The major cloud platforms (Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure, and Google Cloud) are undergoing continuous change and growth in tools and services. The platform providers’ documentation is more comprehensive and current than any textbook in this area.
Distributed Systems by
Distributed Systems provides students of computer science and engineering with the skills they will need to design and maintain software for distributed applications. It will also be invaluable to software engineers and systems designers wishing to understand new and future developments in the field. From mobile phones to the Internet, our lives depend increasingly on distributed systems linking computers and other devices together in a seamless and transparent way. The fifth edition of this best-selling text continues to provide a comprehensive source of material on the principles and practice of distributed computer systems and the exciting new developments based on them, using a wealth of modern case studies to illustrate their design and development . The depth of coverage will enable students to evaluate existing distributed systems and design new ones.
Designing Data-Intensive Applications by
Data is at the center of many challenges in system design today. Difficult issues need to be figured out, such as scalability, consistency, reliability, efficiency, and maintainability. In addition, we have an overwhelming variety of tools, including relational databases, NoSQL datastores, stream or batch processors, and message brokers. What are the right choices for your application? How do you make sense of all these buzzwords? In this practical and comprehensive guide, author Martin Kleppmann helps you navigate this diverse landscape by examining the pros and cons of various technologies for processing and storing data. Software keeps changing, but the fundamental principles remain the same. With this book, software engineers and architects will learn how to apply those ideas in practice, and how to make full use of data in modern applications. Peer under the hood of the systems you already use, and learn how to use and operate them more effectively Make informed decisions by identifying the strengths and weaknesses of different tools Navigate the trade-offs around consistency, scalability, fault tolerance, and complexity Understand the distributed systems research upon which modern databases are built Peek behind the scenes of major online services, and learn from their architectures
Distributed Systems: Principles and Paradigms by
For courses on Distributed Systems, Distributed Operating Systems, and Advanced Operating Systems focusing on distributed systems, found in departments of Computer Science, Computer Engineering and Electrical Engineering. Very few textbooks today explore distributed systems in a manner appropriate for university students. In this unique text, esteemed authors Tanenbaum and van Steen provide full coverage of the field in a systematic way that can be readily used for teaching. No other text examines the underlying principles - and their applications to a wide variety of practical distributed systems - with this level of depth and clarity.
Cloud Computing by
About the Book Recent industry surveys expect the cloud computing services market to be in excess of $20 billion and cloud computing jobs to be in excess of 10 million worldwide in 2014 alone. In addition, since a majority of existing information technology (IT) jobs is focused on maintaining legacy in-house systems, the demand for these kinds of jobs is likely to drop rapidly if cloud computing continues to take hold of the industry. However, there are very few educational options available in the area of cloud computing beyond vendor-specific training by cloud providers themselves. Cloud computing courses have not found their way (yet) into mainstream college curricula. This book is written as a textbook on cloud computing for educational programs at colleges. It can also be used by cloud service providers who may be interested in offering a broader perspective of cloud computing to accompany their own customer and employee training programs. The typical reader is expected to have completed a couple of courses in programming using traditional high-level languages at the college-level, and is either a senior or a beginning graduate student in one of the science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM) fields. We have tried to write a comprehensive book that transfers knowledge through an immersive "hands-on approach", where the reader is provided the necessary guidance and knowledge to develop working code for real-world cloud applications. Additional support is available at the book's website: www.cloudcomputingbook.info Organization The book is organized into three main parts. Part I covers technologies that form the foundations of cloud computing. These include topics such as virtualization, load balancing, scalability & elasticity, deployment, and replication. Part II introduces the reader to the design & programming aspects of cloud computing. Case studies on design and implementation of several cloud applications in the areas such as image processing, live streaming and social networks analytics are provided. Part III introduces the reader to specialized aspects of cloud computing including cloud application benchmarking, cloud security, multimedia applications and big data analytics. Case studies in areas such as IT, healthcare, transportation, networking and education are provided.
Cloud Computing by
This overview of cloud computing in a "self-teaching" format, contains state-of-the art chapters with tips and insights about cloud computing, its architecture, applications, information on security and privacy, and numerous case studies. It includes questions for discussion and "Cloud Computing Lab Experiments" to help in mastering its complex services and technologies. Recent research shows that cloud computing will be worth billions of dollars in new investments. Organizations are flocking to the cloud services to benefit from the elasticity, self-services, resource abundance, ubiquity, responsiveness, and cost efficiencies that it offers. Many government and private universities have already migrated to the cloud. The next wave in computing technology--expected to usher in a new era--will be based on cloud computing. Features: * Explores the basic advancements in the field of cloud computing * Offers a practical, self-teaching approach with numerous case studies and lab experiments on installation, evaluation, security, and more * Includes material on ESXi, MS AZURE, Eucalyptus, and more.
Cloud Computing by
Clouds are distributed technology platforms that leverage sophisticated technology innovations to provide highly scalable and resilient environments that can be remotely utilized by organizations in a multitude of powerful ways. To successfully build upon, integrate with, or even create a cloud environment requires an understanding of its common inner mechanics, architectural layers, and models, as well as an understanding of the business and economic factors that result from the adoption and real-world use of cloud-based services. In Cloud Computing: Concepts, Technology & Architecture, Thomas Erl, one of the world's top-selling IT authors, teams up with cloud computing experts and researchers to break down proven and mature cloud computing technologies and practices into a series of well-defined concepts, models, technology mechanisms, and technology architectures, all from an industry-centric and vendor-neutral point of view. In doing so, the book establishes concrete, academic coverage with a focus on structure, clarity, and well-defined building blocks for mainstream cloud computing platforms and solutions. Subsequent to technology-centric coverage, the book proceeds to establish business-centric models and metrics that allow for the financial assessment of cloud-based IT resources and their comparison to those hosted on traditional IT enterprise premises. Also provided are templates and formulas for calculating SLA-related quality-of-service values and numerous explorations of the SaaS, PaaS, and IaaS delivery models. With more than 260 figures, 29 architectural models, and 20 mechanisms, this indispensable guide provides a comprehensive education of cloud computing essentials that will never leave your side.
Encyclopedia of Cloud Computing by
The Encyclopedia of Cloud Computing provides IT professionals, educators, researchers and students with a compendium of cloud computing knowledge. Authored by a spectrum of subject matter experts in industry and academia, this unique publication, in a single volume, covers a wide range of cloud computing topics, including technological trends and developments, research opportunities, best practices, standards, and cloud adoption. Providing multiple perspectives, it also addresses questions that stakeholders might have in the context of development, operation, management, and use of clouds. Furthermore, it examines cloud computing's impact now and in the future. The encyclopedia presents 56 chapters logically organized into 10 sections. Each chapter covers a major topic/area with cross-references to other chapters and contains tables, illustrations, side-bars as appropriate. Furthermore, each chapter presents its summary at the beginning and backend material, references and additional resources for further information.
Introduction to Natural Language Processing by
A survey of computational methods for understanding, generating, and manipulating human language, which offers a synthesis of classical representations and algorithms with contemporary machine learning techniques.This textbook provides a technical perspective on natural language processing-methods for building computer software that understands, generates, and manipulates human language. It emphasizes contemporary data-driven approaches, focusing on techniques from supervised and unsupervised machine learning. The first section establishes a foundation in machine learning by building a set of tools that will be used throughout the book and applying them to word-based textual analysis. The second section introduces structured representations of language, including sequences, trees, and graphs. The third section explores different approaches to the representation and analysis of linguistic meaning, ranging from formal logic to neural word embeddings. The final section offers chapter-length treatments of three transformative applications of natural language processing- information extraction, machine translation, and text generation. End-of-chapter exercises include both paper-and-pencil analysis and software implementation. The text synthesizes and distills a broad and diverse research literature, linking contemporary machine learning techniques with the field's linguistic and computational foundations. It is suitable for use in advanced undergraduate and graduate-level courses and as a reference for software engineers and data scientists. Readers should have a background in computer programming and college-level mathematics. After mastering the material presented, students will have the technical skill to build and analyze novel natural language processing systems and to understand the latest research in the field.
Cloud Computing by
Cloud Computing: Implementation, Management, and Security provides an understanding of what cloud computing really means, explores how disruptive it may become in the future, and examines its advantages and disadvantages. It gives business executives the knowledge necessary to make informed, educated decisions regarding cloud initiatives. The authors first discuss the evolution of computing from a historical perspective, focusing primarily on advances that led to the development of cloud computing. They then survey some of the critical components that are necessary to make the cloud computing paradigm feasible. They also present various standards based on the use and implementation issues surrounding cloud computing and describe the infrastructure management that is maintained by cloud computing service providers. After addressing significant legal and philosophical issues, the book concludes with a hard look at successful cloud computing vendors. Helping to overcome the lack of understanding currently preventing even faster adoption of cloud computing, this book arms readers with guidance essential to make smart, strategic decisions on cloud initiatives.
The Basics of Cloud Computing by
As part of the Syngress Basics series, The Basics of Cloud Computing provides readers with an overview of the cloud and how to implement cloud computing in their organizations. Cloud computing continues to grow in popularity, and while many people hear the term and use it in conversation, many are confused by it or unaware of what it really means. This book helps readers understand what the cloud is and how to work with it, even if it isn't a part of their day-to-day responsibility. Authors Derrick Rountree and Ileana Castrillo explains the concepts of cloud computing in practical terms, helping readers understand how to leverage cloud services and provide value to their businesses through moving information to the cloud. The book will be presented as an introduction to the cloud, and reference will be made in the introduction to other Syngress cloud titles for readers who want to delve more deeply into the topic. This book gives readers a conceptual understanding and a framework for moving forward with cloud computing, as opposed to competing and related titles, which seek to be comprehensive guides to the cloud. Provides a sound understanding of the cloud and how it works Describes both cloud deployment models and cloud services models, so you can make the best decisions for deployment Presents tips for selecting the best cloud services providers
Cloud Computing by
Cloud computing has created a shift from the use of physical hardware and locally managed software-enabled platforms to that of virtualized cloud-hosted services. Cloud assembles large networks of virtual services, including hardware (CPU, storage, and network) and software resources (databases, message queuing systems, monitoring systems, and load-balancers). As Cloud continues to revolutionize applications in academia, industry, government, and many other fields, the transition to this efficient and flexible platform presents serious challenges at both theoretical and practical levels--ones that will often require new approaches and practices in all areas. Comprehensive and timely, Cloud Computing: Methodology, Systems, and Applications summarizes progress in state-of-the-art research and offers step-by-step instruction on how to implement it. Summarizes Cloud Developments, Identifies Research Challenges, and Outlines Future Directions Ideal for a broad audience that includes researchers, engineers, IT professionals, and graduate students, this book is designed in three sections: Fundamentals of Cloud Computing: Concept, Methodology, and Overview Cloud Computing Functionalities and Provisioning Case Studies, Applications, and Future Directions It addresses the obvious technical aspects of using Cloud but goes beyond, exploring the cultural/social and regulatory/legal challenges that are quickly coming to the forefront of discussion. Properly applied as part of an overall IT strategy, Cloud can help small and medium business enterprises (SMEs) and governments in optimizing expenditure on application-hosting infrastructure. This material outlines a strategy for using Cloud to exploit opportunities in areas including, but not limited to, government, research, business, high-performance computing, web hosting, social networking, and multimedia. With contributions from a host of internationally recognized researchers, this reference delves into everything from necessary changes in users' initial mindset to actual physical requirements for the successful integration of Cloud into existing in-house infrastructure. Using case studies throughout to reinforce concepts, this book also addresses recent advances and future directions in methodologies, taxonomies, IaaS/SaaS, data management and processing, programming models, and applications.