Doing Your Research Project by Judith BellAn invaluable tool for anyonecarrying out a research project We all learn to do research by actually doing it,but a great deal of time and effort can be wastedand goodwill dissipated by inadequate preparation.This book provides beginner researcherswith the tools to do the job, to help them avoidsome of the pitfalls and time-wasting false trails,and to establish good research habits. It takesresearchers from the stage of choosing a topicthrough to the production of a well-planned,methodologically sound, and well-written finalreport or thesis on time. It is written in plainEnglish and makes no assumptions about previousknowledge. This new edition ofDoing Your ResearchProjectincludes: Coverage of latest techniques such asgrounded theory A new chapter on ethics Increased examples from health studies New referencing, library searching, andliterature review chapters Completely updated references throughout This book serves as a guide to good practice forbeginner researchers in any discipline embarkingon undergraduate or postgraduate study, andfor professionals in such fields as social science,education, and health.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
Understanding and Doing Successful Research by Shaun BestResearch Methodsis an essential guide to carrying out a research project. Each of the focused chapters introduces and explains an aspect of social research to readers who may have no experience or knowledge of this subject. The emphasis is on 'how to do' various different methods, how to decide which is the most appropriate, and how to analyse the data. The book also includes examples of good practice from a range of social science disciplines.
Call Number: 300.72
Publication Date: 2012-06-21
Social Research Methods by Alan BrymanStudying a social science degree? Need to know how to develop your research methods and write up your results more effectively? In the fourth edition of this lively and engaging textbook, Alan Bryman presents students with an updated and all-encompassing guide to the principle techniques and methodology in the field of Social Research.Adopting a coherent and student-friendly format, the book offers an encyclopaedic introduction to social research methodology, and considers a broad range of qualitative and quantitative methods to help students identify and evaluate the best approach for their research needs. Building on the success of the previous editions, this book is concerned with the ways that social researchers approach their craft. Bryman guides the reader through all aspects of the research process including formulating objectives, choosing research methods, securing research participants, as well as advice on how to effectively collect, analyse and interpret data and disseminate those findings to others. This fourth edition features a new 'supervisor experience' feature, which offers helpful tips from the supervisor's perspective on successful research, as well as a new chapter which tackles the sampling issues faced by qualitative researchers in a more consolidated fashion than in previous editions. Substantial updates have also been made to the existing material, particularly the internet research section, which has been fully revised to accommodate the extensive developments in this area.
Call Number: 300.72
Publication Date: 2012-03-21
Developing Quality Dissertations in the Social Sciences by Barbara E. Lovitts; Ellen L. WertThis is one of three short booklets designed to be given to graduate students as they begin their studies. They explain the purposes of the dissertation and the criteria by which it will be assessed. They help students understand the context of their course work; the need to take an active role in shaping their studies; and the importance of thinking ahead about the components of the dissertation and the quality of scholarship they will need to demonstrate. These booklets are intended to support the dissertation research and writing process by providing faculty and advisors with guidelines for setting clear expectations for student performance, and with a model for helping students produce the desired quality of work. They encourage dialogue between faculty and students about the quality of the components of their dissertation project. They include rubrics that students can use to self-assess their work and that can aid faculty in providing focused feedback. Setting explicit targets and benchmarks of excellence of the sort advocated in these booklets will enable departments and universities to respond to demands for accountability with clear criteria for, and evidence of, success; and will raise the overall quality of student performance.
Call Number: 300.72
Publication Date: 2008-12-31
How to Do Your Research Project by Gary ThomasHow to Do Your Research Project continues to lead the way as an essential guide for anyone undertaking a research project in the applied social sciences. The new Third Edition of this best-selling title now includes further advice on concluding, writing, and presenting research, using social media and digital methods, and understanding how to effectively work with supervisors. Setting out a clear and detailed road map, author Gary Thomas guides the reader through the different stages of a research project, explaining key steps, and processes at each level in refreshingly jargon-free terms. Readers will learn: How to choose your research question Project management and study skills Effective literature reviews Methodology, theory, and research design frames Ethics and access Data collection tools Effective data analysis Discussing findings, concluding, and writing up Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: 808.023
Publication Date: 2017-08-09
Ground Rules for Social Research by Martyn DenscombeGround Rules for Social Research is a user-friendly resource for people doing small-scale social research projects. It focuses on the key ideas and practices that underlie good research and provides clear guidelines to newcomers and experienced researchers alike. The book is written for undergraduate, postgraduate and professional students in the social sciences, business studies, health studies, media studies and education who need to undertake research projects as part of their studies. Key features of the book include: The identification of 12 ground rules for good social research Checklists to help researchers evaluate their approach and avoid fundamental errors A clear and jargon-free style This new edition of the book builds on the features that made the first edition so successful, adding: New chapters on research design and research philosophy An increased focus on mixed methods research More examples and illustrations Updated material relating to the internet and online research
Publication Date: Maidenhead: Open University Press, 2014
Doing a Literature Search by Christopher HartDoing a Literature Search provides a practical and comprehensive guide to searching the literature on any topic within the social sciences. The book will enable the reader to search the literature effectively, identifying useful books, articles, statistics and many other sources of information.
Call Number: 300.72
Publication Date: 2001-06-25
Doing Your Literature Review by Jill Jesson; Lydia Matheson; Fiona M. LaceyElectronic Inspection Copy available for instructors hereThe literature review is a compulsory part of research and, increasingly, may form the whole of a student research project. This highly accessible book guides students through the production of either a traditional or a systematic literature review, clearly explaining the difference between the two types of review, the advantages and disadvantages of both, and the skills needed. It gives practical advice on reading and organising relevant literature and critically assessing the reviewed field. Contents include: using libraries and the internet note making presentation critical analysis referencing, plagiarism and copyright. This book will be relevant to students from any discipline. It includes contributions from two lecturers who have many years experience of teaching research methods and the supervision of postgraduate research dissertations and a librarian, each offering expert advice on either the creation and assessment of literature reviews or the process of searching for information. The book also highlights the increasing importance for many disciplines of the systematic review methodology and discusses some of the specific challenges which it brings. Jill K. Jesson has worked with multi-disciplinary research teams within the Aston School of Pharmacy, Aston Business School and with M-E-L Research, an independent public services research consultancy. She has now left Aston University and is working as a Consultant. Lydia Matheson is an Information Specialist working for Library & Information Services at Aston University. Fiona M. Lacey is an academic pharmacist, a member of the pharmacy practice teaching group in the School of Pharmacy, and Associate Dean in the School of Life and Health Sciences at Aston.
Call Number: 808.02
Publication Date: 2011-03-14
Qualitative Data Analysis by Matthew B. Miles; A. Michael Huberman; Johnny SaldañaThe Third Edition of Miles & Huberman's classic research methods text is updated and streamlined by Johnny Saldaña, author of The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers. Several of the data display strategies from previous editions are now presented in re-envisioned and reorganized formats to enhance reader accessibility and comprehension. The Third Edition's presentation of the fundamentals of research design and data management is followed by five distinct methods of analysis: exploring, describing, ordering, explaining, and predicting. Miles and Huberman's original research studies are profiled and accompanied with new examples from Saldaña's recent qualitative work. The book's most celebrated chapter, "Drawing and Verifying Conclusions," is retained and revised, and the chapter on report writing has been greatly expanded, and is now called "Writing About Qualitative Research." Comprehensive and authoritative, Qualitative Data Analysis has been elegantly revised for a new generation of qualitative researchers. Click here for a listing of Johnny Saldaña's upcoming workshops. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: 001.42
Publication Date: 2013-04-18
Qualitative Research Practice by Jane Ritchie; Jane Lewis (Editor); Rachel Ormston (Editor); Carol McNaughton NichollsWhy use qualitative methods? What kinds of questions can qualitative methods help you answer? How do you actually do rigorous and reflective qualitative research in the real world? Written by a team of leading researchers associated with NatCen Social Research (the National Centre for Social Research) this textbook leads students and researchers through the entire process of qualitative research from beginning to end - moving through design, sampling, data collection, analysis and reporting. In this fully revised second edition you will find: a practical account of how to carry out qualitative research which recognises a range of current approaches and applications; a brand new chapter on ethics; a brand new chapter on observational research; updated advice on using software when analysing your qualitative data; and new case studies which illustrate issues you may encounter and how problems have been tackled by other researchers. This book is an ideal guide for students, practitioners and researchers faced with the challenges of doing qualitative research in both applied and academic settings in messy real-life contexts.
Call Number: 300.72
Publication Date: 2013-12-20
How to Do Your Research Project : a guide for students in education and applied social sciences by Gary ThomasDirect, informative and accessible the new edition of Gary Thomas′s bestselling title is essential reading for anyone doing a research project. Packed full of relevant advice and real world examples the book guides you through the complete research process. Using refreshingly jargon-free language and anecdotal evidence it is a witty, easy to follow introduction that will answer your questions, set out best practice and walk you through every stage of your project step-by-step. It covers: - How to choose your research question - Project management and study skills - Doing an effective literature review - Methodology, theory and research design - Design frames - Ethics and access - Tools for data collection - Effective data analysis - Discussing findings, concluding and writing up The expanded, insightfully redesigned second edition has a fully integrated companion website including student worksheets, annotated examples and links to SAGE Journals.Gary Thomas also has an exciting new video in which he explains what's new to this Second Edition. This popular book is ideal for anyone undertaking a research project in the applied social sciences. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for classPerusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: 808.023
Publication Date: 2013-07-18
Real World Research by Colin RobsonReal world research is a common responsibility of professionals and practitioners in a wide range of both public and private settings. These include teachers, social workers and health service professionals, managers and specialists in business, architects, designers, criminologists and accountants among many others. Real World Research provides a clear route-map of the various steps needed to carry out a piece of applied research to a high professional standard. It is accessible to those without a social science background while providing rigorous and fully up-to-date coverage of contemporary issues and debates. It brings together materials and approaches from different social science disciplines, seeing value in both quantitative and qualitative approaches, as well as their combination in mixed-method designs. Updated throughout, the third edition includes: A brand new chapter on multi-strategy designs Increased coverage of ethical issues A chapter on writing a project proposal Discussion of internet-based research - both as a research tool and as a subject for research Coverage of evidence-based approaches - seeking to present a balanced assessment of their value Colin Robson's bestselling textbook is essential reading for many higher education courses, at both undergraduate, taught postgraduate and doctoral level, as well as practitioners and others carrying out a research project as part of their job. A very extensive website, which is closely keyed in to the text, provides additional resources including copious examples of research and further discussion of research issues, links to other useful resources and selected journal articles, annotated lists of further reading and an extensive set of PowerPoint slides.
Call Number: 300.72
Publication Date: 2011-04-11
Doing Qualitative Research in Psychology by Michael A. Forrester (Editor)This unique text provides a complete introduction to qualitative methods in psychology and will be ideal reading for anyone doing a course in qualitative psychology or planning a practical project using qualitative approaches. Forrester's book has been developed in tandem with its own dataset, collected specifically for the book which will be a unique resource for any students using the text. Using interview recordings (video and audio, available to readers on-line) alongside worked examples of different ways to analyze the same dataset, the handbook and the interview data together provide an invaluable resource for anybody interested in either learning or teaching qualitative methods in psychology.Following an elucidating introduction, Doing Qualitative Research in Psychology: A Practical Guide offers clear and useful descriptions and explanations of how and why research questions are formulated and the importance of selecting appropriate methods for investigations, with a focus on semi-structured interviewing (as used in the on-line data). The book describes four specific qualitative methods, explaining in a very clear 'how to proceed' style, how each of these methods can form the basis of a qualitative methods laboratory class, practical, or field study. It also describes precisely how research reports using qualitative methods are written, in line with the appropriate conventions of report writing in psychology. All in all, this is simply the most useful undergraduate qualitative research methods book one could wish for.
Call Number: 300.72
Publication Date: 2010-03-25
A Very Short, Fairly Interesting and Reasonably Cheap Book about Qualitative Research by David SilvermanThis is the book which everybody doing a research project has been waiting for. Writing in an informal and accessible style, David Silverman offers the reader an entry into the broader issues of qualitative research that many textbooks gloss over - the underlying arguments of qualitative research and the key debates about its future direction. Silverman shows how good research can be methodologically inventive, empirically rigorous, theoretically-alive and practically relevant. Using fascinating materials, ranging from photographs to novels and newspaper stories, this book demonstrates that getting to grips with these issues means asking ourselves fundamental questions about how we are influenced by contemporary culture. David Silverman provides an antidote to the boring textbook, which is relevant to any degree course on research methods. Brilliantly written and always challenging and entertaining, this book will challenge your perceptions and help you think `out of the box′ about the nature and process of doing qualitative research.
Call Number: 300.72
Publication Date: 2007-08-25
Qualitative Researching by Jennifer MasonThe Second Edition of this best-selling text offers students and first-time researchers invaluable guidance on the practice of qualitative social research. Throughout the author addresses the key issues which need to be identified and resolved in the qualitative research process, and through which researchers develop essential skills in qualitative research. The book highlights the "difficult questions" that researchers should get into the habit of asking themselves in the course of doing qualitative research, and outlines the implications of the different ways of responding to these questions. The new edition of Qualitative Researching has been fully revised and updated with expanded coverage of observation, documents, visual data, CAQDAS, and writing qualitative research. The text bridges the gap between "cookbook" approaches to qualitative research and abstract methodogical approaches. Helping the reader to move comfortably between principle and practice, this text has proved to be an invaluable introduction to qualitative research, and a useful aid to accomplished qualitative research practice across the social sciences. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for classPerusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: 300.72
Publication Date: 2002-08-29
Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis by Jonathan A. Smith; Paul Flowers; Michael Larkin"'It is not often I can use "accessible" and "phenomenology" in the same sentence, but reading the new book, Interpretative Phenomenological Analysisâe¦certainly provides me the occasion to do so. I can say this because these authors provide an engaging and clear introduction to a relatively new analytical approach"--The Weekly Qualitative ReportThis book presents a comprehensive guide to interpretative phenomenological analysis (IPA) which is an increasingly popular approach to qualitative inquiry taught to undergraduate and postgraduate students today. The first chapter outlines the theoretical foundations for IPA. It discusses phenomenology, hermeneutics, and idiography and how they have been taken up by IPA. The next four chapters provide detailed, step by step guidelines to conducting IPA research: study design, data collection and interviewing, data analysis, and writing up. In the next section, the authors give extended worked examples from their own studies in health, sexuality, psychological distress, and identity to illustrate the breadth and depth of IPA research. Each of these chapters also offers a guide to other good exemplars of IPA research in the designated area. The final section of the book considers how IPA connects with other contemporary qualitative approaches like discourse and narrative analysis and how it addresses issues to do with validity. The book is written in an accessible style and will be extremely useful to students and researchers in psychology and related disciplines in the health and social sciences.
Call Number: 150.192
Publication Date: 2009-06-03
Social Research Methods by Nicholas WallimanNicholas Walliman is the supervisor in your students′ pockets, making sure they understand all the essential methods for successfully carrying out a research project and negotiating the challenges and pitfalls. In this book, he: · Takes students step-by-step through the research process · Helps them formulate clear aims and objectives · Explains all the vocabulary to understand the A - Z of research methods · Ends each chapter with a reading guide for taking learning further with more resources to help get a deeper understanding of the issues discussed · Improves research reports with practical advice on presenting findings in great tables, graphs and diagrams · Opens his office door with reflective questions (and answers) · Delivers the confidence to get started and get finished! Social Research Methods: The Essentials is the perfect starting point and guide for your students′ research project.