Social psychology. 14th edn. (E-book) by Social psychology. 14th edn. (Print copy) by This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Social Psychology 7th edn. (Print Copy) by
Updated to include over 250 new references, this trusted, market-leading textbook remains as comprehensive as ever. The 7th edition of this lively introduction places social psychology in a contemporary, real-world context and explores new, cutting-edge research as well as bringing classic theories to life. MyPsychLab gives you access to an unrivalled suite of online resources at www.mypsychlab.com. It provides a variety of tools to enable you to assess and progress your own learning, including questions, videos and interactive learning aids for each chapter of the book.
Social Cognition by
How do people think about the world? How do individuals make sense of their complex social environment? What are the underlying mechanisms that determine our understanding of the social world? Social cognition - the study of the specific cognitive processes that are involved when we think about the social world - attempts to answer these questions. Social cognition is an increasingly important and influential area of social psychology, impacting on areas such as attitude change and person perception. This introductory textbook provides the student with comprehensive coverage of the core topics in the field: how social information is encoded, stored and retrieved from memory; how social knowledge is structured and represented; and what processes are involved when individuals form judgements and make decisions. The overall aim is to highlight the main concepts and how they interrelate, providing the student with an insight into the whole social cognition framework. With this in mind, the first two chapters provide an overview of the sequence of information processing and outline general principles. Subsequent chapters build on these foundations by providing more in-depth discussion of memory, judgemental heuristics, the use of information, hypothesis-testing in social interaction and the interplay of affect and cognition. Social Cognitionwill be essential reading for students and researchers in psychology, communication studies, and sociology.
Psychology; The Science of Behavior 7th edn. (Print Copy) by 
Positive Psychology 2nd edn. (Print Copy) by
Remediating deficits and managing disabilities has been a central preoccupation for clinical psychologists. Positive Psychology, in contrast, is concerned with the enhancement of happiness and well-being, involving the scientific study of the role of personal strengths and positive social systems in the promotion of optimal wellbeing. Alan Carr's Positive Psychology has become essential reading for anyone requiring a thorough and accessible introduction to the field. This new edition retains all the features that made the first edition so popular, including: accounts of major theories and relevant research learning objectives chapter summaries research and personal development questions suggestions for further reading measures for use in research glossaries of new terms. The book has also been completely updated to take account of recent research and major advances, and includes a new chapter on Positive Psychotherapy, an extended account of research on character strengths and virtues, and a discussion of recent ground-breaking research on emotional intelligence. This new edition of Positive Psychology will prove a valuable resource for psychology students and lecturers, as well as those involved in postgraduate training in related areas such as clinical psychology, social work, counselling and psychotherapy.
Approaches to psychology 6th edn. (Print Copy) by 
Positive Psychology (Print Copy) by
"Kate Hefferon and Ilona Boniwell have done an excellent job on this introduction to Positive Psychology! I encourage educators, students and everyone else interested in an updated, well-written and culturally balanced approach to the scientific study of human flourishing, to read this highly accessible, yet rigorously crafted text; and to get it under your skin by ways of carefully chosen tests and exercises." Hans Henrik Knoop, Aarhus University, Denmark and President, European Network for Positive Psychology "This accessible, yet comprehensive, book provides an excellent new resource in the area of positive psychology. Students, researchers and practitioners alike will benefit from the skilful and lively integration of theory, research and application. The authors are prominent members of the international positive psychology movement and as such are able to deliver a confident, practical and overarching assessment of the area, integrated into psychology more widely." Angela Clow, University of Westminster, UK "This is an exceptional book that synthesizes more than a decade of positive psychology research into chapters that are engaging, accessible, and educational. Hefferon and Boniwell demonstrate a mastery of the literature through the ways in which they have marshaled the evidence from research and practice into this invaluable resource. This book will become an essential reference guide for researchers, educators and practitioners of positive psychology around the world." Professor Alex Linley, Founding Director, Capp "This book is a valuable resource for students looking for an introduction to Positive Psychology, but also wanting to get a comprehensive and updated overview of this innovative approach to the study of human behaviour and experience. It provides a broad coverage of the most relevant theories and constructs developed within Positive Psychology, and of their relevance for intervention and application in the most diverse life domains. Hefferon and Boniwell use a rigorous though accessible and friendly style of presentation. By means of effective learning supports, they stimulate readers'' active engagement in critical reflections on each topic. The authors address the several issues and open questions which still characterize Positive Psychology as a relatively recent domain through a balanced and objective approach." Antonella Delle Fave, University of Milano, Italy "Kate Hefferon and Ilona Boniwell have produced the first textbook which has set out purposefully to support students and teachers in higher education in the exciting new area of positive psychology. The authors have experience of teaching the lectures described in each chapter and the book is written in a way that students will find engaging and fun. Each chapter has clear learning objectives, mock essay questions, measurement tools, summaries and a guide to further resources. The content has been well researched and the early chapters cover the main concepts of positive psychology such as emotions, happiness, wellbeing, optimism, and resilience. The later chapters are more novel and cover interventions and applications all with a critical eye. Of particular note is the chapter on the body in positive psychology - a topic which is frequently omitted from the ''thoughts and feelings'' approach of other texts in this area. I would strongly recommend this book to all students and teachers of psychology." Nanette Mutrie, Professor of Exercise and Sport Psychology, Strathclyde University, UK "The text is well written, clear and engaging making it an invaluable resource to those seeking an introductory text or for a more comprehensive coverage of the applications of positive psychology. I would highly recommend this text to all students and higher education lecturers studying or teaching the psychology of happiness and wellbeing." Charlotte Taylor, Research Assistant, University of Worcester, UK "The authors utilise their own multidisciplinary experiences in the field of psychology in an endeavour to provide an effective textbook to accompany university level courses on Positive Psychology, an endeavour which appears to have been accomplished with a high degree of success." Steven Southworth, Postgraduate Psychology student, University of Essex, UK Discover the latest research findings and thinking on the topics of happiness, flow, optimism, motivation, character strengths, love and more! Find out how happiness levels can be increased, what stops us from flourishing and how positive psychology can be applied to many professional disciplines. This new textbook combines a breadth of information about positive psychology with reflective questions, critical commentary and up to date research. It is written in a witty, engaging and contemporary manner and includes: Personal development exercises to help you meld together research and application Mock essay questions to get essay writing going Think about it boxes to get you thinking about the concepts and theories discussed Experiments boxes giving you most influential positive psychology experiments to date Suggested resources guiding you where to go next Measurement tools presenting popular positive psychology tools Time out boxes on key issues, concepts and thinkers Chapter summaries to help you check their understanding Review questions to enhance your learning Positive Psychology is key reading for students taking modules in positive psychology and well-being, and will also be of interest to students of applied, coaching and sports psychology, as well as psychologists, coaches, counsellors and researchers interested in this burgeoning field.
Social Psychology 4th edn. by
Using an engaging narrative, this textbook demonstrates how social processes are inherently interconnected by uniquely applying underlying and unifying principles throughout the text. With its comprehensive coverage of classic and contemporary research--illustrated with real-world examples from many disciplines, including medicine, law, and education--Social Psychology 4thEditionconnects theory and application, providing undergraduate students with a deeper and more holistic understanding of the factors that influence social behaviors. New to the 4th Edition: Each chapter now features 1-2 "culture" boxes, focusing on cross-cultural research on social psychological phenomena. Each chapter now features 1-2 "hot topic" boxes, where we highlight cutting edge and emerging findings. Many references updated throughout, with over 700 new references. A more comprehensive and user-friendly set of online supplementary resources will accompany the new edition. New co-author Heather Claypool of Miami University of Ohio.
