Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
Hear about student feedback on the character features that make this book special...With an exciting new look, new characters to meet, and its unique combination of humour and step-by-step instruction, this award-winning book is the statistics lifesaver for everyone. From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. What's brand new: A radical new design with original illustrations and even more colour A maths diagnostic tool to help students establish what areas they need to revise and improve on. A revamped online resource that uses video, case studies, datasets, testbanks and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills New sections on replication, open science and Bayesian thinking Now fully up to date with latest versions of IBM SPSS Statistics©. All the online resources above (video, case studies, datasets, testbanks) can be easily integrated into your institution′s virtual learning environment or learning management system. This allows you to customize and curate content for use in module preparation, delivery and assessment. For instructions on how to upload the resources you want, please visit the Instructors′ page or alternatively, contact your local SAGE sales representative.Please note that ISBN: 9781526445780 comprises the paperback edition of the Fifth Edition and the student version of IBM SPSS Statistics. More information on this version of the software′s features can be found here.
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology by
The seventh edition of Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology provides students with the most readable and comprehensive survey of research methods, statistical concepts and procedures in psychology today. Assuming no prior knowledge, this bestselling text takes you through every stage of your research project giving advice on planning and conducting studies, analysing data and writing up reports. The book provides clear coverage of experimental, interviewing and observational methods, psychological testing, qualitative methods and analysis and statistical procedures which include nominal level tests, multi-factorial ANOVA designs, multiple regression, log linear analysis, and factor analysis.　It features detailed and illustrated SPSS instructions for all these and other procedures, eliminating the need for an extra SPSS textbook. New features to this edition include: Additional coverage of factor analysis and online and modern research methods Expanded coverage of report writing guidelines References updated throughout Presentation updated throughout, to include more figures, tables and full colour to help break up the text Companion website signposted throughout the book to improve student usability Improved and extended web links and further reading associated with every chapter. Each chapter contains a glossary, key terms and newly integrated exercises, ensuring that key concepts are understood. A fully updated companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/coolican) provides additional exercises, testbanks for each chapter, revision flash cards, links to further reading and data for use with SPSS.
Practical Statistics for Field Biology by 
Modern Statistics for the Life Sciences by 
IBM SPSS Statistics 19 Made Simple by
This new edition of one of the most widely read textbooks in its field introduces the reader to data analysis with the most powerful and versatile statistical package on the market: IBM SPSS Statistics 19. Each new release of SPSS Statistics features new options and other improvements. There remains a core of fundamental operating principles and techniques which have continued to apply to all releases issued in recent years and have been proved to be worth communicating in a small volume. This practical and informal book combines simplicity and clarity of presentation with a comprehensive treatment of the use of IBM SPSS Statistics 19 for the description, exploration and confirmation of data. As in earlier editions, coverage has been extended to address the issues raised by readers since the previous edition. In this edition, there is an introduction to the Analysis of Covariance (ANCOVA). Each statistical technique is presented in a realistic research context and is fully illustrated with annotated screen shots of SPSS dialog boxes and output. The first chapter sets the scene with a survey of typical research situations, key terms and clear signposts to the location of each technique in the book. It also offers guidance on the choice of statistical techniques, and advice (based on the American Psychological Association's guidelines) on how to report the results of a statistical analysis. The next chapters introduce the reader to the use of SPSS, beginning with the entry, description and exploration of data. There is also a full description of the capabilities of the versatile Chart Builder. Each of the remaining chapters concentrates on one particular kind of research situation and the statistical techniques that are appropriate. In summary, IBM SPSS Statistics 19 Made Simple Gets you started with SPSS. Shows you how to describe and explore a data set with the help of SPSS's extensive graphics and data-handling menus. Helps you to choose appropriate statistical techniques. Warns you of pitfalls arising from the misuse of statistics. Shows you how to report the results of a statistical analysis. Shows you how to use Syntax to implement some useful procedures and operations. Introduces the reader to the analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) Has a comprehensive glossary. Is now presented in an attractive two-colour format. The book's accompanying website contains datasets for the chapters of the book, as well as a large body of exercises (with data sets), and notes on statistical terms. Instructor resources include a PowerPoint lecture course and Multiple-Choice Question tests, which are also available free of charge to lecturers adopting the book and their students. Please visit http://www.psypress.com/spss-made-simple for more details.
SPSS survival manual : a step by step guide to data analysis using IBM SPSS by
This is a completely updated edition of the internationally successful, user-friendly guide that takes students and researchers through the often daunting process of analysing research data with the widely used SPSS software package. Fully revised and updated for IBM SPSS Statistics Version 21, this text guides you through the entire research process & helps you choose the right data analysis technique for your project. From the formulation of research questions, to the design of the study and analysis of data, to reporting the results, it discusses basic and advanced statistical techniques. It outlines each technique clearly, with step-by-step procedures for performing the analysis, a detailed guide to interpreting data output and an example of how to present the results in a report.
Research methods in physical activity by
Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, systematically guides students through the research process, introducing methods and tools specifically for kinesiology and exercise science disciplines, including the subdisciplines of physical therapy, rehabilitation, and occupational therapy. The seventh edition leads students and novice researchers to research competency with the distinctive humor that has become a trademark of this internationally recognized text. This text provides step-by-step information for every aspect of the research process, from identifying and devising research questions to analyzing data and compiling results for presentation. Methods for qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-methods research approaches are addressed, and real-world research questions--including historical, experimental, epidemiological, and philosophical--are presented by scholarly contributors who give suggestions for approaches to follow. Photos, anecdotes, and humorous stories are used throughout the text to put students at ease and emphasize key points through practical applications. Enhancements to the seventh edition include the following: * Updated information and techniques for electronic searches to ensure students use best research practices * New information on meta-analysis and the benefits of journal-style writing that teach readers to evaluate and prepare data for scholarly journals and publication * Special attention to ethical issues to help readers understand the regulations involved in using human and animal subjects * New information on logistic regression that aids in the understanding of complex ideas * Further explanation of qualitative and mixed-methods research approaches, in addition to quantitative approaches, to ensure readers use the most appropriate methodology for their research The content of the seventh edition maintains and expands upon the logical content progression that has made Research Methods in Physical Activity the leading text in the field. Part I presents an overview of the research process, including problem development, preparation of the research plan, and understanding ethical issues in research and writing. Part II introduces statistical and measurement issues in research, and part III presents various types of or approaches to research and methodology from expert researchers in the field. Part IV includes a writing guide for result findings and details how to develop and organize research papers and presentations. Statistical tables and guides are available in the appendix. To aid instructors, Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, includes a suite of ancillary materials featuring an instructor guide, test package, an extra data set for instructors who wish to create specialized learning activities, and presentation package plus image bank. Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, instills in students the confidence to devise, collect, analyze, and present their research in a competent manner by systematically guiding them through the research process. It is an essential text for all emerging researchers in physical activity.
Doing a Successful Research Project. 2nd edn. by
Carrying out a research project is a daunting task, presenting you with deadline anxieties, unfamiliar language and practical dilemmas. This book is a straightforward, user-friendly guide on how to manage your research project successfully - akin to having a tutor at your side. Doing a Successful Research Project: * offers an accessible introduction to qualitative and quantitative methods * takes you through the entire research process from planning to write-up * includes extensive real-life examples of good and bad research practice The second edition of this no-nonsense textbook, containing further discussion of internet-based research methods, research ethics and more, provides students with the self-discipline and the confidence to conduct their own research projects, whatever discipline they are from, and also the understanding required to identify the advantages and disadvantages of different strategies.
Research Methods for the Biosciences. 3rd edn. by
Scientific research is the ultimate tool in pushing forward the limit of our understanding. But, as with any tool, research is only powerful if used properly, and to its full effect. Research Methods in the Biosciences demystifies the process of research to equip every biosciences student with the skills they need to get the most out of their investigations. Research isn't solely about experimental design; the book leads them through all the factors that, together, enableeffective research. These include planning your experiment; data collection, analysis, interpretation, and reporting; and legal, ethical, and health and safety considerations. Research Methods for the Biosciences brings together the knowledge and skills required of every good researcher as a coherent whole, making it the essential resource for any biosciences student. Online Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany Research Methods for the Biosciences constitutes a totally flexible teaching and learning package, keyed directly to the text, featuring interactive tasks and exercises for both formative and summative assessment, and additional reference materials for bothstudent and lecturer. For students:* Statistical software walkthroughs for SPSS, Excel, and minitab* Complete details of calculations given in boxes* Interactive and printable decision tree, to aid in deigning your experiment* Interactive and printable risk assessment form* Integrative exercises based on published and unpublished student work* Weblinks* Hyperlinked glossaryFor lecturers:* A test bank of questions* Figures from the book available to download