Database systems : a practical approach to design, implementation and management by 
Fundamentals of database systems by 
NoSQL for Mere Mortals by
NoSQL for Mere Mortals is an easy, practical guide to succeeding with NoSQL in your environment. Students are guided step-by-step through choosing technologies, designing high-performance databases, and planning for long-term maintenance. The author introduces each type of NoSQL database, shows how to install and manage them, and demonstrates how to leverage their features while avoiding common mistakes that lead to poor performance and unmet requirements. He uses four popular NoSQL databases as reference models: MongoDB, a document database; Cassandra, a column family data store; Redis, a key-value database; and Neo4j, a graph database.
Hadoop: the Definitive Guide by
Get ready to unlock the power of your data. With the fourth edition of this comprehensive guide, you'll learn how to build and maintain reliable, scalable, distributed systems with Apache Hadoop. This book is ideal for programmers looking to analyze datasets of any size, and for administrators who want to set up and run Hadoop clusters. Using Hadoop 2 exclusively, author Tom White presents new chapters on YARN and several Hadoop-related projects such as Parquet, Flume, Crunch, and Spark. You'll learn about recent changes to Hadoop, and explore new case studies on Hadoop's role in healthcare systems and genomics data processing. Learn fundamental components such as MapReduce, HDFS, and YARN Explore MapReduce in depth, including steps for developing applications with it Set up and maintain a Hadoop cluster running HDFS and MapReduce on YARN Learn two data formats: Avro for data serialization and Parquet for nested data Use data ingestion tools such as Flume (for streaming data) and Sqoop (for bulk data transfer) Understand how high-level data processing tools like Pig, Hive, Crunch, and Spark work with Hadoop Learn the HBase distributed database and the ZooKeeper distributed configuration service
Structured Search for Big Data : From Keywords to Key-objects by
The WWW era made billions of people dramatically dependent on the progress of data technologies, out of which Internet search and Big Data are arguably the most notable. Structured Search paradigm connects them via a fundamental concept of key-objects evolving out of keywords as the units of search. The key-object data model and KeySQL revamp the data independence principle making it applicable for Big Data and complement NoSQL with full-blown structured querying functionality. The ultimate goal is extracting Big Information from the Big Data. As a Big Data Consultant, Mikhail Gilula combines academic background with 20 years of industry experience in the database and data warehousing technologies working as a Sr. Data Architect for Teradata, Alcatel-Lucent, and PayPal, among others. He has authored three books, including The Set Model for Database and Information Systems and holds four US Patents in Structured Search and Data Integration. Conceptualizes structured search as a technology for querying multiple data sources in an independent and scalable manner. Explains how NoSQL and KeySQL complement each other and serve different needs with respect to big data Shows the place of structured search in the internet evolution and describes its implementations including the real-time structured internet search
Big data analytics : from strategic planning to enterprise integration with tools, techniques, NoSQL, and graph by
Big Data Analytics will assist managers in providing an overview of the drivers for introducing big data technology into the organization and for understanding the types of business problems best suited to big data analytics solutions, understanding the value drivers and benefits, strategic planning, developing a pilot, and eventually planning to integrate back into production within the enterprise. Guides the reader in assessing the opportunities and value proposition Overview of big data hardware and software architectures Presents a variety of technologies and how they fit into the big data ecosystem
SQL & NoSQL databases : models, languages, consistency options and architectures for big data management by
This book offers a comprehensive introduction to relational (SQL) and non-relational (NoSQL) databases. The authors thoroughly review the current state of database tools and techniques, and examine coming innovations. The book opens with a broad look at data management, including an overview of information systems and databases, and an explanation of contemporary database types: SQL and NoSQL databases, and their respective management systems The nature and uses of Big Data A high-level view of the organization of data management Data Modeling and Consistency Chapter-length treatment is afforded Data Modeling in both relational and graph databases, including enterprise-wide data architecture, and formulas for database design. Coverage of languages extends from an overview of operators, to SQL and and QBE (Query by Example), to integrity constraints and more. A full chapter probes the challenges of Ensuring Data Consistency, covering: Multi-User Operation Troubleshooting Consistency in Massive Distributed Data Comparison of the ACID and BASE consistency models, and more System Architecture also gets from its own chapter, which explores Processing of Homogeneous and Heterogeneous Data; Storage and Access Structures; Multi-dimensional Data Structures and Parallel Processing with MapReduce, among other topics. Post-Relational and NoSQL Databases The chapter on post-relational databases discusses the limits of SQL - and what lies beyond, including Multi-Dimensional Databases, Knowledge Bases and and Fuzzy Databases. A final chapter covers NoSQL Databases, along with Development of Non-Relational Technologies, Key-Value, Column-Family and Document Stores XML Databases and Graphic Databases, and more The book includes more than 100 tables, examples and illustrations, and each chapter offers a list of resources for further reading. SQL & NoSQL Databases conveys the strengths and weaknesses of relational and non-relational approaches, and shows how to undertake development for big data applications. The book benefits readers including students and practitioners working across the broad field of applied information technology. This textbook has been recommended and developed for university courses in Germany, Austria and Switzerland.
NoSQL Data Models by
The topic of NoSQL databases has recently emerged, to face the Big Data challenge, namely the ever increasing volume of data to be handled. It is now recognized that relational databases are not appropriate in this context, implying that new database models and techniques are needed. This book presents recent research works, covering the following basic aspects: semantic data management, graph databases, and big data management in cloud environments. The chapters in this book report on research about the evolution of basic concepts such as data models, query languages, and new challenges regarding implementation issues.
SQL for Dummies by
Uncover the secrets of SQL and start building better relational databases today! This fun and friendly guide will help you demystify database management systems so you can create more powerful databases and access information with ease. Updated for the latest SQL functionality, SQL For Dummies, 8th Edition covers the core SQL language and shows you how to use SQL to structure a DBMS, implement a database design, secure your data, and retrieve information when you need it. Includes new enhancements of SQL:2011, including temporal data functionality which allows you to set valid times for transactions to occur and helps prevent database corruption Covers creating, accessing, manipulating, maintaining, and storing information in relational database management systems like Access, Oracle, SQL Server, and MySQL Provides tips for keeping your data safe from theft, accidental or malicious corruption, or loss due to equipment failures and advice on eliminating errors in your work Don't be daunted by database development anymore - get SQL For Dummies, 8th Edition, and you'll be on your way to SQL stardom.
