Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
The Study Skills Handbook. 5th end. (Print copy) by This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Call Number: 371.3081 COT
Publication Date: 2019
The Exam Skills Handbook 2nd edn. (E-book) by Provides an easy-to-follow set of strategies and techniques that build to a plan for achieving your best possible exam performance. It gives practical step-by-step guidance in long-term planning for optimal performance through to last minute revision strategies. This fully updated, two-colour edition includes two brand new chapters.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012
The Exam Skills Handbook 2nd edn. (Print Copy) by Provides an easy-to-follow set of strategies and techniques that build to a plan for achieving your best possible exam performance. It gives practical step-by-step guidance in long-term planning for optimal performance through to last minute revision strategies. This fully updated, two-colour edition includes two brand new chapters.
Call Number: 371.30281
Publication Date: 2012
Skills for Success 3rd edn. (E-book) by Following-on from The Study Skills Handbook, this book enables students to think about personal, academic and career goals and to plan a path to success. Rich in activities that develop valuable career skills, this edition has a new chapter on Understanding your Personal Performance, and updated information on job applications.
Publication Date: 2010
Presentation Skills for Students 3rd edn. (Print copy) by Presentation Skills for Students is a guide to the most transferable of all student skills: presenting a case clearly and confidently. This highly valued ability will help you to achieve success in your academic life and future career. Updated to reflect developments in technology, this third edition provides guidance on using a wide range of presentational tools. It also features new exercises and checklists to give you more guidance and support. This book will help you with: * speaking at a seminar * giving a formal presentation * making the most of your voice and body language * representing other students on committees * standing at student elections * speaking at and chairing a meeting * succeeding at an interview.
Call Number: 808.51 EMD
Publication Date: 2016
How to Write Better Essays. 4th edn. (Print copy) by This indispensable guide takes students through each step of the essay writing process, enabling them to tackle written assignments with confidence. Students will develop their ability to analyse complex concepts, evaluate and critically engage with arguments, communicate their ideas clearly and concisely and generate more ideas of their own. Chapters are short and succinct and cover topics such as reading purposefully, note-taking, essay writing in exams and avoiding plagiarism. Packed with practical activities and handy hints which students can apply to their own writing, this is an ideal resource for students looking to improve the quality and clarity of their academic writing. This book will be a source of guidance and inspiration for students of all disciplines and levels who need to write essays as part of their course.
Call Number: 808.02 GRE
Publication Date: 2018
Success in Groupwork (Print copy) by This guide provides students with practical advice and ideas to help them work effectively with other people and get the most out of their group project. It takes the reader from forming a group, working together on a project, dealing with conflict, using online resources through to delivering a group assessment.
Call Number: 371.36 HAR
Publication Date: 2010
Developing Work and Study Skills (Print copy) by Developing Study and Work Skills is the first text to unite the fragmented study skills/work skills/personal development skills market by focusing on the key basic skills that students need in order to make them practically as well as academically prepared for the world of work. Chapters take students through the core personal, interpersonal, written, verbal, technical and numerical skills that HE courses and employers are looking for. This book is the first text to integrate study and management skills in such a way as to encourage a continuous pattern of self-analysis in the student, more thoroughly preparing the student for the transition from study to the world of work than any other text in the market.Students on modules such as Personal Development and Effectiveness, Study Skills, Management Skills, Business Skills, Business Communication, Business Awareness, Managing Oneself and Others at - for example - BABS/BABA, HND/HNC, DMS, MBA levels will all find this a hugely valuable text through study and working life.
Call Number: 371.30281 LEE
Publication Date: 2006
Study Skills for Speakers of English As a Second Language (Print copy) by Starting at any university is a major step in life. Students who speak English as a second language, studying in a new country, are taking an even bigger step. Based on interviews with international students and their teachers, this book offers straightforward advice on academic topics such as language use, as well as social topics and the culture of Western universities. It also contains a helpful mini-dictionary of university words, and so will be an ideal guide for any international student studying in an English-speaking university.
Call Number: 378.19829 LEW
Publication Date: 2003
Study Skills Essentials (Print copy) by Drawing on the experience of over 20 Oxford graduates, this book includes advice on how to write essays, take notes. It also features tips on how to approach specific topics, such as science subjects and modern languages.
Call Number: 371.30281 MCM
Publication Date: 2011