This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Statistics Without Maths for Psychology 7th edn. (Print Copy) by
Highly praised for its clear, straightforward approach, Statistics without Maths 7th edition provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to statistics and SPSS. This widely used and trusted textbook is packed with examples, activities and questions to help you to test your learning and deepen your understanding in a practical and manageable way. Statistics without Maths for Psychology, 7e, will help you to gain the confidence to apply statistical concepts and use SPSS to analyse data within your studies and future independent research.
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology 6th edn. (Print Copy) by
This sixth edition of Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology has been fully revised and updated, providing students with the most readable and comprehensive survey of research methods, statistical concepts and procedures in psychology today. Assuming no prior knowledge, this bestselling text takes you through every stage of your research project giving advice on planning and conducting studies, analysing data and writing up reports. The book provides clear coverage of statistical procedures, and includes everything needed from nominal level tests to multi-factorial ANOVA designs, multiple regression and log linear analysis. It features detailed and illustrated SPSS instructions for allnbsp;these proceduresnbsp;eliminating the need for an extra SPSS textbook. New features in the sixth edition include: "Tricky bits" - in-depth notes on the things that students typically have problems with, including common misunderstandings and likely mistakes. Improved coverage of qualitative methods and analysis, plus updates to Grounded Theory, Interpretive Phenomenological Analysis and Discourse Analysis. A full and recently published journal article using Thematic Analysis, illustrating how articles appear in print. Discussion of contemporary issues and debates, including recent coverage of journals' reluctance to publish replication of studies. Fully updated online links, offering even more information and useful resources, especially for statistics. Each chapter contains a glossary, key terms and newly integrated exercises, ensuring that key concepts are understood. A companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/coolican) provides additional exercises, revision flash cards, links to further reading and data for use with SPSS.
Doing Qualitative Research in Psychology (Print Copy) by
This unique text provides a complete introduction to qualitative methods in psychology and will be ideal reading for anyone doing a course in qualitative psychology or planning a practical project using qualitative approaches. Forrester's book has been developed in tandem with its own dataset, collected specifically for the book which will be a unique resource for any students using the text. Using interview recordings (video and audio, available to readers on-line) alongside worked examples of different ways to analyze the same dataset, the handbook and the interview data together provide an invaluable resource for anybody interested in either learning or teaching qualitative methods in psychology.
Research Methods in Psychology 5th edn. (Print Copy) by
Comprehensive, clear, and practical, Introduction to Research Methods in Psychology, fifth edition is the essential student guide to understanding and undertaking quantitative and qualitative research in psychology. In this popular text for psychology students, the research process is broken down into manageable steps to equip students with the skills to ask intelligent research questions, carry out a literature review, choose an appropriate research design, carry out data collection and write up their findings. Throughout the book, research examples are discussed which offer an insight into how research advances our understanding in areas such as forensic, social, educational, and abnormal psychology. Revised throughout, this new edition includes a new chapter on 'Data Analysis Issues and Scientific Progress' which explores complexities in research, discussing issues such as questionable research practices and replication studies. A further new chapter, 'Improving a Qualitative Write Up' provides advice and guidance on how to write-up a qualitative study with a detailed illustrative example of this. This is the ideal guide for students just beginning and those moving on to more advanced research methods projects in psychology.
Qualitative Researching 3rd edn. (Print Copy) by
The Third Edition of this bestselling text guides students and researchers through the process of doing qualitative research, clearly explaining how different theoretical approaches inform what you do in practice. By posing `difficult questions' that researchers should be asking themselves while doing qualitative research, the book encourages reflection on how we draw insights, how we interpret, and how we craft knowledge from qualitative research. With three brand new chapters, this edition: - Now maps the full research process, with new material on analysing data and writing up research - Gives a full treatment of ethics - Covers mixed methods and its implications for designing and thinking about qualitative research - Shows researchers how to be creative with what they find A theoretically engaged, grounded approach to qualitative researching, this remains the ideal text to guide students to become thoughtful, creative and effective qualitative researchers.
SPSS for psychologists, 6th edn. (Print Copy) by 
SPSS survival manual : a step by step guide to data analysis using IBM SPSS 7th edn. (Print Copy) by 
Qualitative Data Analysis with ATLAS. ti 2nd edn. (Print Copy) by
Are you struggling to get to grips with qualitative data analysis? Do you need help getting started using ATLAS.ti? Do you find software manuals difficult to relate to? Written by a leading expert on ATLAS.ti, this book will guide you step-by-step through using the software to support your research project. In this updated second edition, you will find clear, practical advice on preparing your data, setting up a new project in ATLAS.ti, developing a coding system, asking questions, finding answers and preparing your results. The new edition features: methodological as well as technical advice numerous practical exercises and examples screenshots showing you each stage of analysis in version 7 of ATLAS.ti increased coverage of transcription new sections on analysing video and multimedia data a companion website with online tutorials and data sets. Susanne Friese teaches qualitative methods at the University of Hanover and at various PhD schools, provides training and consultancy for ATLAS.ti at the intersection between developers and users. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
