Understanding the Sociology of Health by Anne-Marie Barry; Chris YuillUnderstanding the Sociology of Health, 3rd Edition is a truly ′readable′ introduction to a subject which is often shrouded in jargon. Providing case studies and exercises to really get you thinking, this book shows how sociology provides the means to answer complex questions about health and illness, such as why health inequalities exist: The 3rd edition includes four new chapters on - history of health & healing - sexuality - sport, fitness & exercise - death & dying Though aimed primarily at students on health and social care courses and professions allied to medicine, this textbook provides valuable insights for anyone interested in the social aspects of health. Visit the companion website at www.sagepub.co.uk/barryandyuill3e to find a range of teaching and learning material for lecturers and students.
Call Number: 306.461
Publication Date: 2012-03-05
Health by Mildred BlaxterThe second edition of Mildred Blaxter′s successful and highly respected book offers a comprehensive and engaging introduction to the key debates surrounding the concept of health today. It discusses how health is defined, constructed, experienced and acted out in contemporary developed societies, drawing on a range of empirical data from the USA, Britain, France, and many other countries. The new edition has been thoroughly revised and updated, with new material added on health and identity, the "new genetics", the sociology of the body, and the formation of health capital throughout the life course. The topic is the concept of health, rather than the more usual emphasis on illness and health-care systems. Special emphasis is given to the lay perspective to show how people themselves think about and experience health. Blaxter guides students through all the relevant conceptual models of the relationship of health to the structure of society, from inequality in health to the ideas of the risk society, the 'socio-biological translation' and the contribution of health to social capital. The book concludes with a comprehensively revised and thought-provoking discussion of the impact of new technology, the boundaries between life and death, modern commodification of health, technological transformations of the body and theories of evolutionary biology. Health is an invaluable textbook for students of medicine and other health professions as well as those studying sociology, health sciences and health promotion.
Call Number: 613
Publication Date: 2010-03-22
The New Blackwell Companion to Medical Sociology by William C. Cockerham (Editor)An authoritative, topical, and comprehensive reference to the key concepts and most important traditional and contemporary issues in medical sociology. Contains 35 chapters by recognized experts in the field, both established and rising young scholars Covers standard topics in the field as well as new and engaging issues such as bioterrorism, bioethics, and infectious disease Chapters are thematically arranged to cover the major issues of the sub-discipline Global range of contributors and an international perspective
Call Number: 306.461
Publication Date: 2016-09-26
Key Concepts in Medical Sociology by Lee Monaghan; Jonathan Gabe"Fills an important gap in medical sociology. In an era of information overload, busy scholars and students will appreciate these accessible introductions to the field′s key concepts."- Alan Petersen, Monash University"A handbook for any student to have by their side as they embark on any course exploring the sociology of health, medicine and disease."- Jessica Clark, University Campus Suffolk"A really useful collection of concise, accessible and informative mini essays on a range of medical concepts and conceptualisations. The book is ideal for students, including those following health professional courses, and for more seasoned academics and scholars. A very handy volume."- Jacquelyn Allen-Collinson, Lincoln UniversityHow do we understand health in relation to society? What role does culture play in shaping our experiences of, and orientation to, health and illness? How do we understand medicine and medical treatment within a sociological framework?Medical sociology is a dynamic and complex field of study, comprising many concepts which students sometimes find difficult to grasp. This title manages to successfully elucidate this conceptual terrain. The text systematically explains the key concepts that have preoccupied medical sociologists from its inception and which have shaped the field as it exists today.Thoroughly revised and updated, this second edition: Provides a systematic and accessible introduction to medical sociology Includes new relevant entries as well as classic concepts Begins each entry with a definition of the concept, then examines its origins, development, strengths and weaknesses Offers further reading guidance for independent learning Draws on international literature and examples. This title has proved hugely popular among students in medical sociology as well as those undertaking professional training in health-related disciplines. It is essential reading for anyone wanting to find an easily accessible, yet critical and thoughtful, information source about the building blocks of medical sociology and the sociology of health and illness.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2013-04-05
The Sociology of Health and Illness by Sarah NettletonSarah Nettleton's The Sociology of Health and Illness has become a cornerstone text, popular with students and academics alike for its rigorous and accessible overview of the field. Building on these strengths, the third edition integrates fresh insights from the current literature with the core tenets of traditional medical sociology, providing students with a thorough grounding in the sociology of health and illness. The text covers a diversity of topics and draws on a wide range of analytic approaches, spanning issues such as the social construction of medical knowledge, the analysis of lay health beliefs, concepts of lifestyles and risk, the experience of illness and the sociology of the body. It also explores matters which are central to health policy, such as professional-patient relationships, health inequalities and the changing nature of health care work. Each chapter in the book has been revised and updated, with substantial new material in particular on the sociology of diagnosis, body work, and a whole new chapter on the sociology of health technology. Written for students of the social sciences who opt to study the field of health and illness in greater depth, this book will also continue to appeal to students taking vocational degrees, such as nursing, who require a sociological grounding in the area. Thoroughly revised and fully updated, the third edition of Sarah Nettleton's book will prove invaluable to anyone looking for a clear and engaging introduction to contemporary debates within the sociology of health and illness.
Call Number: 306.461
Publication Date: 2013-05-13
Sociology as Applied to Medicine by Graham ScamblerThis introduction to medical sociology is for medical students and health professionals in the United Kingdom and Europe. A concise and jargon-free introduction to medical sociology - accessible and readable for medical students with little time to devote to this subject. Practical emphasis on essential social issues: the doctor-patient relationship, social class, ethnic minority groups and organization of health services. Attractive two-colour page design with boxed summaries. New section on theory and methods of social research, pointing out the important differences between social research and the more biologically orientated research familiar to medical readers. Extensive revision of those chapters covering health policy, eg NHS chapter, health promotion, community care, organisation of health care.
Call Number: 306.461
Publication Date: 2008-09-18
New Medical Sociology by Bryan TurnerThe author, Bryan Turner, examines how macro processes like globalization, risk, economic deregulation, and technological change shape personal experiences of health and illness. Addressing key topics in contemporary sociology such as the body, power, and knowledge, Turner sets out to rethink medical sociology as an exciting perspective on the principal transformations of modern society.In this broad historical and sociological work, Turner asks and answers how economic changes of recent decades have undermined both social cohesion and the conditions that promote good health. He explores the macro-level importance of social capital (people's involvement or investments in society), inequality, and citizenship rights in his explanation of health and illness in modern societies, and examines at the micro level embodiment (our relationship to our own bodies) in narratives of illness.The New Medical Sociology is part of the Contemporary Societies series.
Call Number: 306.461
Publication Date: 2004-09-09
An Introduction to the Sociology of Health and Illness (E-Book) by Kevin WhiteThe bestselling An Introduction to the Sociology of Health and Illness has long been the go-to text for students looking for a clear, engaging and theoretically informed introduction to this dynamic topic.Written with a truly sociological and critical perspective, and thoroughly updated to include the latest cutting-edge thinking in the area, the new edition is packed with new empirical examples.Incorporating helpful learning features including chapter overviews, boxed cases, summaries and further reading, this book is a stimulating and thought-provoking essential text for students in health, nursing and sociology schools.