Applied Psychology by
For a significant portion of psychology students, their reason for choosing an undergraduate degree in psychology is their interest in applied psychology and a desire to use psychological knowledge to help solve personal and social problems. With this in mind, this textbook has been designed to satisfy these needs for applied psychology teaching at all undergraduate levels. Applied Psychology is designed to introduce students to the main areas of applied psychology (Clinical Psychology, Health Psychology, Educational Psychology, Occupational Psychology, Forensic Psychology, Sports & Exercise Psychology, Counselling Psychology and Teaching Psychology) from UK, European and international perspectives. It also introduces the core psychological knowledge that underpins these applied and professional areas. As a result, students learn core knowledge from the five main areas of psychology, as well as acquiring a thorough grounding in how this knowledge is applied, and the professional issues associated with that application. Highlights include a broad range of teaching and learning features designed to help the student learn and the teacher teach. These include: Focus Points, Colour Illustrations, Activity Boxes, Research Methods, Case Histories, Self-Test and Essay Questions, Learning Outcomes and Section Summaries, a Glossary as well as Links to Journal Articles and Further Reading. The chapters on Counselling Psychology and Teaching Psychology are available online via the Student Companion Site at: http://tinyurl.com/c3ztvtj The text is written to be accessible to Level 1 Introductory Psychology students, and also to provide the core knowledge and professional information that students at Levels 2 and 3 would require.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Approaches to psychology 6th edn. (Print Copy) by 
An introduction to developmental psychology 3rd edn. (Print Copy) by
A representative and authoritative 'state of the art' account of human development from conception to adolescence. Written at an easy-to-comprehend level by an international team of respected researchers, conveying their knowledge with enthusiasm and skill. Full supporting materials - chapter overviews, discussion questions, suggestions for further reading, and glossary. Chapters covering applied issues in developmental psychology
Psychology; The Science of Behavior 7th edn. (Print Copy) by 
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology 6th edn. (Print Copy) by
This sixth edition of Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology has been fully revised and updated, providing students with the most readable and comprehensive survey of research methods, statistical concepts and procedures in psychology today. Assuming no prior knowledge, this bestselling text takes you through every stage of your research project giving advice on planning and conducting studies, analysing data and writing up reports. The book provides clear coverage of statistical procedures, and includes everything needed from nominal level tests to multi-factorial ANOVA designs, multiple regression and log linear analysis. It features detailed and illustrated SPSS instructions for allnbsp;these proceduresnbsp;eliminating the need for an extra SPSS textbook. New features in the sixth edition include: "Tricky bits" - in-depth notes on the things that students typically have problems with, including common misunderstandings and likely mistakes. Improved coverage of qualitative methods and analysis, plus updates to Grounded Theory, Interpretive Phenomenological Analysis and Discourse Analysis. A full and recently published journal article using Thematic Analysis, illustrating how articles appear in print. Discussion of contemporary issues and debates, including recent coverage of journals' reluctance to publish replication of studies. Fully updated online links, offering even more information and useful resources, especially for statistics. Each chapter contains a glossary, key terms and newly integrated exercises, ensuring that key concepts are understood. A companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/coolican) provides additional exercises, revision flash cards, links to further reading and data for use with SPSS.
Human Relationships 4th edn. (E-Book) by
The Fourth Edition of this highly successful textbook provides a unique and comprehensive introduction to the study and understanding of human relationships. Fresh insights from family studies, developmental psychology, occupational and organizational psychology also combine to bring new perspectives to this thorough survey of the field. Thoroughly updated, with new chapters on: relating difficulty; "small media" technology and relationships, and practical applications, the Fourth Edition offers a fully up-to-date and authoritative review of the field.
Social Psychology 7th edn. (Print Copy) by
Updated to include over 250 new references, this trusted, market-leading textbook remains as comprehensive as ever. The 7th edition of this lively introduction places social psychology in a contemporary, real-world context and explores new, cutting-edge research as well as bringing classic theories to life. MyPsychLab gives you access to an unrivalled suite of online resources at www.mypsychlab.com. It provides a variety of tools to enable you to assess and progress your own learning, including questions, videos and interactive learning aids for each chapter of the book.
Atkinson & Hilgard's introduction to psychology 16th edn. (Print Copy) by 
Psychology by
What is psychology? When did it begin? Where did it come from? How does psychology compare with related subjects such as psychiatry and psychotherapy? To what extent is it scientific? "Introducing Psychology" answers all these questions and more, explaining what the subject has been in the past and what it is now. The main "schools" of thought and the sections within psychology are described, including Introspection, Biopsychology, Psychoanalysis, Behaviourism, Comparative (Animal) Psychology, Cognitive Approaches (including the Gestalt movement), Social Psychology, Developmental Psychology and Humanism. The key figures covered include: Freud, Pavlov, Skinner, Bandura, Piaget, Bowlby, Maslow and Rogers, as well as many lesser-known but important psychologists.
