucault, Giddens, and Bourdieu A new section for this edition opens up the debate on power and inequality Thematically organized
Call Number: 301 CAL + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Classical Sociological Theory by This comprehensive collection of classical sociological theory is a definitive guide to the roots of sociology. The Reader traces the evolution of social science from its undisciplined beginnings to current guideposts and reference points in contemporary sociological debate.
Call Number: 301 CAL
Publication Date: 2002
An Invitation to Social Theory, 2nd edn by Social theory is a crucial resource for the social sciences. It provides rich insights into how human beings think and act and how contemporary social life is constructed. But often the key ideas of social theorists are expressed in highly technical and difficult language that can hide more than it reveals. The new edition of this popular book continues to cut to the core of what social theory is about. Covering key themes from the classical thinkers onwards, including Marxism, post-structuralism, phenomenology, feminism and more, the second edition features a new chapter on Actor-Network Theory and enhanced discussion of postcolonial theory. Wide ranging in scope and coverage, the book is concise in presentation and free from jargon. Showing why social theory matters, and why it is of far-reaching social and political importance, the book is ideal for readers seeking a clear, crisp mapping of a complex but very rewarding area.
Call Number: 330.1 ING
Publication Date: 2018
Social Theory by Social theory is the theoretical core of the social sciences, clearly distinguishable from political theory and cultural analysis. This book offers a unique overview of the development of social theory from the end of the Second World War in 1945 to the present day. Spanning the literature in English, French and German, it provides an excellent background to the most important social theorists and theories in contemporary sociological thought, with crisp summaries of the main books, arguments and controversies. It also deals with newly emerging schools from rational choice to symbolic interactionism, with new ambitious approaches (Habermas, Luhmann, Giddens, Bourdieu), structuralism and antistructuralism, critical revisions of modernization theory, feminism and neopragmatism. Written by two of the world's leading sociologists and based on their extensive academic teaching, this unrivalled work is ideal both for students in the social sciences and humanities and for anyone interested in contemporary theoretical debates.
Call Number: 300.1 JOA
Publication Date: 2009
Key Sociological Thinkers, 3rd edn by The third edition of this popular and established core textbook provides an invaluable guide to 24 of the most influential thinkers in Sociology. Written by leading academics in the field, Key Sociological Thinkers provides a clear and contextualised introduction to classical and contemporary theory. Each chapter offers an insightful assessment of a different theorist, exploring their lives, works and legacies, and in a much-valued 'Seeing Things Differently' section authors demonstrate how each thinker's ideas can be used to illuminate aspects of social life in new ways.With frameworks for deep learning around group discussion, this continues be an essential text for undergraduate and postgraduate modules on sociological and social theory.New to this Edition:- Four new chapters, on Mead, Du Bois, Latour and Alexander- Five chapters by new authors on existing key thinkers: Durkheim, Merton, Goffman, Bourdieu, and Giddens- A major new introduction- An updated, structured and annotated 'Further Reading' section for each thinker- Extended accounts of 13 additional thinkers who have influenced, or been influenced by, the key thinkers
Call Number: 301.0922 STO
Publication Date: 2017