Social Research Methods 5th edn. (Print Copy) by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology 6th edn. (Print Copy) by
This sixth edition of Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology has been fully revised and updated, providing students with the most readable and comprehensive survey of research methods, statistical concepts and procedures in psychology today. Assuming no prior knowledge, this bestselling text takes you through every stage of your research project giving advice on planning and conducting studies, analysing data and writing up reports. The book provides clear coverage of statistical procedures, and includes everything needed from nominal level tests to multi-factorial ANOVA designs, multiple regression and log linear analysis. It features detailed and illustrated SPSS instructions for allnbsp;these proceduresnbsp;eliminating the need for an extra SPSS textbook. New features in the sixth edition include: "Tricky bits" - in-depth notes on the things that students typically have problems with, including common misunderstandings and likely mistakes. Improved coverage of qualitative methods and analysis, plus updates to Grounded Theory, Interpretive Phenomenological Analysis and Discourse Analysis. A full and recently published journal article using Thematic Analysis, illustrating how articles appear in print. Discussion of contemporary issues and debates, including recent coverage of journals' reluctance to publish replication of studies. Fully updated online links, offering even more information and useful resources, especially for statistics. Each chapter contains a glossary, key terms and newly integrated exercises, ensuring that key concepts are understood. A companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/coolican) provides additional exercises, revision flash cards, links to further reading and data for use with SPSS.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Doing Qualitative Research in Psychology (Print Copy) by
This book is not available as a print inspection copy. To download an E-inspection copy click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.Taking you through each aspect of the research process and explaining the unique challenges of using qualitative methods in psychology, this book offers a complete guide to successfully conducting a qualitative psychological research project. Clear, concise and accessible, this 'how to' manual folds key skills like research design and using technology and software into each chapter. This second edition offers: - A thorough introduction to foundational concepts that support you through each step of the research process- New chapters on thematic and narrative analysis- A set of digital resources designed to make learning about qualitative methods as easy and interactive as possible, including video recordings and transcripts to build key analysis techniquesThrough a pragmatic, practical lens, this book provides the perspective and the tools you need to recognize, collect, interpret, and communicate quality qualitative psychological data. Michael A. Forrester is a Senior Lecturer in Psychology at the University of Kent, Canterbury.Cath Sullivan is a Senior Lecturer in the School of Psychology at the University of Central Lancashire.
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology (Print Copy) by
The seventh edition of Research Methods and Statistics in Psychologyprovides students with the most readable and comprehensive survey of research methods, statistical concepts and procedures in psychology today. Assuming no prior knowledge, this bestselling text takes you through every stage of your research project giving advice on planning and conducting studies, analysing data and writing up reports. The book provides clear coverage of experimental, interviewing and observational methods, psychological testing, qualitative methods and analysis and statistical procedures which include nominal level tests, multi-factorial ANOVA designs, multiple regression, log linear analysis, and factor analysis.　It features detailed and illustrated SPSS instructions for all these and other procedures, eliminating the need for an extra SPSS textbook. New features to this edition include: Additional coverage of factor analysis and online and modern research methods Expanded coverage of report writing guidelines References updated throughout Presentation updated throughout, to include more figures, tables and full colour to help break up the text Companion website signposted throughout the book to improve student usability Improved and extended web links and further reading associated with every chapter. Each chapter contains a glossary, key terms and newly integrated exercises, ensuring that key concepts are understood. A fully updated companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/coolican) provides additional exercises, testbanks for each chapter, revision flash cards, links to further reading and data for use with SPSS.
Doing Psychological Research : gathering and analysing data (Print Copy) by
"This is a book that should definitely be considered for many introductory psychology courses that need a factual and accessible exposition of psychological research principles and methods." Times Higher Education Supplement ". . . covers a wider spectrum than many introductory texts on methods in psychology and has a stronger emphasis on qualitative methods than others. . . it will be particularly attractive to students seeking a lifeline into methods at first year undergraduate level. Nicky Hayes' reputation will strengthen the demand for it, particularly among undergraduates who have already used her texts at 'A' level." Professor Nigel Lemon, University of Huddersfield ". . . there are other research methods textbooks for 'A' level students currently on the market. . . Nicky Hayes has written a book which renders most of these obsolete. The new 'A' level specifications allow students to venture into areas of research that require different forms of qualitative analysis. These are hardly addressed in competing texts and are given thorough treatment by Nicky Hayes. I admire her ability to offer depth of treatment to complex issues without losing her audience. This is an interactive textbook, and I am pleased to see that every chapter contains worked examples, definitions and activities. . . I can highly recommend this book." Mike Stanley, Gordano School, North Somerset, UK Research methodology is one of the most important and also one of the most difficult aspects of psychology for many students to grasp. This new textbook, written by one of the most experienced and respected writers of psychology textbooks in the UK, provides a comprehensive account of both qualitative and quantitative methods. It does so in the friendly, lucid style which has made Nicky Hayes' other textbooks so popular with students and teachers. Doing Psychological Research has been carefully written and designed to help students grasp complex concepts and to provide them with a sound methodological 'toolkit' for carrying out their own projects. The book is divided into data-gathering and analytical sections, and covers the main methods used in psychology for each of these purposes. Exercises and activities, worked examples of statistical tests, and self-assessment questions all help to deepen understanding and illustrate the relevance of the material. A full bibliography and index and a useful glossary of terms complete the package. This is the accessible but comprehensive introductory text which many students and teachers of research methods in psychology have been looking for. It is likely to become essential reading for introductory courses.
Statistics Explained 3rd edn. (Print Copy) by
Statistics Explained is an accessible introduction to statistical concepts and ideas. It makes few assumptions about the reader#65533;s statistical knowledge, carefully explaining each step of the analysis and the logic behind it. The book: provides a clear explanation of statistical analysis and the key statistical tests employed in analysing research data gives accessible explanations of how and why statistical tests are used includes a wide range of practical, easy-to-understand worked examples. Building on the international success of earlier editions, this fully updated revision includes developments in statistical analysis, with new sections explaining concepts such as bootstrapping and structural equation modelling. A new chapter - #65533;Samples and Statistical Inference#65533; - explains how data can be analysed in detail to examine its suitability for certain statistical tests. The friendly and straightforward style of the text makes it accessible to all those new to statistics, as well as more experienced students requiring a concise guide. It is suitable for students and new researchers in disciplines including Psychology, Education, Sociology, Sports Science, Nursing, Communication, and Media and Business Studies. Presented in full colour and with an updated, reader-friendly layout, this new edition also comes with a companion website featuring supplementary resources for students. Unobtrusive cross-referencing makes it the ideal companion to Perry R. Hinton#65533;s SPSS Explained, also published by Routledge. Perry R. Hinton has many years of experience in teaching statistics to students from a wide range of disciplines and his understanding of the problems students face forms the basis of this book.
The Good Study Guide, New edn. (Print Copy) by 
Real World Research: a resource for users of social research methods in applied settings 3rd edn. (Print Copy) by
Real world research is a common responsibility of professionals and practitioners in a wide range of both public and private settings. These include teachers, social workers and health service professionals, managers and specialists in business, architects, designers, criminologists and accountants among many others. Real World Research provides a clear route-map of the various steps needed to carry out a piece of applied research to a high professional standard. It is accessible to those without a social science background while providing rigorous and fully up-to-date coverage of contemporary issues and debates. It brings together materials and approaches from different social science disciplines, seeing value in both quantitative and qualitative approaches, as well as their combination in mixed-method designs. Updated throughout, the third edition includes: A brand new chapter on multi-strategy designs Increased coverage of ethical issues A chapter on writing a project proposal Discussion of internet-based research - both as a research tool and as a subject for research Coverage of evidence-based approaches - seeking to present a balanced assessment of their value Colin Robson's bestselling textbook is essential reading for many higher education courses, at both undergraduate, taught postgraduate and doctoral level, as well as practitioners and others carrying out a research project as part of their job. A very extensive website, which is closely keyed in to the text, provides additional resources including copious examples of research and further discussion of research issues, links to other useful resources and selected journal articles, annotated lists of further reading and an extensive set of PowerPoint slides.
Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics 4th edn. (Print Copy) by
Praise from students for Neil Salkind's Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics: "Your book has changed my perception and attitude towards statistics. It is very well written, the language is completely user friendly and the progression of new concepts within each chapter is fantastic. Although my class is only on chapter 5 at this point, I have found my interest in the concepts and order in which you introduce them becoming greater. I thank you with very much appreciation as I was someone who dreaded taking statistics and thought I hated it!" - Jessica Maes, graduate student The Fourth Edition of Neil J. Salkind's bestselling text introduces students to the fundamentals of basic statistics in an informative, personable, and unintimidating way. The author expertly guides students through various statistical procedures, beginning with basic descriptive statistics and correlation and graphical representation of data and ending with inferential techniques including analysis of variance. This page refers to the edition that is bundled with the student version of SPSS printed. Click here for details about the print version only.
Social Research 4th edn. (Print Copy) by
From question development and research design to data collection and statistical analysis, this text guides the reader through every aspect of social research. Encouraging a critical approach in each chapter, this 4th edition includes enhanced coverage of internet sampling, mixed methods, conversation analysis and feminist research.
Doing Qualitative Research 4th edn. (Print Copy) by
In the fourth edition of his best-selling textbook, David Silverman provides a step-by-step guide to planning and conducting qualitative research. Using real examples from real postgraduate students, the book makes it easy to link theory to methods and shows how to move from understanding the principles of qualitative research to doing it yourself. The new edition has been fully updated and now includes: - a brand new chapter on formulating a research question appropriate for qualitative research - an expanded discussion of the role of theory in research - extended discussion of case study research and the number of cases needed for effective qualitative research - further coverage of focus groups and analysing internet data - new student examples from around the world - a new section on the common pitfalls encountered in qualitative research - an expanded companion website with more student examples and videos. Filled with exercises to test your understanding and develop your skills, as well as David's own tips for research success based on years of experience, this book is essential reading for anyone doing qualitative research. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
