This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Abnormal and Clinical Psychology 3rd edn. (Print Copy) by
"This book provided an invaluable orientation to the grounding theoretical principles of clinical health psychology, how this knowledge can be applied by psychologists in healthcare settings, particular assessment and intervention approaches and issues associated with working with patients in healthcare settings ... I would highly recommend this as a key text for clinical psychology trainees and postgraduates working or researching in medical settings across the lifespan, both as a general orientation tool and a resource to refer to with reference to specific presenting issues. Fleur-Michelle Coiffait, Doctoral student, University of Edinburgh, UK "The tone of this volume is well pitched; it is written in clear English yet without being over-simplified. New vocabulary is collated into 'key terms' boxes for easy reference at the end of the chapter - a useful device for the new student. Also proffered at chapter end are 'For Discussion' boxes, encouraging the reader to critically assess and compare the contents of the chapter, along with useful suggestions for further reading. With a good level of detail without swamping the reader, this volume is an excellent introduction to students of abnormal psychology." Hayley Burgess, Psychology Graduate Extensively updated, this popular textbook includes the latest research and therapeutic approaches, including third wave cognitive behavioural therapies, as well as developments in clinical practice. The book introduces and evaluates the conceptual models of mental health problems and their treatment, and provides valuable analyses of various disorders, such as schizophrenia and paedophilia. Each disorder is considered from a psychological, social and biological perspective and different intervention types are thoroughly investigated. The new edition also features NEW case formulations to illustrate discussion of clinical work NEW chapter on recent developments in cognitive behaviour therapy NEW Key Terms boxes at the end of chapters Updated Stop and Think boxes Further reading extended with web links Abnormal and Clinical Psychology 3rd edition is an indispensable guide for undergraduate students in psychology and health allied professions.
Abnormal and Clinical Psychology 3rd edn. (E-Book) by
Abnormal and Clinical Psychology aims to introduce and evaluate the conceptual models of mental health problems and their treatment, as well as to provide valuable analyses of various disorders, such as schizophrenia and paedophilia.
The Psychology of Criminal Conduct 6th edn. (Print Copy) by
The Psychology of Criminal Conduct, Sixth Edition, provides a psychological and evidence-informed perspective of criminal behavior that sets it apart from many criminological and mental health explanations of criminal behavior. Drawing upon the General Personality and Cognitive Social Learning theory, James Bonta and Donald Andrews provide an overview of the theoretical context and major knowledge base of the psychology of criminal conduct, discuss the eight major risk/need factors of criminal conduct, examine the prediction and classification of criminal behavior along with prevention and rehabilitation, and summarize the major issues in understanding criminal conduct. This book also offers the Risk/Need/Responsivity (RNR) model of offender assessment and treatment that has guided developments in the subject throughout the world. In this edition, the first since Andrews' death, Bonta carefully maintains the book's original contributions while presenting these core concepts succinctly, clearly, and elegantly. Appropriate for advanced undergraduates and graduate students as well as for scholars, researchers, and practitioners, The Psychology of Criminal Conduct, Sixth Edition, further extends and refines the authors' body of work.
Psychology and Crime 2nd edn (Print Copy) by
Crime is an expensive aspect of society, and each year huge amounts of public money are spent on the courts, police, probation services, and prisons, while the human costs in terms of pain, fear and loss is incalculable. Psychology and Crime comprehensively covers the vital role of psychological theories and methods in understanding and managing criminal behaviour. It analyzes in depth the application of psychological findings to a range of serious crimes, such as arson, violent crime, and sexual crime. It examines the use of psychology by the police and the courts and discusses the role of psychology in crime reduction strategies. Written by a leading authority on the subject and informed by over twenty years of teaching experience, the second edition of this popular text has been thoroughly revised and updated to take account of the most recent research in the field. New features also include: Expansive coverage of the development of criminal behaviour; Chapter summaries and end-of-chapter discussion points; Text boxes throughout highlighting key issues, debates and brief histories; Supplementary online resources at www.routledge.com/cw/hollin. Psychology and Crime is an essential introduction and reference for undergraduate and postgraduate students in psychology, criminology, sociology and related subjects. It also represents an invaluable resource for professional training courses and anyone planning a career in the criminal justice system.
The Oxford Handbook of Criminology 5th edn. (Print Copy) by
The most comprehensive and authoritative single volume text on the subject, the fifth edition of the acclaimed Oxford Handbook of Criminology combines masterly reviews of all the key topics with extensive references to aid further research. In addition to the history of the discipline and reviews of different theoretical perspectives, the book provides up-to-date reviews of diverse topics as public views about crime and justice, youth crime and justice and state crime and human rights.The fifth edition has been substantially revised and updated so that it covers topics being taught at undergraduate level as well as encapsulating the latest developments in the academic and practical spheres of criminology. An impressive line-up of contributors, experts in their respective fields,means the Oxford Handbook of Criminology will continue to be an essential purchase for all students and teachers of criminology and an indispensable resource for professionals. Online Resource Centre* Selected chapters from previous editions* Details about the contributors * Guidance on answering essay questions* Essay questions* Selected further reading * Weblinks * Figures and tables from the text
An Introduction to Criminal Psychology (E-Book) by
This book offers a clear, up-to-date, comprehensive, and theoretically informed introduction to criminal psychology, exploring how psychological explanations and approaches can be integrated with other perspectives drawn from evolutionary biology, neurobiology, sociology, and criminology. Drawing on examples from around the world, it considers different types of offences from violence and aggression to white-collar and transnational crime, and links approaches to explaining crime with efforts to prevent crime and to treat and rehabilitate offenders. This revised and expanded second edition offers a thorough update of the research literature and introduces several new features, including: detailed international case studies setting the scene for each chapter, promoting real-world understanding of the topics under consideration; a fuller range of crime types covered, with new chapters on property offending and white-collar, corporate, and environmental crime; detailed individual chapters exploring prevention and rehabilitation, previously covered in a single chapter in the first edition; an array of helpful features including learning objectives, review and reflect checkpoints, annotated lists of further reading, and two new features: 'Research in Focus' and 'Criminal Psychology Through Film'. This textbook is essential reading for upper undergraduate students enrolled in courses on psychological criminology, criminal psychology, and the psychology of criminal behaviour. Designed with the reader in mind, student-friendly and innovative pedagogical features support the reader throughout.
Psychology and Crime by
What does a Criminological Psychologist do? The popular image is that of a latter-day Sherlock Holmes helping the police to solve crimes and mysteries, but the reality is much more complex. Psychology and Crimeis a new introduction to the topic of Criminological Psychology that helps dispel these popular myths by providing a comprehensive overview of the topic of Criminological Psychology. The book includes both classic and contemporary psychological theory and research on a range of criminological issues including the nature, measurement and causes of crime, police work and offender profiling, eye-witness memory, trial procedures, jury decision making and the treatment of crime. Putwain and Sammons have produced an introductory text which covers the material on this topic in the A2 components of the AQA-B, OCR and Edexcel A-Level specifications. Psychology and Crimeis also ideal for undergraduate students looking for an introduction to criminological psychology and for students studying psychology and media. It will also be useful for those who work in fields related to criminology such as the police and probation services, social workers and therapists.
