Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by
Whether you are new to literature reviews or working with new types of data, this book takes the guesswork out of writing your literature review. From deciding how much literature to include to managing your data, assessing your sources, and writing results, it outlines a step-by-step process that works with any data. To help you choose best approach for your research, this book includes: · Worksheets and decision aids to help you plan and organise your literature review · Worked examples and case studies to show you what - and what not - to do in practice · Troubleshooting tips and answers to all your frequently asked questions · Online access to a literature review starter template, an exercise workbook, project diary template, and a source credibility checklist. The perfect project support for any social sciences student, this edition also includes a new chapter on analysing mixed methods research.
Research methods in Health 4th edn. by 
Social Research Methods by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
Reflexive Ethnography by
Reflexive Ethnography is a unique guide to ethnographic research for students of anthropology and related disciplines. It provides practical and comprehensive guidance to ethnographic research methods, but also encourages students to develop a critical understanding of the philosophical basis of ethnographic authority. Davies examines why reflexivity, at both personal and broader cultural levels, should be integrated into ethnographic research and discusses how this can be accomplished for a variety of research methods. This revised and updated second edition includes: anbsp;new chapter on internet-based research and 'interethnography' chapters on selection of topics and methods, data collection and analysis, and ethics and politics of research practical advice on writing up ethnographic study new and updated research examples. Postmodernist relativism can lead to an over-emphasis on reflexivity that denies the possibility of social research. Reflexive Ethnography utilises postmodernist insights - incorporation of different standpoints, exposure of the intellectual tyranny of meta-narratives - but proposes that reflexive ethnographic research be undertaken from a realist perspective. Reflexive Ethnography will help students to use and understand ethnographic research practices that fully incorporate reflexivity without abandoning claims to develop valid knowledge of social reality.
Real World Research by
Provides students and practitioner alike with clear and systematic guidance on performing social research in applied settings Real World Research supplies the multidisciplinary skills necessary to conduct social research projects inside and outside of the classroom or the workplace. Offering well-balanced coverage of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods, this highly practical resource incorporates approaches from different social science disciplines to help readers find answers to real-life research questions in healthcare, education, business and management, and in many other public and private settings. Detailed yet accessible chapters include step-by-step advice for developing a research question, choosing a research design strategy, collecting and analyzing the data, interpreting and reporting the results, and more. The fifth edition contains timely coverage of contemporary methodologies, key ethical issues, and ongoing debates within the field of social research. New and expanded sections address topics such as evidence-based approaches to social research, ethical considerations when conducting research involving people, carrying out projects based solely on existing research, and the importance and implications of internet-based research. Featuring a wealth of up-to-date examples drawn from a wide range of disciplines, this classic textbook: Focuses on useful real-world research in applied settings such as homes, schools, businesses, and other workplaces Provides a concise overview and a well-defined example of each main step of the research process Highlights the importance of collaboration, cooperation, and active participation in social research Explains flexible research designs using largely qualitative methods, including additional coverage of ethnographic and grounded theory approaches Includes an extensive companion website with numerous research examples, links to journal articles, PowerPoint slides, and many other additional resources Real World Research, Fifth Edition, remains essential reading for those tasked with developing, performing, and reporting the findings of a research project, including students, academics and educators, social scientists, health practitioners, and professionals in a diverse range of fields.
Qualitative inquiry & research design by
Winner of the 2018 Textbook & Academic Authors Association's The McGuffey Longevity Award In the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell's signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Edition is an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry. Learn more about John W. Creswell's qualitative research and mixed methods research titles as well as his 2017 spring/summer mixed methods research workshops! Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Surveys in Social Research by
David de Vaus' classic text Surveys in Social Researchprovides clear advice on how to plan, conduct and analyse social surveys. It emphasises the links between theory and research, the logic and interpretation of statistics and the practices of social research. This sixth edition has been completely revised and updated, and contains new examples, data and extensive lists of web resources. As well as explaining how to conduct good surveys, de Vaus shows how to become a critical consumer of research. He argues that the logic of surveys and statistics is simply an extension of the logic we use in everyday life; analysis, however, requires creativity and imagination rather than the application of sterile mechanical procedures. The prime goal of research should be to gain accurate understanding and, as a researcher, use methods and techniques which enhance understanding. De Vaus advocates researchers use the method, rather than letting the method use you. Surveys in Social Researchis essential reading for students and researchers working with surveys. It assumes no background in statistical analysis, and gives you the tools you need to come to grips with this often challenging field of work.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by
The substantially updated and revised Fifth Edition of this landmark handbook presents the state-of-the-art theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Representing top scholars from around the world, the editors and contributors continue the tradition of synthesizing existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The Fifth Edition contains 19 new chapters, with 16 revised--making it virtually a new volume--while retaining six classic chapters from previous editions. New contributors to this edition include Jamel K. Donnor and Gloria Ladson-Billings; Margaret Kovach; Paula Saukko; Bryant Keith Alexander; Thomas A. Schwandt and Emily F. Gates; Johnny Saldaña; Uwe Flick; Mirka Koro-Ljungberg, Maggie MacLure, and Jasmine Ulmer; Maria Elena Torre, Brett G. Stoudt, Einat Manoff, and Michelle Fine; Jack Bratich; Svend Brinkmann; Eric Margolis and Renu Zunjarwad; Annette N. Markham; Alecia Y. Jackson and Lisa A. Mazzei; Jonathan Wyatt, Ken Gale, Susanne Gannon, and Bronwyn Davies; Janice Morse; Peter Dahler-Larsen; Marc Spooner; and David A. Westbrook. SAGE is offering a 30% discount on the Handbook. Enter code DENZIN30 at checkout to apply the discount.
Quantitative Health Research by
This book is a detailed and comprehensive guide to undertaking quantitative health research at postgraduate and professional level. It takes you through the entire research process, from designing the project to presenting the results and will help you execute high quality quantitative research that improves and informs clinical practice. Written by a team of research experts, this book covers common practical problems such as applying theory to research and analysing data. It also includes chapters on communicating with ethics committees, recruiting samples from vulnerable populations, audit as a research approach, quasi-experimental designs and using cognitive interviewing, making it a new and innovative offering for health researchers. Other topics covered in this book include: Ethical considerations of research Designing and planning quantitative research projects Data measurement and collection Analyzing and presenting resultsWith a strong practical focus, each chapter features examples of real-life research to illustrate the quantitative research process, as well as tips and insights into research planning and execution. This book is an essential guide for all health care professionals undertaking a postgraduate degree, as well as health researchers and practitioners who need to carry out research as part of their professional role. Contributors: Ruth Belling, Michelle Butler, Catherine Comiskey, Siobhan Corrigan, Gloria Crispino, Orla Dempsey, Suzanne Guerin, Maree Johnson, Carmel Kelly, Elaine Lehane, Maria Lohan, Susan McLaren, Deirdre Mongan, Corina Naughton, Rhona O'Connell, Elaine Pierce, Gary Rolfe, Eileen Savage, Anne Scott, Emma Stokes, Roger Watson ""Learning quantitative research is taken much for granted. This is probably why there are fewer generic books on quantitative than qualitative research. This book is long overdue. Clearly- written and well structured, it takes us through the whole journey of a research project from developing 'research questions' to 'presenting the findings', passing through philosophical underpinnings, recruitment of participants and ethical considerations. Written by an array of well-known researchers and teachers, this book will certainly appeal to new as well as seasoned researchers. Those who will use it, will not be disappointed." Kader Parahoo, University of Ulster "The title of this text is somewhat misleading. It is not only an excellent and thorough guide to quantitative health research methods; it is also an excellent introduction to all forms of quantitative research. It takes the reader gently through theoretical and ethical concerns to the practicalities and benefits of utilising quantitative approaches. As such it is that rare thing; a text that can be used by novice researchers to learn their craft, and a key reference resource for experienced research practitioners." Dr. John Cullen, School of Business, National University of Ireland, Maynooth, UK "This is a first-rate collection of essays that promotes an informed understanding of both underpinning principles and widely used techniques. A great deal of effort has clearly been invested in co-ordinating the contributions, and this has delivered clarity, complementarity and effective coverage. This is a welcome, carefully-crafted and very accessible resource that will appeal to students and researchers in healthcare and beyond." Martin Beirne, Professor of Management and Organizational Behaviour, University of Glasgow, Adam Smith Business School, UK
Ethnography : principles in practice by
Now in its fourth edition, this leading introduction to ethnography has been thoroughly updated and substantially rewritten. The volume offers a systematic introduction to ethnographic principles and practice, and includes a new chapter on 'Ethnography in the digital world'. The authors argue that ethnography is best understood as a reflexive process. This requires recognition that social research is part of the world that it studies, and demands that researchers reflect on how they shape both data and analysis. Starting in Chapter 1 with an outline of the principle of reflexivity, against the background of competing research philosophies, the authors go on to discuss the main features of ethnographic work, including: the selection and sampling of cases the problem of access field relations and observation interviewing the use of documents recording and organizing data the process of data analysis and writing research reports. There is also consideration of the ethical issues involved in ethnographic research. Throughout, the discussion draws on a wide range of illustrative material from classic and more recent studies, within a global context. The new edition of this popular textbook will be an indispensable resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students, and for all researchers using ethnographic methods in the social sciences and the humanities. mp;lt;LI>recording and organizing data the process of data analysis and writing research reports. There is also consideration of the ethical issues involved in ethnographic research. Throughout, the discussion draws on a wide range of illustrative material from classic and more recent studies, within a global context. The new edition of this popular textbook will be an indispensable resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students, and for all researchers using ethnographic methods in the social sciences and the humanities.
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care by 
Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research by
Combining the latest thinking in the field with practical, step-by-step guidance, the Third Edition of John W. Creswell and Vicki L. Plano Clark's Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research now includes seven mixed methods designs with accompanying journal articles illustrating each design. The authors walk readers through the entire research process and present updated examples from published mixed methods studies drawn from multiple disciplines. In addition, this new edition includes information about the dynamic and evolving nature of the field of mixed methods research, four additional methodological approaches, and coverage of new directions in mixed methods.
Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis by
Interpretative phenomenological analysis (IPA) is a qualitative research approach committed to the examination of how people make sense of their major life experiences. This text provides a detailed guide to conducting IPA research, presenting the theoretical underpinnings of the approach, a comprehensive overview of the stages of an IPA research project, and examples of high-quality IPA studies. Extended worked examples from the authors′ own studies in health, psychological distress, and identity illustrate the breadth and depth of IPA research, making this book the definitive guide to IPA for students and researchers alike. New to this edition: - A thoroughly updated chapter dedicated to analysis - An exemplary mini-study - Improved and updated terminology - A chapter discussing innovations in design, data collection, and collaboration ′It is not often I can use "accessible" and "phenomenology" in the same sentence, but reading the new book, Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis...certainly provides me the occasion to do so. I can say this because these authors provide an engaging and clear introduction to a relatively new analytical approach′ - The Weekly Qualitative Report
Quantitative Social Research Methods by
Quantitative Social Research Methodsexplores the entire spectrum of quantitative social research methods and their application, with special reference to the development sector. It provides detailed coverage of all statistical research and analysis method with an emphasis on multivariate analysis techniques, such as regression discriminant analysis, logistic regression, factor, factor, cluster, correspondence and conjoint analysis.The book is thematically arranged in two sections: the first section introduces development research techniques, explores the genesis and scope of social research, research processes and then goes on to explain univariate, bivariate and multivariate data analysis with the help of software packages such as SPSS and STATA. The second focuses on the application of social and development research methods in the development sector. It explores research method application and the issues relevant to aspects of development such as population, health and nutrition, poverty and rural development, education, water and sanitation, and environment and natural resource management.
Research with People by
Whether analyzing attitudes, measuring opinions or observing habits, researchers who investigate people's behaviour need a wide range of techniques at their disposal. Research with people provides a unique introduction to these methods that is both clear and accessible. Through a series of sample practicals, Holt and Walker guide you step-by-step through the process of designing and carrying out research. The authors, both experienced lecturers and researchers, use these practicals to explain theories of research design and teach you how to choose the right technique for your research topic every time. Research with People is full of handy and reassuring advice that makes it ideal as a class textbook or as a private study guide. People are complex, and as a result conducting good-quality human research can seem daunting. This introductory textbook not only shows you how good planning can make research easy and reliable, but also reminds you how exciting it can be.
Research Methods in Health by
Research Methods in Health is an introductory text that shows students different research techniques and how they are of value to the health professions. The third edition offers a cross-disciplinary approach to research methods with the aim of being inclusive of all health professions. Thetext assumes no prior knowledge and is written in an appealing, accessible style using examples to demonstrate the relevance and practical application of research to health care practice.
Qualitative Research Practice by
Why use qualitative methods? What kinds of questions can qualitative methods help you answer? How do you actually do rigorous and reflective qualitative research in the real world? Written by a team of leading researchers associated with NatCen Social Research (the National Centre for Social Research) this textbook leads students and researchers through the entire process of qualitative research from beginning to end - moving through design, sampling, data collection, analysis and reporting. In this fully revised second edition you will find: A practical account of how to carry out qualitative research which recognises a range of current approaches and applications A brand new chapter on ethics A brand new chapter on observational research Updated advice on using software when analysing your qualitative data New case studies which illustrate issues you may encounter and how problems have been tackled by other researchers. This book is an ideal guide for students, practitioners and researchers faced with the challenges of doing qualitative research in both applied and academic settings in messy real-life contexts.
Understanding Statistics in the Behavioral Sciences by
Based on over 30 years of successful teaching experience in this course, Robert Pagano's introductory text takes an intuitive, concepts-based approach to descriptive and inferential statistics. He uses the sign test to introduce inferential statistics, empirically derived sampling distributions, many visual aids, and lots of interesting examples to promote reader understanding. One of the hallmarks of this text is the positive feedback from users--even those not mathematically inclined praise the text for its clarity, detailed presentation, and use of humor to help make concepts accessible and memorable. Thorough explanations precede the introduction of every formula, and the exercises that immediately follow include a step-by-step model that lets readers compare their work against fully solved examples. This combination makes the text perfect for anyone building their foundation of knowledge for analyzing statistics in psychology or other social and behavioral sciences.
Interpreting Qualitative Data by
Now with entertaining and inspiring videos from the author and a wealth of online resources to support the text the approachable, clear and friendly Sixth Edition of David Silverman′s classic text equips you with the tools to tackle key issues faced by qualitative researchers and establish good practice in your own research.
InterViews by
The First Edition of InterViews has provided students and professionals in a wide variety of disciplines with the "whys" and "hows" of research interviewing, preparing students for learning interviewing by doing interviews and by studying examples of best practice. The thoroughly revised Second Edition retains its original seven-stage structure, continuing to focus on the practical, epistemological, and ethical issues involved with interviewing. Authors Steinar Kvale and Svend Brinkmann also include coverage of newer developments in qualitative interviewing, discussion of interviewing as a craft, and a new chapter on linguistic modes of interview analysis. Practical and conceptual assignments, as well as new "tool boxes," provide students with the means to dig deeper into the material presented and achieve a more meaningful level of understanding. New to This Edition · Includes new developments in qualitative interviewing: New materials cover narrative, discursive, and conversational analyses. · Presents interviewing as a social practice: Knowledge produced by interviewing is discussed as linguistic, conversational, narrative, relational, situated, and pragmatic. · Addresses a variety of interviews forms: In addition to harmonious, empathetic interviews, the authors also cover confrontational interviews. Intended Audience This text is ideal for both novice and experienced interview researchers as well as graduate students taking courses in qualitative and research methods in the social sciences and health sciences, particularly departments of Education, Nursing, Sociology, Psychology, and Communication. Praise for the previous edition: "I think this is one of the most in-depth treatments of the interview process that I have seen. The frank and realistic approach that the authors take to this topic is rather unique and will be very reassuring to researchers who are undertaking an interview study for the first time." --Lisa M. Diamond, University of Utah