Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review (Print copy) by
Showing you how to take a structured and organized approach to a wide range of literature review types, this book helps you to choose which approach is right for your research. Packed with constructive tools, examples, case studies and hands-on exercises, the book covers the full range of literature review techniques.New to This Edition: Full re-organization takes you step-by-step through the process from beginning to end New chapter showing you how to choose the right method for your project Practical guidance on integrating qualitative and quantitative data New coverage of rapid reviews Comprehensive inclusion of literature review tools, including concept analysis, scoping and mappingWith an emphasis on the practical skills, this guide is essential for any student or researcher needing to get from first steps to a successful literature review.
Visual Theory: painting and interpretation (Print copy) by
In recent years there has been a growing interest in problems of theory and method in the field of art history. Semiology, phenomenology, feminism, analytical philosophy and Marxism have all contributed to a lively debate among art historians and have helped to stimulate new research. This volume draws together some of the authors who have been most prominent and influential in recent methodological debates and enables them to develop their views. The contributions include Norman Bryson on semiology and the limits of meaning; Arthur C. Danto on description and pictorial perception; Rosalind Krauss on language; Linda Nochlin on gender and power; Michael Podro on depiction; David Summers on image and metaphor; Richard Wollheim on the role of spectator. Each of these major contributions is subjected to critical scrutiny by other well-known figures in the field. A unique volume which will establish itself as a key reference point for the discussion of art historical method.
A Student's Guide to Methodology. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
The Third Edition of this hugely popular text provides students with straightforward principles and frameworks for understanding methodology. Peter Clough and Cathy Nutbrown are adept at making methodology meaningful for beginners and more advanced readers alike. Their book clearly demonstrates how methodology impacts upon every stage of the research process, and gives readers all of the tools that they need to understand it. New to this edition are the following: - new boxes and guidance on research ethics in every chapter - more international examples and perspectives - up to date coverage of online research methods - more examples from real students - a new companion website, featuring Powerpoint slides for lecturers The authors take an applied approach and every chapter contains a variety of practical examples from real research. Readers are encouraged to reflect on their own practice at every step, meaning that the book remains extremely relevant throughout. It will be invaluable for all students who are doing a dissertation or taking a research methods module in education, the social sciences, business and health.
Research design: qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches. 5th edn. (Print Copy) by 
Thinking through painting: reflexivity and agency beyond the canvas (Print copy) by 
Art in Theory, 1900-2000 (Print copy) by
This popular anthology of twentieth-century art theoretical texts has now been expanded to take account of new research, and to include significant contributions to art theory from the 1990s. New edition of this popular anthology of twentieth-century art-theoretical texts. Now updated to include the results of new research, together with significant contributions from the 1990s. Includes writings by critics, philosophers, politicians and literary figures. The editors provide contextual introductions to 340 texts. Complements Art in Theory 1648-1815 and Art in Theory 1815-1900 to create a complete survey of the theories underpinning the development of art in the modern period.
Handbook of Arts-Based Research. (Print copy) by
Bringing together interdisciplinary leaders in methodology and arts-based research (ABR), this comprehensive handbook explores the synergies between artistic and research practices and addresses issues in designing, implementing, evaluating, and publishing ABR studies. Coverage includes the full range of ABR genres, including those based in literature (such as narrative and poetic inquiry); performance (music, dance, playbuilding); visual arts (drawing and painting, collage, installation art, comics); and audiovisual and multimethod approaches. Each genre is described in detail and brought to life with robust research examples. Team approaches, ethics, and public scholarship are discussed, as are innovative ways that ABR is used within creative arts therapies, psychology, education, sociology, health sciences, business, and other disciplines. The companion website includes selected figures from the book in full color, additional online-only figures, and links to online videos of performance pieces. See also Dr. Leavy's authored book, Method Meets Art, Second Edition, an ideal course text that provides an accessible introduction to ABR.
Air and Light and Time and Space: how successful academics write. (Print copy) by
From the author of Stylish Academic Writing comes an essential new guide for writers aspiring to become more productive and take greater pleasure in their craft. Helen Sword interviewed one hundred academics worldwide about their writing background and practices. Relatively few were trained as writers, she found, and yet all have developed strategies to thrive in their publish-or-perish environment. So how do these successful academics write, and where do they find the "air and light and time and space," in the words of poet Charles Bukowski, to get their writing done? What are their formative experiences, their daily routines, their habits of mind? How do they summon up the courage to take intellectual risks and the resilience to deal with rejection? Sword identifies four cornerstones that anchor any successful writing practice: Behavioral habits of discipline and persistence; Artisanal habits of craftsmanship and care; Social habits of collegiality and collaboration; and Emotional habits of positivity and pleasure. Building on this "BASE," she illuminates the emotional complexity of the writing process and exposes the lack of writing support typically available to early-career academics. She also lays to rest the myth that academics must produce safe, conventional prose or risk professional failure. The successful writers profiled here tell stories of intellectual passions indulged, disciplinary conventions subverted, and risk-taking rewarded. Grounded in empirical research and focused on sustainable change, Air & Light & Time & Space offers a customizable blueprint for refreshing personal habits and creating a collegial environment where all writers can flourish.
This link will take you to the subject guide for Art Practice where you will find lots of useful information to help you with finding resources and study skills.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Al-YahYai, F.K. (2014) ‘Practice-based research as an approach for seeing, re-seeing and creating artworks’, International Journal of Education Through Art, 10(3), pp. 287-302. Click here to access
Mills, B. (2008) ‘After the Interview’, Cinema Journal, 47 (2), pp. 148-154.Click here to access
Reymond, C. (2017) ‘Premises for interaction between images’, Visible Language, 51/52 (3 – 1), pp. 148-173. Click here to access
Skains, Rr (2018) ‘Creative practice as research: discourse on methodology’, Media Practice & Education, 19 (1). pp. 82-97. Click here to access
A-N magazine - back copies available in print in the library and online via A-Z of online journals http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/a-z-ejournals
Art, design & communication in higher education - Available full-text online via A-Z of online journals http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/a-z-ejournals
Art/Research International - Available full-text online via A-Z of online journals http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/a-z-ejournals
Creative Review – Available in print in the library and full-text online via A-Z of online journals http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/a-z-ejournals
Creativity Research Journal - Available full-text online via A-Z of online journals http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/a-z-ejournals
