Regenerative medicine is a constantly evolving field and textbooks cannot keep up; as such students should consult primary literature and journal papers as their first source of learning.
However, the latest editions of the following textbooks and online books may be used by students, depending on the preference of style:
Principles of Regenerative Medicine by
Principles of Regenerative Medicine, Third Edition, details the technologies and advances applied in recent years to strategies for healing and generating tissue. Contributions from a stellar cast of researchers cover the biological and molecular basis of regenerative medicine, highlighting stem cells, wound healing and cell and tissue development. Advances in cell and tissue therapy, including replacement of tissues and organs damaged by disease and previously untreatable conditions, such as diabetes, heart disease, liver disease and renal failure are also incorporated to provide a view to the future and framework for additional studies. Comprehensively covers the interdisciplinary field of regenerative medicine with contributions from leaders in tissue engineering, cell and developmental biology, biomaterials sciences, nanotechnology, physics, chemistry, bioengineering and surgery Includes new chapters devoted to iPS cells and other alternative sources for generating stem cells as written by the scientists who made the breakthroughs Edited by a world-renowned team to present a complete story of the development and promise of regenerative medicine
Engineering Stem Cells for Tissue Regeneration by
Tissue engineering integrates knowledge and tools from biological sciences and engineering for tissue regeneration. A challenge for tissue engineering is to identify appropriate cell sources. The recent advancement of stem cell biology provides enormous opportunities to engineer stem cells for tissue engineering. The impact of stem cell technology on tissue engineering will be revolutionary.This book covers state-of-the-art knowledge on the potential of stem cells for the regeneration of a wide range of tissues and organs, including cardiovascular, musculoskeletal, neurological and skin tissues. The technology platforms for studying and engineering stem cells, such as hydrogel and biomaterials development, microfluidics system and microscale patterning, are also illustrated. Regulatory challenges and quality control for clinical translation are also detailed. This book provides an comprehensive update on the advancement in the field of stem cells and regenerative medicine, and serves as a valuable resource for both researchers and students.
Principles of Tissue Engineering by
Now in its fifth edition, Principles of Tissue Engineering has been the definite resource in the field of tissue engineering for more than a decade. The fifth edition provides an update on this rapidly progressing field, combining the prerequisites for a general understanding of tissue growth and development, the tools and theoretical information needed to design tissues and organs, as well as a presentation by the world's experts of what is currently known about each specific organ system. As in previous editions, this book creates a comprehensive work that strikes a balance among the diversity of subjects that are related to tissue engineering, including biology, chemistry, material science, and engineering, among others, while also emphasizing those research areas that are likely to be of clinical value in the future. This edition includes greatly expanded focus on stem cells, including induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells, stem cell niches, and blood components from stem cells. This research has already produced applications in disease modeling, toxicity testing, drug development, and clinical therapies. This up-to-date coverage of stem cell biology and the application of tissue-engineering techniques for food production - is complemented by a series of new and updated chapters on recent clinical experience in applying tissue engineering, as well as a new section on the emerging technologies in the field.
Stem Cells: from Biological Principles to Regenerative Medicine by Your module Leader and contributors can advise on the relevance of selected peer-reviewed research publications.
You may also wish to consult your subject guide for journals in your discipline.