Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art and Copyright. 2nd edn. (Print Copy) by In recent years the intellectual property protection afforded to works of art has received increased attention from artists, museums, galleries, auction houses, publishers and their professional staff and legal advisers, as well as from those teaching or studying copyright and/or the law of cultural property. This was the first text to examine in detail the intellectual property rights protecting artistic works and artists' rights generally in the United Kingdom. First published in 2001, Art and Copyright has established itself as a leading text in the field. Now revised and updated, the second edition includes expanded coverage of Artist's Resale Right and the relationship between designs law and artistic works, as well as greater coverage of new media and art, and digital developments generally. It also includes additional precedent materials and checklists. It remains an invaluable work for all those involved in art law and for intellectual property lawyers involved with the exploitation and/or sale of artistic works, as well as for intellectual property academics, researchers, law students, curators, publishers, artists, gallery owners and all those interested in how the law protects artistic works.
Call Number: 341.7582 STO
Publication Date: 2012-02-21
Artistic license : the philosophical problems of copyright and appropriation. (Print copy) by The art scene today is one of appropriation--of remixing, reusing, and recombining the works of other artists. From the musical mash-ups of Girl Talk to the pop-culture borrowings of Damien Hirst and Jeff Koons, it's clear that the artistic landscape is shifting--which leads to some tricky legal and philosophical questions. In this up-to-date, thorough, and accessible analysis of the right to copyright, Darren Hudson Hick works to reconcile the growing practice of artistic appropriation with innovative views of artists' rights, both legal and moral. Engaging with long-standing debates about the nature of originality, authorship, and artists' rights, Hick examines the philosophical challenges presented by the role of intellectual property in the artworld and vice versa. Using real-life examples of artists who have incorporated copyrighted works into their art, he explores issues of artistic creation and the nature of infringement as they are informed by analytical aesthetics and legal and critical theory. Ultimately, Artistic License provides a critical and systematic analysis of the key philosophical issues that underlie copyright policy, rethinking the relationship between artist, artwork, and the law.
Call Number: 341.7582
Publication Date: 2017-04-26
Brilliant Graduate CV. (Print Copy) by When you apply for your first job, your CV is compared to hundreds of others from graduates with similar academic credentials. You've only got the time it takes the employer to scan the pages to show how brilliant you are. How do you impress them when you don't know what employers are actually looking for? Brilliant CV tells you what they want and how to write it. This new edition of the bestselling CV guide has been rewritten and redrafted to deliver specific advice for graduates on innovative approaches to writing your first CV, so now you can really shine out from the rest. Based on research among employers and recruiters, revealing what they look for, Brilliant CV will ensure your CV never fails to impress.
Call Number: 650.14 kir
Publication Date: 2013-11-27
Creative Arts Marketing. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by Creative Arts Marketing third edition is a long-awaited update of a classic and influential text. A ground-breaking book when first published, it covers the core concepts of marketing and management as they apply to the arts and heritage industries with a depth that is still unrivalled. With an emphasis on global case studies, practical examples and discussion questions and an author team that draws from rich and varied experiences in the arts management sector, the book serves as a text for students as much as it is a practitioner's guide to industry best practice. Extensively revised to reflect the dramatic changes to this industry, this edition integrates organizational and management subject matter, reflecting the marketing function's deeper involvement in broad organizational issues. This fully updated and revised third edition features: Audience diversity and audience development The impact of digital technologies on the industry An exploration of the increasingly complex relationship between public and private funding for the arts Ethics and sustainability issues for arts marketers Cultural policy changes in the industry Including a brand new companion website, complete with materials for tutors and students for the first time, the return of this important text will be welcomed by students, tutors and professionals in the arts.
Call Number: 706.88
Publication Date: 2017-10-06
Enforcing Intellectual Property Rights : a concise guide for businesses, innovative and creative individuals. (E-book) by What do you do if ... you need to seek a court order against a former employee who has set up in competition with you, having first helped themselves to your customer database? ... Or if you are deluged with complainants who have bought products they thought were yours, but turn out to have been made from inferior materials and without your knowledge or consent? ... Or if you receive a solicitor's letter complaining that a product you are about to launch infringes their client's trade mark or registered design? Jane Lambert's concise and practical guide gives you the knowledge that you need to make crucial decisions to protect your intellectual assets before it is too late. It should be kept close at hand for use in emergencies, just like a first aid manual. Its purpose is to alert you to problems so that you can take the right steps to manage them, in consultation with your professional advisors, before they develop into crises. And, if the worst does happen and you need to go to law, the guide provides you with the information you need to understand the process, the risks and how to prepare effectively. If you are planning an enforcement strategy, looking for the optimum patent or registered trade mark or design protection and to secure the appropriate insurance to make sure you have a fund available to enforce these, then this book is for you. If you're already in hot water, someone with an intellectual property problem who needs to make fast decisions in very little time, then this book is for you too. It could help you avoid the most expensive mistake of your life.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2009-02-28
From Me to We (Ebook) by Steel yourself, your career, and your business against futurethreats with effective collaboration From Me to We shows business decision makers how theability to effectively collaborate for mutual commercial benefit isthe solution to future-proofing a business. Smashing the myth ofthe "Me Economy," this insightful guide explains the model ofCommercial Collaboration and the mindset and think-space itrequires. Expanding upon Sheryl Sandberg's "Lean In" premise, thisbook emphasizes the need for continuous professional evolution andeffort, and describes why women hold an important role in effectingchange. Ideas are illustrated with examples, and backed bysector-specific research and interviews with business leaders whohave seen real-world results of effective business collaboration.The Seven ReConnect Principles outline methods of realizing change,providing readers a way forward that will future-proof themselves,their careers, and their businesses. Collaboration isn't just a soft skill that's nice to have? it's a vital business practice that affects the bottomline. As the way we do business continues to evolve, collaborationis becoming ever more crucial to steeling an organization againstthe threats of tomorrow. From Me to We is a practicalhandbook for more robust business strategy. Learn the key principles at the heart of CommercialCollaboration Discover the value of trusting others in businessrelationships Become authentically invested in the "We" space Gain the tools to open up to a smarter, savvier way of businessthinking Business leaders and entrepreneurs have the complexresponsibility of constant strategic thinking. If those finelytuned minds can be brought together for mutual benefit, thepossibilities expand and the rewards can be dramatically amplified.From Me to We helps leaders drive better business, armoredagainst future threats.
Call Number: 658.4
Publication Date: 2015-02-02
Innovation and Entrepreneurship (Print copy) by Innovation and Entrepreneurship 3rd Edition is an accessible text on innovation and entrepreneurship aimed specifically at undergraduate students studying business and management studies, but also those on engineering and science degrees with management courses. The text applies key theories and research on innovation and entrepreneurship and then reviews and synthesises those theories and research to apply them in a much broader and contemporary context, including the corporate and public services, emerging technologies and economies, and sustainability and development and creating and capturing value from innovation and entrepreneurship. In this third edition the authors continue to adopt an explicit process model to help organise the material with clear links between innovation and entrepreneurship. This text has been designed to be fully integrated with the Innovation Portal at www.innovation-portal.info, which contains an extensive collection of additional resources for both lecturers and students, including teaching resources, case studies, media clips, innovation tools, seminar and assessment activities and test questions.
Call Number: 658.421 BES
Publication Date: 2015
Innovation and Entrepreneurship. 3rd edn. (Ebook) by Innovation and Entrepreneurship 3rd Edition is an accessible text on innovation and entrepreneurship aimed specifically at undergraduate students studying business and management studies, but also those on engineering and science degrees with management courses. The text applies key theories and research on innovation and entrepreneurship and then reviews and synthesises those theories and research to apply them in a much broader and contemporary context, including the corporate and public services, emerging technologies and economies, and sustainability and development and creating and capturing value from innovation and entrepreneurship. In this third edition the authors continue to adopt an explicit process model to help organise the material with clear links between innovation and entrepreneurship. This text has been designed to be fully integrated with the Innovation Portal at www.innovation-portal.info, which contains an extensive collection of additional resources for both lecturers and students, including teaching resources, case studies, media clips, innovation tools, seminar and assessment activities and test questions.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2015-06-08
Innovative Business Practices : prevailing a turbulent era. (E-book) by This second decade of the millennium finds the world changing at a once unimaginable pace. Businesses, tangled in the interwoven threads of galloping globalization, technological advances, cultural diversity, economic recession and deep-rooted human social evolution, struggle to keep up with incessant changes; consequently and inexorably experiencing severe difficulties and disorientation. Executives, much bewildered, habitually turn to conventional, time-honoured strategies and practices, which increasingly fail to offer the much-sought answers and means to survival, competitiveness and growth. We are currently experiencing a business era of turbulence and dynamic change - an era that inherently rejects conventionality and orthodox business theory to reward businesses embracing agility, reflex-style adaptability, innovation and creativity. This turbulence is, however, not a parenthesis or even a pattern, but the new reality in which each business must reinvent and redefine itself. This is a new reality of stakeholders that shift focus from the external to the internal, from the tangible to the intangible, and from fact to perception. This book presents research and paradigms that transcend classical theory in order to examine how business practice is positively affected by these conditions. Across a multitude of sectors and organisational types, scholars of different business specialisations set the theoretical foundations of contemporary thinking and present their practical implementations.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
The Journey to a Personal Brand (print copy) by Transitions in life are now a reality for everyone. This book takes you through the journey to create your own Personal Brand and take ownership of and address these transitions based on your values, career, skills, knowledge and aims. A Personal Brand is a positive in the reader¿s life ¿ professionally, personally and psychologically. It builds people¿s confidence and is founded on who they are, their achievements and successes, as well as their technical and person-to-person skills. Drawing upon well-known Personal Brands, including Walt Disney, Nelson Mandela and Steve Jobs, The Journey to a Personal Brand forces readers to reevaluate themselves critically and honestly. Readers are guided through creating a distinctive brand from scratch through to launching it on digital media. This intensely practical guide is essential reading for the professional, the return-to-worker, the student and early retiree alike or those wishing to improve their life and bring added value to their careers, personal profile or reputation.
Call Number: 650.1 COM
Publication Date: 2017-12-19
Management and the Arts. 5TH EDN. (Print copy) by The fifth edition of Management and the Arts discusses the theory and practical applications from all arts management perspectives including planning, marketing, finance, economics, organization, staffing, and group dynamics. Revised to reflect the latest thinking and trends in managing organizations and people, this fifth edition features class-tested questions in each chapter, which help students to integrate the material and develop ideas about how the situations and problems could have been handled. Statistics and real-world examples illustrate all aspects of arts managements, from budgeting and fundraising, to e-marketing and social networking, to working effectively with boards and staff members. Case studies focus on the challenges facing managers and organizations every day, and "In the News" quotes provide real-world examples of principles and theories. Students in Arts Management university courses along with arts managers in a theatre, museum, dance company, and opera will gain useful insights into strategic planning, organization, and integrated management theories with this book.
Call Number: 700.688
Publication Date: 2014-09-09
Reflective Practice: writing and professional development. 5th edn. (Print copy) by Reflecting thoughtfully on your work is vital for improving your own self-awareness, effectiveness and professional development. This newly updated fifth edition of Gillie Bolton's bestselling book explores reflective writing as a creative and dynamic process for this critical enquiry. New to this edition: An expanded range of exercises and activities A new emphasis on using e-portfolios Further guidance on reflective writing assignments Enhanced discussion of reflection as a key employability skill Additional online resources This popular book has been used worldwide in various disciplines including education, social work, business and management, medicine and healthcare and is essential reading for students and professionals seeking to enhance their reflective writing skills and to examine their own practice in greater critical depth.
Call Number: STSK 808.06661 BOL
Publication Date: 2018
The Startup Owner's Manual : the step-by-step guide for building a great company. (Print copy) by More than 100,000 entrepreneurs rely on this book for detailed, step-by-step instructions on building successful, scalable, profitable startups. The National Science Foundation pays hundreds of startup teams each year to follow the process outlined in the book, and it's taught at Stanford, Berkeley, Columbia and more than 100 other leading universities worldwide. Why? The Startup Owner's Manual guides you, step-by-step, as you put the Customer Development process to work. This method was created by renowned Silicon Valley startup expert Steve Blank, co-creator with Eric Ries of the "Lean Startup" movement and tested and refined by him for more than a decade. This 608-page how-to guide includes over 100 charts, graphs, and diagrams, plus 77 valuable checklists that guide you as you drive your company toward profitability. It will help you: � Avoid the 9 deadly sins that destroy startups' chances for success � Use the Customer Development method to bring your business idea to life � Incorporate the Business Model Canvas as the organizing principle for startup hypotheses � Identify your customers and determine how to "get, keep and grow" customers profitably � Compute how you'll drive your startup to repeatable, scalable profits. The Startup Owners Manual was originally published by K&S Ranch Publishing Inc. and is now available from Wiley. The cover, design, and content are the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product.
Call Number: 658.11
Publication Date: 2020-03-17
Taken by Surprise: cutting-edge collaborations between designers, artists and brands. (Print copy) by Today, the most clever brand communication is self-promulgating. Anyone currently working in brand communication is facing fundamental yet compelling challenges. In an age in which we are flooded with information, consumers are becoming more critical and discerning. They are deploying ever finer filters so that only the most relevant pieces of information ever reach them. Because of this development, traditional brand and advertising messages are far less likely to be seen. Taken by Surprise is a collection of communication measures that are innovative and relevant enough to overcome these hurdles. It features projects ranging from radical to glamorous, from flashy to subtle. They include limited special edition products resulting from collaborations between brands, artists, and designers; impressive corporate mailings and publications that have become collector's items; as well as guerilla urban interventions and exclusive events. The brand communication measures introduced in Taken by Surprise are so cleverly planned and disseminated that they become self-promulgating-- either through word of mouth or in the flow of digital information. Target audiences become brand ambassadors, customers become collaborators, and consumption becomes an experience.Taken by Surprise offers advertising agencies, designers, and marketing departments inspiration for the development of more original, more creative, and more attractive brand communication than ever before.
Call Number: 741.6 KLA
Publication Date: 2012-06-11
Value Proposition Design (Print copy) by The authors of the international bestseller Business Model Generation explain how to create value propositions customers can't resist Value Proposition Design helps you tackle the core challenge of every business -- creating compelling products and services customers want to buy. This highly practical book, paired with its online companion, will teach you the processes and tools you need to create products that sell. Using the same stunning visual format as the authors' global bestseller, Business Model Generation, this sequel explains how to use the "Value Proposition Canvas" to design, test, create, and manage products and services customers actually want. Value Proposition Design is for anyone who has been frustrated by new product meetings based on hunches and intuitions; it's for anyone who has watched an expensive new product launch fail in the market. The book will help you understand the patterns of great value propositions, get closer to customers, and avoid wasting time with ideas that won't work. You'll learn the simple process of designing and testing value propositions, that perfectly match customers' needs and desires. In addition the book gives you exclusive access to an online companion on Strategyzer.com. You will be able to assess your work, learn from peers, and download pdfs, checklists, and more. Value Proposition Design is an essential companion to the "Business Model Canvas" from Business Model Generation, a tool embraced globally by startups and large corporations such as MasterCard, 3M, Coca Cola, GE, Fujitsu, LEGO, Colgate-Palmolive, and many more. Value Proposition Design gives you a proven methodology for success, with value propositions that sell, embedded in profitable business models."
Call Number: 658.4012 OST
Publication Date: 2014