Quantitative Methods for Health Research by
A practical introduction to epidemiology, biostatistics, and research methodology for the whole health care community This comprehensive text, which has been extensively revised with new material and additional topics, utilizes a practical slant to introduce health professionals and students to epidemiology, biostatistics, and research methodology. It draws examples from a wide range of topics, covering all of the main contemporary health research methods, including survival analysis, Cox regression, and systematic reviews and meta-analysis--the explanation of which go beyond introductory concepts. This second edition of Quantitative Methods for Health Research: A Practical Interactive Guide to Epidemiology and Statistics also helps develop critical skills that will prepare students to move on to more advanced and specialized methods. A clear distinction is made between knowledge and concepts that all students should ensure they understand, and those that can be pursued further by those who wish to do so. Self-assessment exercises throughout the text help students explore and reflect on their understanding. A program of practical exercises in SPSS (using a prepared data set) helps to consolidate the theory and develop skills and confidence in data handling, analysis, and interpretation. Highlights of the book include: Combining epidemiology and bio-statistics to demonstrate the relevance and strength of statistical methods Emphasis on the interpretation of statistics using examples from a variety of public health and health care situations to stress relevance and application Use of concepts related to examples of published research to show the application of methods and balance between ideals and the realities of research in practice Integration of practical data analysis exercises to develop skills and confidence Supplementation by a student companion website which provides guidance on data handling in SPSS and study data sets as referred to in the text Quantitative Methods for Health Research, Second Edition is a practical learning resource for students, practitioners and researchers in public health, health care and related disciplines, providing both a course book and a useful introductory reference.
An Introduction to Public Health and Epidemiology by
"The contents are not specifically nursing orientated but very neatly balanced to be of relevance to all working in the public health arena...the book is well written, the language is clear, and the concepts clearly and simply explained and easily understood" Journal of Biosocial Science What are epidemiology and public health? What is the nature of public health evidence and knowledge? What strategies can be used to protect and improve health? The second edition of this bestselling book provides a multi-professional introduction to the key concepts in public health and epidemiology. It presents a broad, interactive account of contemporary public health, placing an emphasis on developing public health skills and stimulating the reader to think through the issues for themselves. The new edition features additional material on: Historical perspectives Public health skills for practice Evaluation of public health interventions The nature of evidence and public health knowledge Translating policy and evidence into practice An Introduction to Public Health and Epidemiology is key reading for students of public health and healthcare professionals, including: nurses, doctors, community development workers and public health workers.
Community Public Health in Policy and Practice by
Designed for public health nurses and health visitors at every stage of their career from students to experienced practitioners Community Public Health in Policy and Practice: A Source Book provides an overview of theoretical constructs and principles for community public health practice, including underpinning research. Written by leading experts the book is designed to support innovation and practice development, including dealing with major policy changes and changes to theory and the evidence base. For this edition the text has been completely reorganised and updated including eight brand new chapters. New chapters include current information and research about contemporary topics such as digital health, economics and implementation science. Updated chapters focus upon relevant knowledge required for current practice, including both seminal theories and research, along with new international frameworks. Brief introduction to the long-lasting impacts of Covid-19, as the pandemic unfolds.
Donaldsons' Essential Public Health by
Donaldsons' Essential Public Health has been in continuous print for 35 years, evolving through successive editions. This unrivalled record of success for a textbook of public health shows the enduring appeal of its content, style, and accessibility to generations of students and practitioners. For many of today's national and global public health leaders, the book was their guide as they began their careers, their benchmark as they passed their examinations and professional accreditation, and remains their companion as a source of reference and refreshed knowledge for teaching and practice. The book brings together, in one volume, the main health problems experienced by populations and by the key groups within them, the strategies for promoting health and preventing disease, the principles and applications of epidemiology, the main themes of health policy, and a description of health service provision. This fourth edition marks the biggest change to the book in 20 years. For the first time it sets each key subject area in a global health context, whilst retaining its traditional strength in covering population health for the United Kingdom. New and revised chapters for this edition include: Health in a changing world Communicable diseases Non-communicable diseases Social determinants of health Quality and safety of healthcare Mental health Disability Health in later life Environment and health History of public health The content is wide-ranging and written in an accessible and engaging style. It covers topics as diverse as: the story of the 2014 Ebola virus outbreak in West Africa; the elements of tobacco control policy; the health impact of climate change; the global health organisational architecture; the concept of health; the new paradigm of public mental health; the biological pathways that link to the health effects of social deprivation; the ideal of universal health coverage; the essentials of immunisation; the basis of healthy ageing; the historical events that led to the germ theory of disease and the Victorian sanitary revolution. This new edition is essential reading for all undergraduate and postgraduate students of public health, medicine, nursing, health policy, social science, and public sector management. Those embarking on a career in public health will find it of great value throughout their professional life. The book is also an extremely useful resource for established practitioners in primary care, doctors, senior nurses, health system managers, healthcare policy makers, civil servants in ministries of health, and members of boards of health organisations.
How to Read a Paper by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Foundations for Health Promotion by
The fourth edition of Foundations for Health Promotion continues to offer a wealth of information in a friendly, easy-to-read format. This edition has been comprehensively updated and includes a new feature of learning activities with indicative answers to help students and practitioners to reflect on their practice. 'Pull out' boxes of case studies and examples help the reader to identify the evidence base for health promotion and illustrate the range of health promotion practice. Divided into four parts, the book first explains the theoretical concepts of health, health education and health promotion and the ethical and political aspects of practice. The second part explores strategies to promote health and some of the dilemmas that they pose. The third part explores how a range of different settings, such as hospitals and schools, can be oriented towards positive health and well-being. The fourth part focuses on the implementation of health promotion interventions and is designed to help practitioners to reflect on their practice by examining what drives their choice of strategy. Foundations for Health Promotion, Fourth Edition will be ideal for a range of disciplines including health service professionals in primary and acute settings, those working in local and municipal authorities to promote health and wellbeing, health educators and trainers. Comprehensive updating and expansion to reflect recent research findings and major organizational and policy changes Clear structure and signposting for ease of reading and study Wide choice of examples and illustrative case studies reflect the needs of a variety of professional groups in health services, local and municipal services and education Ineractive learning activities with indicative answers help readers consolidate their learning Comprehensively updated and expanded to reflect major organizational and policy changes Interactive learning activities with indicative answers at the end of each chapter 'Pull out' boxes illustrate recent research findings and case studies of practice
Assessing Evidence to Improve Population Health and Wellbeing by
Written to support practitioners undertaking a Masters in public health, this book considers the main concepts, issues and methodologies of the second core competence of the Public Health Skills and Career Framework: ′Assessment of evidence of the effectiveness of interventions, programmes and services to improve population health and wellbeing′. Coverage includes the theoretical definition of evidence and its use in public health, the role of critical appraisal methods and tools in evidence assessment and how Effectiveness, Efficiency and Quality inform evidence. The book is packed with case studies and activities to help link theory and practice and prompt personal reflection.
Introduction to Epidemiology by
This popular book introduces the principles, methods and application of epidemiology for improving health and survival. The book assists readers in applying basic epidemiological methods to measure health outcomes, identifying risk factors for a negative
Essentials of Public Health Research Methods by 
Lecture Notes: Epidemiology and Public Health Medicine by 
Essential public health : theory and practice by
How can society most effectively prevent disease and promote health? That is the challenge addressed by this textbook. Public health is the art and science of preventing disease, prolonging life and promoting health through the organised efforts of society. The 'science' is concerned with making a diagnosis of a population's health problems, establishing their cause and determining effective interventions. The 'art' lies in creatively addressing these problems. Essential Public Health captures both the art and science of the field. This second edition has been fully updated with contemporary examples and includes new chapters on sustainability and change, management and leadership. Examples are taken from health systems throughout the world, giving readers a wider perspective of the challenges faced. This is essential reading for all trainees in health care, social care and related disciplines. An internet companion includes supplementary information and interactive, self-assessment questions to test understanding and aid learning.
Epidemiology by
Epidemiology, by award-winning educator and epidemiologist Leon Gordis, is a best-selling introduction to this complex science. Dr. Gordis leverages his vast experience teaching this subject in the classroom to introduce the basic principles and concepts of epidemiology in a clear, uniquely memorable way. He guides you from an explanation of the epidemiologic approach to disease and intervention, through the use of epidemiologic principles to identify the causes of disease, to a discussion of how epidemiology should be used to improve evaluation and public policy. It's your best choice for an accessible yet rich understanding of epidemiology! "Overall, I think it is an excellent book for medical students and occupational medicine trainees and a useful revision and reference text for consultant occupational physicians one of the most clearly laid out and readable general epidemiology texts that I have ever seen". Reviewed by: Julia Smedley on behalf of Occupational Medicine Date: July 2015 Gain a solid foundation of basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice. Visualize concepts vividly through abundant full-color figures, graphs, and charts. Check your understanding of essential information with 320 multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions (120 inside the book plus 200 more online). Access the complete contents online at Student Consult, including over 200 additional multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions not found in the book, with answers to all questions as well as full rationales explaining why every answer is correct or incorrect. Master the latest nuances in epidemiology thanks to a wealth of new and updated illustrations, examples, and epidemiologic data.
Public health : an introduction to the science and practice of population health by 
Public Health and Epidemiology at a Glance by
First Prize in Public health in the 2017 BMA Medical Book Awards Public Health and Epidemiology at a Glance is a highly visual introduction to the key concepts and major themes of population health. With comprehensive coverage of all the core topics covered at medical school, it helps students understand the determinants of health and their study, from personal lifestyle choices and behaviour, to environmental, social and economic factors. This fully updated new edition features: * More coverage of audit and quality improvement techniques * Brand new sections on maternal and child health, and health of older people * New chapters on social determinants of health and guideline development * Expanded self-assessment material This accessible guide is an invaluable resource for medical and healthcare students, junior doctors, and those preparing for a career in epidemiology and public health
The Essential Guide to Public Health and Health Promotion by
In the twenty-first century, public health is everyone's business. The nursing and medical professions are well placed to provide advice to their clients, especially in respect to lifestyle change, and public health initiatives are supported by a range of statutory and voluntary organisations and health workers, ranging from health promotion specialists to smoking cessation advisers and nutrition assistants. Designed to help readers develop the practical skills they need to become effective public health practitioners, this concise text gives an easily digested overview of public health and health promotion theory in accessible language and diagrams, before moving on to the ways readers can apply this in practice. Providing an opportunity for practitioners to understand possible barriers to lifestyle change, debate health inequalities and responsibilities, and explore the role of the media in changing attitudes, it: Outlines the roles of specific organisations involved in the work of public health work. Covers health needs assessment, agenda setting and the technical aspects of how to research plan and evaluate effective practice either with individual clients or when devising programmes and initiatives for population groups. Details methods of helping people with motivation for lifestyle change, building rapport, ongoing support, monitoring and signposting to specific services. Discusses role of neighbourhoods and communities in improving health and how workers may support local populations to improve the health of their community. The Essential Guide to Public Health and Health Promotion is an accessible introduction to the principles and practice of health promotion and public health for all those new to working or studying in the area, whatever their professional background.
Essential Epidemiology by
Now in its fourth edition, Essential Epidemiology is an engaging and accessible introduction to the foundations of epidemiology. It addresses the study of infectious and chronic diseases, public health and clinical epidemiology, and the role of epidemiology in a range of health monitoring and research activities. Contemporary, historical and hypothetical examples enable students to engage with content, while mathematics is kept understandable with complex mathematics housed in optional material so the book remains accessible. With over ninety questions and answers to work through, this book is an essential resource for students, practitioners and anyone else who needs to interpret health data in their studies or work. Epidemiology's most important goal is to bring rigour to the collection, analysis and interpretation of health data to improve health on a global scale; Essential Epidemiology provides readers the tools to achieve that goal.
The Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP): https://casp-uk.net/casp-tools-checklists/