Comparative Contract Law by
Promoting a 'learning-by-doing' approach to comparative contract law and comparative methodology, this updated second edition of the first true student reader on the subject brings together extracts from legislation and court practice in a way that lets students experience comparative law in action. This unique guide to European and International contract law provides:* an international perspective on highly topical, real-life issues of contract law; * materials from some 30 jurisdictions in both their original languages, and in excellent translations; * the chance for students to solve scenarios according to the laws of different jurisdictions and compare and evaluate the solutions and approaches they identify;* the opportunity for students to familiarise themselves with real-world materials, to better understand the diverse approaches to modern contract law, and to develop their skills as comparative lawyers.Essential reading for all students, practitioners, and scholars of comparative contract law and methodology, this second edition remains a vital practical guide for those seeking to familiarise themselves with real-world materials and to better understand the diverse approaches to modern contract law.
Elliott & Quinn's Contract Law by 
Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Students will be expected to consult a range of law journals via Lexis Library and selected eJournals from WestLaw with a view to developing appropriate legal research skills and to access important supplementary readings in preparation for assessments. Examples of journals include:
Essential Reading
Butler v Ex Cell- O Corp (England) Ltd [1979] 1 WLR 401
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Further Reading
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Essential Reading
Harvey v Facey [1893] AC 552
Thornton v Shoe Lane Parking [1971] 2 WLR 585
Partridge v Crittenden [1968] 1 WLR 1204
Carlill v Carbolic Smoke Ball Co [1893] 1 QB 256
Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain v Boots Cash Chemists [1953] 1 ALL ER 482
Grainger & Sons v Gough [1896] AC 325
Errington v Errington & Woods [1952] 1 KB 290
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Further Reading
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Essential Reading
Hyde v Wrench (1840) 3 Beav 334
Butler Machine Tool v Ex-Cell-O Corp (England) [1979] 1 WLR 401
Tekdata Interconnections Ltd v Amphenol Ltd [2009] EWCA Civ 1209
Gulf International Ltd v Groupe Chimique Tunisien [2009] EWHC 1684 (Comm)
GHSP Incorporated v AB Electronic Ltd [2010] EWHC 1828 (Comm) Sale of Goods Act 1979 (particularly, s. 14(2))
Stevenson Jaques & Co v McLean [1879–80) LR 5 QBD 346 1
Harvey v Facey [1893] AC 552
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Further Reading
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Essential Reading
Felthouse v Bindley [1862] 6 LT 157
Adams v Lindsell [1818] 106 ER 250
Household Fire Insurance v Grant [1878–79) LR 4 Ex D 216
Entores v Miles Far East Corp [1955] 2QB 327
Brinkibon v Stahag Stahl [1983] 2 AC 34
Mondial Shipping and Chartering BV v Astarte Shipping Ltd [1995] CLC 1011
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Further Reading
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Essential Reading
Scammell v Ouston [1941] AC 251;
Raffles v Witchelhaus (1864) 2 Hurl. & C 906
Hillas v Arcos (1932) 147 LT 503
Foley v Classique Coaches ltd [1934] 2 KB 1 May & Butcher v the King [1934] 2 KB 17 s.8(2) of the Sale of Goods Act 1979 Nicolene Ltd v Simmonds (1953) 1 QB 543
Balfour v Balfour [1919] 2 KB 571
Merritt v Merritt [1970] 1 WLR 1211 Darke v Strout [2003] EWCA Civ 176 Simpkins v Pays [1955] 1 WLR 975
McInnes v Gross [2017] EWHC 127
Blue v Ashley [2017] EWHC 1928
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Further Reading
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Essential Reading
Thomas v Thomas (1842) 2 QB 851
White v Bluett [1853] 23 LJ Ex 36
Chappell v Nestlé [1960] AC 87;
Midland Bank Trust Co. Ltd v Green [1981] AC 513
Ward v Byham [1956] 1 WLR 496
Re McArdle [1951] Ch 669;
Pao On v Lau Yiu Long [1980] AC 614
Contracts (Rights of Third Parties) Act 1999 (esp. Sections 7.5-7.13)
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Further Reading
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Essential Reading
Collins v Godefroy (1831) 1 B.& Ad.950
Ward v Byham [1956] 1 WLR 496
Harris v Sheffield United FC [1987] 2 All ER 838 Glasbrook Bros Ltd v Glamorgan CC [1925] AC 270 Stilk v Myrick (1809) 170 ER 1168
Hartley v Ponsonby [1857] 7 El & Bl 872
Williams v Roffey Bros & Nicholls (Contractors) Ltd [1991] 1 QB 1
Pinnel’s case (1602) 5 CoRep 117a
Foakes v Beer [1894] 9 App Cas 605
Ferguson v. Davies [1997] 1 All ER 315 80
Collier v P & MJ Wright (Holdings) Ltd [2007] EWCA Civ 1329
Rock Advertising Ltd v MWB Business Exchange Centres Ltd [2018] UKSC 24
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Further Reading
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Essential Reading
Central London Property Trust Ltd v High Trees House Ltd [1947] KB 130
Combe v Combe [1951] 2 KB 215
W J Alan & Co v El Nasr [1972] 2 WLR 800 D & C Builders v Rees [1965] EWCA Civ 3 The Post Chaser [1982] 1 All ER 19
Baird Textile Holdings Ltd v Marks & Spencer Plc [2001] EWCA Civ 274
Tool Metal Manufacturing Co Ltd v Tungsten Electric Co Ltd [1955] 1 WLR 761
Ajayi v RT Briscoe (Nigeria) Ltd [1964] 1 WLR 1326
Evans v Amicus Healthcare Ltd [2004] EWCA Civ 727
Collier v P & MJ Wright (Holdings) Ltd [2007] EWCA Civ 1329
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Further Reading
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Essential Reading
Dick Bentley Productions v Harold Smith [1965] 1 WLR 623 The Moorcock (1889) LR 14 PD 64
SABIC UK Petrochemicals Ltd v Punj Lloyd [2013] EWHC 2916 British Crane Hire v Ipswich Plant Hire [1975] 1 All ER 1059 Liverpool City Council v Irwin [1977] AC 239
Interfoto Picture Library v Stiletto Visual Programmes [1988] 1 WLR 615
ParkingEye Ltd v Beavis [2015] UKSC 67 Sale of Goods Act 1979
Consumer Rights Act 2015
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Further Reading
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Essential Reading
George Mitchell (Chesterhall) Ltd v Finney Lock Seeds Ltd [1983] 2 AC 803
St Albans City and District Council v International Computers ltd (1996) The Times, 14 August (CA)
Watford Electronics Ltd v Sanderson CFL Ltd [2001] EWCA Civ 317
L’ Estrange v Graucob [1934] 2 KB 394
Curtis v Chemical Cleaning and Dyeing Co Ltd [1951] 1 KB 805
Thornton v Shoe Lane Parking [1971] 2 QB 163
Olley v Marlborough Court Hotel [1949] 1 KB 532 J Spurling Ltd v Bradshaw [1956]1 WLR 461 Hollier v Rambler Motors [1972] QB 71
Interfoto Picture Library v Stiletto Visual Programmes [1988] 1 WLR 615
ParkingEye Ltd v Beavis [2015] UKSC 67 Sale of Goods Act 1979
Consumer Rights Act 2015 Unfair Contract Terms Act 1977
EU Directive 93/13/EEC on Unfair Terms in Consumer Contracts
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Further Reading
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Essential Reading
Cope v Rowlands (1836) 2 M & W 149
Allen v Rescous (1677) 2 Lev 174
Pearce v Brookes (1866) LR 1 Ex 213
Armhouse Lee Ltd v Chappell (1996), The Times, 7 August
Parkinson v College of Ambulance Ltd and Harrison [1925] 2 KB 1
Helbert Morris Ltd v Saxelby [1916] 1 AC 688
Hounga v Allen & Anor [2014] UKSC 47
ParkingEye Ltd v Beavis [2015] UKSC 67
Patel v Mirza [2016] UKSC 42
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Competition Act 1998
Article 102 TFEU
Equality Act 2010
Further Reading
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Essential Reading
Dick Bentley Productions v Harold Smith [1965] 1 WLR 623
Derry v Peek (1889) LR 14 App. Cas. 337
Thomas Witter Ltd v TBP Industries Ltd [1996] 2 All ER 573 (ChD)
Howard Marine & Dredging Co Ltd v Q Ogden & Sons (Excavations) Ltd [1978] QB 574
Leaf v International Galleries [1950] 2 KB 86
Smith New Court Securities ltd v Scrimgeour Vickers Ltd [1997] AC 254
East Maurer [1991] 2 All ER 733
Misrepresentation Act 1967
Consumer Protection from Unfair Trading regulations 2008 (CPRs), SI 2008/1277
ss 50, 54 Consumer rights Act (CRA) 2015
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Contract Law by
Contract Law is designed to provide coverage of the fundamental legal principles at play in this area. Written in the authors' trademark clear and engaging style and incorporating a range of student-focused features, the book also introduces critical and contextual analysis to help you to develop your own critique and deepen your understanding of the law of contract.
Further Reading
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Essential Reading
Nottingham Patent Brick & Tile Co v Butler (1885-86) LR 16 QBD 778
Dimmock v Hallett (1866-7) LR 2 Ch
With v. O'Flanagan [1936] Ch 575
Spice girls ltd v Aprilia World Service BV [2000] EMLR 478
Pan Atlantic insurance Co Ltd v Pine Top Insurance Co Ltd [1995] 1 AC 501
Bisset v. Wilkinson [1927] AC 177
Smith v. Land and House Property Corporation [1885] 28 Ch D. 7
JEB Fasteners Ltd v Marks Bloom & Co [1983] 1 All ER 583 Attwood v Small (1838) 6 Cl. & Fin. 232
Walker v Boyle [1982] 1 WLR 495
Misrepresentation Act 1967
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Consumer Protection from Unfair Trading regulations 2008 (CPRs), SI 2008/1277
Consumer rights Act (CRA) 2015
11(1) of the Unfair Contract Terms Act 1977
Further Reading
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Essential Reading
FW Moore & Co Ltd Landaeur & Co [1921] 2 KB 519
Cutter v. Powell (1795) 6 Term Rep. 320
Sumpter v Hedges [1898] 1 QB 673
H. Dakin & Co Ltd v Lee [1916] 1 KB 566
Bolton v Mahadeva [1972] 1 WLR 1009
Planche v. Colburn (1831) 8 Bing. 14
Photo Production v Securicor [1980] AC 827
Frost v Knight (1872) LR 7 Exch 11
Hochster v De la Tour (1853) 2 El. & Bl. 678
Avery v Bowden (1855) 5 EL & BL 714
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Sales of Goods Act 1979, ss. 15A and 30(2A)
Further Reading
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Essential Reading
C and P Haulage v Middleton [983] 1 WLR 1461
Simpson v London and North Western Railway Co (1876) 1 QBD 274
Anglia Television ltd v Reed [1952] 1 QB 60
Hadley v Baxendale (1854) 9 Ex 341
Victoria Laundry (Windsor) Ltd v Newman Industries [1949] 2 KB 528
British Westinghouse Electric and manufacturing Co Ltd v Underground Electric Railways Co. of London Ltd [1912] AC 673
Payzu Ltd v Saunders [1919] 2 KB 581
Brace v Calder [1895] 2 QB 253
Watts v Morrow [1991] 1 WLR 1421
Jackson v Horizon Holidays [1975] 1 WLR 1468
Farley v Skinner (No. 2) [2002] 2 AC 732
Attorney General v Blake [2001] 1 AC 268
Planche v Colburn (1831) 8 Bing. 14
Warner bros pictures v Nelson [1937] 1 KB 209
One Step (Support) Ltd v Morris-Garner and another [2018] UKSC 20; [2019] AC 649
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Further Reading
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Essential Reading
Tweddle v Atkinson (1861) 1 B & S 393
Beswick v Beswick [1968] AC 58
Jackson v Horizon Ltd [1975] 1 WLR 1468
Woodar Investment Development Ltd v Wimpey Construction (UK) Ltd [1980] 1 WLR 277
Linden Gardens Trust Ltd v Lenesta Sludge Disposals Ltd [1994] 1 AC 85
Darlington Borough Council v Wiltshier Northern Ltd [1995] 1 WLR 68; Contracts (Rights of Third Parties) Act 1999
Recommended Reading
Elliot and Quinn's contract law.12th edn. (Print copy) by Poole's Textbook On Contract Law by
[S.l.] : OXFORD UNIV PRESS, 2021.
Nisshin Shipping Co Ltd v Cleaves & Co Ltd [2003] EWHC 2602
Pharmed Medicare Private Ltd v Univar Ltd [2002] EWCA Civ 1569
Further Reading
Unlocking Contract Law by
The Unlocking the Law series makes the law accessible. Each chapter contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge and diagrams to aid learning. Cases, judgments and primary source quotations are prominently displayed. Summaries help you understand each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Contract Law by
This bestselling, classic textbook provides a clear and straightforward account of contract law, while also introducing current debates about the nature, scope and functions of the law and discussing wider controversies surrounding the basic doctrines. Written by one of the UK's leading experts on contract law, this book is compact yet comprehensive, well-structured, stimulating and engaging. New to this edition are 'Hot topics', which flag up controversial issues for debate so that students can consider key issues and think critically about them, whilst also offering some insight from the author. This is an ideal text for all students taking undergraduate and GDL/CPE courses in contract law. It would also be useful for professionals and business students requiring an understanding in simple terms of the nature and scope of contract law.
Law Commission Consultation Paper No. 121, Privity of Contract: Contracts for the Benefit of Third Parties, 1991
Law Commission Report No. 242, Privity of Contract: Contracts for the Benefit of Third Parties, 1996
