| British Nursing Database (Proquest) From Proquest, the UK nursing and midwifery database, covering over 270 UK journals and other English language titles, including international nursing and midwifery journals, as well as selective content from medical, allied health and management titles |
| CINAHL Plus with Full Text The world’s most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text for hundreds of journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content. |
| Cochrane Library Independent high quality evidence for healthcare decision making. |
| e-Anatomy We strongly recommend that you use Chrome. is an interactive human anatomy atlas with medical imaging and illustrations. (Not included in Summon) You will receive a certificate error that you will need to confirm or add an exception for when accessing this resource off-campus. |
| Family Health Database (Proquest) Proquest Family Health database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines |
|
Healthcare Administration Database (Proquest) |
| Health & Medical Collection (Proquest) Proquest has combined the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library™ with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. ProQuest Health and Medical Complete provides in-depth coverage from over 1,950 publications with more than 1,660 available in full text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE® indexing |
| MEDLINE (We would highly recommend using the latest versions of either Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browsers to access this site as we have encountered problems when using Internet Explorer) contains over 12 million journal citations and abstracts with authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Coverage from 1950 until present day. |
| NICE (NHS) Evidence Search (Quick Search) Our guidance, advice, quality standards and information services for health, public health and social care. Also contains resources to help maximise use of evidence and guidance. |
| Nursing & Allied Health Database (Proquest) Proquest database offering reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more |
| PubMed Central A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). |
| ScienceDirect A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year. |
| Education Databse (Proquest) ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. |
| Emerald Management Plus a portfolio of over 280 journals full -text management journals published from 1994 onwards. Titles include International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management; International Journal of Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research; International Journal of Event and Festival Management; Tourism Review |
| Proquest Central provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world |
| Psychology Database (Proquest) Proquest provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics. |
Government and Professional Bodies
The following are a range of Journals relevant to the Public Health discipline:
The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:
The Africa Portal is an open-access research repository with free access to over 10,000 full-text reports, papers, and policy briefs. It contains information concerning African affairs, covering a range of themes including politics and governance, economics, energy and environment, health, human rights, foreign policy, information and communications technology, and education. This resource could be relevant to individuals in a wide range of disciplines.
The content of the Africa Portal is free to access on the open web and is not searchable in Discovery.
The British Nursing Database serves as an essential resource for healthcare professionals, specifically nurses and midwives, working within the United Kingdom. This comprehensive database offers full-text articles and abstracts directly applicable to the daily practice, continuing education, and research endeavours of healthcare professionals.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
An update to the EBSCO user interface is due to take effect on 7th January 2025. This will change how the search pages look and function.
More information about the changes is available here.
If you have any questions about this please contact us at learningservices@uos.ac.uk
CINAHL Ultimate is a full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index. Providing 1,781 active full-text journals, CINAHL Ultimate covers over 50 nursing specialties, and features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and nursing instructional videos. The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
Epistemonikos is an Open Access Database Combining the best of Evidence-Based Health Care, information technologies and a network of experts to provide a unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions.
Global Index Medicus (GIM) is an online index of health-related research produced by and within the following low-middle income regions: Africa, South East Asia, Caribbean, Western Pacific and Eastern Mediterranean.
The content of the collection is free to access on the open web and is not searchable in Discovery.
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete provides access to journals that cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness, hygiene, surgery, etc. In addition, the database includes charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements of use to medical research.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
Healthcare Administration Database is aimed at researchers studying the field of health administration. It features access to scholarly journals, videos, newspapers, magazines, blogs, reports, guidelines and thousands of dissertations and theses.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
Medline contains more than 29 million references to journal articles related to medicine, nursing and sciences, and useful for researchers, clinicians, and students in the medical field. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Coverage from 1950 until present day.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
The content of this collection is not searchable in Discovery.
This is an open access resource, so access is freely available without need and account/login details.
ScienceDirect provides access to a large collection of scientific research articles, journals, books, and other academic content across various disciplines. It covers subjects ranging from physical and life sciences to social sciences and humanities. You can search for and access articles, read abstracts, download full-text papers, and explore references. Please note that, if you are doing a systematic literature search, the search functionality in this database does not currently allow for the level of search that you will need. It is suitable for more general background searching or where you do not need to take a systematic search approach.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
Anatomy Database:
Anatomy TV is an interactive educational resource for understanding human anatomy. This resource provides a comprehensive view of all anatomical regions utilising a range of content including 3D models, video clips, slides, animations, and text. This resource is essential for individuals in health and health-adjacent disciplines, including the clinical specialty of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene.
The content of this resource is not searchable in Discovery.
Access to this resource is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
Non Health related databases:
a portfolio of over 280 journals full -text management journals published from 1994 onwards. Titles include International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management; International Journal of Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research; International Journal of Event and Festival Management; Tourism Review
ProQuest Central can be used to search across a number of ProQuest databases at once. If you want to access more subject-specific content, it is suggested that you navigate to one of the subject databases provided by ProQuest.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
The Psychology Database combines full-text content from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk.
Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
Health Journals
Epidemiology
Infectious Disease
Public Health
Tropical Diseases
The Cochrane Organisation
The Cochrane Organsiation produces and publishes high quality information including systematic reviews in health and health related disciplines, this information can be used to facilitate evidence based decision making.
READ-it
Aims to improve evidence based decision making and make research more visible to low and middle income countries. The site is co-ordinated by the Cochrane Infectious Diseases group.
Useful websites
ISRCTN Registry
A Register of clinical trials compiled by WHO and ICMJE (International Clinical Trials Registry Platform). Gives location and status of the trial
Reliefweb
Information about global crises and disasters, provides reliable and timely information including maps (health updates), reports and infographics
Wellcome Centre Infectious Diseases Research in Africa
Research to combat infection, communicable and non-communicable diseases and antiretroviral therapies
World Health Organisation
Website of this global orgnisation, provides publications, videos and news
World Health Organisation - Africa
Includes a wealth of information about health in Africa, including news, data, statistics, situational analysis. Includes the Journal of African Health Monitor and access to the Atlas of African Health Statistics.
