Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Constitutional Law reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Constitutional and Administrative Law by Hilaire Barnett's Constitutional & Administrative Law has provided generations of students with reliable, accessible and comprehensive coverage of the Public Law syllabus. Mapped to the common course outline, the Thirteenth Edition equips students with an understanding of the UK constitution's past, present and future by analysing and illustrating the political and socio-historical contexts that have shaped the major rules and principles of constitutional and administrative law, as well as ongoing constitutional reform. This edition has been fully updated and includes discussion of the implications of the United Kingdom's potential withdrawal from the European Union on the constitution, including the impact on the legislative supremacy of Parliament and the relationship between EU and domestic law after departure. Developments on the negotiations of the future relationship between the UK and the EU will be discussed in updates to the Companion Website. Ideal for students studying constitutional and administrative law for the first time, this book offers clear explanations of the challenging concepts and legal rules in public law.
Call Number: 342.41 BAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Public Law by This market-leading textbook covers the essential topics of the public law module in an insightful and interesting way. The book guides students through key themes which help them to understand how the many strands of public law are interlinked.The authors have a real flair for capturing both the vibrant nature of public law in practice and the key contemporary debates in the field. They use practical examples to bring this subject to life and include expert commentaries on each chapter to allow students to see academic debate first-hand.Digital formats and resourcesThis fourth edition is supported by online resources and is available for students or institutions to purchase in a variety of digital formats.- The ebook is enhanced with embedded self-assessment activities, and multi-media content including author videos, to offer a fully immersive experience and extra learning support. www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/ebooks- These study tools that enhance the ebook, along with updates, directed web links for further research, and diagrams from the book, are available as stand-alone online resources for use alongside the print book.
Call Number: 342.41 ELL
Publication Date: 2020
Blackstone's Statutes on Public Law and Human Rights 2018-2019 by Unsurpassed in authority, reliability and accuracy; the 2018-2019 has been fully revised and updated to incorporate all relevant legislation for public and human rights law courses. Blackstone's Statutes on Public Law & Human Rights is an abridged collection of legislation carefully reviewed and selected by Robert G. Lee. With unparalleled coverage of public and human rights law, Blackstone's Statutes on Public Law & Human Rights leads the market: consistently recommended by lecturers and relied on by students for exam and course use. Blackstone's Statutes on Public Law & Human Rights is: - Trusted: ideal for exam use - Practical: find what you need instantly - Reliable: current, comprehensive coverage - Relevant: content reviewed to match your course Online resources The accompanying online resources include video guides to reading and interpreting statutes, web links, exam tips, and an interactive sample Act of Parliament.
Call Number: 342.41 LEE
Publication Date: 2018
The Common Law Constitution by For the 2013 Hamlyn Lectures, Sir John Laws explored the constitutional balance between law and government in the United Kingdom. He argues that the unifying principle of the constitution is the common law and that its distinctive method has endowed the British State with profoundly beneficial effects, before examining two contemporary threats to the constitutional balance: extremism and the effect of Europe-made laws on the domestic English system.
Call Number: 342.42 LAW
Publication Date: 2014
Administrative Law by Administrative Law explains the constitutional principles of the subject and brings clarity to this complex field of public law. The common law courts, government agencies, and Parliament have developed a wide variety of techniques for controlling the enormously diverse activities of twenty-first century government. Underlying all that variety is a set of constitutional principles. This book uses the law of judicial review toidentify and to explain these principles, and then shows how they ought to be worked out in the private law of tort and contract, in the tribunals system, and in non-judicial techniques such as investigations byombudsmen, auditors, and other government agencies. The aim is to equip the reader to apply the constitutional principles to the problems of administrative law.
Call Number: 342.4206 END
Publication Date: 2015
Administrative Law by Wade and Forsyth's Administrative Law has been a cornerstone text since its first edition in 1961. It provides a comprehensive and perceptive account of the principles of judicial review and the administrative arrangements of the United Kingdom. For over fifty years, Administrative Law hasbeen trusted by students in the UK and internationally and is extensively cited by Courts in England and Wales.The book's clarity of exposition makes it accessible to the student approaching the subject for the first time, whilst its breadth of coverage and perceptive insight ensure its value to all interested in this field, academics and practitioners alike.
Call Number: 342.4206 FOR
Publication Date: 2014
Cases and Materials on Constitutional and Administrative Law by Cases and Materials on Constitutional and Administrative Law provides students with a comprehensive selection of legal resources to accompany their studies. Extracts from leading cases, academic works, and political documents are drawn together with incisive author commentary andthought-provoking questions to highlight the historical debates and ongoing development of the subject. The authors take a critical look at the doctrines of constitutional law and the principles of administrative law, showing how the constitution operates in relation to Parliament, the Executive,and the citizen.Online Resource Centre:This book is supported by an Online Resource Centre providing a wide range of extra resources to further support students in their studies, including:* Updates in constitutional and administrative law* An extensive range of web links* An interactive timeline of significant public law events throughout history* "Oxford News Now" - a live feed on topical public law issues, sourced from news websites such as the BBC and Guardian
Call Number: 342.41 THO
Publication Date: 2017