Health Psychology by
Health Psychology, Eleventh Edition, provides a comprehensive, accessible, and engaging look into the field of health psychology. With a focus on the most current research related to stress, psychosocial issues, and chronic disorders, this edition covers both the scientific progress of health psychology, as well as its important real-life applications. Research is presented with practical stories, written so that any reader can quickly identify how best to lead a healthier life. Since 1986, Health Psychology has helped thousands of students learn how to identify and eliminate stress, maintain their health, and use technology to get the best care possible, and this edition is no exception.
Key Concepts in Health Psychology by
Key Concepts in Health Psychology aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology. It allows the reader the opportunity to engage with a full range of approaches and methods in a very diverse field, and importantly to be able to appreciate the relationships between these. While current textbooks in health psychology offer the reader some conceptual reasoning about different aspects of the discipline, there is no one source which provides an accessible, navigable, and cross-referenced analysis of the major models and ideas. The influences and foundations of this important field are vast and sometimes challenging for students studying it in various disciplines. This textbook presents the core bases of the field in a manner that should make teaching and learning more inviting and exciting. Key Concepts in Health Psychology is a core textbook for all undergraduate and graduate students taking Health Psychology for the first time, and strongly recommended to students taking the course in Allied Health and Medical disciplines.
Health Psychology: Theory, Research and Practice by
Health Psychology students will need to understand how to evaluate and critically-appraise the latest theory and research before it can be applied. This fully-revised and updated fourth edition takes a critical approach and places Health Psychology in a real-world context, enabling students to understand how public policy, theory and research can influence communities and individuals alike. The new edition includes: A new chapter on diet and obesity Updated material on stress and coping, doctor-patient communication, death, dying, bereavement and quality of life Introductions to the social, political and economic conditions that influence our health Breadth of coverage from social inequality through to chronic illness and screening An enhanced SAGE edge(tm) companion website (edge.sagepub.com/marks4e) with a suite of features to enhance students′ learning experience.
ABC of behaviour change theories by 
Essential Readings in Health Psychology by
Essential Readings in Health Psychology is a new collection of key papers brought together for the first time in a single volume which complements Jane Ogden’s bestselling textbook, Health Psychology. The reader focuses on the key areas highlighted by the British Psychological Society as central to health psychology, providing an ideal resource for any undergraduate or postgraduate course in health psychology as well as for students of medicine, nursing and allied health. The papers have been carefully selected from a range of prestigious international journals including American Psychologist, the British Medical Journal, Psychology and Health, Psychosomatic Medicine, Health Psychology and the Journal of the American Medical Association. Each of the twenty-nine papers employs different theories and methods which offer a different perspective from within one of five broad areas: The context of health psychology Health behaviours Health care Stress and health Chronic illness The papers offer case examples of health psychology work that illustrate what health psychology research can (and cannot) achieve. They are framed by editorial discussions which will help students to understand the context, meaning and contribution of each paper to the discipline of Health Psychology as a whole. The complete papers are published, including their reference lists, so they can be used to develop reading lists and recommend further reading. This book can be used independently or along side the introductory text, Health Psychology. Each book contains a cross-referenced list of chapters from the other, in order that lecturers and students can easily find clear evidence-based examples of key theories, models and methods being used in practice.
An Introduction to Stress and Health by
"This is a highly entertaining book about a very serious topic. Beautifully written, funny and organized in a way that students and the general public will understand complex notions about stress."- Sonia Lupien, Director of the Centre for Studies on Human Stress, University of Montreal "Perfect for my stress and cognition module, accessible and informative, great level of detail."- James Byron-Daniel, University of the West of England, Bristol An Introduction to Stress and Health is the first textbook to fuse the psychosocial with newer behavioural neuroscience perspectives. It provides a broad perspective of the multiple biological processes influenced by stressful events, the conditions that allow for either exacerbation or diminution of these stressor effects, and the pathological conditions that can emerge as a result of stressful events. Anisman systematically reviews the key research over the past 30 years and presents his insights in a lively, interesting pedagogical fashion to allow you to fully appreciate the diversity of the field of stress and its impact on our health. Key features include: A consideration of the value of numerous therapeutic strategies to diminish distress and stress-related pathologies. An exploration of many new conceptual perspectives relevant to stress processes and pathology. Information is presented in an easy-to-read manner with lots of pointers to the key concepts to remember. An Introduction to Stress and Health is an indispensable text for upper-level undergraduate and postgraduate students taking courses in health psychology, stress, health and illness.
Predicting and Changing Health Behaviour by
There is currently great interest in how social cognitions are related to health behaviour but - often - little practical understanding of the area. Predicting Health Behaviour brings together current research and practical details of how models of social cognition can be applied in health research.Predicting Health Behaviour provides the theoretical background and examples of how to apply the most common social cognition models to the explanation of health behaviours. Each chapter has been written by key researchers in the area, and they follow a common structure which enables this book to be read as a 'user-manual'. Each chapter provides a general review of relevant research, applying the model to a variety of health behaviours (such as dietary choice, screening behaviour and sex) and discussing the strengths and weaknesses of models including the health belief model, protection motivation theory, the theory of planned behaviour, health locus of control and self-efficacy. The final chapter includes a critique of the general approach, and signposts future directions for research.Predicting Health Behaviour examines how to assess the advantages and disadvantages of using each of these models; appropriately apply each model to their work; and adequately analyse and report the results. It will be important reading for health professionals, and researchers and students of health and health psychology.
The Handbook of Stress and Health by
A comprehensive work that brings together and explores state-of-the-art research on the link between stress and health outcomes. Offers the most authoritative resource available, discussing a range of stress theories as well as theories on preventative stress management and how to enhance well-being Timely given that stress is linked to seven of the ten leading causes of death in developed nations, yet paradoxically successful adaptation to stress can enable individuals to flourish Contributors are an international panel of authoritative researchers and practitioners in the various specialty subjects addressed within the work
Diabetes Care by
Diabetes is common, chronic, complicated, and costly both to the patient and to the state. It causes distress, disability, and premature death. Most diabetes complications can be prevented or reduced. Diabetes Care Second Edition is a concise and easy-to-read reference source for all aspects of care in the management and understanding of diabetes.This pocketbook provides a step-by-step guide to diabetes care for doctors, nurses, and other health care professionals working in primary, community, and secondary care, particularly general practitioners, practice nurses, diabetes specialist nurses, junior hospital doctors, ward nurses, and pharmacists. The author draws on practical experience taking a common-sense approach to the assessment, education, monitoring, and treatment of diabetes across all age groups and ethnic backgrounds. Thereare detailed sections on helping patients manage their diabetes in everyday life, extensive advice on the monitoring and adjustment of glucose levels, and discussion on the preventing and coping with emergencies. Focus is primarily on the prevention, detection, and treatment of diabetic tissuedamage, including heart disease.The new edition of Diabetes Care - a Practical Manual provides up-to-date guidance on managing diabetic emergencies including hypoglycaemia and diabetic ketoacidosis, and new advice about diabetes care in A&E and the hospital setting. There is also an expanded section on using data and audit to review and improve care.
The Psychology of Human Sexuality by
The Psychology of Human Sexuality offers a comprehensive overview of human sexual behavior from a biopsychosocial perspective. The text highlights psychological research and theory on human sexuality whilst also considering the biological, evolutionary, social, and cultural factors that influence our sex lives. Features comprehensive coverage of topics including gender and sexual orientation, relationships, sexual behaviors, sexual difficulties and solutions, prostitution, and pornography Offers more in-depth treatment of relationships than comparable texts, with separate chapters dealing with attraction and relationship processes Written from a sex-positive perspective, and is inclusive and respectful of a diverse audience Includes numerous activities to facilitate a dynamic and interactive classroom environment
The Psychology of Exercise by
Now in its fifth edition, The Psychology of Exercise: Integrating Theory and Practice is the ideal resource for undergraduate courses devoted to the study of exercise behavior. Following the success of previous editions, this book successfully integrates theoretical principles and the latest research with intervention strategies that students can apply in real-world settings. Students will find multiple forms of presentation throughout including graphics and models, questionnaires and other instruments, focus boxes highlighting research on the impact of physical activity on specific populations, and review questions and activities to enhance learning. This edition includes a substantial revision of the theory and intervention chapters, with a focus on the most popular theories currently thriving in the field, a discussion of environmental and policy influences on behavior, and an expanded presentation of intervention components, design, and evaluation. Separate chapters are also dedicated to popular topics such as personality, self-perceptions, stress, anxiety, depression, emotional well-being, cognitive function, and health-related quality of life. For those seeking to learn more about exercise behavior, The Psychology of Exercise: Integrating Theory and Practice is a must-have resource.
Research Methods for Clinical and Health Psychology by
`If you are teaching postgraduate research methods courses, including those aimed at a mixture of psychologists and other health professionals, this book is worth considering as a core text′ - John Hegarty, THES This textbook offers an excellent introduction to the variety of research methods used within the fields of clinical and health psychology. The book provides a detailed, yet concise, explanation of both qualitative and quantitative approaches and draws upon case-study examples to illustrate how these can be used in a variety of health-care settings, with special relevance to clinical disorders, disease prevention and health promotion. Key features of the book include: - A clear and concise narrative - Real-life case studies and examples drawn from clinical practice. - Revision questions in each chapter - Boxes, diagrams and tables to highlight key points - Chapter outlines, summaries and a glossary of useful terms to help students and researchers with independent study and learning. Research Methods for Clinical and Health Psychology fulfils the demand for a textbook explaining how qualitative and quantitative methods can be used explicitly in a health psychology context. It will be invaluable reading for clinical and health psychology students, trainees and practitioners, as well as those in nursing, medical and other healthcare departments taking an advanced psychology option.
Qualitative Health Psychology by
`This book constitutes a valuable resource for postgraduate students and researchers. Most.... of the chapters succeed in providing a clear and comprehensive introduction to the various approaches and/or methods, thus enabling the reader to make an informed decision about whether or not they wish to pursue the topic further. The book as a whole is also very well referenced and this makes it a source of essential information for students and researchers with an interest in qualitative health psychology′ - Health Psychology Update This book explains the role of qualitative research within health psychology. Theories and methods from a qualitative perspective are highly varied but, in general, differ from the positivist approach which is concerned with quantifying the individual risk factors presumed to cause health and illness behaviour. This book shows clearly how a qualitative approach offers a better understanding of the experience of illness while locating it in its broader social context. Providing a detailed examination of these issues, the book is organized into three sections - the first considers some of the main theoretical perspectives underlying qualitative research in health psychology including discourse analysis and narrative as well as the social context and embodiment of health and illness; the second examines some of the practical issues involved in conducting qualitative research with different populations, such as children and the terminally ill; and the final section considers a range of analytic issues and specific analytic approaches such as grounded theory and action research, and the evaluation of qualitative methods.
Health psychology : Biopsychosocial interactions by 
Health Communication: From theory to practice by
Now in its second edition, Health Communication: From Theory to Practice provides a comprehensive introduction to theory, intervention design, current issues, and special topics in health communication. The book also represents a hands-on guide to program development, implementation, and evaluation. This second edition further emphasizes the importance of a people-centered and participatory approach to health communication interventions, which takes into account key social determinants of health as well as the interconnection of various health and social fields. While maintaining a strong focus on the importance of behavioral, social, and organizational results as key outcomes of health communication interventions, this second edition also includes new or updated information, theoretical models, resources, and case studies on: Health equity Urban health New media Emergency and risk communication Strategic partnerships in health communication Policy communication and public advocacy Cultural competence Health literacy The evaluation of health communication interventions To access a companion website with instructor resources (PowerPoint presentations for all chapters, sample assignments, and other resources), please visit www.wiley.com/go/schiavo2e This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.
Developmental Psychology in Action by 
