Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Manage Your Arts, Humanities and Social Science Degree. (Print copy) by This innovative book takes a practical, no-nonsense approach to all areas of undergraduate life, from getting started and maximizing learning opportunities to making choices, mastering time management and succeeding in exams. It also covers the wider aspects of the university experience including peer pressure, finances and grasping the opportunities available to undergraduates throughout their degree course. The book concludes with guidance on how to break into a career as a graduate.
Call Number: 371.30281 BEC
Publication Date: 2002
Critical thinking skills: effective analysis, argument and reflection. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by The new edition of this leading guide helps students to develop reflective thinking skills, improve their critical analysis and construct arguments more effectively. Easy-to-follow, step-by-step explanations along with plenty of examples and activities develop understanding at each stage. Includes a brand new chapter on employability.
Call Number: 370.152 COT
Publication Date: 2017
Dissertations and Project Reports: a step by step guide. (Print copy) by Faced with your dissertation or major project and need some help getting started? Thinking about how your final project will affect your overall grades? Then read on. Tapping into her tried and tested formula for learning, bestselling author of The Study Skills Handbook, Stella Cottrell, takes you step-by-step through the key stages of planning, developing, researching and writing up your dissertation or project report. Whether you are an undergraduate or a postgraduate, this guide: - Offers comprehensive coverage of the major components essential to producing strong dissertations and project reports - Gives unique emphasis to the importance of project management skills - Gets you involved through interactive activities, checklists and engaging student examples Most importantly, it offers the support you need at every stage and will help ensure that the creation of your academic masterpiece is an enjoyable and rewarding experience.
Call Number: 808.02 COT
Publication Date: 2014-01-10
Doing a Successful Research Project: using qualitative and quatitative methods. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by Carrying out a research project is a daunting task, presenting you with deadline anxieties, unfamiliar language and practical dilemmas. This book is a straightforward, user-friendly guide on how to manage your research project successfully - akin to having a tutor at your side. Doing a Successful Research Project: * offers an accessible introduction to qualitative and quantitative methods * takes you through the entire research process from planning to write-up * includes extensive real-life examples of good and bad research practice The second edition of this no-nonsense textbook, containing further discussion of internet-based research methods, research ethics and more, provides students with the self-discipline and the confidence to conduct their own research projects, whatever discipline they are from, and also the understanding required to identify the advantages and disadvantages of different strategies.
Call Number: 300.72 DAV
Publication Date: 2014
How to Write Your Undergraduate Dissertation. 2nd edn. by Unlike any other book this teaches students how to generate their own ideas and develop them into original research projects. Using examples from all disciplines, it not only teaches students how to plan and research using all the qualitative and quantitative techniques and instruments, but also how to construct arguments and use evidence and language consistently. Throughout it emphasizes that writing is the most difficult form of thinking and dissertations are a test of our ability both to think and write clearly.
Call Number: 808.02
Publication Date: 2014
Cite Them Right: the essential referencing guide. 11th edn. (Print copy) by This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The eleventh edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online.
Call Number: 808.027 PEA
Publication Date: 2019
The Literature Review: a step by step guide for students. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by This Second Editionof Diana Ridley′s bestselling guide to the literature review outlines practical strategies for reading and note taking, and guides the reader on how to conduct a systematic search of the available literature, and uses cases and examples throughout to demonstrate best practice in writing and presenting the review. New to this edition are examples drawn from a wide range of disciplines, a new chapter on conducting a systematic review, increased coverage of issues of evaluating quality and conducting reviews using online sources and online literature and enhanced guidance in dealing with copyright and permissions issues.
Call Number: 808.02 RID
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
The Dissertation Journey: a practical and comprehensive guide to planning, writing, and defending your dissertation. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by How to reach the pinnacle of academic achievementThe dissertation is a tough mountain to climb; half of all doctoral students never make it to the top. To overcome the practical, social, and psychological obstacles along the way, you need a knowledgeable guide and the right tools. This comprehensive how-to guide to developing and writing a quality dissertation provides: Expanded and updated coverage of crucial topics such as conducting a literature review, dissertation support groups, and harnessing technology to conduct research Progress tracking tools, sample forms, resource lists, and other user-friendly elements Thoroughly updated and revised chapters with the most current need-to-know information
Call Number: 808.02 ROB
Publication Date: 2018
Dissertation : the lazy students' guide wo writing a dissertation. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by The Lazy Student's Guide to Writing a Dissertation is the ultimate study companion for final year students, with no-nonsense, morally questionable tips and tricks geared toward helping you complete your dissertation as painlessly as possible. Written with the stark realities of student life in mind, the guide shows you the essential information required to complete your dissertation, including how best to choose a topic and a tutor, write a literature review, and squeeze every last drop out of your final submission. Not for the easily offended, the guide will drag you kicking and screaming (and occasionally laughing) through the process of writing your dissertation, without wasting time repeating content already available online and provided by your university. Filled with "the collective wisdom of a million, billion forefathers... with a handy tl;dr (too long; didn't read) summary placed conveniently at the end of each chapter to help satisfy the fragile minds of the ADHD generation," The Lazy Student's Guide contains all the good stuff other guidebooks won't tell you. So if you're one of the hundreds of thousands of undergraduate students who each year suffers the trauma of having to write a dissertation, take a look inside and see for yourself how you can achieve a decent mark with minimal effort.
Call Number: 808.02 ROB
Publication Date: 2016-09-17
Surviving Your Dissertation: a comprehensive guide to content and process. 4th edn. (Print copy) by In the fully updated Fourth Edition of their best-selling guide, Surviving Your Dissertation, Kjell Erik Rudestam and Rae R. Newton answer questions concerning every stage of the dissertation process, including selecting a suitable topic, conducting a literature review, developing a research question, understanding the role of theory, selecting an appropriate methodology and research design, analyzing data, and interpreting and presenting results. In addition, this must-have guide covers topics that other dissertation guides often miss, such as the many types of quantitative and qualitative research models available, the principles of good scholarly writing, how to work with committees, how to meet IRB and ethical standards, and how to overcome task and emotional blocks. With plenty of current examples, the new edition features an expanded discussion of online research, data collection and analysis, and the use of data archives, as well as expanded coverage of qualitative methods and added information on mixed methods.
Call Number: 808.02 RUD
Publication Date: 2014
How to Do Your Research Project. 3rd edn. (PRINT COPY) by ′Gary's book, never more than a metre away, has been my indispensable research companion. With its easy layout, my well-worn copy, stripy with florescent marker and pencilled notes, has been my go-to, on-hand supervisor throughout my degree; taking the distance out of distance learning. Replace daunting and impossible with clarity and entertainment. I wouldn't be where I am today without it; it has been my gateway to achievement′ - Ellie Davies Moore, distance learner in Multi-Sensory Impairment at the University of Birmingham With more advice on concluding, writing up and presenting research, using social media and digital methods, and understanding what supervisors want and how to work with them, the third edition of this bestselling title continues to lead the way as an essential guide for anyone undertaking a research project in the applied social sciences. Setting out a clear and detailed road map, Gary Thomas guides the reader through the different stages of a research project, explaining key steps and processes at each level in refreshingly jargon-free terms. It covers: - How to choose your research question - Project management and study skills - Effective literature reviews - Methodology, theory and research design frames - Ethics and access - Data collection tools - Effective data analysis - Discussing findings, concluding and writing up Packed with engaging anecdotal evidence and practical advice and supported by an interactive website featuring worksheets, videos, SAGE Journal articles and more, this new edition is a user-friendly, one-stop-shop for guidance on research principles.
Call Number: 808.023 THO
Publication Date: 2017-08-09
Art Practice as Research: inquiry in visual arts. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by "F. Scott Fitzgerald famously said that the test of a 'first rate intelligence' is 'the ability to hold two opposed ideas in the mind and still retain the ability to function.' In this book, his magnum opus, artist and scholar Graeme Sullivan shows us a first rate mind at work. He convincingly straddles the often wide gaps between art and science, mind and body, research and practice, teaching and doing, traditional and postmodern views of education and of art, creative and critical thinking. Indeed, as his enigmatic title indicates, he is actually able to keep three usually disparate concepts--art, research, and practice--in mind at the same time. Through his skilled use of compelling sidebars and apt illustrations, Sullivan shows that he can practice what he preaches. I have been arguing with and learning from Graeme for thirty years and am grateful that he has the opportunity to share his provocative ideas and insights with a wider readership. Indeed, whether or not we agree with every contention, he heightens our own intelligences." --Howard Gardner, Harvard Graduate School of Education, Author of Five Minds for the Future Substantially updated and revised, Art Practice as Research, Second Edition presents a compelling theory that the creative and cultural inquiry undertaken by artists is a form of research. Sullivan argues that legitimate research goals can be achieved by choosing different methods than those offered by the social sciences.. Artists emphasize the role of the imaginative intellect in creating, criticizing, and constructing knowledge that is not only new but also has the capacity to transform human understanding. New to this Edition Two new chapters explore debates surrounding art practice as research and projects undertaken within the art world, community, and institutional settings. New, expanded sections make reference to the work of over fifty artist-researchers from countries such as Azerbaijan, Australia, China, Italy, Mexico, Pakistan, Serbia, South Korea, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Documentation of a series of approaches (for instructors and students), grounded in art-making traditions unique to visual arts research, is included. Would you like to connect with the author? Go to Graeme Sullivan's website, or visit a blog by Graeme Sullivan welcoming contributors interested in discussing ideas and sharing information about art as a form of research.
Call Number: 707.2 SUL
Publication Date: 2009
Your Undergraduate Dissertation the essential guide for success. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy hereIn the second editionof this best-selling guide, Nicholas Walliman provides expert, step-by-step advice on managing and developing a successful undergraduate project. This book takes you through each stage of your dissertation, answering questions including: How do I choose an appropriate topic for my dissertation? How do I write a research proposal? What′s a literature review, how do I conduct it and how do I write it up? How can I ensure I′m an ethical researcher? What methods of data collection are appropriate for my research question? Once I have collected my data, what do I do? What′s the best structure for my dissertation? Full of examples from real student projects, interdisciplinary case studies and illustrated with cartoons to make you smile along the way, this book will tell you all you need to know to write a brilliant dissertation. TheStudent Successseries are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Successseries helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
Call Number: 808.02 WAL
Publication Date: 2013-09-03