Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Writing Analytical Assessments in Social Work by You write something in order that it can be read, not in order that it can be written - write reports that achieve and illuminate. The best-selling Writing Analytical Assessments in Social Work guides you through the principles of good writing and methodically shows you: how to analyse how to structure the process of writing an assessment (researching, chronologising, informed data-gathering, putting it all together), and how to get this done under time constraints. The new edition goes further than just teaching writing skills by exploring the practical and psychological barriers to good practice. It also looks at how you turn good analysis into useful recommendations - making it something useful for the family - by applying the same analytical, critical thinking. Written in an accessible way and packed with examples and case studies, this book is both practically-minded and constantly returning to first principles: reminding you what it is you are trying to achieve and teaching you how to write reports that can be read by families and judges alike. You will learn how to write high quality, useful and timely assessments without becoming mechanistic or managerial. This book kills the myth of a trade-off between efficiency and quality of work.
Call Number: 808.066361 DYK + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Getting Ready for Direct Practice in Social Work by This very practical book will support students to meet the requirements of the compulsory Readiness for Direct Practice assessment. Useful for social work students and lecturers alike, it takes each of the 9 domains that students are tested on, breaks them down step-by step and provides a range of interactive activities that enable them to acquire the knowledge, values and skills for practice required at this level. It offers students a foundation to the key areas of knowledge for each of the 9 domains, while also signposting them to other popular books in the Transforming Social Work Practice series for a more detailed discussion as well.
Call Number: 361.32 SCO
Publication Date: 2017
The Reflective Journal by This is the second edition of Barbara Bassot's hugely popular The Reflective Journal, the uniquely inspiring introduction to critically reflective practice. Using bite-sized theory combined with plentiful guidance and supporting activities, this book gives the reader a place to reflect on their learning and use writing as a tool for developing their thinking.
Call Number: 370.152 BAS
Publication Date: 2016
Reflective Practice for Social Workers by Reflective practice is at the heart of becoming a competent and confident social work professional. This book demystifies the reflective process and provides a straight forward knowledge base to enhance professional development. Whether you are a qualifying social work student, a practitioner with supervisory responsibilities, or are engaged in professional post qualifying education and training, this book will help you to understand and evidence your development as a reflective practitioner, and guide the assessment of others' ability to reflect. Topics covered include: How to develop a professional identity and an understanding of professional culture A summary of key theoretical explanations of the concepts of 'reflection' and 'reflective practice' The significance of Emotional Intelligence for social work practice and how the reflective process can enhance interpersonal and intrapersonal competence How to overcome common obstacles to reflective practice, including low motivation and lack of confidence in your reflective abilities How to write reflectively in order to evidence development of reflective practice to others How to create a learning environment that enables growth and development through reflection and provides accurate assessment outcomes Written in a straightforward and engaging way, with reflective activities and resources throughout, this key resource will develop your knowledge, understanding and application of reflective practice. "This is a well-written text that provides much-needed clarity around a central process within professional social work. Students, practitioners and managers will learn lots about how to use reflection effectively. Linda Bruce writes with authority and a deep understanding - she has done an excellent job." Steven Hothersall, Head of Social Work Education, Edgehill University, UK "This is an extremely important area of practice in the current complex world of social work practice and social care. It takes students and practitioners through the relevant knowledge and theory base and appropriate tools for reflection. I thoroughly recommend it." Joyce Lishman
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Social Work with Adults by There has been a resurgent interest in relationship-based practice and the Care Act 2014 recognises the significance of effective working relationships with service users and carers to ensure a person-centred approach and effective participation and co-production. The Care Act advocates a strengths-based, whole family approach to assessment, care and support planning. Relationship, putting the person at the centre of the process, lies at the heart of this approach. This book is a practice-based exploration of relationship-based practice for social work with adults that looks at underpinning theory, legislation and policy drivers, value perspectives and skills in practice. The first part of the book introduces relationship-based practice and theoretical concepts, such as psycho-social and psycho-dynamically informed approaches to practice which highlight the complexities of relationships, at conscious and unconscious levels, both from the service user/carer perspective and the professional's perspective, where reflection and use of self are key; it critically explores the legislation and policy context. A conceptual model called IDEAS is introduced which provides a framework for the second part of the book, by breaking down the discussion into relevant practice issues. Here theory, skills and values are applied through case examples to illustrate the efficacy of relationship-based practice across a range of practice settings in social work with adult service users and carers.Â
Call Number: 361.320941 DIX + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Social Work and Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans People by This important textbook makes a timely contribution to international agendas in social work with lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans (LGBT) people. It examines how practitioners and student social workers can provide appropriate care across the lifespan (including work with children and families and older people) and considers key challenges in social work practice, for example asylum, mental health, and substance misuse. Drawing on practice scenarios, the book takes an enquiry-based learning approach to facilitate critical reflection. Its distinctive approach includes: * use of the concepts of the Professional Capabilities Framework for social work * key theoretical perspectives including human rights * structuring of the text around the framework of the UK National Occupational Standards for Social Work * student-friendly features including key questions and exercises * a complete glossary of key terms and concepts * examination of the UK policy and legislative context It is informed by international research in social work with LGBT people The book is essential reading for students on qualifying social work programmes and practitioners in statutory, voluntary and independent sectors.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Social Work Theories in Context by This popular and innovative core text book explores contemporary social work theories and perspectives in a systematic way, using an integrated and flexible framework to link context, theory, and practice approaches. Healy expertly provides an applied guide to social work theory across a range of organisational contexts, showing social work as a diverse activity that is profoundly shaped by professional purpose, public policy, and practice locations. This is ideal reading to support and develop undergraduate and postgraduate students taking modules on Social Work Theories and Methods on qualifying professional programmes. Its international breadth and supportive pedagogical features have ensured the book's value to students of social work all over the world.
Call Number: 361.3 HEA +eBook
Publication Date: 2014
The Compleat Social Worker by The role of the social worker is to be found lying interestingly between society and the individuals they work with. As a result, social workers often feel pulled between the demands and challenges that each presents. The Compleat Social Worker explores the many debates the profession enjoys, including those between nature and nurture, care and control, thought and feeling, art and science, facts and values. In examining these ideas and the discussions they sponsor it celebrates social work's rich heritage of scientific thought and human relationships. It is out of these many divisions and disagreements and their resolution that the idea of the well-rounded, compleat social worker emerges. For those wishing to explore and enjoy, argue and acknowledge what it is to be a good social worker, this elegant book will prompt lively interest and debate.
Call Number: 361.3 HOW
Publication Date: 2014
Understanding emotions in social work : theory, practice and reflection by As a social work student or practitioner it is essential to be able to understand, recognize and critically reflect on your own emotions and those of others. Consciously or unconsciously, emotions play an integral role in day-to-day decision making, assessments and relationship building, and a lack of emotional awareness and understanding can result in poor practice and a failure to think critically.
Practical and engaging, this book encourages you to consider the role of emotions in the light of your own experiences and practice contexts.
Key topics include:
Understanding what emotions are and how they apply to social work practice
Recognizing and reflecting upon the emotional content of practice
Incorporating emotions in reflective journals, reports, case notes, critical incident analysis and academic writing
Understanding the conscious and unconscious emotions at play in your practice and how these can impact upon the development of positive relationships
Enhancing understanding of self and the importance of resilience
Understanding the role of emotions in supervision, support and reflection
In addition, each chapter includes case studies, to make the link between theory and practice, reflective exercises to encourage the reader to consider the discussion from their own contexts and perspectives. There will also be key learning points to summarise the main ideas presented at the end of each chapter.
This is an invaluable book for all social work students and early career practitioners aiming to boost their self-awareness and personal wellbeing, and ultimately improve their practice.
"This is a timely publication that reinforces the centrality of emotions and emotional intelligence in social work practice - a must read for all aspiring and practising social workers."
Gillian Ruch, Professor of Social Work, School of Education and Social Work, University of Sussex, UK
"What Understanding Emotions in Social Work does is cuts across all layers of the social work curriculum and indeed the "resistance and lethargy'''' regarding ''''the role of emotions within social work practice" that Ingram refers to. It affords us with a medium through which to explore the substance of that which causes us to react and provides us with a space in which to learn more about what it means to respond; both to ourselves and to those we engage with. It is a book for anyone involved in professional social work education and practice; one that will become a well-thumbed addition to the discerning practitioner''s library. "
Amanda M L Taylor, Senior Lecturer, School of Social Work, University of Central Lancashire, UK
"Understanding Emotions in Social Work: Theory, practice and reflection, highlights the importance of emotion in social work practice. Dr Richard Ingram clearly makes the case that the recognition of, reflection upon, responsiveness to, and regulation of emotion, contributes to effective social work practice, as well as, the development of healthy practitioners and practice environments. This book reinforces how social work is primarily a human interactive and relational practice in which emotion and affect have a pivotal role. I highly recommend Understanding Emotions in Social Work as an essential text for students, social workers, supervisors and managers."
Associate Professor Kieran O''Donoghue, Head of School of Social Work, Massey University, New Zealand
"This is one of those books that you will keep on your desk and look back at time and time again. It is written in a very accessible style and is easily picked up. Dr. Ingram locates emotions within social work practice and guides the reader through a number of case study''s and learning activities to explore this concept in-depth. This has been a very helpful text book during my final placement."
Darren Gibson, Social Work Student, Dundee University
Call Number: 150.24362 ING
Publication Date: 2015
Social Work Practice Placements by All social work students must undertake Practice Placements in the second and final years of their programme and the placement is a crucial area of assessment for passing the degree course. This book will help to develop student′s critical thinking, analytic and reflective skills as they progress through their two placements. It will help them build a successful practice portfolio and understand exactly how they fit into the myriad of other professionals and services that make up day to day reality of practice. Crucially, this book will also feature a chapter on developing these skills into the workplace. Uniquely, it argues that becoming a competent and thriving social worker is dependent on success in the placement.
Call Number: 361.3 JON
Publication Date: 2015
Supervision in Social Work by Dix, H. and Meade, J. (2019) The IDEAS Model
First published in 1976, Supervision in Social Work has become an essential text for social work educators and students, detailing the state of the field and the place, function, and challenges of supervision in social work practice. This fifth edition takes into account the sizable number of articles and books published on supervision since 2002. Changes in public health and social welfare policy have intensified concern about the social work supervision of licensed practitioners. Tax and spending limitations at all levels of government, combined with the unfolding effects of welfare reform and managed health care, have increasingly emphasized the need for the efficient and accountable administration of health and social services in the private and public sectors. This edition confronts issues raised by these developments, including budgetary allocation and staff management, the problems of worker burnout and safety, the changing demographics and growing diversity of the supervising workforce, evidence-based and licensure supervision, and performance appraisal.
Call Number: 361.320683 KAD
Publication Date: 2014
Communication and Interpersonal Skills in Social Work by Communication and Interpersonal Skills in Social Work are at the heart of effective social work practice. This book offers students a solid grounding in the core knowledge and skills of communication needed for effective practice. The book takes the key theories in communication and explains them in a systematic and practice-related way, essential for both undergraduate and postgraduate students to develop a critical understanding of the subject. This crucial fifth edition supports students with core communication skills by providing in-depth coverage closely interwoven with learning features that engage, stimulate and challenge. Working with children, adults and those with learning difficulties are all fundamental aspects of the book making it useful to students of all disciplines.
Call Number: 361.32 KOP
Publication Date: 2020
Evidence-Based Practice in Social Work by At a time when the credibility of social work is again being questioned, this book offers a critical approach to the debate concerning the reliability and validity of the evidence, research and knowledge that underpins professional social work practice. It critiques the notion of ′evidence′ and argues that ′knowledge′ is a much broader, more appropriate concept to consider. There is analysis of the different components and sources of this knowledge and an exploration of the often discordant interface between practice and knowledge. Finally, it supports the view that knowledge can be actively developed and tested by a range of people.
Call Number: 361.32 MAT
Publication Date: 2011
Assessment in Social Work by Assessment is a crucial social work task. Yet there is so much to consider that it can sometimes feel overwhelming. This book gives you structured, practical guidance on how to approach this vital professional skill. In a clear and accessible style, the authors provide both the theory behind assessment as well as helpful practice examples. At the heart of this authoritative book is a set of theoretical maps to guide social workers' thinking and decision-making when undertaking assessment. Highlights of this fourth edition are: ? insights into the kind of high-quality collaborative assessment that is most likely to lead to effective interventions ? chapters discussing the specific challenges of assessment in children's and adult services ? careful analysis of the latest legislation and government guidance ? engaging features such as case studies, questions to challenge your perceptions, and thinking points to make you consider your own experience in the workplace. This fully revised edition of a tried-and-tested text gives social work students and practitioners alike a coherent and reliable guide to best practice.
Call Number: 361.32 MIL + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Innovations in Practice Learning by Dix, H. (2018) Supervision within Placement: Achieving Best Practice
As a social work practice educator and trainer, it is useful to seek advice from more experienced colleagues who could help you find ways to overcome difficulties you may encounter in supporting individual students. This book is a handy companion for those times when a colleague is not readily available. The editor, Sue Taplin, chose these contributors for their practice wisdom and because she knew that, from their own experience, they had developed innovative practice that you can adapt to find your own solutions to the problems that you face. The contributors can be said to be experts by experience in their chosen field, some are practitioners, some are academics, but all have faced difficulties in the real world of practice learning and have been generous enough to offer to contribute a chapter to this edited textbook.
Call Number: 361.307155 TAP
Publication Date: 2018
Working with Aggression and Resistance in Social Work by Social workers have roles that require them to engage with clients and families who may be 'reluctant clients', ambivalent or resistant towards those seeking to help and protect. This includes safeguarding roles in relation to children and vulnerable adults, and work to engage with marginalised groups such as young offenders and those with mental health and substance misuse problems. The text addresses issues in relation to the main client groups, and specific chapters take an overview of issues such as understanding and defusing aggressive behavior and keeping yourself safe from assault.
Call Number: 361.320289 TAY
Publication Date: 2011
The Professional Social Worker by In this ground-breaking book, bestselling author Neil Thompson turns his attention to the question of, 'What does it mean to be truly professional in the field of social work?' Notions of professionalism in social work have changed over time. Early traditional ideas showed themselves to be elitist and inconsistent with the fundamental principles of social work, and have been followed by a period of uncertainty as to whether or not social workers are professionals at all. Now, with a move towards a new form of professionalism beginning to take shape, this book presents a cogent argument for reaffirming this vital aspect of social work. Informed by extensive experience and expertise, Thompson examines the role of the modern-day social worker in four parts: as problem solver, thinker, manager and professional. With a sharp focus on the idea of authentic professionalism throughout, and written in Thompson's inviting and highly accessible style, each chapter features: * Clear and easily digestible explanations * Real-life 'Voice of experience' examples to illustrate key points * 'Practice focus' sections to encourage readers to think contextually * A broad range of reflective questions and activities to aid application, and a wealth of guidance on further learning Whether you are a social work student new to the complexities of this demanding, rewarding field, or a qualified practitioner seeking a revitalizing source of guidance, this book will help you meet the challenge of developing a professionalism that is consistent with the values of contemporary social work.
Call Number: 361.32 THO
Publication Date: 2016
Working with Involuntary Clients by Many social workers are employed in positions where they deal with involuntary clients. These positions are demanding, and require a specific set of skills. The new edition of this successful book provides an accessible and practical guide for managing difficult and sensitive relationships and communicating with reluctant clients. The author directly links theory to real-life by adopting a jargon-free and accessible guide to working in partnership with involuntary clients. Written in a lively and engaging style, the book is relevant across the curriculum and richly illustrated with case examples drawn from a variety of service-user groups, such as work with people with addictions, young people who refuse to go to school and mental health patients who refuse treatment, as well as examples from criminal justice and child protection. The author's integrated and systematic approach promotes prosocial values; emphasizes clarifying roles; and deals with issues of authority and goal-setting. Fully revised and updated throughout to reflect contemporary research and practice, the book includes increased emphasis on risk assessment, cognitive behavioural approaches, including manualised intervention programs, and reflective practice. The result is an invaluable practical guide for social work and social care students and professionals to working with both clients and their families.
Call Number: 361.06 TRO
Publication Date: 2015
Manthorpe, J., Moriarty, J., Hussein, S., Stevens, M., and Sharpe, E. (2015). Content and purpose of supervision in social work practice in England: Views of newly qualified social workers, managers and directors. British Journal of Social Work, 45(1), 52–68