Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Essential & Recommended Reading
The Fundamentals of Creative Advertising. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by The Fundamentals of Creative Advertising 2nd edition provides a rich introduction to the key elements of creative advertising. Burtenshaw, Mahon and Barfoot explore the role of the creative team (comprising art director and copywriter) and examine the ways in which these teams generate ideas and the techniques they utilize. This second edition reflects the changes that have taken place within the advertising industry over recent years and, in particular, the growth of digital media and integrated advertising campaigns. Interviews with leading practitioners, exercises and checklists combine to provide an up-to-date overview of the industry, and to encourage a practical application of the creative ideas explored within the book.
Call Number: 659.1 BUR
Publication Date: 2011
Powers of Persuasion: the inside story of British advertising 1951-2000. (Print copy) by During the second half of the 20th century advertising in Britain led the world. In those years advertising boosted economic growth and peoples' affluence. It reached its peak as a proportion of the Gross National Product and increasingly came to touch upon almost every aspect of everyindividual's life. At the same time the advertising industry was frequently under siege, as politicians, pressure groups, and others constantly sought to restrain its influence - and often succeeded. Yet no history of British advertising covering this heady period has previously been published. During the 1970s and 1980s British advertising creativity led the world. But Powers of Persuasion is not just about advertisements - it is about advertising. In the second half of the last century Britainwas also a world leader in setting industry benchmarks - innovating the disciplines of account planning and market research, setting the standard for public service advertising, launching global advertising awards festivals, introducing the best system of advertising regulation, setting up theworld's largest advertising archive, and the most comprehensive on-line advertising research databank in the world. All these were the keystones on which British creativity was build. Simultaneously, British advertising companies - particularly Saatchi and Saatchi and WPP - took their place amongthe world's greatest.Powers of Persuasion tells the authoritative story of this dynamic, exhilarating era, with pen portraits of the personalities involved, anecdotes, case histories, and essential data. Written from the inside by one of the industry's leaders, it is a book for advertising specialists and the generalpublic alike.
Call Number: 659.1 FLE
Publication Date: 2008
The Advertising Handbook. 4th end. (Print copy) by The Advertising Handbookprovides a critical introduction to advertising and marketing practices today. Contributions from leading international scholars and practitioners offer extended coverage of the contemporary shifts and pressures reshaping the marketing communications (or advertising and marketing) industries and their relationship to the consumer. Profiles and case studies illustrate innovation and diversification among advertising, marketing and public relations companies. Discussion questions aid learning and encourage debate about the activities and influence of advertising today. This Fourth Edition explores the growing significance of: the influence of 'Big Data' and automation in digital advertising; tracking and profiling users across digital communications for targeted and personalised marketing communications; the rise of media and advertising integration through sponsored content, product placement, native advertising and other forms of branded content; the dynamic shifts in ad spending and media-advertising relationships across legacy media, online and social media; and the complex profile of consumer behaviour that produces new challenges for brands and branding. Fully revised and updated, this new edition of The Advertising Handbookis a comprehensive and accessible guide to contemporary advertising and marketing theory and practice, designed to meet the requirements, interests and terms of reference of the most recent generation of media and advertising students.
Call Number: 659.1 POW
Publication Date: 2018-03-05
Creative Advertising: ideas and techniques from the world's best campaigns. (Print copy) by Unraveling the creative process behind some of the most effective campaigns of recent years, Mario Pricken showcases over two hundred examples of international advertising from a wide range of media, including magazines, billboards, television, movies, and the Internet. Each chapter highlights different practical methods for creating innovative and unforgettable ads, with award-winning work from some of the most influential names in the industry. This second edition includes a completely revised and updated introductory chapter plus dozens of new examples that demonstrate a fascinating range of approaches.
Call Number: 741.67 PRI
Publication Date: 2008
Advertising: new techniques for visual seduction. (Print copy) by New in paperback, this book features hundreds of the finest, most inspired ads and campaigns from the best creative teams in the world. Freelance copywriter and designer Uwe Stoklossa shares the secrets behind successful advertising with countless examples of ads he has collected from around the world, and also in the accessible, intriguing essays he writes on perception, optical tricks and illusion. Advertising will arm designers with a myriad of clearly explained techniques for visual seduction, and will appeal to advertising agencies, art directors and all brand professionals.
Call Number: 741.67 STO
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
Guerrilla Advertising: unconventional brand communication. (Print copy) by The advertising industry is in a state of flux. In an age where we can choose what media we consume, the traditional channels of TV, press and poster are no longer always the most effective methods for a brand to reach its target audience. As a result, global brands are opting to implement ever more inventive and original schemes to get their projects talked about. Microsoft covered Manhattan in butterfly stickers, Volkswagen made a car out of ice and parked it on a London street, and Adidas suspended two soccer players high above the streets of Tokyo for a death-defying faceoff. This book shows the best international examples of the varied and inventive tactics that are being used today by big-name brands, non-profit organizations and individuals to promote themselves, their ideas and their products. Over 70 international campaigns are featured, grouped according to their approach: stunts, street propaganda, sneaky tactics, site-specific campaigns and multi-fronted attacks.
Call Number: 659.1 LUC
Publication Date: 2006
The New Guide to Identity: how to create and sustain change through managing identity. (Print copy) by It is, of course, commonplace for corporations to operate sophisticated identity programmes. But identity has now moved way beyond the commercial area. We live in a world in which cities, charities, universities, clubs - in fact any activity that involves more than two or three people - all seem to have identities too. However, very few of these organizations have released the full potential that effective management of identity can achieve. In this book, the world#65533;s leading authority on corporate identity shows how managing identity can create and sustain behavioural change in an organization as well as achieving the more traditional outcome of influencing its external audiences. The New Guide to Identity provides a simple clear guide to identity, including what it is and how it can be used to full effect. If a change of identity is required, the whole process is described from start-up (including investigation and analysis of the current identity), through developing the new identity structure, to implementation and launch. For anyone responsible for the identity of an organization, or for designing it for someone else, or attempting to achieve change in their organization, or studying the subject, this straightforward guide is essential reading.
Call Number: 658.827 OLI
Publication Date: 1996
Marketing Aesthetics: the Strategic Management of Brands, Identity and Image (THIS BOOK IS CURRENTLY ON ORDER) by Marketing is the process of communicating the value of a product to customers, for the purpose of selling that product (goods or services). Another simple definition of "marketing" is "managing profitable customer relationships".Marketing can be looked at as an organizational function and a set of processes for creating, delivering and communicating value to customers, and customer relationship management that also benefits the organization. Marketing is the science of choosing target markets through market analysis and market segmentation, as well as understanding consumer behavior and providing superior customer value. From a societal point of view, marketing is the link between a society's material requirements and its economic patterns of response. Marketing satisfies these needs and wants through exchange processes and building long term relationships.Market and Marketing 1.1 Meaning of market 1.2 Marketing 1.3 Objectives of Marketing 1.4 Importance of Marketing to the Society 1.5 Merchandising 1.6 Selling 1.7 Distribution 1.8 Goods 1.9 Services 1.10 Modern Marketing 1.11 Features of Modern Marketing 2 Marketing System 2.1 Definition 2.2 Marketing Process Essentials of MarketingMarketing Functions 3.1 Classification: 4 Pricing4.1 What is Price? 4.2 Pricing Objectives 4.3 Procedure for Price Determination 4.4 Price Leader 4.5 One price or Variable Price 4.6 Resale Price Maintenance 5 Branding and Packaging 5.1 Branding 5.2 Packaging 6 The Promotional Programme 6.1 Forms of Promotion
Publication Date: 2014
Inclusive Branding: the why and how of a holistic approach to brands. (E-book) by Klaus Schmidt has been a pioneer in the concept and process of inclusive, or holistic, branding as an integral - indeed leading - element in corporate strategy. This book explains the genesis and characteristics of the holistic approach, including its dimensions, structure and methodology, then demonstrates its startling relevance to today's pressing global business issues. Compelling case studies from leading organisations in a variety of industries show the practical necessity of holistic brand thinking, and its results.
Designing Brand Identity. 5th edn. (print copy) by Whether you're the project manager for your company's rebrand, or you need to educate your staff or your students about brand fundamentals, Designing Brand Identity is the quintessential resource. From research to brand strategy to design execution, launch, and governance, Designing Brand Identity is a compendium of tools for branding success and best practices for inspiration. 3 sections: brand fundamentals, process basics, and case studies. Over 100 branding subjects, checklists, tools, and diagrams. 50 case studies that describe goals, process, strategy, solution, and results. Over 700 illustrations of brand touchpoints. More than 400 quotes from branding experts, CEOs, and design gurus. "Designing Brand Identity is a comprehensive, pragmatic, and easy-to-understand resource for all brand builders--global and local. It's an essential reference for implementing an entire brand system." - Carlos Martinez Onaindia, Global Brand Studio Leader, Deloitte "Alina Wheeler explains better than anyone else what identity design is and how it functions. There's a reason this is the 5th edition of this classic." - Paula Scher, Partner, Pentagram "Designing Brand Identity is the book that first taught me how to build brands. For the past decade, it's been my blueprint for using design to impact people, culture, and business." - Alex Center, Design Director, The Coca-Cola Company "Alina Wheeler's book has helped so many people face the daunting challenge of defining their brand." - Andrew Ceccon, Executive Director, Marketing, FS Investments "If branding was a religion, Alina Wheeler would be its goddess, and Designing Brand Identity its bible." - Olka Kazmierczak, Founder, Pop Up Grupa "The 5th edition of Designing Brand Identity is the Holy Grail. This book is the professional gift you have always wanted." - Jennifer Francis, Director of Marketing, Communications, and Visitor Experience, Louvre Abu Dhabi
Call Number: 658.827 WHE
Publication Date: 2017-10-16
Redesigning Print for the Web. (Print copy) by A step-by-step reference for transferring printed materials onto the Web. The text takes the designer through the process from the beginning: determining overall goals, mapping site features, configuring workflow models, and constructing a well-planned, well-executed site.
Call Number: 006.7 GAR
Publication Date: 1997
Notes on Book Design. (Print copy) by In a career spanning more than forty years, Derek Birdsall has achieved renown as a leading book designer in Britain. This practical and inspirational book distils a lifetime’s professional experience. It presents and discusses nearly fifty books he has designed, showing 360 spreads and covers, all in full color and to scale. The designs range from Penguin paperback covers in the 1960s to a recent complete redesign of The Church of England’s book of Common Worship. Among Birdsall’s projects are award-winning art catalogues, catalogues raisonn#65533; on such major artists as Mark Rothko and Georgia O’Keeffe, and books on wine, chess, astronomy, architecture, and fine paper. Birdsall discusses and illustrates the process of book design, from brief to deadline (which he calls the designer’s muse). He includes specimen settings of his favorite text faces as well as an innovative metric grid system for designing books. In addition, he lists books he himself has found useful or inspiring. For every reader curious about the design or production of books, this is a uniquely informative and instructive book.
Call Number: 686 BIR
Publication Date: 2004
Editing by Design for designers, art directors and editors: the classic guide to winning readers. (Print copy) by This completely updated edition of an industry classic shows a new generation of editors and designers how to make their publications sing! Readers will find a treasury of practical tips for helping story and design reinforce each other and create powerful pages that are irresistible to readers. Brimming with hundreds of illustrations, Editing by Design presents proven solutions to such design issues as columns and grids, margins, spacing, captions, covers and color, type, page symmetry, and much more. A must-have resource for designers, writers, and art directors looking to give their work visual flair and a competitive edge!* Explains sophisticated concepts insimple words and pictures * A perfect desk reference for every kind of publishing medium * Vast audience, with equal appeal to designers, writers, publishers, teachers, and students Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
Call Number: 686.2252 WHI
Publication Date: 2003
Signage and Wayfinding Design: a complete guide to creating environmental graphic design systems. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by A new edition of the market-leading guide to signage and wayfinding design This new edition of Signage and Wayfinding Design: A Complete Guide to Creating Environmental Graphic Design Systems has been fully updated to offer you the latest, most comprehensive coverage of the environmental design process--from research and design development to project execution. Utilizing a cross-disciplinary approach that makes the information relevant to architects, interior designers, landscape architects, graphic designers, and industrial designers alike, the book arms you with the skills needed to apply a standard, proven design process to large and small projects in an efficient and systematic manner. Environmental graphic design is the development of a visually cohesive graphic communication system for a given site within the built environment. Increasingly recognized as a contributor to well-being, safety, and security, EGD also extends and reinforces the brand experience. Signage and Wayfinding Design provides you with Chris Calori's proven "Signage Pyramid" method, which makes solving complex design problems in a comprehensive signage program easier than ever before. Features full-color design throughout with 100+ new images from real-world projects Provides an in-depth view of design thinking applied to the EGD process Explains the holistic development of sign information, graphic, and hardware systems. Outlines the latest sign material, lighting, graphic application, and digital communication technologies Highlights code and updated ADA considerations If you're a design professional tasked with communicating meaningful information in the built environment, this vital resource has you covered.
Call Number: 741.6 CAL
Publication Date: 2015
Motion Design: moving graphics for television, music, video, cinema and digital interfaces. (Print copy) by A dynamic atlas of the fundamentals of design for motion and interaction Responding to the dramatic growth in digital media in recent years, academic institutions around the world are introducing the element of motion into graphic design courses. Motion Design provides design educators, students and professionals currently working in, or desiring to enter, the discipline of design for motion and interaction with a solution-driven roadmap for negotiating the territory. Motion Design also addresses the fact that, as different strands of media converge into one digital form, practitioners must respond with greater interdisciplinary collaboration. The book describes what the designer must decide before any software is loaded: the fundamentals, process, and methodology. It goes beyond software, to focus on effective solutions, making it both a design resource and an educational reference. Commercial, academic and artistic applications of animated graphics are used to illustrate how the elements of space, time and motion affect the traditional, print-based understanding of graphic form and communication. Visit the Motion Design website at http://orbitfinder.com/motiondesign/.
Call Number: 741.6 WOO
Publication Date: 2004
Digital Cultures: understanding new media. (Print copy) by Everything you need to know about new media in one accessible, easy to navigate volume! From Facebook to the iPhone, from YouTube to Wikipedia, from Grand Theft Auto to Second Life - this book explores new media's most important issues and debates in an accessible and engaging text for newcomers to the field. With technological change continuing to unfold at an incredible rate, Digital Cultures rounds-up major events in the media's recent past to help develop a clear understanding of the theoretical and practical debates that surround this emerging discipline. It addresses issues such as: What is new media? How is new media changing our lives? Is new media having a positive or negative effect on culture and human communication? Each chapter contains case studies which provide an interesting and lively balance between the well-trodden and the newly emerging themes in the field. Topics covered include digital television, digital cinema, gaming, digital democracy, mobile phones, the World Wide Web, digital news, online social networking, music and multimedia, virtual communities and the digital divide. Digital Cultures is an essential introductory guide for all media and communication studies students, as well as those with a general interest in new media and its impact on the world around us.
Call Number: 302.231 CRE
Publication Date: 2009
The New Media Handbook. (Print copy) by Through a series of edited interviews with new media practitioners including young web developers, programmers, artists, writers and producers, The New Media Handbook examines the essential diversity of new media by combining critical commentary and descriptive and historical accounts. The New Media Handbook focuses upon the key concerns of practitioners and how they create their work and develop their projects - from artists to industry professionals, web designers to computer programmers. It includes a discussion of key concepts such as digital code, information, convergence, interactivity and interface; and identifies key debates and locates the place of new media practice within contemporary culture. The New Media Handbook includes: interviews with new media practitioners case studies, examples and illustrations glossary of technical acronyms and key terms bibliography and list of web resources. Providing students with an essential understanding of the historical and theoretical development of the new media, The New Media Handbook really will be an invaluable study resource for all students of the media.
Call Number: 302.231 RID
Publication Date: 2006
Motion Graphic Design: applied history and aesthetics. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by Enhance your knowledge of motion graphic design aesthetics and history with this authoritative look at the evolution of the art form. Motion Graphic Design,Third Editionprovides a historical and critical overview of how the language of traditional graphic design is combined with the dynamic visual language of cinema in film, television, and interactive media. It features works from highly acclaimed animators and motion graphics studios from across the globe. This new edition has been updated to include: Thorough analysis of motion graphics designed for websites, informational kiosks, desktop and mobile touchscreen applications, DVD menus, and games Inspiring examples of how motion graphics continue to shape our visual landscape by transforming interior and exterior spaces into more engaging, immersive environments Coverage of conventional frame-by-frame animation techniques including stop-motion, cutout, and freehand by contemporary animators and motion design studios Instruction in how to create continuity or discontinuity and maintain the interest of viewers with frame mobility and rhythmic editing Discussion of pictorial and sequential aspects of motion graphics compositions and how they are choreographed to enhance messages and enrich stories A companion DVD featuring new professional and student work from around the globe, as well as figures from the textbook This is a must-have whether you are a student who is learning the principles of motion graphics or a professional in need of inspiration and new ways to impress your clients. Anyone working in or aspiring to work in the motion media industry will benefit greatly from this valuable resource.
Call Number: 006.696 KRA
Publication Date: 2013
New Media: a critical introduction. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by New Media: A Critical Introductionis a comprehensive introduction to the culture, history, technologies and theories of new media. Written especially for students, the book considers the ways in which 'new media' really are new, assesses the claims that a media and technological revolution has taken place and formulates new ways for media studies to respond to new technologies. The authors introduce a wide variety of topics including: how to define the characteristics of new media; social and political uses of new media and new communications; new media technologies, politics and globalization; everyday life and new media; theories of interactivity, simulation, the new media economy; cybernetics, cyberculture, the history of automata and artificial life. Substantially updated from the first edition to cover recent theoretical developments, approaches and significant technological developments, this is the best and by far the most comprehensive textbook available on this exciting and expanding subject. At www.newmediaintro.com you will find: additional international case studies with online references specially created You Tubevideos on machines and digital photography a new 'Virtual Camera' case study, with links to short film examples useful links to related websites, resources and research sites further online reading links to specific arguments or discussion topics in the book links to key scholars in the field of new media.
Call Number: 302.23 DOV
Publication Date: 2009
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library