Art As Experience (Print copy) by
Based on John Dewey's lectures on esthetics, delivered as the first William James Lecturer at Harvard in 1932, Art as Experience has grown to be considered internationally as the most distinguished work ever written by an American on the formal structure and characteristic effects of all the arts: architecture, sculpture, painting, music, and literature.
The Journey to a Personal Brand (print copy) by
Transitions in life are now a reality for everyone. This book takes you through the journey to create your own Personal Brand and take ownership of and address these transitions based on your values, career, skills, knowledge and aims. A Personal Brand is a positive in the reader¿s life ¿ professionally, personally and psychologically. It builds people¿s confidence and is founded on who they are, their achievements and successes, as well as their technical and person-to-person skills. Drawing upon well-known Personal Brands, including Walt Disney, Nelson Mandela and Steve Jobs, The Journey to a Personal Brand forces readers to reevaluate themselves critically and honestly. Readers are guided through creating a distinctive brand from scratch through to launching it on digital media. This intensely practical guide is essential reading for the professional, the return-to-worker, the student and early retiree alike or those wishing to improve their life and bring added value to their careers, personal profile or reputation.
The creative curve: how to develop the right idea, at the right time. (Print copy) by 
Education for Socially Engaged Art. (Print copy) by 
The A-Z of Visual Ideas (Print book) by
A source book of visual ideas and strategies for visual communication How to Solve any Creative Brief: An A Z of Ideas explains the key ideas, sources of inspiration and visual techniques that have been used throughout design history. Aimed principally at the student market, the book shows where ideas and inspiration come from and helps unlock the reader s creativity, providing numerous strategies to help solve creative briefs and design problems. Using an upbeat, dynamic and easy-to-understand A Z format, the book reveals techniques that can be exploited to deliver ideas with greater impact, with each entry offering a different starting point. Entries include everything from Intuition and Instinct to Happy Accidents and Hidden Messages, and feature a section explaining how to use the idea or technique, providing readers with an infallible tool kit of inspiration. Including hundreds of inspirational quotes from creative people and packed with greatexamples of advertising campaigns, posters, book and magazine covers, illustrations and editorial images, this indispensable creative primer also includes previously unpublished photographic work.
Brief: make a bigger impact by saying less. (Print copy) by
Get heard by being clear and concise The only way to survive in business today is to be a lean communicator. Busy executives expect you to respect and manage their time more effectively than ever. You need to do the groundwork to make your message tight and to the point. The average professional receives 304 emails per week and checks their smartphones 36 times an hour and 38 hours a week. This inattention has spread to every part of life. The average attention span has shrunk from 12 seconds in 2000 to eight in 2012. So, throw them a lifeline and be brief. Author Joe McCormack tackles the challenges of inattention, interruptions, and impatience that every professional faces. His proven B.R.I.E.F. approach, which stands for Background, Relevance, Information, Ending, and Follow up, helps simplify and clarify complex communication.nbsp;BRIEFnbsp;will help you summarize lengthy information, tell a short story, harness the power of infographics and videos, and turn monologue presentations into controlled conversations. Details the B.R.I.E.F. approach to distilling your message into a brief presentation Written by the founder and CEO of Sheffield Marketing Partners, which specializes in message and narrative development, who is also a recognized expert in Narrative Mapping, a technique that helps clients achieve a clearer and more concise message Long story short:nbsp;BRIEFnbsp;will help you gain the muscle you need to eliminate wasteful words and stand out from the rest. Be better. Be brief.
Learning Journals. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Fully updated with important new theory and practical material, this second edition of Learning Journals offers guidance on keeping and using journals and gives step-by-step advice on integrating journal writing on taught courses, in training and professional development and in supporting personal development planning (PDP) activities. Key topics covered include: the nature of learning journals and how we learn from them the broad range of uses of learning journals, including portfolios and personal and professional development the depth and quality of reflection in learning journals the assessment of learning journals and reflective writing the use of narrative and story-telling techniques in journals. With useful exercises and activities that enhance learning journal work in a structured manner, Learning Journals is invaluable reading for teachers and students in higher education, for all professionals, particularly those working in the health services and business and training and for all those who want to learn more about keeping a fulfilling personal journal.
Learning Journals (E-book) by
Fully updated with important new theory and practical material, this second edition of Learning Journals offers guidance on keeping and using journals and gives step-by-step advice on integrating journal writing on taught courses, in training and professional development and in supporting personal development planning (PDP) activities. Key topics covered include: the nature of learning journals and how we learn from them the broad range of uses of learning journals, including portfolios and personal and professional development the depth and quality of reflection in learning journals the assessment of learning journals and reflective writing the use of narrative and story-telling techniques in journals. With useful exercises and activities that enhance learning journal work in a structured manner, Learning Journals is invaluable reading for teachers and students in higher education, for all professionals, particularly those working in the health services and business and training and for all those who want to learn more about keeping a fulfilling personal journal.
Your Creative Career: turn your passion into a fulfilling and financially rewarding lifestyle. (Print copy) CURRENTLY ON ORDER by
Anna Sabino is an artist, but certainly not a starving one. She wasn't born into a wealthy family, didn't inherit money from a distant relative, and doesn't have a rich husband. But she made it as an entrepreneur, as a single woman, and most importantly, as an artist. In Your Creative Career, she shows her fellow artists and creatives how to build a business that reflects their talent and true calling while generating serious cash. Whether the goal is to build an empire and be financially free, create a lifestyle business, or just to have more time, Your Creative Career guides you through every aspect of creative entrepreneurship. If you want to start your creative career, transition into it, or give it a boost, this book is a must read that features: Proven systems and strategies to create ideally priced products that keep selling. The importance of going through all the steps of making it from idea inception and execution to branding and distribution. The importance of transitioning from artistic solitude to collaborative, creative entrepreneurship. The most effective marketing and PR methods adjusted to the new reality of short attention spans and information overload.
Reflective Practice: writing and professional development. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
Reflecting thoughtfully on your work is vital for improving your own self-awareness, effectiveness and professional development. This newly updated fifth edition of Gillie Bolton's bestselling book explores reflective writing as a creative and dynamic process for this critical enquiry. New to this edition: An expanded range of exercises and activities A new emphasis on using e-portfolios Further guidance on reflective writing assignments Enhanced discussion of reflection as a key employability skill Additional online resources This popular book has been used worldwide in various disciplines including education, social work, business and management, medicine and healthcare and is essential reading for students and professionals seeking to enhance their reflective writing skills and to examine their own practice in greater critical depth.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
This link will take you to the subject guide for Art Practice where you will find lots of useful information to help you with finding resources and study skills.
Davison, S. (2015) ‘One simple question can change your creative career. but the answer may shock you’, Applied Arts Magazine, 30(3), pp. 14-15. Click here to access
Grebing, M. (2017) ‘Keep your clients forever’, Animation, 31(5), p. 26. Click here to access
Lee, E.M. (2016) ‘Building existing client relationships’, Contract, 57(4), p. 42, Click here to access
Loveland, K., Loveland, J., Lounsbury, J. and Dantas, D. (2016) ‘A portrait of the artist as an employee: the impact of personality on career satisfaction’, International Journal Of Arts Management, 19(1), pp. 4-15. Click here to access
British Journal of Aesthetics - Available full-text online via A-Z of online journals http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/a-z-ejournals
Contemporary Aesthetics - Available full-text online via A-Z of online journals http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/a-z-ejournals
Innovation - Available full-text online via A-Z of online journals http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/a-z-ejournals
The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism - Available full-text online via A-Z of online journals http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/a-z-ejournals
The Journal of Entrepreneurship - Available full-text online via A-Z of online journals http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/a-z-ejournals
Thinking Skills and Creativity - Available full-text online via A-Z of online journals http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/a-z-ejournals
Work Employment and Society - Available full-text online via A-Z of online journals http://libguides.uos.ac.uk/a-z-ejournals
