Applied Educational Psychology with 16-25 Year Olds by
In 2014 the Children and Families Act extended the protection of educational services to include people up to age 25, so since then educational psychologists have worked in post-16 establishments as well as schools. This book presents case studies that illuminate how psychology is applied to enhancing the lives of adolescents and young adults as they grapple with, for example, the ethics of consent, and the management of transitions to adulthood and independent living. It gives a voice to vulnerable students whose aspirations and hopes differ entirely from those of younger children. Commissioned and compiled by members of the British Psychological Society's Division of Educational and Child Psychology, this timely collection is invaluable for educational psychologists and will interest parents, young people, social workers, teachers, lecturers and administrators in further and higher education.
Educational Psychology Casework by
Educational Psychology Casework is a practical, accessible guide to working with children, outlining the basic skills needed and practical strategies to promote positive change and obtain the best results for children. The book covers how to develop skills such as establishing rapport, gaining a child's trust and respect, interviewing skills and techniques, and interpreting children's responses. The author outlines the theoretical background and how this translates into practical work and includes case examples which demonstrate the theory in practice. This fully updated second edition includes new chapters on problem-solving versus solution-focused work and also on measures of impact. This book is essential reading for all trainee and practising educational psychologists.
Frameworks for Practice in Educational Psychology, Second Edition by
Now in its second edition, this comprehensive textbook presents a rich overview of approaches to educational psychology, through an in-depth exploration of both existing and emerging practice frameworks. Covering established techniques such as the Monsen et al. Problem-Solving Framework and the Constructionist Model of Informed and Reasoned Action, the book sets out new material on innovative methods and approaches such as Implementation Science and a Problem-Solving - Solution Focussed integrated model for service delivery. Accessible summaries are accompanied by perceptive assessments of how these frameworks meet modern needs for accountable, transparent and effective practice. Providing a definitive, up-to-date view of educational psychology, the book explains the complex, integrated methodology necessary to succeed in the field today. Thoughtful and clear, this textbook will be an invaluable resource for all practicing educational psychologists, students, trainers and educators.
Key Legislative reading
Handbook of Educational Psychology by
The third edition of the Handbook of Educational Psychology is sponsored by Division 15 of the American Psychological Association. In this volume, thirty chapters address new developments in theory and research methods while honoring the legacy of the field's past. A diverse group of recognized scholars within and outside the U.S. provide integrative reviews and critical syntheses of developments in the substantive areas of psychological inquiry in education, functional processes for learning, learner readiness and development, building knowledge and subject matter expertise, and the learning and task environment. New chapters in this edition cover topics such as learning sciences research, latent variable models, data analytics, neuropsychology, relations between emotion, motivation, and volition (EMOVO), scientific literacy, sociocultural perspectives on learning, dialogic instruction, and networked learning. Expanded treatment has been given to relevant individual differences, underlying processes, and new research on subject matter acquisition. The Handbook of Educational Psychology, Third Edition, provides an indispensable reference volume for scholars in education and the learning sciences, broadly conceived, as well as for teacher educators, practicing teachers, policy makers and the academic libraries serving these audiences. It is also appropriate for graduate level courses in educational psychology, human learning and motivation, the learning sciences, and psychological research methods in education and psychology.
Educational Psychology by
Educational Psychology, Second Edition offers a comprehensive overview of how key advances in social, developmental and cognitive psychology impact upon the role of educational psychologists working today. Written by leading researchers, the book also explores controversies and dilemmas in both research and practice, providing students with a balanced and cutting-edge introduction to both the field and the profession. Fully revised throughout, the new edition is written to encourage students to integrate their understanding of core psychological disciplines, as well as to consider what 'evidence-based practice' really means. Organized into two broad sections related to learning and behaviour, the book features a selection of vignettes from educational psychologists working in a range of contexts, as well as tasks and scenarios to support a problem-orientated approach to study. By integrating both research and everyday practice, the book is unique in engaging a critical appreciation of both the possibilities and limitations of educational psychology. It is the ideal book for any student wishing to engage with this important and evolving field of study.
Educational Psychology: Concepts, Research and Challenges by
Research in educational psychology has had a huge impact in terms of enhancing understanding and challenging thinking about teachers and learners. Educational Psychology: Concepts, Research and Challenges brings together the latest research across many areas of educational psychology, introducing and reporting on the most effective methodologies for studying teachers and learners and providing overviews of current debates within the field. With chapters from international authors, this academic text reveals theoretical overviews and research findings from across the field including: teaching and learning research methods motivation and instruction curriculum - reading, writing, mathematics cognition special educational needs and behaviour management sociocultural and socioemotional perspectives assessment and evaluation. Educational psychology has historically had a focus on students with particular learning needs. This book provides a discussion about the gradual movement toward inclusion and the possibility of developing a more cohesive and potentially more effective education system for all students. It also provides recent research into effective behaviour management and presents specific and valuable techniques employed in applied behaviour analysis. The contributors also deliver analysis on the motivation of students and how home and society in general can contribute towards constraining or enhancing student learning. This book is a must-read for academics, researchers, undergraduate and graduate students who recognize the substantial contribution of educational psychology to increasing our understanding of students and their learning, teachers and their teaching.