The most relevant resources will depend on the nature of the project and will be specific to the individual project.
Doing Your Research Project, 7th edn by
The author assumes that the reader has no prior knowledge of research methodology or experience of carrying out research. She takes the reader step by step through each stage of preparing for, carrying out, and writing up a research project.
The Research Project: How to Write It by
Now in its fifth edition, this guide to project work continues to be an indispensable resource for all students undertaking research. Guiding the reader right through from preliminary stages to completion, The Research Project: How to write it sets out in clear and concise terms the main tasks involved in doing a research project, covering: * choosing a topic * using the library effectively * taking notes * shaping and composing the project * providing footnotes, documentation and a bibliography * avoiding common pitfalls. Fully updated throughout, this new edition features a chapter on making the most out of the Internet, from knowing where to start, to assessing the quality of the material found there. Other features include a model example of a well researched, clearly written paper with notes and bibliography and a chapter on getting published in a learned journal for more advanced researchers. Whether starting out or experienced in research, The Research Project: How to write it is an essential tool for success.
Research Methods in Education by
This thoroughly updated and extended eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research, and has been translated into several languages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references, and it raises key issues and questions for researchers planning, conducting, reporting and evaluating research. This edition contains new chapters on: Mixed methods research The role of theory in educational research Ethics in Internet research Research questions and hypotheses Internet surveys Virtual worlds, social network software and netography in educational research Using secondary data in educational research Statistical significance, effect size and statistical power Beyond mixed methods: using Qualitative Comparative Analysis (QCA) to integrate cross-case and within-case analyses. Research Methods in Education is essential reading for both the professional researcher and anyone involved in educational and social research. The book is supported by a wealth of online materials, including PowerPoint slides, useful weblinks, practice data sets, downloadable tables and figures from the book, and a virtual, interactive, self-paced training programme in research methods. These resources can be found at: www.routledge.com/cw/cohen.
Project Research in Information Systems – A Student’s Guide, 2nd edn by 
Doing a Successful Research Project: Using Qualitative or Quantitative Methods, 2nd edn by
Doing a Successful Research Project 2e gives students the knowledge, self-discipline and confidence to carry out their first research project. Describing processes, tools and strategies in a simple, succinct way, it guides the reader carefully through the planning and design stages, to implementation, analysis and completion.
Introduction to Research Methods, 5th edn by
Introduction to Research Methods contains everything from developing an initial idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results. Whether you have to undertake a project as part of your coursework, or as part of your employment, or simply because you are fascinated by something you have observed and want to find out more, this book offers you advice on how to turn your ideas into a workable project. Specifically it will show you how to: *Choose your research methods *Choose your participants *Prepare a research proposal *Construct questionnaires *Conduct interviews and focus groups *Analyse your data *Report your findings *Be an ethical researcher
Researching Information Systems and Computing by
With everything readers need to know about how to execute their research project, this book is written specifically for information systems (IS) and computing students. It introduces key quantitative and qualitative research methods, makes sense of underlying philosophies, and helps readers navigate and assess existing academic papers. Special features support students as they bridge the gap between theory and practice. These include: - research examples from the IS and computing disciplines; - suggestions on how to build internet research into each method mentioned; - an explanation of how knowledge is created, drawing an analogy between this and the creation of software systems Throughout, readers are supported by pedagogical features such as learning objectives, explanations, discussion questions, evaluation guides and further reading.
Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students by
Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students aims to present a clear discussion of the research methods employed in various disciplines related to our daily life problems. The theoretical basis of research methods is explained clearly and succinctly. Collecting data is a key part of the book and this includes both qualitative and quantitative methods of data collection, along with the advantages and disadvantages of each method. The book also describes in clear terms how students can analyse data, interpret results and link these to the literature review and hence their own contribution. It sets out a range of fundamental ideas in research methods, such as deductivism and inductivism, and explains why methodology is not the same as method. In this second edition every chapter has been re-written to be more readable and also to include more examples. The authors have also added a real student research proposal and a multiple-choice test with answers for the readers to test their own understanding of the ideas in the book. The book has been designed to illustrate research tools in a clear and accessible manner through chapters on such topics as formulating research, research design, data analysis and writing up the research results.