Communication and Interpersonal Skills in Social Work, 5th edn by
Communication and Interpersonal Skills in Social Work are at the heart of effective social work practice. This book offers students a solid grounding in the core knowledge and skills of communication needed for effective practice. The book takes the key theories in communication and explains them in a systematic and practice-related way, essential for both undergraduate and postgraduate students to develop a critical understanding of the subject. This crucial fifth edition supports students with core communication skills by providing in-depth coverage closely interwoven with learning features that engage, stimulate and challenge. Working with children, adults and those with learning difficulties are all fundamental aspects of the book making it useful to students of all disciplines.
Communication in Social Work, 2nd edn by 
Developing Skills and Knowledge for Social Work Practice by
This very practical guide will teach students everything they need to know to successfully apply theory, methods and approaches in real-life practice. It will assist in developing and hone their skills to make the best start in their practice placement and beyond as a newly qualified practitioner. To get the most out of this book, visit the companion website at https://www.study.sagepub.com/rogers2eto find journal articles, templates, 'how to' guides and brand new videos with discussion questions, and a glossary.
Relationship-Based Social Work, 2nd edn by
This comprehensive guide to relationship-based practice in social work communicates the theory using illustrative case studies and offers a model for practice. Updated and expanded, it now includes increased coverage of anti-oppressive and diversity issues, service user perspectives and systemic approaches in social work. The book explores the ranges of emotions that practitioners may encounter with service users, and covers working in both short-term and long-term professional relationships. It also outlines key skills, such as how to establish rapport, and explores systemic issues, such as building appropriate support systems for practice, management and leadership.
Effective Communication, 3rd edn by
Communication is the basis of so much of what happens in the workplace and indeed in our private lives. Without effective communication our lives are so much the poorer and with so many more problems. This book, now in an updated third edition, is therefore an important and valuable resource for anyone where success in their work depends on the quality of their interactions, whether face to face, in writing or electronically. Divided into two parts, the book focuses first on theoretical insights to provide a firm basis of understanding and then on practice issues. Written in Neil Thompson's characteristically clear and accessible style, this important book provides an essential foundation for making sure that we are communicating with one another as effectively as possible.
The Critically Reflective Practitioner, 2nd edn by
This important textbook is a revised and updated edition of a very well-received and much-appreciated insightful guide to reflective practice designed for students, practitioners and managers of social work, health care and related fields. Its clear and careful integration of both the 'thinking and doing' elements of the often challenging task of practising reflectively makes this book an ideal text at all levels of study and practice. Divided into two parts, the book focuses first on theoretical issues to help develop a sound foundation of understanding of critically reflective practice and then on practical guidance on how to make this type of practice a reality.
Communicating with Children and Their Families: Responding to Need and Protection by 
The Emotionally Intelligent Social Worker by 
Communicating with Children and Young People by 
Motivational Interviewing by 
Families and Family Therapy by 
Communication Skills in Health and Social Care, 4th edn by
Our ability to communicate is a key part of everyday life and is an essential skill, particularly when communicating with vulnerable people in a health and social care setting. Presented in a unique and easy-to-use dictionary format, this practical guide will help students and practitioners understand and apply the principles of effective communication. From the 'how to' practicalities through to challenges and honing existing skills, this book will ensure they have the confidence and knowledge to communicate skilfully and successfully in many different contexts and settings. This book is essential reading for anyone working in the helping professions for whom good communication skills are an essential part of their role. The new edition features: New entries covering social media, mindfulness, several tricky topics, and much more. Service user snippets to help address and understand the issues about service user perspectives. Skills to ensure you are engaging with the Professional Capabilities Framework.
Using Counselling Skills in Social Work by 
TA Today: A New Introduction to Transactional Analysis, 2nd edn by 
Learning to Counsel by
Drawing on their numerous years experience as counsellors, tutors, and writers, Jan Sutton and William Stewart introduce readers to the basic principles that underpin counselling practice. Written in a clear, concise and jargon-free style, and with its wealth of case studies, examples of skills in practice, and practical exercises, this new edition is an ideal text for those embarking on a counselling or psychotherapy course, trainee counsellors, counselling tutors to use in training, professionals working in the area of health care, management and education, and counsellors working in the voluntary sector. It provides insight into various counselling approaches; clarifies the nature of counselling and the role of the counsellor, and assists readers to develop a repertoire of key counselling skills and qualities, such as active listening, genuineness, unconditional positive regard, empathy, goal-setting, etc. The book also addresses the important issues of ongoing supervision to enhance counselling practice, and counsellor self-care to reduce the risk of burnout.
Working with Aggression and Resistance in Social Work by
Social workers have roles that require them to engage with clients and families who may be 'reluctant clients', ambivalent or resistant towards those seeking to help and protect. This includes safeguarding roles in relation to children and vulnerable adults, and work to engage with marginalised groups such as young offenders and those with mental health and substance misuse problems. The text addresses issues in relation to the main client groups, and specific chapters take an overview of issues such as understanding and defusing aggressive behavior and keeping yourself safe from assault.
The People Solutions Sourcebook by 
Solution-Focused Therapy by
"Walsh's book is not only thorough, thoughtful, and clearly written, it is also timely because as SF practice applications with their parallel knowledge bases continue to multiply, the questions Walsh addresses so competently are cutting edge for adopting a SF approach to practice in human services." Peter De Jong, Solution-focused Therapist, Trainer, and Consultant and Emeritus Professor of Social Work, Calvin College, USA Based in part on original research with over 50 practitioners, this absorbing book provides a practice model for solution-focused helping, developed from real-life experiences across a number of settings. The book begins by reviewing the original De Shazer and Berg practice model, establishing a case for change and then introduces a new concept for the solution-focused helper. Case examples are used to demonstrate the application of this new model in five different practice settings: Healthcare Learning disability Services for older people and end-of-life care Community development Services for globalised diverse communities Reflective exercises and research reviews are included for each setting as well as sections on policy contexts and ethical dimensions. The Solution-Focused Helper will support students and practitioners who are already familiar with the basic concepts and principles of solution-focused work and who wish to develop their practice and deepen their knowledge.
Specialist Communication Skills for Social Workers, 3rd edn by
This book gives students a solid understanding of the key issues involved in effective communication within social work settings. Now going into its second edition, it combines practical examples with a clear theoretical approach and demonstrates the subtleties of communication with specific and diverse service users and carers.
