Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biomedical Science BSc: Databases and Journals

Journal Collection 

We have over 146 million eJournal articles at your disposal 24/7 via Discovery. The library is also home to several print journals which can be accessed at any time during our opening hours.

Journals are also known as serials or periodicals. They are published serially (in parts) several times a year. Journal articles are especially useful for exploring niche topics and keeping up to date with developments in your subject area.

Journals can be academic or professional in nature. 

Academic journals: 

  • Contain research articles written by experts 
  • Are typically reviewed for quality control 
  • Include abstracts and bibliographies 
  • Are published monthly or less frequently 

Professional journals: 

  • Contain shorter articles that are easy to read and understand 
  • Include more current information 
  • May be published weekly or fortnightly 

The following Journals may be useful to your area of study: 

Journals for Biological Science:
Journals for Biomedical Science: 
Journals for Nutrition and Human Health: 
Journals for Wildlife, Ecology and Conservation: 

 


Ready to browse our Journal collection? 

  • Search via keyword in Discovery and use the 'Article' (for individual articles) or 'Journal' (for complete Journals) filter 
  • Browse the A-Z of Journals or search by keyword 
  • Browse the A-Z of Databases or filter by subject (Databases are an amalgamation of several different journal articles) 
  • Visit the library and browse our print journals 

Database Collections

Can't find what you need via Discovery? Our index databases a massive variety of resources ranging from journal articles to professional reports and videos! There are approximately 180 separate databaases at your disposal 24/7 via the A-Z of eResources.


The following Databases may be useful to your area of study: 


Ready to browse our Database collection? 

  • Browse the A-Z of Databases or filter by subject (Databases are an amalgamation of several different journal articles) 

Requesting Resources

If you're unable to find a resource you're looking for, the University of Suffolk Library can order articles on your behalf from other UK universities via our resource request service.

How many requests can I make?

Allowances are currently set as follows. However, these may be exceeded if the customer wishes to pay personally.

  • First-year undergraduate (Level 4) - 5 requests free of charge (request forms must be countersigned by course tutor)
  • Second-year undergraduate (Level 5) - 5 requests free of charge
  • Final year undergraduate (Level 6) - 10 requests free of charge
  • Taught Postgraduate - 10 requests free of charge
  •  Research postgraduate - 20 requests free of charge
  • Staff - 20 requests free of charge