Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Studyguide for Meggs' History of Graphic Design (Print copy) by Never HIGHLIGHT a Book Again Includes all testable terms, concepts, persons, places, and events. Just the FACTS101 provides the essentials of the textbook: all of the outlines, highlights, and quizzes for your textbook with optional online comprehensive practice tests. Only Facts101. Accompanies: 9780470168738. This item is printed on demand.
Call Number: CURRENTLY ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Meggs' History of Graphic Design. *(E-book) by The bestselling graphic design reference, updated for the digital age Meggs' History of Graphic Design is the industry's unparalleled, award-winning reference. With over 1,400 high-quality images throughout, this visually stunning text guides you through a saga of artistic innovators, breakthrough technologies, and groundbreaking developments that define the graphic design field. The initial publication of this book was heralded as a publishing landmark, and author Philip B. Meggs is credited with significantly shaping the academic field of graphic design. Meggs presents compelling, comprehensive information enclosed in an exquisite visual format. The text includes classic topics such as the invention of writing and alphabets, the origins of printing and typography, and the advent of postmodern design. This new sixth edition has also been updated to provide: The latest key developments in web, multimedia, and interactive design Expanded coverage of design in Asia and the Middle East Emerging design trends and technologies Timelines framed in a broader historical context to help you better understand the evolution of contemporary graphic design Extensive ancillary materials including an instructor's manual, expanded image identification banks, flashcards, and quizzes You can't master a field without knowing the history. Meggs' History of Graphic Design presents an all-inclusive, visually spectacular arrangement of graphic design knowledge for students and professionals. Learn the milestones, developments, and pioneers of the trade so that you can shape the future.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2016-05-10
Design Studies (Print copy) by In an age of globalization and connectivity, the idea of "mainstream culture" has become quaint. Websites, magazines, books, and television have all honed in on ever-diversifying subcultures, hoping to carve out niche audiences that grow savvier and more narrowly sliced by the day. Consequently,the discipline of graphic design has undergone a sea change. Where visual communication was once informed by a designer's creative intuition, the proliferation of specialized audiences now callsfor more research-based design processes. Designers who ignore research run the risk of becoming mere tools for communication rather than bold voices.Design Studies, a collection of 27 essays from an international cast of top design researchers, sets out to mend this schism between research and practice. The texts presented here make a strong argument for performing rigorous experimentation and analysis. Each author outlines methods in which research has aided their designwhether by investigating how senior citizensreact to design aesthetics, how hip hop culture can inﬂuence design, or how design for Third World nations is affected by cultural differences. Contributors also outline inspired ways in which design educators can teach research methods to their students. Finally,Design Studies is rounded out by ﬁve annotated bibliographies to further aid designers in their research. This comprehensive reader is the deﬁnitive reference for this new direction in graphic design, and an essential resource for both students and practitioners.
Call Number: CURRENTLY ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2006-08-31
The Study Skills Handbook. 5th end. (Print copy) by This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Call Number: 371.3081 COT
Publication Date: 2019
Design Elements, Typography Fundamentals, (E-book) by Explore the fundamentals of typography with this practical new guide. An instructional reader rather than historical survey, Design Elements: Typography Fundamentals uses well-founded, guiding principles to teach the language of type and how to use it capably. Designers are left with a solid ground on which to design with type. Limitless potential for meaningful and creative communication exists--this is the field guide for the journey!
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Graphic Design: a new history. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by Instructors: Please note that a third edition of Graphic Design will be available soon. Stock of the second edition should be available to fill orders for summer and fall 2019 classes; beyond fall 2019, please anticipate switching to the third edition. Go to the web page for Graphic Design's third edition to learn more or to request an examination copy. Now in its second edition, this innovative look at the history of graphic design explores its evolution from the 19th century to the present day. Author Stephen J. Eskilson demonstrates how a new era began for design arts under the influence of Victorian reformers, tracing the emergence of modernist design styles in the early 20th century, and examining the wartime politicization of regional styles. Richly contextualized chapters chronicle the history of the Bauhaus and the rise of the International Style in the 1950s and '60s, and the postmodern movement of the 1970s and '80s. The book's final chapter looks at current trends in graphic design, with in-depth discussions of grunge, comic book, and graffiti aesthetics; historicism and appropriation; and the influence of technology, web design, and motion graphics. The second edition features over 80 new images, revised text throughout, a new chapter on 19th-century design, and expanded sections on critical topics including the Swiss Style, Postmodernism, and contemporary design.
Call Number: 741.6 ESK
Publication Date: 2012-02-28
Typography, Referenced (E-book) by Typography, Referenced was named to the 2013 Outstanding Reference Sources List, an annual handpicked list from the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA, a division of the American Library Association) of the most noteworthy reference titles published in 2012. Typography, Referenced is the single most comprehensive volume covering every aspect of typography that any design student, professional designer, or design aficionado needs to know today. In these pages, you'll find: --Thousands of illustrated examples of contemporary usage in design --Historical developments from Greek lapidary letters to the movie Helvetica --Landmark designs turning single letters into typefaces --Definitions of essential type-specific language, terms, ideas, principles, and processes --Ways technology has influenced and advanced type --The future of type on the web, mobile devices, tablets, and beyond In short, Typography, Referenced is the ultimate source of typographic information and inspiration, documenting and chronicling the full scope of essential typographic knowledge and design from the beginnings of moveable type to the present "golden age" of typography.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
The Anatomy of Design by Designers always pack as much raw material into their brains as possible and then use that to build their own unique designs. The Anatomy of Design has selected fifty examples of graphic design that will be dissected, piece by piece, to reveal a vast array of influences and inspirations. These are not necessarily the most well-known or celebrated objects of graphic design, though many contain the genetic codes of some canonical works. Instead, these represent contemporary artifacts that are well conceived, finely crafted, and filled with hidden treasures. The selections include all kinds of design work including posters, book and record covers, packages, catalogue covers and many more. Each exhibit is selected based on its ubiquity, thematic import and aesthetic significance, and every page is a means to show how great work is derived from various inspirational and physical sources, making this book not only informative but inspirational.
Call Number: 741.6 HEL
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Writing and Research for Graphic Designers: a designer's manual to strategic communication and presentation. (Print copy) by For designers, writing and research skills are more necessary than ever before, from the basic business compositions to critical writing. In this competitive climate, designers are routinely called upon to make words about the images and designs they create for clients. Writing about design is not just "trade" writing, but should be accessible to everyone with an interest in design. This book is a complete, introductory guide to various forms of research and writing in design, and how they explain visuals and can be visualized. These pages address communication on various levels and to all audiences: - Designers to Designers - Designers to Clients - Designers to the Design-literate - Designers to the Design-agnostic Being able to express the issues and concerns of the design practice demands facts, data, and research. With Writing and Research for Graphic Designers, you'll learn how to turn information into a valuable asset-- one of the key talents of the design researcher.
Call Number: 808.0666 HEL
Publication Date: 2015
100 Ideas That Changed Graphic Design. (Print copy) by New in the "100 Ideas that Changed..." series, this book demonstrates how ideas influenced and defined graphic design, and how those ideas have manifested themselves in objects of design. The 100 entries, arranged broadly in chronological order, range from technical (overprinting, rub-on designs, split fountain); to stylistic (swashes on caps, loud typography, and white space); to objects (dust jackets, design handbooks); and methods (paper cut-outs, pixelation).
Call Number: 741.609 HEL
Publication Date: 2012
World of Art Graphic Design 2nd edn. (Print copy) by This authoritative documentary history begins with the poster and goes on to chart the development of word and image in brochures and magazines, advertising, corporate identity, television, and electronic media, and the impact of technical innovations such as photography and the computer. For the revised edition, a new final chapter covers all the recent international developments in graphic design, including the role of the computer and the Internet in design innovation and globalization. In the last years of the twentieth century, at a time when "designer products" and the use of logos grew in importance, the role of graphic designers became more complex, subversive, and sometimes more political--witness Oliviero Toscani's notorious advertisements for Benetton. Digital technology cleared the way for an astonishing proliferation of new typefaces, and words began to take second place to typography in a whole range of magazines and books as designers asserted the primacy of their medium. Designers and companies discussed here include Neville Brody, David Carson, Design Writing Research, Edward Fella, Tibor Kalman, Jeffery Keedy, LettError, Pierre di Sciullo, Tomato, Gerard Unger, Cornel Windlin, and a host of others.
Call Number: 741.6 HOL
Publication Date: 2002-05-17
The Modernist. (Print copy) by "Methods and Applications of Statistics in Clinical Trials, Volume 1: Concepts, Principles, Trials, and Designs "focuses on all the key principles, various clinical trials used and different designs that could be applied for clinical trials. This volume discusses the key statistical concepts that are essential in understanding how to design and construction of clinical trials. This volume provides detailed explanations of statistical concepts such as longitudinal data, missing data, covariates, biased-coin randomization, repeated measurements, and simple randomization, which are used in creating and analyzing the data gleaned from clinical trials. Volume 1 also presents several detailed overviews of various trial designs that can be found within the various phase I-IV trials, such as adaptive, crossover, group-randomized, multicenter, non-inferiority, non-randomized, open-labeled, preference, prevention, and superiority trials. In addition, an overview is presented of various clinical trials that are currently active, including AIDS clinical trials group (ACTG), early cancer & heart disease clinical trials, multiple risk factor intervention trial (MRFIT), and mother to child human immunodeficiency virus transmission trials.
Call Number: 741.6 KLA
Publication Date: 2011-05-31
Design Writing Research. (Print copy) by Design Writing Researchis a highly acclaimed critical study of graphic design and typography. Profusely illustrated and beautifully produced, it makes a vital contribution to design studies and is an invaluable source for anyone interested in the art and history of books, letter forms, symbols, advertising, and theories of visual and verbal communication. A section on Theory considers the centrality of the written and printed word to post-structuralism and deconstruction. A wide range of design practices are discussed, from the history of punctuation and the origins of international pictograms to the structure of modern typography. A section on Media looks at the role of design in mass communications with erudite essays on stock photography, visual journalism, illustration, advertising and vernacular design cultures. The book closes with History, a section organized as a time-line spanning 200 years of design in America. These historical case studies show how the modern profession of graphic design emerged in response to cultural, political and economic developments in the US. The authors of this new edition, now published for the first time in paperback, have fuelled great interest in the theoretical aspects of design and prompted innovation in design practice.
Call Number: 741.6 LUP
Publication Date: 1999
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
These journals are available online via the A-Z list of journals
Saul Bass by This is the first book to be published on one of the greatest American designers of the 20th Century, who was as famous for his work in film as for his corporate identity and graphic work. With more than 1,400 illustrations, many of them never published before and written by the leading design historian Pat Kirkham, this is the definitive study that design and film enthusiasts have been eagerly anticipating. Saul Bass (1920-1996) created some of the most compelling images of American post-war visual culture. Having extended the remit of graphic design to include film titles, he went on to transform the genre. His best known works include a series of unforgettable posters and title sequences for films such as Alfred Hitchcock's Vertigo and Otto Preminger's The Man With The Golden Arm and Anatomy of a Murder. He also created some of the most famous logos and corporate identity campaigns of the century, including those for major companies such as AT&T, Quaker Oats, United Airlines and Minolta. His wife and collaborator, Elaine, joined the Bass office in the late 1950s. Together they created an impressive series of award-winning short films, including the Oscar-winning Why Man Creates, as well as an equally impressive series of film titles, ranging from Stanley Kubrick s Spartacus in the early 1960s to Martin Scorsese s Cape Fear and Casino in the 1990s. Designed by Jennifer Bass, Saul Bass's daughter and written by distinguished design historian Pat Kirkham who knew Saul Bass personally, this book is full of images from the Bass archive, providing an in depth account of one of the leading graphic artists of the 20th century.
Call Number: 741.6092 BAS
Publication Date: 2011-11-09
New Masters of Poster Design, Volume 2. (Print copy) by This second edition of New Masters of Poster Design features the best poster designers currently working all over the world. This book brings back a handmade aesthetic that was really never lost, but is celebrating a resurgence among designers who are creating limited-edition prints and pieces for themselves and others that become keepsakes or pieces of art vs. the mass-generated designs we've all become accustomed to--and you won't see this collection of posters anywhere else. Strong visuals accompanied by captions and profiles capture the essence of these collectible prints.
Call Number: CURRENTLY ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Corporate Diversity : Swiss graphic design and advertising by Geigy, 1940-1970. (Print copy) by The design studio of J. R. Geigy AG was the launching pad for one of the great periods of Swiss graphic design, in the 1950s and 1960s. The open-minded corporate culture of the chemical company in Basel combined product and company advertising in an exemplary way. The resulting works reveal a modernist formal idiom without being indebted to a specific, formulaic look. There was room in it for visual symbolism as well as the acquisition of nonrepresentational art, with which some of the graphic designers involved were connected. Under the leadership of Max Schmid for many years, the studio employed Roland Aeschlimann, Karl Gerstner, JArg Hamburger, Steff GeissbA1/4hler, Andreas His, Toshihiro Katayama, and Nelly Rudin, among others. Freelance designers such as Michael Engelmann, Gottfried Honegger, Armin Hofmann, Herbert Leupin, Warja Lavater, Numa Rick, and Niklaus Stoecklin were also used. In the 1960s, the Basel office, most especially George Giusti and Fred Troller, was involved in developing the studios of the subsidiaries in the United States and the United Kingdom, placing more emphasis on advertising. This is the first comprehensive presentation of Geigy design, an important Swiss contribution to the international history of design, in all its determination and independence. 385 illustrations
Call Number: 741.609494 JAN
Publication Date: 2009-03-16
Laszlo Moholy-Nagy: retrospective by This companion volume to a major exhibition of the work of Laszlo Moholy-Nagy highlights the extraordinary range of his prolific career. Throughout his career Moholy-Nagy produced brilliant works in painting, film, photography, sculpture, set design and typography. A leading proponent of the Bauhaus School, he strove to apply artistic principles to every aspect of daily life. This companion volume to a retrospective features 170 works from all phases of Moholy-Nagy s career. Essays on his involvement with the Bauhaus School; his late paintings; his photographs, photograms, and photosculptures; and his accomplishments in the field of graphic art are complemented by numerous colour illustrations. The book also documents the reconstruction of a never completed work, The Room of Today, which incorporates the most important themes Moholy-Nagy brought to his art. Readers viewing his work for the first time, along with those already possessing a deep appreciation for his art, will celebrate this long-overdue volume. AUTHOR: Ingrid Pfeiffer is Curator at the Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt. Max Hollein is Director of the Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt. 150 colour illustrations
Call Number: 709.2 PFE
Publication Date: 2009-12-20
Modern British Posters by Modern British Posters explores the interaction between modern art and graphic design in Britain throughout the twentieth century. A distinctive characteristic of modern society is the progressively more complete integration of art, design and architecture. The poster has been an integral expression of this phenomenon since its invention, in modern form, during the 1860s. The poster was made possible by the development of industrial colour lithography and by the appearance of large hoardings as a consequence of metropolitan redevelopment. Furthermore, this co-incidence developed at precisely the same time as the birth of the cultural avant-garde. Following the First World War, during a period of social and political realignment, major artists embraced the developing technologies of graphic reproduction to make commercial poster images and reach out to an audience beyond the complacent limits of the gallery. This required artists to embrace the possibilities of new technologies in print media, and was thus instrumental in transforming commercial art into graphic design. From this point forward, the poster and the artistic avant-garde have been inextricably linked. The poster reached a level of maturity in design just as the cultural reform of the 1920s was beginning. This synchronicity has established the poster as a particularly significant cultural object. Every great artist in Britain contributed to this effort and Modern British Posters features the work of artists such as John Minton, Paul Nash, Hubert Williams, Edward McKnight Kauffer, Leonard Cusden, Edward Wadsworth and Tom Eckersley, amongst many others. These images speak broadly of people, landscape, technology and identity and cover themes such as transport, architecture, the seaside, accident prevention and popular culture. In Britain, the graphic archive is dispersed amongst various institutions. This fragmentation means that, for practical purposes, the general story of British poster design remains to be told. As such Modern British Posters provides an important addition to the history of visual culture in Britain during the twentieth century.
Call Number: 741.67 REN
Publication Date: 2010-07-20
Hello! UK Graphics: graphic design in the UK since the 1980's. (Print copy) by A bible for lovers of U.K. graphic design. A remarkable aspect of the U.K. graphic design community is how music, fashion, and art converge so seamlessly to create an edgy independent scene. U.K. designers have a deserved reputation for being trendsetters and designers from all over the world pay attention and follow the scene to get the latest scoop. Hello! U.K. Graphics introduces us to "history making" designers from the 1980s like Peter Saville and Neville Brody as well as the top designers working today. Covering everything from the heyday right up to the most current trends, this book is a bible of U.K. graphic design. There are twenty featured designers, such as Bibliothèque, Big Active, Jonathan Barnbrook, Intro, Neville Brody, Studio Myerscough, Tappin Gofton, Tomato, BCMH, Melvin Galapon, Mind Design, Owen Gildersleeve, Studio Abake, and more.
Call Number: 741.60942 TAK
Publication Date: 2011-02-15