Social research methods 5th edn (Print Copy) by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Understanding the Sociology of Health. 4th edn. (Print Copy) by
Understanding the Sociology of Health continues to offer an easy to read introduction to sociological theories essential to understanding the current health climate. Up-to-date with key policy and research, and including case studies and exercises to critically engage the reader, this book shows how sociology can answer complex questions about health and illness, such as why health inequalities exist. To better help with your studies this book contains: · a global perspective with international examples; · a new chapter on health technologies; · online access to videos of the author discussing key topics as well as recommended further readings; · a glossary, chapter summaries and reflective questions to help you engage with the subject. Though aimed primarily at students on health and social care courses and professions allied to medicine, this textbook provides valuable insights for anyone interested in the social aspects of health.
The sociological imagination by
C. Wright Mills is best remembered for his highly acclaimed work The Sociological Imagination, in which he set forth his views on how social science should be pursued. Hailed upon publication as a cogent and hard-hitting critique, The Sociological Imagination took issue with the ascendantschools of sociology in the United States, calling for a humanist sociology connecting the social, personal, and historical dimensions of our lives. The sociological imagination Mills calls for is a sociological vision, a way of looking at the world that can see links between the apparently privateproblems of the individual and important social issues. Leading sociologist Todd Gitlin brings this fortieth anniversary edition up to date with a lucid introduction in which he considers the ways social analysis has progressed since Mills first published his study in 1959. A classic in the field, this book still provides rich food for ourimagination.
Sociology: introductory readings. 3rd edn. (Print Copy) by 
Sociology 4th edn. (Print Copy) by
Building upon the success of previous editions, this fourth edition of 'Sociology' lays the foundations for a theoretically and methodologically robust understanding of the subject area. Key topics are examined in an accessible and rigorous manner, encouraging reflection within a wide social, cultural and historical context.
Sociology 4th edn. (Print Copy) by
The fourth edition of Fulcher and Scott provides an authoritative and theoretically grounded approach to sociology, covering both classic and contemporary research. It provides the context for debate and discussion that enables students to develop their critical awareness skills. Contemporaryissues such as anti-social behaviour, are backed with recent research, whilst the student-centred approach adopted in this edition looks at popular culture and recent developments such as social networking and online identities.A system of consistent cross-referencing and signposting signals where topics are explored to allow easy navigation of the text. Clear links between the main text and learning features emphasize the relevance of these features. A wealth of features support students and teachers.Online ResourcesFor students:* Case studies: each chapter has a case study that draws on recent sociological research and news from the popular media with questions* MCQs: bank of self-marking multiple-choice questions for each chapter * Web links: series of annotated web links organised by chapter * Interactive revision activities* Information and advice on careers: to provide guidance on careers available to students of sociology and links to sources of further information. This expands on the information on careers provided in chapter 1. For lecturers:* Further collection of case studies for group tutorial work and assignments, accompanied by critical thinking questions* Bank of essay and short answer questions for each chapter.* PowerPoint slides for lecturer presentations arranged by chapter.* Comprehensive Instructor's Manual, includes lecturer outline and teaching activities.* Guide to discussion points at the end of each chapter.
The sociology of health and illness 3rd edn. (Print Copy) by
Sarah Nettleton's The Sociology of Health and Illness has become a cornerstone text, popular with students and academics alike for its rigorous and accessible overview of the field. Building on these strengths, the third edition integrates fresh insights from the current literature with the core tenets of traditional medical sociology, providing students with a thorough grounding in the sociology of health and illness. The text covers a diversity of topics and draws on a wide range of analytic approaches, spanning issues such as the social construction of medical knowledge, the analysis of lay health beliefs, concepts of lifestyles and risk, the experience of illness and the sociology of the body. It also explores matters which are central to health policy, such as professional-patient relationships, health inequalities and the changing nature of health care work. Each chapter in the book has been revised and updated, with substantial new material in particular on the sociology of diagnosis, body work, and a whole new chapter on the sociology of health technology. Written for students of the social sciences who opt to study the field of health and illness in greater depth, this book will also continue to appeal to students taking vocational degrees, such as nursing, who require a sociological grounding in the area. Thoroughly revised and fully updated, the third edition of Sarah Nettleton's book will prove invaluable to anyone looking for a clear and engaging introduction to contemporary debates within the sociology of health and illness.
Thinking sociologically 2nd edn. (Print Copy) by
In this lucid, stimulating and original book, Zygmunt Bauman and Tim May explore the underlying assumptions and tacit expectations which structure our view of the world. The authors elucidate key concepts in sociology: for example, individualism versus community, and privilege versus deprivation. While charting a course through sociology's main concerns, Bauman and May also examine the applicability of sociology to everyday life.
Thinking Sociologically. 3rd edn. (Print Copy) by
Widely acclaimed insight on the human condition, updated to view modern issues through a sociological lens Now in its third edition, Thinking Sociologically continues to offer a stimulating exploration of the underlying assumptions and tacit expectations which structure our view of the world. This best-seller has been translated into 12 languages to bring key sociological concepts to students and general readers around the globe. The authors review recent developments in society and examine the applicability of sociology to everyday life. The world has changed a great deal since the second edition's publication. Issues of climate change, sustainability, inequality, social justice, inclusion and the role of social media have risen to prominence, and we are collectively challenging our ways of thinking about intimacy, community, consumption, ethics, social identity, and more. This new third edition has been revised to reflect these and other transformations in our lives, helping us to think sociologically about the consequences of these burgeoning issues, how we organize our societies, understand ourselves and lead our lives. This dynamic book: Applies sociology to everyday life in the context of current issues Contains contributions from major theorists that introduce central sociological concepts with modern relevance Features a highly engaging and stimulating style that promotes critical thought and independent study Written for undergraduates, postgraduates, practicing sociologists and social scientists, this book also holds a broad appeal to a general audience. The third edition of Thinking Sociologically offers a compelling survey of sociological issues, recent changes in society and their influence on our day-to-day lives and identities. Learn more about Thinking Sociologically in co-author Tim May's recent piece for the British Sociological Association.
A short history of sociological thought 3rd edn. (Print Copy) by
This lucidly written, jargon-free text offers an account of the rise of sociological thought from its origins in the eighteenth century. Beginning with the classical sociology of Marx, Durkheim, Weber and Simmel, it goes on to examine the modern paradigms of functionalism, interactionism, structuralism and critical Marxism, and ends by discussing salient contemporary sociological theory, including the theories of Foucault, Baudrillard, Giddens, Habermas and others. Systematic and comprehensive, this is a text that critically engages with sociological theory throughout its development, offering students a path through competing traditions and perspectives that brings out the distinctive value and limitations of these.
Sociology:exploring the architecture of everyday life 7th edn. (Print Copy) by
"When I first started teaching, I looked through tons of textbooks (and have repeated the process a couple of times since then). I have never found another textbook that I like as much as your book. I feel like it does the best job of showing students how to incorporate sociology into their own lives of any text I have seen. I also think your book does an excellent job of explaining symbolic interactionism and helping students understand the differences between the three theoretical perspectives." --Heather Shay, Instructor and Ph.D. Student in Sociology The Seventh Edition of David Newman's Sociology: Exploring the Architecture of Everyday Life invites students to delve into the fascinating world of sociological thought. Encouraging students to think more about how sociology applies to their everyday lives, this edition features updated coverage and fresh examples, including revamped micro-macro connections to help students understand the link between individual lives and the structure of society. New to the Seventh Edition Presents new and updated coverage throughout, including new sections on Muslim-Americans, global warming, and sexual orientation Features Newman's signature compelling writing style with slightly briefer chapters and integrated global content in each for a better fit with today's courses Provides a more robust research methods section with innovative discussions of spuriousness in research, reading a research article correctly, and more, plus a new "Doing Social Research" feature Offers new examples from the myriad U.S. subcultures to engage students with examples that are relevant to their lives Features new and updated Micro-Macro Connections, including technology and erosion of privacy, the global health divide, and more, to help students make the link between their daily lives and the architecture of society Includes fresh examples and updated statistical information throughout the text, along with new exhibits and impactful visual essays
Essentials of sociology(Print Copy) by
Essentials of Sociology, adapted from George Ritzer's Introduction to Sociology, Second Edition, provides the same rock-solid foundation in a shorter and more streamlined format. Like the original Ritzer text, Essentials of Sociology illuminates traditional sociological concepts and theories, and focuses on some of the most compelling contemporary social phenomena: globalization, consumer culture, the Internet, and the "McDonaldization" of society. As technology flattens the globe, students are challenged to apply a sociological perspective to their world, and to see how "public" sociologists are engaging with the critical issues of today.
Sociology 5th edn. (Print Copy) by
This volume provides a fresh approach to the study of introductory sociology. It looks at the social world from a global perspective, recognising that it is increasingly difficult to understand one country in isolation from another.
Key concepts in social research (Print Copy) by
`This clearly written and user-friendly book is ideal for students or researchers who wish to get a basic, but solid grasp of a topic and see how it fits with other topics. By following the links a student can easily and efficiently build up a clear conceptual map of social research' - Malcolm Williams, Reader in Sociology, University of Plymouth `This is a really useful book, written in an accessible manner for students beginning their study of social research methods. It is helpful both as an introductory text and as a reference guide for more advanced students. Most of the key topics in methods and methodology are covered and it will be suitable as a recommended text on a wide variety of courses' - Clive Seale, Goldsmiths College, University of London At last, an authoritative, crystal-clear introduction to research methods which really takes account of the needs of students for accessible, focused information to help with undergraduate essays and exams. The key concepts discussed here are based on a review of teaching syllabi and the authors' experience of many years of teaching. Topics range over qualitative and quantitative approaches and combine practical considerations with philosophical issues. They include several new topics, like internet and phone polling, internet searches, and visual methods. Each section is free-standing, can be tackled in order, but with links to other sections to enable students to cross-reference and build up a wider understanding of central research methods. To facilitate comprehension and aid study, each section begins with a definition. It is followed by a summary of key points with key words and guides to further reading and up-to-date examples. The book is a major addition to undergraduate reading lists. It is reliable, allows for easy transference to essays and exams and easy to use, and exceptionally clearly written for student consumption. The book answers the needs of all those who find research methods daunting, and for those who have dreamt of an ideal introduction to the subject.
Classical and contemporary sociological theory: text and readings 2nd edn. (Print Copy) by
Classical and Contemporary Sociological Theory is a "hybrid" between a core textbook and a primary source reader. This book builds on the authors' Sociological Theory in the Classical Era and Sociological Theory in the Contemporary Era, to combine the major writings of sociology's core classical and contemporary theorists with an historical and theoretical framework for understanding them. It provides not just a biographical and theoretical summary of each theorist/reading, but, in addition, an overarching scaffolding which students can use to examine, compare, and contrast each theorists' major themes and concepts. No other theory text combines such "student-friendly" explanation and analysis with original theoretical works.
Introduction to sociological theory by
The extensively revised and updated second edition combines carefully chosen primary quotes with wide-ranging discussion and everyday illustrative examples to provide an in-depth introduction to classical and contemporary sociological theory. Combines classical and contemporary theory in a single, integrated text Short biographies and historical timelines of significant events provide context to theorists' ideas Innovatively builds on excerpts from original theoretical writings with detailed discussion of the concepts and ideas under review Includes new examples of current social processes in China, South Korea, India, Latin America, the Middle East, and other non-Western societies Additional resources, available at www.wiley.com/go/dillon, include multiple choice and essay questions, PowerPoint slides with multimedia links to content illustrative of sociological processes, a list of complementary primary readings, a quotation bank, and other background materials
Introduction to sociology 3rd edn (Print Copy) by
This third edition of this best-selling book confirms the ongoing centrality of feminist perspectives and research to the sociological enterprise, and introduces students to the wide range of feminist contributions in key areas of sociological concern. Completely revised, this edition includes: new chapters on sexuality and the media additional material on race and ethnicity, disability and the body many new international and comparative examples the influence of theories of globalization and post-colonial studies. In addition, the theoretical elements have also been fully rethought in light of recent developments in social theory. Written by three experienced teachers and examiners, this book gives students of sociology and women's studies an accessible overview of the feminist contribution to all the key areas of sociological concern.
Introduction to sociology 3rd edn. (E-Book) by
This third edition of this best-selling book confirms the ongoing centrality of feminist perspectives and research to the sociological enterprise, and introduces students to the wide range of feminist contributions in key areas of sociological concern. Completely revised, this edition includes: new chapters on sexuality and the media additional material on race and ethnicity, disability and the body many new international and comparative examples the influence of theories of globalization and post-colonial studies. In addition, the theoretical elements have also been fully rethought in light of recent developments in social theory. Written by three experienced teachers and examiners, this book gives students of sociology and women's studies an accessible overview of the feminist contribution to all the key areas of sociological concern.
Key Sociological Thinkers. 3rd edn (Print Copy) by
The third edition of this popular and established core textbook provides an invaluable guide to 24 of the most influential thinkers in Sociology. Written by leading academics in the field, Key Sociological Thinkers provides a clear and contextualised introduction to classical and contemporary theory. Each chapter offers an insightful assessment of a different theorist, exploring their lives, works and legacies, and in a much-valued 'Seeing Things Differently' section authors demonstrate how each thinker's ideas can be used to illuminate aspects of social life in new ways. With frameworks for deep learning around group discussion, this continues be an essential text for undergraduate and postgraduate modules on Sociological and Social Theory.
Being sociological by
Sociology can seen daunting to those unfamiliar with the subject. This book approaches the subject by taking 20 active social functions - such as 'believing', 'educating', 'seeing' and 'doing' - and using them as a starting point for exploring key concepts and ideas in the field.
Social theory in the real world (Print Copy) by
Social Theory in the Real World is concerned with illustrating the practical benefits of social theory. Many students find it hard to relate the real insights provided by social theory to their real life experiences, and many lecturers struggle to demonstrate the relevance of social theory to everyday life. This book offers an accessible, non-patronizing solution to the problem, demonstrating that social theory need not be remote and obscure, but if used in imaginative ways, it can be indispensable in challenging our common sense perceptions and understandings. The book identifies the key themes of contemporary social theory: mass society, postindustrialism, consumerism, postmodernism, McDonaldization, risk and globa
Sociology (Print Copy) by
Written by a star cast of contributors, this introductory undergraduate text provides students with a rich, stimulating and authoritative account of key debates and issues in sociology today. Carefully structured and edited to take account of the undergraduate student reader's needs, the essays explore sociological understandings of a range of core topics and critically examines what key issues have emerged for debate from past and current research. An essential guide to its subject, Sociology: Issues and Debates: #65533; Follows a clear and easy structure covering core topics in the discipline #65533; States the aims of each chapter for ease of reference #65533; Lists key words and concepts #65533; Contains chapter-by-chapter annotated reading lists and a comprehensive glossary
Mapping the social landscape 5th edn. (Print Copy) by
Drawing from a wide range of classic and contemporary works, this bestselling text includes 60 readings that present a plurality of voices and views within sociology.
