Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Logo Modernism by Modernist aesthetics in architecture, art, and product design are familiar to many. In soaring glass structures or minimalist canvases, we recognize a time of vast technological advance which affirmed the power of human beings to reshape their environment and to break, radically, from the conventions or constraints of the past. Less well-known, but no less fascinating, is the distillation of modernism in graphic design. This unprecedented TASCHEN publication, authored by Jens Müller, brings together approximately 6,000 trademarks, focused on the period 1940-1980, to examine how modernist attitudes and imperatives gave birth to corporate identity. Ranging from media outfits to retail giants, airlines to art galleries, the sweeping survey is organized into three design-orientated chapters: Geometric, Effect, and Typographic. Each chapter is then sub-divided into form and style led sections such as alphabet, overlay, dots and squares. Alongside the comprehensive catalog, the book features an introduction from Jens Müller on the history of logos, and an essay by R. Roger Remington on modernism and graphic design. Eight designer profiles and eight instructive case studies are also included, with a detailed look at the life and work of such luminaries as Paul Rand, Yusaku Kamekura, and Anton Stankowski, and at such significant projects as Fiat, The Daiei Inc., and the Mexico Olympic Games of 1968. An unrivaled resource for graphic designers, advertisers, and branding specialists, Logo Modernism is equally fascinating to anyone interested in social, cultural, and corporate history, and in the sheer persuasive power of image and form.
Call Number: 741.6 MUL
Publication Date: 2015-11-28
The Visual History of Type. (print copy) by The Visual History of Type is a comprehensive, detailed survey of the major typefaces produced since the advent of printing with movable type in the mid-fifteenth century to the present day. Arranged chronologically to provide context, more than 320 typefaces are displayed in the form of their original type specimens or earliest printing. Each entry is supported by a brief history and description of key characteristics of the typeface. This book will be the definitive publication in its field, appealing to graphic designers, educators, historians and design students. It will also be a significant resource for professional type designers and students of type. Reviews "A mind-blowing catalogue of typefaces and type history... a fantastic, heavyweight compendium of letterforms that's a firmWIRED art department favourite." -WIRED magazine "The Visual History of Type is a comprehensive, detailed survey of the major typefaces produced since the advent of printing...This book will be the definitive publication in its field, appealing to graphic designers, educators, historians and design students." -Against The Grain "Accessible, highly readable and, moreover, a type book to pore over and simply enjoy as the history of the medium evolves chronologically from page to page." -Creative Review "This exquisitely produced, extensively researched and extraordinarily comprehensive work is a definitive study of the history of type." -New Design "The Visual History of Type is a beautiful book. Its arranged into hundreds of short chapters invites one to peruse it haphazardly for pleasure. Beneath its coffee-table appearance lies a genuine reference work." -The Times Literary Supplement
Call Number: 760 MCN
Publication Date: 2017-09-26
Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works, 3rd edn. (Print copy) by After two decades as one of the world's best-selling books on designing with type -- including editions in Korean, German, Russian, Portuguese, and Polish -- Stop Stealing Sheep & find out how type works continues to educate, entertain, and enlighten design students and type lovers around the globe. In this third edition, acclaimed type designer Erik Spiekermann brings his type classic fully up to date on mobile and web typography. He also includes scores of new visual examples on how to effectively communicate with type and a full selection of new typefaces that are used and referenced throughout the book. If you use type -- and these days, almost everyone does -- Spiekermann's engaging, common-sense style will help you understand how to look at type, work with type, choose the best typeface for your message, and express yourself more effectively through design. Compact, yet rich with anecdotes and visual examples, the handbook's multilayered design not only makes for a fun, fast read; it also invites exploration, ensuring you learn something new each and every time you open it up.
Call Number: 760 SPI
Publication Date: 2013-12-13
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Signage and Wayfinding Design: a complete guide to creating environmental graphic design systems. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by A new edition of the market-leading guide to signage and wayfinding design This new edition of Signage and Wayfinding Design: A Complete Guide to Creating Environmental Graphic Design Systems has been fully updated to offer you the latest, most comprehensive coverage of the environmental design process--from research and design development to project execution. Utilizing a cross-disciplinary approach that makes the information relevant to architects, interior designers, landscape architects, graphic designers, and industrial designers alike, the book arms you with the skills needed to apply a standard, proven design process to large and small projects in an efficient and systematic manner. Environmental graphic design is the development of a visually cohesive graphic communication system for a given site within the built environment. Increasingly recognized as a contributor to well-being, safety, and security, EGD also extends and reinforces the brand experience. Signage and Wayfinding Design provides you with Chris Calori's proven "Signage Pyramid" method, which makes solving complex design problems in a comprehensive signage program easier than ever before. Features full-color design throughout with 100+ new images from real-world projects Provides an in-depth view of design thinking applied to the EGD process Explains the holistic development of sign information, graphic, and hardware systems. Outlines the latest sign material, lighting, graphic application, and digital communication technologies Highlights code and updated ADA considerations If you're a design professional tasked with communicating meaningful information in the built environment, this vital resource has you covered.
Call Number: 741.6 CAL
Publication Date: 2015
Thinking with Type: a critical guide for designers, writers, editors and students. 2nd rev edn. (E-book) by Our all time best selling book is now available in a revised and expanded second edition.Thinking with Type is the definitive guide to using typography in visual communication, from the printed page to the computer screen. This revised edition includes forty-eight pages of new content, including the latest information on style sheets for print and the web, the use of ornaments and captions, lining and non-lining numerals, the use of small caps and enlarged capitals, as well as information on captions, font licensing, mixing typefaces, and hand lettering. Throughout the book, visual examples showhow to be inventive within systems of typographic form--what the rules are and how to break them.Thinking with Type is a type book for everyone: designers, writers, editors, students, and anyone else who works with words. The popular online companion toThinking with Type (www.thinkingwithtype.com) has been revised to reflect the new material in the second edition.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2010
Thinking with Type: a critical guide for designers, writers, editors and students. 2nd rev edn. (Print copy) by Our all time best selling book is now available in a revised and expanded second edition.Thinking with Type is the definitive guide to using typography in visual communication, from the printed page to the computer screen. This revised edition includes forty-eight pages of new content, including the latest information on style sheets for print and the web, the use of ornaments and captions, lining and non-lining numerals, the use of small caps and enlarged capitals, as well as information on captions, font licensing, mixing typefaces, and hand lettering. Throughout the book, visual examples showhow to be inventive within systems of typographic form--what the rules are and how to break them.Thinking with Type is a type book for everyone: designers, writers, editors, students, and anyone else who works with words. The popular online companion toThinking with Type (www.thinkingwithtype.com) has been revised to reflect the new material in the second edition.
Call Number: 760 LUP
Publication Date: 2010
Handwritten: expressive letttering in the digital age. (Print copy) by Hand-drawn graphics mark a return to the creator's immediacy and craft. Increasingly, advertising campaigns, CD covers, and branding are adopting the rough-hewn style of manually created typography. This is the first publication to offer a complete overview of handwritten typographics, drawing on an extensive array of letterforms from around the world.At the heart of the book are hundreds of examples, presented in creative themes: "Scrawl" (letterforms that are raw, splotchy, untidy); "Scratch" (scraped, cut, and gouged fonts); "Script" (type that is sinuous and ornate); "Simulate" (faces that have been redrawn or copied); "Shadow" (dimensional, voluminous, and monumental letterforms); "Suggestive" (forms that imply the metaphorical, surreal, and symbolic); and "Sarcastic" (the ironic, comic, and satiric in lettering).In an age of digital typography, Handwritten returns to the values of craft. This outstanding collection of unusual, meticulously wrought, and often breathtaking pieces is a must for students and practitioners of design.
Call Number: 760 HEL
Publication Date: 2006
Typography Workbook: a real-world guide to using type in graphic design. (Print copy) by New in paperback, The Typography Workbook provides an at-a-glance reference book for designers on all aspects of type. The book is part of Rockport's popular Workbook series of practical and inspirational workbooks that cover all the fundamental areas of the graphic design business. This book presents an abundance of information on type - the cornerstone of graphic design - succinctly and to the point, so that designers can get the information they need quickly and easily. Whereas many other books on type are either very technical or showcase oriented, this book offers ideas and inspiration through hundreds of real-life projects showing successful, well-crafted usage of type. The book also offers a variety of other content, including choosing fonts, sizes, and colors; incorporating text and illustrations; avoiding common mistakes in text usage; and teaching rules by which to live (and work) by.
Call Number: 760 SAM
Publication Date: 2006
Motion Design: moving graphics for television, music, video, cinema and digital interfaces. (Print copy) by A dynamic atlas of the fundamentals of design for motion and interaction Responding to the dramatic growth in digital media in recent years, academic institutions around the world are introducing the element of motion into graphic design courses. Motion Design provides design educators, students and professionals currently working in, or desiring to enter, the discipline of design for motion and interaction with a solution-driven roadmap for negotiating the territory. Motion Design also addresses the fact that, as different strands of media converge into one digital form, practitioners must respond with greater interdisciplinary collaboration. The book describes what the designer must decide before any software is loaded: the fundamentals, process, and methodology. It goes beyond software, to focus on effective solutions, making it both a design resource and an educational reference. Commercial, academic and artistic applications of animated graphics are used to illustrate how the elements of space, time and motion affect the traditional, print-based understanding of graphic form and communication. Visit the Motion Design website at http://orbitfinder.com/motiondesign/.
Call Number: 741.6 WOO
Publication Date: 2004