Welcome to your Medicines Management Reading and Resource List. Here you will find your essential and recommended reading, as well as suggested Journals and Online Resources.
Please be advised that not all of your essential and recommended reading is available through the University of Suffolk.
Medicine Management for Nurses by
Medicine management is an important and demanding aspect of nursing practice. It requires both clinical knowledge and the use of professional judgement. This accessible book is designed to help both practising and student nurses prepare to deal with the challenges of medicine management. It covers the principles and skills involved in a range of common medicine management scenarios and will help nursing students integrate their knowledge of physiology, pathophysiology, pharmacology and nursing care. This handy book: Is based on 21 practical case studies, which help you learn about effective medicine management and test your understanding of essential drug groups. Helps you gain confidence in your knowledge of pharmacology Highlights the nurse's role in identifying the therapeutic and adverse effects of medicines on a patient Part of the Case Book series, Medicine Management for Nurses Case Book offers a unique way of relating theory to practice. The cases are ideal for preparing for exams, tests and working in practice, as each one includes self-test questions and answers. Whether you are preparing to qualify or studying medicine management after qualification, this case book is the ideal practical tool for you. Contributors: Diane Blundell, Abe Ginourie, Joy Parkes, Ruth Sadik, Pat Talbot, Janine Upton, Traci Whitfield, Christine Whitney-Cooper, Debbie Wyatt. "The book offers a unique and engaging approach to an important subject that most students find daunting. Realistic case scenarios are used as a catalyst to introduce information and concepts that underpin practice. The presentation style supports the active participation of the student with the inclusion of questions at the beginning of each topic offering a platform to explore key areas whilst referring to the scenario. I highly recommend it to pre-registered student nurses." Kris Paget, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Health, Social Work and Education, Kingston University, UK "This collection of case studies provides a unique and user friendly guide to commonly seen pharmacological therapies and treatment options across the lifespan. The case studies have been carefully selected to provide the diverse care needs of complex disease processes in a person centred way. Each case study is relevant to the role of the Nurse and will provide essential and core information whether nurses are working in either a medical or surgical clinical setting. Government Health Care Directives provide the essential clinical evidence based theory necessary to promote medicine adherence and each chapter provides the relevant pathophysiology which is essential to underpin the safe administration of medication therapies. The role of the nurse in medicine management with respect to patient education and the professional responsibilities of monitoring and evaluating complex medication therapies is presented in each case study. This provides an holistic approach to the care of patients receiving complex medication therapies." Barry Ricketts, Senior Lecturer, Adult Nursing, Oxford Brookes University, UK
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance by
The internationally best-selling Medical Pharmacology at a Glance is the ideal companion for all medical and healthcare students, providing a visual overview of pharmacology, and describing the basic principles of drug action, interaction, absorption, and excretion. Clear and accessible chapters organised around common diseases and conditions facilitate efficient clinical learning, and include references to drug classes and side effects, disease pathophysiology, prescribing guidelines, and more. Now in its ninth edition, this leading guide has been thoroughly updated to reflect current guidelines and drug information. This edition features new and revised illustrations, additional pedagogical tools, and enhanced online content. Widely recognised as both the best introduction to medical pharmacology and the perfect revision tool for USMLE and pharmacology exams, this invaluable guide: Covers a wide range of drugs used to treat conditions such as hypertension, anaemias, cancer, and affective disorders Explains drug mechanisms and the principles of drug action Discusses practical topics including drug misuse, drug indications, and side effects Includes a companion website featuring online cases, flashcards, and a list of core drugs
Medication errors. by
Medications are offered by health services throughout the world. However, with substantial and increasing medication use comes a growing risk of harm. This is compounded by the need to prescribe for an ageing population with increasingly complex medical needs and the introduction of many new medications. These issues are particularly relevant in primary care. In many cases, prescribing is initiated in primary care and those initiated in the hospital may also be continued in primary care.
Medication without Harm. by
The WHO's Global Patient Safety Challenge: Medication Without Harm brochure outlines the vision and strategic direction of this global initiative aiming to reduce the level of severe, avoidable harm related to medications by 50% over the next five years, globally. It provides an overview of the key components of the Challenge including the local, national and global action to be taken.
An Introduction to Pharmacovigilance by
Pharmacovigilance is the science and activities relating to the detection, assessment, understanding and prevention of adverse effects or any other drug-related problems. This introductory guide is designed to aid the rapid understanding of the key principles of pharmacovigilance. Packed full of examples illustrating drug safety issues it not only covers the processes involved, but the regulatory aspects and ethical and societal considerations of pharmacovigilance. Covering the basics step-by-step, this book is perfect for beginners and is essential reading for those new to drug safety departments and pharmaceutical medicine students. The second edition is thoroughly revised and updated throughout and includes a new chapter on clinical aspects of pharmacovigilance.