Doing your research project. 7th. edn. (Print copy) by 
Research Skills for Students. (Print copy) by
This fully photocopiable teaching resource provides tutors with a varied and lively range of learning activities and exercises to use with students to help equip them with the skills needed to plan for a research project in higher education.
Study Skills for Foundation Degrees. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Study Skills for Foundation Degrees is a much needed resource for anyone thinking about or currently studying at foundation degree level. If you are unsure whether you have the academic skills to handle it, this book will prepare and guide you, in a clear accessible way, through the broad range of study-related issues you may encounter. By helping you to develop a broad range of study skills essential for success on any foundation degree course, you will soon have the confidence to rise to any challenge that comes your way. This new edition has been fully updated and features new chapters on effective academic writing for other types of assignments such as reports, project work, diary entries, seminar papers and reviews and e-learning. Highly accessible with a wide range of activities and useful tips to help you through the course of your studies, this new edition covers all the essential skills you will need including: #65533; How to take good notes and read effectively #65533; Developing successful academic writing #65533; Research skills #65533; E-learning #65533; Producing a professional development portfolio #65533; Presentation techniques #65533; Referencing and avoiding plagiarism Also offering help with managing your time, boosting your morale and keeping motivated, this essential text will be an invaluable resource for Foundation Degree students that want to get the most out of their course as well as mature students and those with limited or no experience of academic study.
How to Research.4th edn. (Print copy). by
"I found this book brilliant, I had never undertaken anything like a dissertation before and this book had everything in it that I needed to know. It is written in 'simple English' which is a bonus as some books are just too hard to understand. Everything you need to know about writing your dissertation is in here. I would recommend this book to all levels." *****Review of the third edition from Amazon.co.uk How to Research is a bestselling, practical book that reassures the first time researcher by leading them systematically through the whole research process; from the initial meetings with a supervisor to critically evaluating their ideas, doing the research and finally writing up the project. The book includes vignettes to help readers relate to research examples and provides both methodological and process information. New features in this edition include: Additional coverage on literature reviews New material on changes in research ethics More detailed information on the use of diaries, internet ethnographies and visual methods Increased coverage of mixed methodologies How to Research 4e is an ideal resource for the first-time researcher doing a small-scale research project in the social sciences whether they are at university or in the workplace. It supports its readers as they develop their skills to become more experienced researchers.
How to Research. 4th edn. (E-book) by
How to Research is a clear and accessible guide to the business of doing a research project. It systematically takes the reader through from the planning to the writing up and finishing off.
Conducting Research Literature Reviews. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
Ideal for students, researchers, marketers, planners, and policymakers who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and prepare strategic plans and grant proposals, this new edition includes: - Nearly a hundred online examples and references from the social, behavioural, and health sciences - A revised and updated list of online articles databases - Case studies in the use of major online databases (e.g., the Web of Science) - Expansion of the exercises at the end of the chapter to include more online searching - Clarification of some of the basic concepts of research that are essential in making judgments about the quality of research methods - Explanation of the major available formal systems (such as CONSORT, TREND, PRISMA) for evaluating the literature's transparency and quality - More qualitative research examples and guidelines and checklists for evaluating their quality - Discussion and examples of mixed-methods research - Additional examples of how to write up reviews and how others have done it.
The Mature Student's Guide to Writing. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Through its use of conversational and supportive tones, this popular guide puts readers at ease, assisting the transition to academic study. With clear explanations, summaries and exercises, it is an invaluable companion for the mature student. This third edition has much new content including a new chapter on writing a dissertation proposal.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
How to Manage Your Arts, Humanities and Social Science Degree. (Print copy) by
This innovative book takes a practical, no-nonsense approach to all areas of undergraduate life, from getting started and maximizing learning opportunities to making choices, mastering time management and succeeding in exams. It also covers the wider aspects of the university experience including peer pressure, finances and grasping the opportunities available to undergraduates throughout their degree course. The book concludes with guidance on how to break into a career as a graduate.
The arts good study guide 2nd edn. (Print copy) by 
Studying Using the Web: the student's guide to using the ultimate information resource. (Print copy) by
Anyone can type a few keywords into a search engine. But that's only the beginning. With Studying Using the Webyou can find the right material, check its authenticity, transform it into your own original work and keep up-to-date on essential topics. The book is about how to find the right information, and making the most of it. It shows you how to: know what to look for make the best use of search facilities gather pictures, sounds and more make use of the human side of the internet learn how to test information with a trust CSI kit collect and structure your information effectively make text your own keep up to date. You could stay jogging round the information track. But think how much better you could do with the right technology and skills to harness a leading-edge study machine. Move into the study fast track now.
Business Research: a practical guide for undergraduate and postgraduate students. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
A practical, concise, straightforward guide. Covering the entire process from reviewing the literature to writing up results, it has balanced coverage of quantitative and qualitative methods and a popular troubleshooting section. It provides all the tools needed to embark on and complete successful research, underpinned by academic rigour.
A Guide to Conducting Online Research. (Print copy) by
A Guide to Using Technology in Research is designed to support students, academics, and practitioner researchers in using technology as part of their research. The book begins by looking at what questions to ask and how to prepare to conduct online research, then concentrates on particular technologies and how to employ them effectively, before concluding with a discussion of the peculiarities of conducting research in the online environment.
Research design: qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches. 5th edn. by 
Visual Research: an introduction to research methodologies in graphic design. 2nd edn. (Print opy) by
Visual Research: An Introduction to Research Methodologies in Graphic Design (second edition) is a guide to the practice of researching for graphic design projects. This book explains the key terms and theories that underlie design research; examining the importance of audience, communication theory, semiotics and semantics. It features a range of case studies that demonstrate how the use of rigorous research methods can form the basis of effective visual communication and design problem solving, eschewing end product analysis for a discussion of the way research feeds into the design process. This edition also includes 12 new international case studies, end of chapter exercises, a new chapter on Visual Grammar and a foreword by Ellen Lupton, an internationally renowned graphic designer, writer, curator and educator.
Internet Research Skills. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Internet Research Skills is a clear, concise guide to effective online research for social science and humanities students. The first half of the book deals with publications online, devoting separate chapters to academic articles, books, official publications and news sources, which form the core secondary sources for social science research. The second half of the book deals with the open web, a vast and confusing realm of materials, many of which have no direct print counterpart. The Third Edition has been updated throughout and now includes:Coverage of cutting edge online services as well as newly developed approaches to using online materialsA new chapter on organizing your research and internet research methodsAdditional material on the use of social networks for researchIllustrations, examples and short exercises to help you put what you learn into practiceInternet Research Skills is an invaluable guide for undergraduate students carrying out research projects and for graduate students working on theses and dissertations.
The Management of a Student Research Project. (Print copy) by
The third edition of this popular book has been extensively revised to reflect the changes that have affected student research in higher education in recent years. The ability to carry out research successfully has come to be seen as a 'key transferable skill' required of all higher education students - and The Management of a Student Research Project addresses directly the skill element of this. Furthermore the research process, at all levels, is far more systematized than in the past. The single largest change since the second edition came out in 1996 has been the impact of the World Wide Web on student research. The third edition has been thoroughly rewritten and developed in response to this. In particular, Chapter 4, 'Literature Searching', has been structured around a sample online search. Throughout, the comments and thoughts of readers of previous editions have been taken into account in framing this third edition. Its aims remain the same - to provide a clear, comprehensive and useful guide to students undertaking research projects in order to improve their chances of a successful outcome.
Writing and Presenting Research. (Print copy) by
This accessible and wide-ranging book is an invaluable introductory guide through the choices to be made when deciding how to report research. Writing and Presenting Research covers research written as theses and dissertations; chapters, books, reports and articles in academic, professional or general media such as newspapers; and also reviews the options for presenting research orally as lectures, keynotes, conference papers and even TV game shows.
Research Made Real: a guide for students. (Print copy) by
This is a practical, student-focused text that gets students through a research project using a step by step approach. Containing a balance of theory and practice materials, the text has plenty of learning support and activity features as well as short case study materials focused on how and why researchers have conducted investigations in the past.This book aims to meet the needs of students of Health and Social Care, Sociology, Social Policy and Psychology, and those doing a research project for the first time as part of an HND or similar course.
Doing a Literature Review: releasing the research imagination. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
The ultimate guide to the "what," "how," and "why" of literature reviewing, the Second Edition of the classic text shows how the literature review will unlock the full potential of one's research with: A thorough exploration of the literature review process from start to finish Two brand new chapters explaining the different types of review and evidence and evaluation Extended examples that show you how to apply key techniques and procedures A new "core skills" framework to help you turn your research experience into employability A critical thinking focus that will help you construct convincing arguments and improve your research decisions In combining a critical, philosophical approach with an expertly selected body of practical examples, the Second Edition of Chris Hart's landmark text provides both the intellectual understanding and the technical skills required to produce sophisticated, robust literature reviews of the very highest standard. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Doing qualitative research. 5th edn. (Print copy) CURRENTLY ON ORDER by 