Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Legal Method and Advocacy reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Legal Skills by A comprehensive and accessible guide to the academic and practical skills needed in the study of law, including essential techniques for legal research, reasoning, writing, advocacy, negotiation, interviewing and advising. Also features an extensive section on career development.
Call Number: 340.11 CHE + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Legal Skills by
Call Number: 340.0711 FIN
Publication Date: 2021
Legal Skills by The best-selling legal skills textbook in the market, Legal Skills is the essential guide for law students, encompassing all the academic and practical skills in one manageable volume.It is an ideal text for students new to law, helping them make the transition from secondary education and giving them the skills they need to succeed from the beginning of their degree, through exams and assessments and into their future career.The first part covers "Sources of Law" and includes information on finding and using legislation, ensuring an understanding of where the law comes from and how to use it.The second part covers "Academic Legal Skills" and provides advice on general study and writing skills. This part also includes a section on referencing and avoiding plagiarism amongst a number of other chapters designed to help students through the different stages of the law degree.The third and final part is dedicated to "Practical Legal Skills"; a section designed to help develop transferable skills in areas such as presentations and negotiations that will be highly valued by future employers.The text contains many useful features designed to support a truly practical and self-reflective approach to legal skills including self-test questions, diagrams and practical activities. Students are given the opportunity to take a "hands on" approach to tackling a variety of legal skills fromusing cases to negotiation. Each skill is firmly set in its wider academic and professional context to encourage an integrated approach to the learning of legal skills.Online resources :- For lecturers, a bank of multiple choice questions and diagrams from the book- For students, answers to the self-test questions and practical exercises from the book and a glossary of all the keywords and terms used within the text. There is also an extensive range of videos with guidance on topics from what to expect from lectures and tutorials, how to research for essaysand structure problem questions, to examples of good and bad practice in mooting and negotiations.
Call Number: 340.071 FIN
Publication Date: 2019
Slapper and Kelly's the English Legal System 19th edn. by Slapper and Kelly's The English Legal System explains and critically assesses how our law is made and applied. Trusted by generations of academics and students, this authoritative textbook clearly describes the legal rules of England and Wales and their collective influence as a sociocultural institution. This latest edition has been extensively restructured and updated, providing up-to-date and reliable analysis of recent developments that have an impact on the legal system in England and Wales. Key learning features include: useful chapter summaries which act as a good check point for students; 'food for thought' questions at the end of each chapter to prompt critical thinking and reflection; sources for further reading and suggested websites at the end of each chapter to point students towards further learning pathways; and an online skills network including how tos, practical examples, tips, advice and interactive examples of English law in action. Relied upon by generations of students, this book is a permanent fixture in this ever-evolving subject.
Call Number: 349.42 SLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Legal Method by The Palgrave Macmillan Law Masters series is a long-running and successful list of titles offering clear, concise and authoritative guides to the main subject areas, written by experienced and respected authors. This ninth edition of Legal Method provides a lively introduction to the nature of the English legal system and its sources, and to the techniques which lawyers use when handling those sources. The text assumes no prior knowledge and makes its content accessible by clarity of expression rather than by dilution of content. In addition to more conventional sources, writers as varied as Jonathan Swift, Alexander Pope and T. S. Eliot are cited. This is an ideal course companion for both law undergraduate and GDL/CPE students. Includes end of chapter summaries and self-test exercises.
Call Number: 349.42 MCL + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
The Case of the Speluncean Explorers by The Case of the Speluncean Explorers, written in 1949 by Lon Fuller, is the first famous fictitious legal case of all time. Describing a case of trapped travellers who are forcd to cannibalize one of their team, it is used on courses in philosophy of law and Jurisprudence to show how their trial upon rescue touches on key concepts in philosophy and legal theory such as utilitarianism and naturalism. The Case of the Speluncean Explorers: Nine New opinions includes a reprint of Fuller's classic article and a much-needed revision of and addition to the five openings originally expressed in the case by the five Supreme Court Judges. Peter Suber carefully and clearly introduces students to the main themes of Fuller's article before introducing nine new opinions. These opinions include perspectives from communitarian, feminist, multicultural, postmodern and economic theories of law, updating Fuller's original case and bringing contemporary theories of law to bear on the five original opinions. Why read this book? One reason is to get beyond sloganeering about "judicial activism" and "activist judges". The book is an enjoyable and even-handed way to understand what the debate is about. It doesn't tell you what to think, but illustrates the contending positions and lets you think for yourself. It will show you how judges with different moral and political beliefs interpret written law, how they use precedents, how they conceive the proper role of judges, how they conceive the relationship between law and morality, and how they defend their judicial practices against criticism. It anchors all of this in a Supreme Court hearing of a gripping, concrete case on which real people disagree. (Challenge: Take any view of how judges should interpret law, especially any view that makes it sound easy, and try it out on this case. How well can it respect the facts and law? How well can it answer the objections from judges who take other views? How well does it deliver justice?) The book uses no jargon and assumes no prior knowledge of law or legal philosophy.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 1998
Law: a very short introduction by Law is at the heart of every society, protecting rights, imposing duties, and establishing a framework for the conduct of almost all social, political, and economic activity. Despite this, the law often seems a highly technical, perplexing mystery, with its antiquated and often impenetrablejargon, obsolete procedures, and endless stream of complex statutes and legislation.In this Very Short Introduction Raymond Wacks introduces the major branches of the law, describing what lawyers do, and how courts operate, and considers the philosophy of law and its pursuit of justice, freedom, and equality. In this second edition, Wacks locates the discipline in our contemporaryworld, considering the pressures of globalization and digitalisation and the nature of the law in our culture of threatened security and surveillance.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: 340.2 WAC
Publication Date: 2016
A Practical Guide to Mooting by A clear and student-friendly guide to mooting, an essential skill for students on an LLB, LPC, BVC or GDL course, which will help to engender confidence in constructing legal arguments and presenting them effectively. Written in manageable sections so the book can be read easily, or dipped into for specific expert advice.
Call Number: 340.071141 HIL + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
The Art of Argument by The Art of the Argument guides readers through the process of developing, defending and presenting a compelling argument. Primarily aimed at students who are about to undertake or participate in an international mooting competition, The Art of the Argument explains in a step-by-step process what to do when you first get the moot problem, how to begin researching the subject manner, the emotional highs and lows, why practice makes perfect, how to handle yourself at the competition, and most importantly to have fun.
Call Number: 340.0711 KEE
Publication Date: 2007
How to Moot by How to Moot is essential reading for student mooters at all levels. Written by lecturers with many years' experience of supporting students and judging at internal and national mooting competitions, you can be sure that this book contains everything you need to know about preparing for andparticipating in moots, plus numerous tips to help you stand out from the crowd.The book is written in a uniquely user-friendly style: it is divided into 100 QandAs and structured in short, accessible chapters, so you can find what you need quickly and easily. Chapter summaries allow you to check you have covered the key points in each area, and diagrams clearly set out theprocedural aspects of mooting. There are example moot problems and an entire transcript of a moot, so you can see exactly what happens at each stage.Online Resource CentreAn Online Resource Centre accompanies the book, providing video clips of mooting, additional moot problems, usful web links, and details of inter-university mooting competitions.
Call Number: 340.071141 SNA
Publication Date: 2010
There are no recommended websites for this module. However, you may like to consult the general ones available in the Law Subject Guide.