Science for Engineering by
A practical introduction to the engineering science required for engineering study and practice. Science for Engineering is an introductory textbook that assumes no prior background in engineering. This new edition covers the fundamental scientific knowledge that all trainee engineers must acquire in order to pass their exams, and has been brought fully in line with the compulsory science and mathematics units in the new engineering course specifications. John Bird focuses upon engineering examples, enabling students to develop a sound understanding of engineering systems in terms of the basic laws and principles. This book includes over 580 worked examples, 1300 further problems, 425 multiple choice questions (with answers), and contains sections covering the mathematics that students will require within their engineering studies, mechanical applications, electrical applications and engineering systems. Colour layout helps navigation and highlights key learning points, formulae and exercises Understanding can be tested with the 580 worked examples, 1300 further problems and 425 multiple choice questions contained within the book Focuses on real-world situations and examples in order to maximise relevance to the student reader This book is supported by a companion website of materials that can be found at www.routledge/cw/bird, this resource including fully worked solutions of all the further problems for students to access for the first time, and the full solutions and marking schemes for the revision tests found within the book for lecturers/instructors use. In addition, all 433 illustrations will be available for downloading by staff. .
Engineering Science by
Comprehensive engineering science coverage that is fully in line with the latest vocational course requirements New chapters on heat transfer and fluid mechanics Topic-based approach ensures that this text is suitable for all vocational engineering courses Coverage of all the mechanical, electrical and electronic principles within one volume provides a comprehensive exploration of scientific principles within engineering Engineering Science is a comprehensive textbook suitable for all vocational and pre-degree courses. Taking a subject-led approach, the essential scientific principles engineering students need for their studies are topic-by-topic based in presntation. Unlike most of the textbooks available for this subject, Bill Bolton goes beyond the core science to include the mechanical, electrical and electronic principles needed in the majority of courses. A concise and accessible text is supported by numerous worked examples and problems, with a complete answer section at the back of the book. Now in its sixth edition, the text has been fully updated in line with the current BTEC National syllabus and will also prove an essential reference for students embarking on Higher National engineering qualifications and Foundation Degrees.
Engineering Science by
Engineering Science will help you understand the scientific principles involved in engineering. Focusing primarily upon core mechanical and electrical science topics, students enrolled on an Engineering Foundation degree and Higher National Engineering qualification will find this book an invaluable aid to their learning. The subject matter covered includes sections on the mechanics of solids, dynamics, thermodynamics, electrostatics and electromagnetic principles, and AC and DC circuit theory. Knowledge-check questions, summary sections and activities are included throughout the book, and the necessary background mathematics is applied and integrated alongside the appropriate areas of engineering being studied. The result is a clear, straightforward and easily accessible textbook that encourages independent study and covers most of the scientific principles that students are likely to meet at this level. It is supported with a companion website at http://www.key2engineeringscience.com for students and lecturers: Solutions to the Test your Knowledge questions in the book Further guidance on essential mathematics Extra chapters on vapour properties, cycles and plants Downloadable SCILAB scripts that helps simplify advanced mathematical content
You can use the A-Z eJournals search look for relevant publications.
International Journal of Engineering Science.
International Journal of Engineering Science and Innovative Technology.