Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skills for Success (Print copy) by Skills for Success helps you to develop abilities wanted by today's employers while you're at university or college, such as: * effective self-management and self-awareness * team-working skills * emotional intelligence * a reflective practitioner approach * problem-solving and task management * creative thinking skills. This third edition has been thoroughly updated to give the best advice for planning your career in today's job market. It retains its unique, personalised approach, helping you to get the best out of your education. New to this edition: * a brand new chapter on what employers are looking for * a new introduction, with advice on how to take charge of your life, education and career * additional guidance on career planning and strategies to help you get the job you want. Whether you're just starting at college or university, or about to leave a postgraduate programme, Skills for Success will help you to think creatively and constructively about personal, academic and career goals.
Publication Date: 2015
The Student Skills Guide. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by This guide, in its second edition, outlines key skills for students with new sections on reflecting on your experience, critical analysis, learning styles and successful participation in seminars and meetings.
Call Number: 371.30281 DRE
Publication Date: 2001
The Study Skills Handbook. 5th end. (Print copy) by This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Call Number: 371.3081 COT
Publication Date: 2019
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Reflective Practice: writing and professional development. 5th edn. (Print copy) by Reflecting thoughtfully on your work is vital for improving your own self-awareness, effectiveness and professional development. This newly updated fifth edition of Gillie Bolton's bestselling book explores reflective writing as a creative and dynamic process for this critical enquiry. New to this edition: An expanded range of exercises and activities A new emphasis on using e-portfolios Further guidance on reflective writing assignments Enhanced discussion of reflection as a key employability skill Additional online resources This popular book has been used worldwide in various disciplines including education, social work, business and management, medicine and healthcare and is essential reading for students and professionals seeking to enhance their reflective writing skills and to examine their own practice in greater critical depth.
Call Number: STSK 808.06661 BOL
Publication Date: 2018
Frames of Mind (Print copy) by First published in 1983 and now available with a new introduction by the author, Gardner's trailblazing book revolutionized the worlds of education and psychology by positing that rather than a single type of intelligence, we have several--most of which are neglected by standard testing and educational methods.
Call Number: 153.9 GAR
Publication Date: 2011
Careers by Design: a business guide for graphic designers. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by Through her work with hundreds of corporations around the world, leading headhunter Roz Goldfarb provides readers a treasure trove of valuable information for thriving in this creatively driven business, including updated hiring criteria, the latest developments in technology, and the marketplace affecting design careers. Discussion in this revised and expanded third edition includes: jobs, hiring practices, salaries, portfolios, resumes, networking, headhunters, training, freelancing, and more, with a special focus on the new design disciplines, training requirements, and opportunities for the Internet. Careers by Design should be on the desk of every ambitious graphic designer.
Call Number: 741.6 GOL
Publication Date: 2002
Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer: a guide to careers in design. 5th edn. (Print copy) by Begin your graphic design career now, with the guidance of industry experts Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer is a single source guide to the myriad of options available to those pursuing a graphic design career. With an emphasis on portfolio requirements and job opportunities, this guide helps both students and individuals interested in entering the design field prepare for successful careers. Coverage includes design inspiration, design genres, and design education, with discussion of the specific career options available in print, interactive, and motion design. Interviews with leading designers like Michael Bierut, Stefan Sagmeister, and Mirko Ilic give readers an insider's perspective on career trajectory and a glimpse into everyday operations and inspirations at a variety of companies and firms. Design has become a multi-platform activity that involves aesthetic, creative, and technical expertise. Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer shows readers that the field once known as "graphic design" is now richer and more inviting than ever before. Learn how to think like a designer and approach projects systematically Discover the varied career options available within graphic design Gain insight from some of the leading designers in their fields Compile a portfolio optimized to your speciality of choice Graphic designers' work appears in magazines, advertisements, video games, movies, exhibits, computer programs, packaging, corporate materials, and more. Aspiring designers are sure to find their place in the industry, regardless of specific interests. Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer provides a roadmap and compass for the journey, which begins today.
Call Number: E - Careers Section
Publication Date: 2015
Developing Essential Study Skills. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by This guide to study skills is aimed first-time undergraduates. It aims to provide students with the necessary skills and confidence to be able to study efficiently and independently. Concepts are clearly illustrated with diagrams throughout.
Call Number: 371.30281 PAY
Publication Date: 2000
Artists' Journals and Sketchbooks: exploring and creating personal pages. (Print copy) by Creative souls want and need a special place for recording and decoding their interior world--a place to download all their creative ideas, a place to remember the events of the day, or a place to doodle, to draw, and to dream. This book is for all these people--it's an engaging and intimate glimpse into the personal pages of a wide variety of select artists and journal keepers whose works not only provide visual delight and inspiration but evidence the intensity and devotion that such personal journals invite.
Call Number: 702.81 PER
Publication Date: 2004
365 Habits of Successful Graphic Designers. by In need of advice? Just want to sound off? Opening this volume is like grabbing lunch with a fellow designer to commiserate or celebrate and to learn the ins and outs of design. Good habits are found in every part of the design process, from promoting yourself well in order to land the client, to working with that client, to achieving the desired results on press. 365 Habits of Successful Graphic Designers reveals solutions from a wide range of freelance designers whose years of experience have helped them find not only the most creative solutions for their clients' design needs, but also the most successful solutions. With a rich compilation of material from previous publications by the authors, this book also focuses on the daily habits that inspire these designers to stay creative and business strategies to be successful when working on your own. In its pages, noteworthy designers, both past and present, working in fields ranging from graphic design, fashion, architecture, typography, and industrial design sound off on every topic, ranging from deadlines, inspiration, competition, rules, respect, education, and handling criticism-all with a certain amount of irreverence. Their thoughts are boiled down into succinct, quotable quotes and one-liners that exemplify their character and demonstrate their philosophy on the world around them. Enjoy reading thought bites from everyone from Art Chantry, Margo Chase, Ed Fella, John C. Jay, Hideki Nakajima, Stefan Sagmeister, and Rudy VanderLans. The insights of these top designers will help guide other designers in both approach and execution of designs that succeed for their clients.
Call Number: 741.6
Publication Date: 2011
How to Be a Graphic Designer Without Losing Your Soul. (Print copy) by Published to instant acclaim in 2005, our best sellingHow to Be a Graphic Designer without Losing Your Soul has become a trusted resource for graphic designers around the world, combining practical advice with philosophical guidance to help young professionals embark on their careers. This new, expanded edition brings this essential text up to date with new chapters on professional skills, the creative process, and global trends that include social responsibility, ethics, and the rise of digital culture.How to Be a Graphic Designer offers clear, concise guidance along with focused, no-nonsense strategies for setting up, running, and promoting a studio; finding work; and collaborating with clients. The book also includes inspiring new interviews with leading designers, including Jonathan Barnbrook, Sara De Bondt, Stephen Doyle, Ben Drury, Paul Sahre, Dmitri Siegel, Sophie Thomas, and Magnus Vol Mathiassen.
Call Number: 741.6023 SHA
Publication Date: 2010
Critical Reasoning: a practical introduction. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by We all engage in the process of reasoning, but we don't always pay attention to whether we are doing it well. This book offers the opportunity to practise reasoning in a clear-headed and critical way, with the aims of developing an awareness of the importance of reasoning well and of improving the reader's skill in analyzing and evaluating arguments. In this third edition, Anne Thomson has updated and revised the book to include fresh and topical examples which will guide students through the processes of critical reasoning in a clear and engaging way. In addition, two new chapters on evaluating the credibility of evidence and decision making and dilemmas will fully equip students to reason well. By the end of the book students should be able to: identify flaws in arguments analyze the reasoning in newspaper articles, books and speeches assess the credibilty of evidence and authorities make sound decisions and solve dilemmas approach any topic with the ability to reason and think critically.
Call Number: 160 THO
Publication Date: 2008-09-24