Welcome to your Contemporary Perspectives on Leading and Managing Care Reading and Resource List. Here you will find your essential and recommended reading, as well as suggested Journals and Online Resources.
Please be advised that not all of your essential and recommended reading is available through the University of Suffolk.
Leadership in Health Care by
This new and updated fourth edition responds to the ever-growing importance of leadership to a healthcare professional′s role today by introducing you to the key skills needed to become an effective and inspiring healthcare leader, whatever level you are working at. Designed to guide you through a structured approach to improving your leadership and management skills, this book uses case studies, practical examples, and reflective questions to help you engage with every aspect of leadership. From teamwork, communication, and problem-solving, to emotional intelligence, critical self-reflection, and quality of care. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated to incorporate the latest NMC Standards of proficiency for nurses A new chapter on Ethical, Legal and Professional Aspects in Leadership Online resources for teaching and learning, including videos, journal articles, web links, and multiple-choice questions Suitable for all professions allied to medicine, including students of adult, mental health, children and learning disability nursing and midwifery, as well as nursing associates, specialist community public health nurses, physician associates, paramedic sciences, and more.
Leadership in Healthcare by
Instructor Resources: PowerPoint slides, additional discussion questions, and web links. Today's healthcare leaders face constant challenge and change. Even as they cope with a rapidly evolving environment, they also must overcome existing obstacles inherent to running multifaceted operations. A solid value system will anchor leaders as they navigate these daily hurdles. This highly regarded book examines leadership through the lens of such values. It provides a comprehensive overview of leadership principles specific to the healthcare environment and explores both personal and team values that drive appropriate and effective behavior. Case studies, exercises, and self-assessment tools facilitate teaching, dialogue, and self-reflection. A valuable resource for seasoned practitioners and their leadership teams, the book is also used extensively in academic courses in leadership. Updates to this edition include: Expanded coverage of academic theories and popular approaches to leadership A new chapter articulating the need to identify and develop new types of leaders in healthcare A new chapter on the extensive work of researchers who have examined the impact of leadership on organizational outcomes Updated and expanded discussion of servant leadership, change makers, employee engagement, emotional intelligence, and groupthink Fresh examples and cases featuring clinical leaders, including both nurses and physicians
Making Sense of Change Management by
This definitive, bestselling text in the field of change management provides comprehensive guidance of everything needed to successfully navigate times of change. Making Sense of Change Management provides a thorough and accessible overview for students and practitioners alike. Without relying on assumed knowledge, it comprehensively covers the theories and models of change management and connects them to workable approaches and techniques that organizations of all types and sizes can use to adapt to tough market conditions and succeed by changing their strategies, structures, mindsets, leadership behaviours and expectations of staff and managers.This completely revised and updated fifth edition contains new chapters on digital transformation and becoming a sustainable business, new material on resilience, well-being and effective leadership, and new examples from organizations including Google, Burberry and Volvo. Supported by "food for thought" and "stop and think" features to aid critical thinking and understanding, as well as checklists, tips and helpful summaries, Making Sense of Change Management remains essential reading for anyone who is currently part of, or leading, a change initiative. New and updated accompanying online resources include international case study question packs for lecturers and lecture slides with reflective questions.
Leadership and Nursing Care Management by
Comprehensive and easy to read, this authoritative resource features the most up-to-date, research-based blend of practice and theory related to the issues that impact nursing management and leadership today. Key topics include the nursing professional's role in law and ethics, staffing and scheduling, delegation, cultural considerations, care management, human resources, outcomes management, safe work environments, preventing employee injury, and time and stress management. UNIQUE! Chapters divided according to AONE competencies for nurse leaders, managers, and executives. Research Notes in each chapter summarize relevant nursing leadership and management studies and highlight practical applications of research findings. Case Studies at the end of each chapter present real-world leadership and management situations and illustrate how key concepts can be applied to actual practice. Critical Thinking Questions at the end of each chapter present clinical situations followed by critical thinking questions to help you reflect on chapter content, critically analyze the information, and apply it to the situation. NEW! Full-color design makes content more vivid and realistic. NEW! Chapter on Communication and Care Coordination covers these integral topics. NEW! Updates to critical thinking exercises, case studies, research notes, and references offer the most current information. NEW! Updated sections on Current Issues and Trends reflect the latest topics in the field. NEW! Relevant Web Sites boxes provide authoritative resources for additional research.
Management & organisational behaviour by 
Interprofessional working: an essential guide for health and social care professionals by 
Mindful Leadership: a guide for the healthcare professions by
Leadership is liberating, and the development of leadership in health care organisations is vital. In this timely and exciting textbook, Christopher Johns addresses the most vital aspects of health care development and education, and reveals the tensions of becoming a leader within health care organizations. Being able to understand and work towards resolving these tensions is essential in becoming an effective leader. To be an effective leader, however, requires an awareness and acceptance of circumstances that is best termed 'mindfulness'. Equipped with the theoretical and practical-know-how to drive forward health reform and ensure quality, this book will enable health care students and practitioners to become reflective and genuinely mindful leaders.
Clinical Governance by
Clinical Governance: A Guide to Implementation for HealthcareProfessionals provides a comprehensive overview of what ismeant by clinical governance and how it can be implemented inpractice. It explores the evolution of clinical governance, its keycomponents, legal implications, the barriers to implementing it,and its impact. Clinical Governance provides step-by-step practicaladvice, facilitating better understanding of the key principles ofclinical governance. This third edition has been fully updatedthroughout to incorporate a more integrated approach to achievingclinical governance, with an additional chapter on education andtraining. Each chapter includes reflective questions, activitiesand case studies taken from clinical practice as well as a fulllist of references and further reading.