Graphic Design Theory: readings from the field (Print copy) by
The titles in our best-selling Design Brief series are highly praised by graphic design students, educators, and professionals worldwide as invaluable resources. Each beautifully designed, affordable volume offers a concise overview of a design fundamentalthe hows of design. But as most seasoned designers will tell you, a comprehensive education also requires an understanding of the whys of design practice.Graphic Design Theory presents groundbreaking, primary texts from the most important historical and contemporary designthinkers. From Aleksandr Rodchenko's "Who We Are: Manifesto of the Constructivist Group" to Kenya Hara's "Computer Technology and Design," this essential volume provides the necessary foundation for contemporary critical vocabulary and thought. Graphic Design Theory is organized in three sections: "Creating the Field" traces the evolution of graphic design over the course of the early 1900s, including influential avant-garde ideas of futurism, constructivism, and the Bauhaus; "Building on Success" covers the mid- to late twentieth century and considers the International Style, modernism, and postmodernism; and "Mapping the Future" opens at the end of the last century and includes current discussions on legibility, social responsibility, and new media.Striking color images illustrate each of the movements discussed and demonstrate the ongoing relationship between theory and practice. A brief commentary prefaces each text, providing a cultural and historical framework through which the work can be evaluated. Authors include such influential designers as Herbert Bayer, Lszl Moholy-Nagy, Karl Gerstner, Katherine McCoy, Michael Rock, Lev Manovich, Ellen Lupton, and Lorraine Wild. Additional features include a timeline, glossary, and bibliographyfor further reading. A must-have survey for graduate and undergraduate courses in design history, theory, and contemporary issues,Graphic Design Theory invites designers and interested readers of all levels to plunge into the world of design discourse.
The advertising concept book : think now, design later. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by 
Design Thinking: understanding how designers think and work. (Print copy) by
Design thinking is the core creative process for any designer; this book explores and explains this apparently mysterious "design ability." Focusing on what designers do when they design, Design Thinking is structured around a series of in-depth case studies of outstanding and expert designers at work, interwoven with overviews and analyses. The range covered reflects the breadth of design, from hardware and software design, to architecture and Formula One. The book offers new insights and understanding of design thinking, based on evidence from observation and investigation of design practice. Author Nigel Cross, considered one of design's most influential thinkers, goes to the heart of what it means to think and work as a designer. The book is an ideal guide for anyone who wants to be a designer or to know how good designers work in the field of contemporary design.
100 Ideas That Changed Graphic Design. (Print copy) by
New in the "100 Ideas that Changed..." series, this book demonstrates how ideas influenced and defined graphic design, and how those ideas have manifested themselves in objects of design. The 100 entries, arranged broadly in chronological order, range from technical (overprinting, rub-on designs, split fountain); to stylistic (swashes on caps, loud typography, and white space); to objects (dust jackets, design handbooks); and methods (paper cut-outs, pixelation).
D&AD 50 YEARS. (Print copy) by
Excellence in visual thinking: Celebrating 50 years of outstanding creativity in design and art direction The annual D&AD Awards honor outstanding creativity, originality, technical excellence, and innovation in design and advertising. Every year, thousands of entrants submit a host of crazy, beautiful, thought-provoking, sublime and, occasionally, winning entries. Panels of rigorous judges debate, sometimes for days on end, to decide on the best work, which all appears in the annual book; the best of the best get nominations, favorites receive a Yellow Pencil, and sometimes but not always, there are entries that are so incredible that they receive the highest accolade: a Black Pencil. For this special anniversary volume, each of the last 50 years is represented by a D&AD president or other key figure who shares his or her favorites from the year. Interspersed stories, biographies, and a timeline document the history of D&AD and the development of the industry, through the experiences of creative individuals who have been most involved with its evolution. From the birth of TV advertising in the sixties to the digital revolution of the 2000s, D&AD has lived through it all and helped to shape what it is today. This is the chance to explore the best from the world of creative communications over the past five decades. Text in English, French, and German
Ogilvy on advertising. (Print copy) by 
Simply Brilliant: powerful techniques to unlock your creativity and spark new ideas. (Print copy) by
Do you label yourself as "just a numbers person"? Do you pigeonhole your capabilities to merely that of an analyst or other "non-artist"? Stop feeding yourself these lies, and learn how even you can tap into the creative genius driving Silicon Valley's success stories and begin brainstorming innovation solutions to your company's challenges.Using his CreativityWorks framework, creativity and innovation expert Bernhard Schroeder explains how to break out of your self-imposed mental box, reignite natural curiosity, and move step by step through a set of exercises that help individuals and teams. In Simply Brilliant, learn how to:* Fuel creativity through tight deadlines* Create more ideas in brainstorming sessions* Radically improve products* Find inspired solutions using tools such as IdeaGen, SCAMPER, Tempero, and the Phoenix ListLet go of the "I'm not creative" mindset, and open the door to imagination and limitless opportunity! Even a "numbers person" like you can capture markets with your company's next innovative idea.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
The Fundamentals of Creative Advertising. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
The Fundamentals of Creative Advertising 2nd edition provides a rich introduction to the key elements of creative advertising. Burtenshaw, Mahon and Barfoot explore the role of the creative team (comprising art director and copywriter) and examine the ways in which these teams generate ideas and the techniques they utilize. This second edition reflects the changes that have taken place within the advertising industry over recent years and, in particular, the growth of digital media and integrated advertising campaigns. Interviews with leading practitioners, exercises and checklists combine to provide an up-to-date overview of the industry, and to encourage a practical application of the creative ideas explored within the book.
Powers of Persuasion: the inside story of British advertising 1951-2000. (Print copy) by
During the second half of the 20th century advertising in Britain led the world. In those years advertising boosted economic growth and peoples' affluence. It reached its peak as a proportion of the Gross National Product and increasingly came to touch upon almost every aspect of everyindividual's life. At the same time the advertising industry was frequently under siege, as politicians, pressure groups, and others constantly sought to restrain its influence - and often succeeded. Yet no history of British advertising covering this heady period has previously been published. During the 1970s and 1980s British advertising creativity led the world. But Powers of Persuasion is not just about advertisements - it is about advertising. In the second half of the last century Britainwas also a world leader in setting industry benchmarks - innovating the disciplines of account planning and market research, setting the standard for public service advertising, launching global advertising awards festivals, introducing the best system of advertising regulation, setting up theworld's largest advertising archive, and the most comprehensive on-line advertising research databank in the world. All these were the keystones on which British creativity was build. Simultaneously, British advertising companies - particularly Saatchi and Saatchi and WPP - took their place amongthe world's greatest.Powers of Persuasion tells the authoritative story of this dynamic, exhilarating era, with pen portraits of the personalities involved, anecdotes, case histories, and essential data. Written from the inside by one of the industry's leaders, it is a book for advertising specialists and the generalpublic alike.
The Graphic Design Idea Book by
This book serves as an introduction to the key elements of good design. Broken into sections covering the fundamental elements of design, key works by acclaimed designers serve to illustrate technical points and encourage readers to try out new ideas. Themes covered include form, narrative, color, type and image, ornament, simplicity, and wit and humour. The result is an instantly accessible and easy to understand guide to graphic design using professional techniques.
Book of ideas: a journal of creative direction and graphic design, 1 (Print copy) by 
Making and Breaking the Grid, 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
A comprehensive layout design workshop that assumes that in order to effectively break the rules of grid-based design, one must first understand those rules.
Bibliographic: 100 classic graphic design books. (Print copy) by
Bibliographic: 100 Classic Graphic Design Books is a compilation of the best design books of the last 100 years. It covers a huge range of materialhistoric titles from pioneering type foundries to the best of recent monographs from today's leading studiosand provides a unique insight into the evolution of graphic design in thetwentieth century.
The Creative Process Illustrated: how advertising's big ideas are born. (Print copy) by
Finally, answers to the question: How are big ideas born? Creative directors, art directors and advertising copywriters are some of the great artists and thinkers of our time. Considering the scope and power of their influence in our culture, that's not such a crazy idea. Take an intimate look into the creative processes of some of the top minds in the advertising industry. Get inspired as you learn about the people behind smart ad campaigns and see how they visualize their own search for a great idea. You'll find outstanding work from an eclectic mix of agencies, including TBWA\CHIAT\DAY, The Jupiter Drawing Room, Wieden+Kennedy, McGarryBowen, McCann Erickson, Ogilvy & Mather, Carmichael Lynch and 72andSunny. The Creative Process Illustrated represents a rare and remarkable look at the minds that fuel the ad industry. You'll be inspired to fresh thinking and better work immediately. Inside you'll find: Process canvases--sketches that visually represent the thought process leading to an idea, from some of the best minds in advertising. Profiles--insightful commentary from contributors, samples of their favorite work, perspectives from their colleagues and details of their professional accomplishments. Practical analysis--a breakdown of models of creativity, creativity as a problem-solving device, and putting the creative process to work for you.
Design Disasters: great designers, fabulous failure and lessons learned. (Print copy) by
The thrill of victory...the agony of defeat. We're not talking about just any failure. Design failure. So public. So humiliating. How do designers who are really, really good (we swear!) turn a disaster into a triumph? Read this book and find out, as dozens of top names reveal the heartbreaking--and sometimes hilarious--mistakes they have made and talk about how they were able to grow from the experiences. Self-delusion, overcommitment, procrastination...they're all here. Poor communication, missed deadlines, enraged clients...yes, they're here too. Read Design Disasters and weep? No! Read Design Disasters and be inspired to find the silver lining in even the cloudiest situation. Featuring essays by: Henry Petroski * Alissa Walker * David Barringer * Allan Chocinov * Peter Blegvad * Ross MacDonald * Robert Grossman * Ina Saltz * Warren Lehrer * Rob Trostle * Ralph Caplan * Richard Saul Wurman * Marian Bantjes * Rick Meyerowitz * Amanda Bowers * David Jury * Veronique Vienne * Francis Levy * Colin Berry * Nick Curry * Debbie Millman, and more!
The Accidental Creative: how to be brilliant at a moment's notice. (Print copy) by
Many of us assume that our creative process is beyond our ability to influence, and pay attention to it only when it isn't working properly. For the most part, we go about our daily tasks and everything just 'works.' Until it doesn't. Business creativity expert Todd Henry explains how to unleash your creative potential, day in and day out. Whether you're a creative by trade or an 'accidental creative,' his book willhelp you generate better ideas more cosistently. It will also help you focus on the things that matter most instead of drifting through your days. 'The Accidental Creativeis high-octane fuel for creative productivity.' Steven Pressfield, author of The War of Art'Todd Henry has spent years breaking down the secrets of highly effective creatives. Read this book and prepare to ramp up your brilliance!'Chris Guillebeau, author of The Art of Nonconformity'The Accidental Creativeis an inspiring and practical guide for staying fresh and doing brilliant work. If you regularly need great ideas, this book will help you find them.' Tony Schwartz, author of Be Excellent at Anything'I was struck with how relevant and practical this book is for anyone in the creative field at any level. It is full of invaluable life lessons.' Tim Hales, SVP of Marketing and Design Communications, Fossil'The gift of creative insight is not to b squandered! Todd Henry has assembled a guide that will enrich your creative pursuits. Don't dream without it.' Scott Belsky, CEO, Behance, and author of Making Ideas HappenVisit www.accidentalcreative.com
Creative Illustration. (Print copy) by
During his career as one of America's most sought-after illustrators, Andrew Loomis (1889-1959) taught at the American Academy of Art in Chicago, and in 1939 he codified his lessons in his first manual, Fun with a Pencil. Four years later it had already been through six printings, and he followed up over the next two decades with a series of even more successful how-to books that remain the gold standard for artists to this day. Creative Illustration is considered Loomis's magnum opus, which was aimed primarily at the professional-level illustrator. Divided into seven sections: Line, Tone, Color, Telling the Story, Creating Ideas, Fields of Illustration, and Experimenting and Studies, this book is filled with instructions, tips, insider experiences, and incredible illustrations.
Guerrilla Advertising: unconventional brand communication. (print copy) by
The advertising industry is in a state of flux. In an age where we can choose what media we consume, the traditional channels of TV, press and poster are no longer always the most effective methods for a brand to reach its target audience. As a result, global brands are opting to implement ever more inventive and original schemes to get their projects talked about. Microsoft covered Manhattan in butterfly stickers, Volkswagen made a car out of ice and parked it on a London street, and Adidas suspended two soccer players high above the streets of Tokyo for a death-defying faceoff. This book shows the best international examples of the varied and inventive tactics that are being used today by big-name brands, non-profit organizations and individuals to promote themselves, their ideas and their products. Over 70 international campaigns are featured, grouped according to their approach: stunts, street propaganda, sneaky tactics, site-specific campaigns and multi-fronted attacks.
