Classical sociological theory (Print Copy) by
This comprehensive collection of classical sociological theory is a definitive guide to the roots of sociology. The Reader traces the evolution of social science from its undisciplined beginnings to current guideposts and reference points in contemporary sociological debate.
Contemporary sociological theory 3rd edn. (Print Copy) by
This comprehensive collection of contemporary sociological theory is the definitive guide to current perspectives and approaches in the field, examining key topics and debates in the field. Collects the most representative material available on topics such as symbolic interactionism, phenomenology, structuralism, network theory, critical theory, feminist theory, and the debates over modernity and postmodernity Includes examinations of the work of Foucault, Giddens, and Bourdieu A new section for this edition opens up the debate on power and inequality Thematically organized
Introduction to sociological theory : theorists, concepts, and their applicability to the twenty-first century (Print Copy) by 
Dead white men and other important people sociology's big ideas by
Students struggling with social theory? Mila is a new student who is grappling with social theory for the first time and trying to understand what makes sociology so important. Written as a novel, this textbook follows a first year student as she tries to decide what makes sociology so important. Testing out sociological themes, debates and theories through conversations with new university friends and family back at home, she begins to understand how sociology can be applied to everyday experiences. This text includes: How to use this book How to read sociology Seminar Questions Companion Website (www.palgrave.com/sociology/fevre) Recommended further reading Written with US students firmly in mind, this is a clear, absorbing introduction to major debates and thinkers that will engage and enthuse. This is the perfect introduction to sociological thinking for students of all abilities.
Social theory for beginners by
Treating social theory as an exciting intellectual journey in its own right, this new introductory-level textbook presents the key ideas and concepts in social theory together with an account of the intellectual background from which they emerged. Aimed at first-year undergraduates studying sociology and all related disciplines in the social sciences and humanities, it provides an introduction to the major questions and debates facing social theorists and sociologists. Clearly designed presentation and layout features help readers navigate their way around the material thus giving them the best chance of finding what they need quickly and easily.
Contested knowledge : social theory today 5th edn. (Print Copy) by
In the fifth edition Contested Knowledge, social theorist Steven Seidman presents the latest topics in social theory and addresses the current shift of 'universalist theorists' to networks of clustered debates. Responds to current issues, debates, and new social movements Reviews sociological theory from a contemporary perspective Reveals how the universal theorist and the era of rival schools has been replaced by networks of clustered debates that are relatively 'autonomous' and interdisciplinary Features updates and in-depth discussions of the newest clustered debates in social theory-intimacy, postcolonial nationalism, and the concept of 'the other' Challenges social scientists to renew their commitment to the important moral and political role social knowledge plays in public life Accompanied by a companion website for students at www.wiley.com/go/seidman featuring chapter outlines and useful web links; an instructor site can also be accessed which features password-protected PowerPoint teaching slides
Key sociological thinkers 2nd edn. (Print Copy) by
The second edition of this popular and established text provides a comprehensive guide to 23 of the most influential thinkers in sociology. Written by leading academics in the field, Key Sociological Thinkers 2e provides a clear and contextualized introduction to classical and contemporary theory. Each chapter offers an insightful assessment of a different theorist, exploring their lives, works and legacies. Drawing upon examples from the everyday world, an innovative 'Seeing Things Differently' section in every chapter demonstrates how theoretical ideas can be used to illuminate aspects of social life in new ways. Included in this new edition: * Four new chapters, looking at Theodor Adorno, Michael Mann, Dorothy Smith and Zygmunt Bauman * Chapter updates on recent developments * An important new introduction * Three types of contents page to provide easy navigation of the text * Useful glossary boxes throughout, with their own dedicated contents page, to highlight and explain complex theoretical ideas. Key Sociological Thinkers 2e provides a stimulating overview of the best of sociological thought, from Karl Marx, Emile Durkheim and Georg Simmel to Nancy Chodorow, Michel Foucault and Anthony Giddens. It continues to be an essential text for all students of sociological theory.
Contested Knowledge by
In the sixth edition of Contested Knowledge, social theorist Steven Seidman presents the latest topics in social theory and addresses the current shift of 'universalist theorists' to networks of clustered debates. Responds to current issues, debates, and new social movements Reviews sociological theory from a contemporary perspective Reveals how the universal theorist and the era of rival schools has been replaced by networks of clustered debates that are relatively 'autonomous' and interdisciplinary Features updates and in-depth discussions of the newest clustered debates in social theory--intimacy, postcolonial nationalism, and the concept of 'the other' Challenges social scientists to renew their commitment to the important moral and political role social knowledge plays in public life
