The Future of Professions (Ebook) by SusskindThis book predicts the decline of today's professions and describes the people and systems that will replace them. In an Internet society, according to Richard Susskind and Daniel Susskind, we will neither need nor want doctors, teachers, accountants, architects, the clergy, consultants, lawyers, and many others, to work as they did in the 20th century. The Future of the Professions explains how 'increasingly capable systems' - from telepresence to artificial intelligence - will bring fundamental change in the way that the 'practical expertise' of specialists is made available in society. The authors challenge the 'grand bargain' - the arrangement that grants various monopolies to today's professionals. They argue that our current professions are antiquated, opaque and no longer affordable, and that the expertise of the best is enjoyed only by a few. In their place, they propose six new models for producing and distributing expertise in society. The book raises important practical and moral questions. In an era when machines can out-perform human beings at most tasks, what are the prospects for employment, who should own and control online expertise, and what tasks should be reserved exclusively for people? Based on the authors' in-depth research of more than ten professions, and illustrated by numerous examples from each, this is the first book to assess and question the relevance of the professions in the 21st century.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 22/10/1015
How to Tell When You're Tired by Reg TheriaultA longshoreman on the San Francisco waterfront for over thirty years, Reg Theriault distills that experience into a wry, knowing, tough-minded book that finally gives voice to the thoughts and conditions of laboring men and women. It is an engaging and moving defense of the working class's right to its portion of credit and dignity for building, job by dirty, demanding job, the civilization we inhabit. Here is a book George Orwell would understand--and applaud.
Call Number: 306.36
Publication Date: 1997-01-17
Myths at Work by Harriet Bradley; Mark Erickson; Carolyn M. Stephenson; Steve WilliamsDuring the last two decades there have been profound changes in the organization of work. Myths at Work explores these changes, critically examining and challenging some of the central frameworks that have been used to explain them. Global economic restructuring has brought about changes in the jobs we do, our labour market opportunities, and the shape of our individual career paths. These changes have been explained through a number of potent ′myths′ (in the sense of widely-held bodies of ideas) including globalization, post-fordist production methods, and a new consumer-based form of capitalism. The authors examine these myths, explain how they have come about, and question their accuracy. While doing so they provide a more accurate picture of employment and the modern workplace. They also look at the ′myths′ of the feminisation of the labour force, the skills revolution, lean production, non-standard employment, the death of class, the end of trade unionism, and the ′economic worker′. The result is an illuminating and accessible teaching and research text that will appeal to students and academics in the sociology of work, organizational behaviour, business studies, and related areas.
Call Number: 306.36
Publication Date: 2001-01-02
The Oxford Handbook of Work and Organization by Stephen Ackroyd (Editor); Rosemary Batt (Editor); Paul Thompson (Editor); Pamela S. Tolbert (Editor)The last twenty-five years of the twentieth century was a period of extraordinary change in organizations and the economies of the developed world. This continues today. Such has been the scale and momentum of events that, for some analysts, the only comparable periods are the early part ofthe twentieth century in which the shift to mass production and large-scale organization was accomplished, or the industrial revolution itself a hundred years earlier. Researchers in Europe and the USA in particular have been studying change in work and organizations, but there has been little attempt to systematize and draw together the results of their work. So far, the emphasis amongst writers on organizations considering the problem of contemporary change hasbeen on ways of conceptualizing events, rather than also considering evidence. But what has actually happened? How much of the flux of events is real change, and how much mere change in emphasis in which apparent change is overlaying organizational continuity? How far are changes in particularevents and sectors connected, and is an overall understanding of complex processes possible? The Oxford Handbook of Work and Organization aims to bring together, present and discuss what is currently known about work and organizations and their connection to broader economic change in Europe and America. Issues of conceptualization are not neglected but, in contrast to other comparablevolumes, the emphasis is firmly on what is known what and has been observed by researchers. The volume contains a range of theoretically informed essays, written by leading authorities in their respective fields, giving comprehensive coverage of changes in work, occupations, and organizations. Itconstitutes an invaluable overview of the accumulated understanding of research into work, occupations and organizations in recent decades. It shows that in almost every aspect of economic institutions, change has been considerable. The subject area of work, occupations and organizations is considered in four major sections of the volume: I, Work, Technology, and the Division of Labour; II, Managerial Regimes and Employee Responses; III, Occupations and Organizations; and IV, Organizations and Organized Systems. In this way thecontemporary situation in work and organizations is considered extensively in its different dimensions and interconnections. The contributors have been selected for their expertise and include many leading authors in organizational analysis and substantive research. The handbook is thus anauthoritative statement, and offers a valuable account of organizations at this time.
Call Number: 331
Publication Date: 2006-07-27
The SAGE Handbook of the Sociology of Work and Employment (Ebook) by S. Edgell (Editor); E. Granter (Editor)The SAGE Handbook of the Sociology of Work and Employment is a landmark collection of original contributions by leading specialists from around the world.The coverage is both comprehensive and comparative (in terms of time and space) and each 'state of the art' chapter provides a critical review of the literature combined with some thoughts on the direction of research. This authoritative text is structured around six core themes: Historical Context and Social Divisions The Experience of Work The Organization of Work Nonstandard Work and Employment Work and Life beyond Employment Globalization and the Future of Work. Globally, the contours of work and employment are changing dramatically. This handbook helps academics and practitioners make sense of the impact of these changes on individuals, groups, organizations and societies. Written in an accessible style with a helpful introduction, the retrospective and prospective nature of this volume will be an essential resource for students, teachers and policy-makers across a range of fields, from business and management, to sociology and organization studies.
Call Number: 306.36
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Sociology, Work and Organization (Print Copy) by Tony WatsonSociology, Work and Organisationbuilds on the five popular and successful editions of Sociology, Work and Industry. The new text is outstanding in how effectively it explains the value of using the sociological imagination to understand the nature of institutions of work, organisations, occupations, management and employment and how they are changing in the 21st century. The book combines intellectual depth with accessible language and a user-friendly layout. It is unrivalled in the breadth of its coverage and its authoritative overview of both traditional and emergent themes in the sociological study of work and organisation. It explains the basic logic of the sociological analysis of work and the way work is organised, whilst also providing an appreciation of the different theoretical traditions which the subject draws upon. It fully considers: the direction and implication of trends in technological change, globalisation, labour markets, work organisation, managerial practices and employment relations the extent to which these trends are intimately related to changing patterns of inequality in modern societies and to the changing experiences of individuals and families the ways in which workers challenge, resist and make their own contributions to the patterning of work and shaping of work institutions. Key features include: a new sign-posting system which integrates material and brings out themes which run through the various chapters; 'key issue' guides and summaries with each chapter; and the identifying of key concepts throughout the book, which are then brought together in an unrivalled glossary and concept guide at the end.
Call Number: 306.36
Publication Date: 2011-11-02
The Sociology of Work (Print Copy) by Keith Grint; Darren NixonThis leading, authoritative textbook has been carefully and substantially revised to provide the indispensable foundational resource for the sociology of work. The fourth edition has been transformed to combine unrivalled explanations of classic theories with the most cutting-edge research, data and debates. Keith Grint and Darren Nixon examine different sociological approaches to work, emphasizing the links between social processes, institutions of employment and their social and domestic contexts. The fourth edition includes: a new chapter on work and identity, exploring issues such as the rise of consumption and the cultural economy, work-life balance, the social meaning of work and unemployment; a fully rewritten chapter that comprehensively reviews trends in the contemporary service economy, particularly the rise of emotional and aesthetic forms of labour and the polarization of employment in the knowledge or informational economy; a new concluding chapter that examines the structure of the global economy, taking in debates around globalization, precarious labour and public sector reforms and unemployment in the wake of the financial crisis and austerity; updated bibliographic references and data throughout, with particularly significant revisions to the sections on gender and work, ethnicity and work, and work technologies. The book has been designed to support readers' understanding of, and to develop their critical approach to, the field of 'work', with a range of empirical evidence and examples helping to reveal the complex picture of work-society relations. Written in a lively and accessible style, the book also provides suggestions for further reading and seminar discussion questions. This fourth edition will continue to be essential reading for students of the sociology of work, industrial sociology, organizational behaviour and industrial relations. Students studying business and management courses with a sociological component will also find the book invaluable.
Call Number: 306.36
Publication Date: 2015-05-04
The Sociology of Work: : Continuity And Change In Paid And Unpaid Work (Print Copy) by Stephen Edgell; Edward Granter'Definitive, critical and engaging, this is a superb introduction to the sociology of work.' Leo McCann, Professor of Management, University of YorkNow in a fully updated third edition, The Sociology of Work draws on the work of classic and contemporary theorists, to provide readers with a thorough exploration of all aspects of work and employment, including paid and unpaid work, standard and non-standard employment, and unemployment.The new edition includes: Two new chapters on "Work, Skill and the Labour Process" and "Managing Culture at Work". Expanded coverage of the rise and decline of trade unions; emotional labour, misbehaviour, and resistance at work. Further discussion of the gig economy and precarious work; automation and the end of work; globalization and human rights. For Sociology and Business students, taking modules in work, employment and society.
Call Number: 306.36
Publication Date: 2019-12-05
Work (Ebook) by Andrea Komlosy; Loren Balhorn (Translator); Jacob Watson (Translator)By the end of the nineteenth century, the general Western conception of work had been reduced to simply gainful employment. But this limited perspective contrasted sharply with the personal experience of most people in the world whether in colonies, developing countries or in the industrializing world. Moreover, from a feminist perspective, reducing work and the production of value to remunerated employment has never been convincing. Andrea Komlosy argues in this important intervention that, when we examine it closely, work changes its meanings according to different historical and regional contexts. Globalizing labour history from the thirteenth to the twenty-first centuries, she sheds light on the complex coexistence of multiple forms of labour (paid/unpaid, free/ unfree, with various forms of legal regulation and social protection and so on) on the local and the world levels. Combining this global approach with a gender perspective opens our eyes to the varieties of work and labour and their combination in households and commodity chains across the planet processes that enable capital accumulation not only by extracting surplus value from wage-labour, but also through other forms of value transfer, realized by tapping into households ' subsistence production, informal occupation and makeshift employment. As the debate about work and its supposed disappearance intensifies, Komlosy 's book provides a crucial shift in the angle of vision.
Call Number: ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2018-03-27
Work (Print Copy) by Andrea Komlosy; Loren Balhorn (Translator); Jacob Watson (Translator)By the end of the nineteenth century, the general Western conception of work had been reduced to simply gainful employment. But this limited perspective contrasted sharply with the personal experience of most people in the world whether in colonies, developing countries or in the industrializing world. Moreover, from a feminist perspective, reducing work and the production of value to remunerated employment has never been convincing. Andrea Komlosy argues in this important intervention that, when we examine it closely, work changes its meanings according to different historical and regional contexts. Globalizing labour history from the thirteenth to the twenty-first centuries, she sheds light on the complex coexistence of multiple forms of labour (paid/unpaid, free/ unfree, with various forms of legal regulation and social protection and so on) on the local and the world levels. Combining this global approach with a gender perspective opens our eyes to the varieties of work and labour and their combination in households and commodity chains across the planet processes that enable capital accumulation not only by extracting surplus value from wage-labour, but also through other forms of value transfer, realized by tapping into households ' subsistence production, informal occupation and makeshift employment. As the debate about work and its supposed disappearance intensifies, Komlosy 's book provides a crucial shift in the angle of vision.
Call Number: 306.3609
Publication Date: 2018-03-27
Work and Society by Tim Strangleman; Tracey WarrenWork and Society is an important new text about the sociology of work and employment. It provides both undergraduate and postgraduate students of sociology, business and politics, with a firm and enjoyable foundation to this fascinating area of sociology, giving comprehensive coverage of traditional areas of the sub-discipline as well as new trends and developments. The book is divided into three complementary and interconnected sections ¿ investigating work, work and social change and understanding work. These sections allow readers to explore themes, issues and approaches by examining how sociologists have thought about, and researched work and how the sub-discipline has been influenced by wider society itself. Novel features include separate chapters on researching work, domestic work, unemployment and work, and the representation of work in literary and visual media.
Call Number: 331
Publication Date: 2008-05-28
Working by Studs TerkelA Pulitzer Prize winner interviews workers, from policemen to piano tuners: "Magnificent . . . To read it is to hear America talking." --The Boston Globe A National Book Award Finalist and New York Times bestseller Studs Terkel's classic oral history Working is a compelling look at jobs and the people who do them. Consisting of over one hundred interviews with everyone from a gravedigger to a studio head, this book provides a "brilliant" and enduring portrait of people's feelings about their working lives. This edition includes a new foreword by New York Times journalist Adam Cohen (Forbes). "Splendid . . . Important . . . Rich and fascinating . . . The people we meet are not digits in a poll but real people with real names who share their anecdotes, adventures, and aspirations with us." --Business Week "The talk in Working is good talk--earthy, passionate, honest, sometimes tender, sometimes crisp, juicy as reality, seasoned with experience." --The Washington Post
Call Number: 331.20973
Publication Date: 1997-02-28
Work in the Digital Age (Print Copy) by Florian Ranft (Editor); Jacqueline O'Reilly (Editor); Max Neufeind (Editor)Shining a light on the very different experiences of work in the digital age, this book provides a unique contribution to the reform discussion on the consequences of the fourth industrial revolution. Drawing on a wide range of international expertise, contributors examine important policy challenges arising from the transformation of work as a result of the introduction of digital technology at work. Authors in this volume discuss the effects of automation, platform business models, stagnating productivity, increasing regional disparities, and rising levels of inequality within and between countries. They consider how to unlock the vast economic and social potential of new technologies and the implications for policy reform to meet these challenges. Mastering them requires developing a new inclusive narrative and progressive reform agenda. Such an agenda would be economic and political, and not determined universally by technology. The narrative is not only about what policymakers need to do, which is rather a lot. It is also about reforming established organisations and institutions, understanding new emerging players and supporting disaffected citizens in how the effects of these changes are going to affect their lives. The authors clearly pinpoint what needs to be done to support the transition to work in the digital era.